summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars43
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$58.00+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 3, 2002
When Elizabeth's (played by Judi Dench) husband dies, she contemplates where she should go with her life. She starts by returning to the music she played during World War 2, when she belonged to an all-girl band called The Blonde Bombshells. However, when she runs into Patrick (Ian Holm), the drummer from The Blond Bombshells (OK, they couldn't find a girl drummer), she hits on the idea of bringing the Blonde Bombshells back together. However, that's easier said than done--some are dead, some have left the country, one has lost her sanity, one has found God, and all are scattered. However, Elizabeth is not a woman to give up easily. This is the story of nostalgia, overcoming, the love of music...and so much more! [Color, released in 2000, with a running time of 1 hour, 24 minutes.]
I absolutely loved this movie! It is star-encrusted, and even though I am an American, I kept recognizing just about everyone in it. The story is touching, and yet not maudlin. I loved the music (so very timely again), the acting, and the story. The one warning I will give is that the movie earned its PG-13 rating due to swearing, with the "F" word being used all too often. That said, though, this is a great movie, one that I highly recommend.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2003
This wonderful movie is a must for those of us who remember the good old days, when music was played by real musicians, who could read music. This is another WW 2 movie and there are hundreds of them, but this is a bitter sweet comedy drama that will make you sit back and close your eyes and transport yourself back into the era which many call, "The greatest musical period of the 20th century. Judi Dench surly deserved an award for her performance of a grandmother saxophone player who played with an all girls band during the war. She was the star. She had not played in years and after her husband had died her little grandaughter asked her to pu the band back together to play at her school dance. The story of how this came about is funny, sad, sentimental and entertaining. I will leave the rest for you to see, but I give this a 5 star rating and if there 10 stars it would get that. Enjoy an afternoon with these ladies and relax, you are in for an enjoyable time.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
A wistful story about yesteryear and those who entertained in WWII. Great swing band music and cleaver editing takes the viewer back and forth between the 40s and today. This is a feel good movie and can be watched many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
Swing music is one of my favourites. The idea of an all-women swing band who played their music during the swing times, getting together in a reunion when they are in their 60s, well, that caught my attention. I truly enjoy watching this DVD on a regular basis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 12, 2011
This is a good yarn especially if you are a bit older and can relate to the premise of this movie which is remembering the past. Judy Densch is amazing, as usual, and this story tells how you can have fond memories of the past but still bring certain aspects of it into the present and make it alive for the "now". This is the story of a group of musicians who played in a group during the 2nd WW and then afterwards everyone went their separate ways. By an unusual stroke of fate, the group is reunited many years later to great success. I recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2002
I agree completely with the other positive reviews of "The Last of the Blonde Bombshells", so I'll not repeat the plot details, and other comments. The film is a delight !
I must express my frustration that witty, poignant films like this, clearly aimed at an older audience, do not seem to appear in the local cineplex.
There may be one or two actresses in the world as good as Dame Judi--but none are better. She really shines here, even in a cast of superb veteran British actors, not to mention non-Brits Dukakis and Caron. So nice to see Ms. Caron on screen again, even in a cameo, some 50 years after "An American in Paris".
So--a real winner--and the price is right.
Recommended.
One very sad footnote--I believe that this was Joan Sims' last
film. Ms. Sims was a delightful character actress, and, of course, an indispensible member of the legendary "Carry On Gang".
She will be missed.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2001
Judi Dench is a recent widow who wonders what happened to her life. In her youth she was the star saxaphonist for an all girl swing band, The Blonde Bombshells. She picks up her sax and busks with a young musician. There she is reunited with the only male member of the band, a womanizing drummer who played in drag. Together, try to reunite the band. They manage to find the band leader(She played Madge in Dench's series As Time Goes by), the trumpet player(Dukakis' drunken rich lady is wonderful), the singer, and another band member who joined the Salvation Army. Together, they ready themselves for their first gig, Dench's granddaughter's school dance.
Dench, as usual, is excellent