march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage vpcflyout Introducing Kindle Oasis Furniture Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars430
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Exorcist BD
Cast: Ellen Burstyn, Linda Blair, Max von Sydow, Lee J. Cobb
Director: William Friedkin
Warner Brothers | 1973 | 132m and 122m | Rated R |

Video
VC-1 | 1080p | 1.78:1

Audio
English DTS-HD Master Audio 6.1
English DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1
French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish: Dolby Digital Mono

Subtitles
English SDH, Arabic, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, French, German SDH, Greek, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian SDH, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish and Turkish

Discs
Two 50GB Blu-ray Discs
Digibook

The Exorcist's iconic cover claims that it's the scariest film of all time, but the makers of the movie prefer to label it as a theological thriller. I tend to agree and have always considered The Silence of the Lambs, The Shining and Psycho as psychological thrillers rather than horror. I mention those three because they represent the best that 'horror' has to offer, whether you label them as such or not.

If you have read my other reviews, you'll know by now that I'm a movie snob. When I think of horror films, the first thing that comes to mind is excessive gore and cheesy lines. I'm simply not a fan of seeing bodies hacked to pieces and I don't find any value in cheesy horror stories. So bear that in mind if you are a fan of such movies as the Evil Dead (not that there's anything wrong with that).

Instead, I look at how films are made, what they make me feel, the quality of the acting and the methods used by the director. In those terms, The Exorcist deserves to be rated among the best 'horror' films ever made.

The film plays like a book with the three main sets of characters being shown individually before the threads are drawn together for the body of the story. The story begins with Father Merrin (Max von Sydow) heading an archeological expedition in Iraq. Father Karras (Jason Miller) is shown caring for his dying mother and we are shown how he lives. Chris MacNeil (Ellen Burstyn) is shown being a mother to Regan (Linda Blair).

Regan is a pretty, playful 12-year-old girl without a care in the world. We see her demeanor gradually change as she's possessed by a demon. She seeks out her mother's bed because her own is shaking, but her mother thinks she's lying. There are noises in the attic which are thought to be rats as Chris tries to label them as something familiar. Regan's sweet nature gradually erodes and we see her lose her temper more and more frequently. She's eventually referred to doctors and shouts obscenities at them. Some of the tests she has to undergo would be frightening to a child, but everything comes back negative. A psychiatrist gets a turn and also fails to solve the problem. Denial is a powerful thing in this story as doctors continually try to rationalize the things they are seeing and hearing.

Chris is an atheist, but can see that the doctors are wrong. She eventually seeks out help from Father Karras, showing just how desperate she is to help her daughter. If you allow yourself to be drawn in to the story and consider how you would react if your own child underwent such changes, you'll feel the power of this film.

The climax of the film sees Father Karras and Father Merrin performing an exorcism after convincing the church that it was needed. Regan's transformation is impressive. When possessed, she talks in many different voices, some of which are known to the priests and the people around her. The demon is a master liar and seeks to confuse the priests and prevent the exorcism. Regan becomes a monster, reeling off obscenities and spewing foul green bile. Her face and body become covered in scars and it's hard to see anything of the original person.

In 1973, it was a real challenge to produce some of the effects seen in the film. Instead of CGI, everything had to be done by other means. Wires were used in two or three of the scenes were Regan levitates or runs down the stairs upside down. A model was made to enable the illusion that her head turns 360 degrees. The bile had to be made and then delivered using tubes. Although it's obvious that the spinning head is a model, it's still unsettling to see it happen.

Will you be scared by this movie? Visually, it's nothing compared to effects achieved by modern techniques. You might be scared if the story captures you sufficiently to make you feel that you're a part of it. Imagine yourself as Regan's parent for example. We can overlook the dated effects and take them seriously because everything else about this film is deadly serious. The acting is strong throughout, with the whole cast performing well. Friedkin tells the story simply, but effectively. The final solution is extreme, but convincing.

Like Psycho, this film was original and startling in its day. It has an important place in film history. It might not have a strong impact on people who are used to modern horror movies, but it's worth seeing for anyone who has avoided it thus far.

Video Quality 4/5:

This package includes two discs. One shows the original theatrical version (122m) and the other shows the extended version (132m). My comments refer to the extended version, although I would expect the quality to be identical in both versions.

The scenes in Iraq are bright and full of detail and the film would earn a 4.5 for picture quality if it were that good throughout. Unfortunately, much of the film is shot in dimly lit rooms and grain is dense in such scenes. All things considered, it's hard to imagine the image looking any better than it does though.

Audio Quality 4.5/5:

Friedkin mentions that the lossless audio enables him to hear effects that he had forgotten were in the film. It's certainly a strong presentation and the film benefits most of all from the audio upgrade. We can clearly hear Regan wheezing and the voices in outdoor scenes come across well in the rear speakers. Dialogue is always easy to understand and some of the louder scenes, such as furniture moving or glass breaking, carry added weight. The 6.1 version is included in the extended cut, while the original version has 5.1 audio.

Special Features 4.5/5:

There's plenty of background information included in the special features for anyone who is interested.

Director's commentary
Raising Hell: Filming the Exorcist (30m, HD)
The Exorcist Locations: Georgetown Then and Now (9m, HD)
Faces of Evil: The Different Versions of the Exorcist (10m, HD)
Trailers, TV Spots and Radio Spots
Director's Introduction (2m, SD)
The Fear of God (77m, SD)
Filmmaker Interviews (9m, SD)
Sketches and Storyboards (3m, SD)
Original Ending (2m, SD)
40-page booklet with pictures, cast details and background information

The Exorcist is an important part of cinematic history. Nominated for 10 Oscars, it won two, and that's unusual for this genre. It's a beautifully presented package complete with a high quality booklet and separate discs for each version of the film. The audio upgrade is huge, making the experience a lot more intense. The visual upgrade is probably the best that could have been managed considering the dark setting and the director's original intentions. I would strongly recommend this definitive version for any fan of the film or of cinema in general.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
It was December 26, 1973 and I was 10 years old and an avid reader of Famous Monsters of Filmland Magazine. I had heard that a very horrific movie was coming to my neighbourhood theatre and knowing that I would not be allowed into a restricted film I decided to sneak in. In the darkness of the theatre, I heard scraping sounds from an attic, watched as wide open windows rushed in cold air, saw the lights in a corridor flicker off and on and heard the convulsing and growling of a demon as it took over the body of a little girl about the same age as myself. This film was The Exorcist. It is now 40 years later and the scariest film ever made still gives me the same shivers it gave me years ago. Branded as satanic by the evangelist Billy Graham and banned for years in the United Kingdom, it was and is to this day the most shocking and obscene film ever made. So shocking that audiences walked out before the film ended, vomited in the aisles and fainted on the spot from fear and terror. The Exorcist is not only the scariest film ever made because it scares you but it will also make you question your own faith and spiritual beliefs and make you think more about the battle between good and evil. Somehow, I would like to think that the real premise of the film is that good does triumph over evil in the end but the film is so visceral, so powerful in its scope that the real premise should be left to the individual film viewer to interpret for themselves. Whatever your interpretation, there is no doubt that The Exorcist will make you confront your fears: its the kind of film that not only sends shivers down your spine but the kind of film that really gets under your skin. Like the possessed Regan played brillantly by Linda Blair, your head might spin around 360 degrees and you might say to yourself in an evil nightmarish voice: Little children shouldnt be sneaking into darkened movie theatres to watch these type of movies! As a kid growing up around horrible things, I am glad I did sneak into the movie theatre that day for it is not just about confronting the horrors around us like terrorism, war, disease and hunger but also confronting the real horror that is possible like the evil that can take possession of us at any time. That is the real horror we should be scared of. And even though we should be scared of the evil that lurks inside us and the possibility of eternal damnation: real, imagined or otherwise, like Faust we still have the freedom to choose between good and evil and exorcise our own demons by striving for the truth. Even if we have to sneak into darkened movie theatres to do so.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2004
Society's need for devils, demons, and the grand pooh-bah of them all - Lucifer - enables individuals to explain many terrible things in society. It might be a perverted sense of security. In The Exorcist a demonically possessed 12 year old child (...) is still spooking audiences twenty-five years after the film's release. Universally, it is regarded as one of the scariest cult classics.
It's an intriguing film, but unlike most viewers, it made me giggle at times. Flashes of a pasty-faced, red-lipped, sharp-teethed "demon" looked like a frustrated French mime bitten by a rabid racoon during an unsuccessful truffle hunt. The film challenged me to reflect on a more central question - suppose there is no Satan? Experiments on children at Auschwitz become less explainable without a Luciferian figure. Stalin's artificial famine in Ukraine where parents killed and ate their children becomes more horrific without the "comfort" of blaming supernatural evil.
Of course an absence of the devil runs contrary to my denomination's simplistic understanding of the black and white world. Yet take away Satan and life becomes more cold, complicated, and may seem pointless at times. In a real, tangible way life actually becomes "scary" without the crutch of Satan. It is less understandable. Shades of gray take over.
The cinematographic technique using darkness is brilliant. The music is haunting and there are several unsettling scenes in the film that are chilling - the child's bed levitates, she develops grotesque sores suggesting physical decay, speaks in a husky male voice challenging the exorcist-priests (Jason Miller and Max von Sydow) to sexually violate her, and the spewing of a green, soupy like substance from her mouth onto the holy knights come to battle the devil.
The film fittingly takes place in an enclave of Washington D.C. I couldn't resist asking myself whether the child was actually possessed by the negative energy of a long deceased Congressman who couldn't get back into the House Chamber to vote. I do believe that each individual life is a form of energy that can't be destroyed.
I'm not in disagreement that the child's body could house a misplaced negative energy. And I accept the widely held belief that ghosts, apparitions, and other energy sources live among us. In that sense, I didn't have to suspend my reality since I believe it. But are they evil?
Nor did I find the ability of the demon in The Exorcist to see into any soul unsettling. So what? I might be painfully embarrassed if it happened to me, but such disclosure would hardly merit condemnation for being a monster. This speaks more to our vanity grounded in human insecurity than our fear of the unknown.
Although I'm dismissive of this cult classic, it is understandable why the film continues to make so many viewers uneasy. I've personally met people who suffered nightmares because of it (maybe from eating a bad batch of pea soup the night before). Director William Friedkin masterfully balances the surreal with the real and plausible. Is the child actually possessed, or, as several doctors diagnosed, suffering from a severe chemical imbalance in the brain?
In exploring demonic possession Friedkin never goes over the top with the unbelievable. He walks a fine line between science and the many things in life that are unexplainable and seem at times supernatural. Although he does not want to offer a black and white answer, he does so by clearly leading in the direction that there are Satanic forces at work.
The film offers a plausible depiction of a parallel universe. It may have been stronger had Friedkin made the child possessed by a "demon" rather than Satan. Why would Satan try to take over the world by possessing an innocent child of an insignificant actress-mother? Using a generic energy source with a bad attitude makes more sense. Lucifer would better achieve his agenda of world control if he or a minion took possession of a Bible-thumping American president who appears deceptively presidential instead of a little girl with a sailor's trashy mouth.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2015
Arguably the scariest movie of all time, and in my opinion, one of the best. Demonic possession is a hard topic to tackle without becoming silly or going for the cheap thrill. This film does not do that. It's genuinely horrific and very well done. Fabulous script, acting, cast, effects, sound and so on. Probably why it was nominated for so many Oscars, winning 2, and rightfully so. Ellen Burstyn, Linda Blair, Jason Miller, Max von Sydow, Kitty Winn and Lee J. Cobb are pitch perfect in their roles, as is the voice of Mercedes McCambridge.
I've heard the stories of people fainting in the theatres when this was released, I was very young so I missed it but believe it probably caused quite a stir. This is not a film for children or anyone sensitive.
This bluray book release is great. The packaging is neat with with all of the photos and additional information. The directors' cut, which is my preference, is fantastic! The theatrical release is a gem. You can't go wrong here. The sound and picture has never been better. Fully recommend this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 27, 2014
Even 41 years after it first hit theaters, a lot of people still consider The Exorcist to be the scariest film ever made.

Directed by William Friedkin who before this won an Oscar for the cop film, The French Connection and written by Willam Peter Blatty who won an Oscar for writing the excellent screenplay The Exorcist based on his book.

A mother is told by doctors that her daughter’s sudden erratic behavior may be because… she’s possessed by a demon, which is not something you want to hear from a doctor, typically.

This is a classic horror film and the first horror film to be nominated for a Best Picture Oscar. Because apart from being so frightening and disturbing, it’s a superbly crafted movie.

The performances from the cast are just fantastic. Ellen Burstyn as Chris MacNiel, the tormented mother is so good. Her helplessness and panic as she sees her daughter crumble mentally and physically is so believable.

“That thing upstairs is not my daughter.”

Jason Miller plays Father Damien Karras, a priest, counsellor and psychiatrist who’s called upon to look at Chris’ daughter. It’s a great, subtle performance. When the movie starts, he’s shaken by the death of his mother and is worried he may have lost his faith in God.

But of course the best performance in the film is by Linda Blair who plays Regan, the possessed girl. As the movie progresses, she starts saying and doing some insane things. Things you don’t see child actors do very often.

Towards the end of the film, Regan is fully possessed by this demon and her voice changes. The voice of this demon is actress Mercedes McCambridge and her vocal performance is so chilling, as is the make-up effects by Dick Smith that I often forget I’m watching a 12-year old actress onscreen.

It’s such an amazing performance, especially when Regan is taunting Karras when they first meet.

“What an excellent day for an exorcism.”

The combination of the voice, the make-up and Linda Blair’s performance all add up to making Regan one of the best film villains ever.

The screenplay and acting are great, but it’s the look and feel of this movie that make it so haunting. A lot of handheld camerawork adds a certain sense of reality to the more terrifying scenes in the film.

Regan’s final stage of possession turns her bedroom into a refrigerator, the visible breaths from the actors and the lighting make it a place where every time someone opens that door, you know something horrible is going to happen.

One more thing that keeps you on edge is the editing. There’s a lot of very quick cuts in the middle of scenes to what might be the actual demon inside of Regan. This pale-faced monster with large teeth, just the sight of this thing for a moment makes the hairs stand up on the back of your neck, which is clearly the intention.

Such a grim film, the closest thing to comic relief is a personal favorite character of mine. A homicide detective played by Lee J. Cobb, investigating a murder possibly linked to Regan. He happens to be a big movie buff.

A huge hit when it first came out, I imagine audiences hadn’t seen anything like it back in 1973. And 4 decades later it still packs a hell of a punch.

The Exorcist is one of the all-time great horror films that even in 2014 will still give you nightmares.

A classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
I saw this movie at a young age & was immediately intrigued, I began doing all sorts of research about exorcisms. I've seen the entire Exorcist series & in my opinion, the first one is the best.

The BluRay Disc: It's fantastic that they finally released both versions of the movie on BluRay all in one package, I'm even happier that I waited to buy it so I was able to get this edition. The quality is great, the sound, the picture, everything is awesome. Any true fan of "The Exorcist" should have this in their collection.

Special Features: They're really good, this is one of the few movies that I've actually watched features for. I loved seeing the Behind the Scenes footage with Linda Blair, also, the interviews with the cast, director & writer are very well done.

Overall: I'm so glad they finally put everything altogether in one great collectors edition! The package is great, the quality is awesome. I found the cheapest price to be on Amazon, I had done some research before buying it, I'm grateful I bought it right away because the price has skyrocketed! If I remember correctly, I paid $15 for this BluRay Special Edition & now it's $60 some places I've seen - yikes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2004
Lankester Merrin (von Sydow) is a rather frail old priest, an eminent scholar and archaeologist and just about the only man alive ever to have performed an exorcism for real. Working on a dig in Iraq, he is touched by a foreboding of something unpleasant on its way...
Damien Karras (Miller) is a second generation Greek immigrant and a highly trained psychiatrist. He could be earning big money in academia or private practice if he hadn't become a priest. But here is, working as a lowly counsellor to other priests in the Georgetown area. The consequences of his life choices are unusually and painfully stark to him as he watches his mother die in a squalid public hospital ward while his brother reproaches him for his inability to do more for her. And he is starting to feel his faith slipping away...
Chris McNeill (Burstyn) is a young-ish, successful movie actress staying in Georgetown where she is making a movie with director Burke Dennings with whom she has an incipient romantic attachment. She has a daughter, Regan, from whose neglectful father she is separated. She seems a nice enough lady and a good mother (though from what little we see of Dennings, it's a bit puzzling what she sees in him). The very last thing she is is even faintly religious. But then Regan starts to get sick: her behaviour becomes increasingly odd and disturbing; doctors perform every kind of brain scan, shrinks examine her. Nobody can help. Eventually, as Regan's behaviour becomes more and more frightening and self-destructive, desperate to avoid having to lock her away in some institution, her mother turns to a priest, Father Karras. This initiates a chain of events that leads to Merrin appearing at her door in a taxi, picked out in the foggy night by the light from Regan's upstairs window...
This film deserves its classic status. It's a peculiarly effective, powerful and disturbing horror movie that is aging pretty well. Various things conspire to make it so effective. One is that it takes itself with a peculiar seriousness and gets away with it. Most horror movies do not, for good reason: they are efforts at hair-raising entertainments dealing with werewolves, vampires, zombies and other assorted fantasy bogies that adult people know perfectly well are not real. So making a film about zombies with the portentousness that might be brought to making a film about, say, divorce is not generally a great idea and, while a few horror movies do indeed take themselves very seriously, the ultimate intrinsic silliness of the subject matter makes this a huge artistic risk that almost never pays off. But "Exorcist" is dead serious. Blatty's original book is in fact a piece of out and out religious propaganda (its plot pretty much recapitulates C. S. Lewis's "That Hideous Strength": a sophisticated educated young woman does not believe in God until her secular mind-set is shattered to its foundations by her encounters with both Capital-E Evil and Capital-G Goodness...) and the movie (however much it subsequently irritated Billy Graham) was made with some cooperation from the Catholic Church. Friedkin and his cast seem to have bought into all this enough to make it the case that much of the time it feels almost as if we are watching a drama-documentary. This is indeed a big risk but the film is good enough to get away with it.
How so? Well, for one thing, it is brilliantly well directed, so much so that it is surprising and sad that Friedkin has made very little of much note since (His most recent films were the weak "The Hunted" and the dreadful "Rules of Engagement"). The film builds very slowly: not much that is all that "horror"-ish happens for the first 50 minutes or so. Though there is some nicely done suspense here, as Chris searches her dark attic for the source of a strange noise she thinks may be rats; but this is just a tease, ending anticlimactically. And there are some scenes in the hospital where tests are being done on Regan that will not be enjoyed by those who dislike the sight of blood. In fact the main function of scenes like these seem to be a very nicely calculated and highly effective way of softening the audience up and setting our nerves on edge for what happens in the last hour and a half. The acting and writing is of a high standard. Smaller characters, notably Lee J. Cobb's amiable film-buff policeman are vivid and fully drawn. Ellen Burstyn is utterly first-rate as Chris and Max von Sydow brings all of his enormous screen charisma to the part of Merrin.
A dimension in which the film is especially brilliant is in the use of sound. The tired, standard forms of "scary music" are more or less wholly absent. Indeed music of any kind is used sparingly but effectively. But it is the care that goes into the use of ambient natural sound to create mood that is impressive, right from the start in the opening Iraq scene as we cut we cut sharply from the deafening hammer noises of the dig to a dead silence. Then we get the "rat" noises from the attic, the deafening drone of the brain scanning machine that circles over Regan in hospital, the roaring of a subway train, all again counterposed with moments of dead silence. And of course the dreadful repertoire of noises Regan emits in the frenzy of possession, some but by no means all of which are the product of Mercedes McCambridge's fabulously disturbing vocal skills. If the special visual effects of this movie are starting to show their age just a bit, the sound effects are still a masterclass.
The film has weaknesses. Not all scenes work equally well. The short episode where Karras is summoned to the McNeill household at night to witness the words "Help me" tracing themselves on Regan's belly is unfrightening, unconvincing and generally ill-conceived. And if the film's success is partly due to its taking it subject matter of possession and exorcism so seriously, it is the ultimate impossibility to most of the rest of us of doing the same that stops it being a great, as opposed to very good, movie: at the end of the day, it's all a little bit too silly. But a very good movie it remains. For most people I guess its impact has been dulled by the overfamiliarity of so many central scenes and images. But if you like a good scare and you are lucky enough not to have seen this before, it's well worth doing so (alone, late at night and with all the lights out, it should go without saying.)
(Note. This reviews the original movie. I haven't seen the 1998 "Exorcist: Twenty-Fifth Anniversary Special Edition" or the 2000 "The Version You've Never Seen" or any of that stuff and have no particular interest in doing so. The recently burgeoning "Directors Cut"/"Special Edition" industry doesn't strike me as a lot more than a tired effort by studios get to a few extra bucks out of old movies by mucking about with them. Most stuff that ends up on the cutting room floor does so because someone thought it belonged there and, when the resulting film becomes a classic there is every reason to suppose the someone in question maybe knew what they were doing. (Indeed I HAVE seen the supposedly terrifying "spiderwalk" scene and its original deletion seems to me singularly well-judged. There. That's you all told.))
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2003
I read the book right after it came out and I couldn't put it down! When the movie came out I already heard a lot of the advance publicity but I was still deeply engrossed when I watched it for the first time. I have seen it many times since although not in its' recent remastered version. It is a movie that will challenge you in many ways yet it is also a movie that has the potential to reassure you as well. It is a very well-made movie complete with great writing, acting, directing, and, above all, great special effects. Even after all of these years, they still are impressive.
This movie is not for the squeemish as I can illustrate with an experience I had in Ensenada, Mexico. The movie had been out for a year or two and a friend of mine and I were traveling in Baja Mexico. There wasn't a lot to do at night so, when I saw that the movie was playing at the local theatre, I suggested we go see it. When my friend said he hadn't seen it before, I insisted that we go. The theatre was fairly full when we went in. As the movie got progressively more intense, the show would stop and a warning notice would appear on the screen advising the viewers that the movie was going to become even more graphic. This screen appeared three times during the movie. At the end of the show, the lights came on and I was surprized to discover that there were only a handful of people besides my friend and I who had sat through the whole movie.
I don't know that the movie will grip you quite so hard but it may. There is a strong element of hardcore Christian good versus demonic evil and you can get caught up in this. The actual history of exorcism is fairly scant given the number of years the scarement has been around and the hundreds of millions of Christians that were or are in this world. I suspect most people would view this movie more as a test of their nerves rather than their faith. However, after my experience in Mexico, I thought I should at least put my own warning notice on the screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2003
I read the book right after it came out and I couldn't put it down! When the movie came out I already heard a lot of the advance publicity but I was still deeply engrossed when I watched it for the first time. I have seen it many times since although not in its' recent remastered version. It is a movie that will challenge you in many ways yet it is also a movie that has the potential to reassure you are well. It is a very well-made movie complete with great writing, acting, directing, and, above all, great special effects. Even after all of these years, they still are impressive.
This movie is not for the squeemish as I can illustrate with an experience I had in Ensenada, Mexico. The movie had been out for a year or two and a friend of mine and I were traveling in Baja Mexico. There wasn't a lot to do at night so, when I saw that the movie was playing at the local theatre, I suggested we go see it. When my friend said he hadn't seen it before, I insisted that we go. The theatre was fairly full when we went in. As the movie got progressively more intense, the show would stop and a warning notice would appear on the screen advising the viewers that the movie was going to become even more graphic. This screen appeared three times during the movie. At the end of the show, the lights came on and I was surprized to discover that there were only a handful of people besides my friend and I who had sat through the whole movie.
I don't know that the movie will grip you quite so hard but it may. There is a strong element of hardcore Christian good versus demonic evil and you can get caught up in this. The actual history of exorcism is fairly scant given the number of years the scarement has been around and the hundreds of millions of Christians that were or are in this world. I suspect most people would view this movie more as a test of their nerves rather than their faith. However, after my experience in Mexico, I thought I should at least put my own warning notice on the screen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2003
I've lately started (very carefully) to watch horror movies and thrillers. It took me over 6 months, though, before I had guts to rent The exorcist. Some of my friends told me it's boring and no scary at all, and at the same time I heard just the opposite.
I watched it at daytime. I watched it totally without sound. I listened to the classical music while watching it. I watched some parts speeded up. From time to time I took my glasses off. Most of the ending part I watched through my fingers...
And still... Afterwards I was so upset I couldn't keep my thoughts straight. I've never in my life been so scared! I believe that the horror movies' effectiveness depends on how much truth there is in them. I don't mean that all the monsters are real, but the horror-genre plays with our images about what is beyond the world we "know". If this movie scares you or not, it depends pretty much on how you see the life itself, and if you let through the eternal question: is there something or someone I can't see? Beware, people! Satan is real!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse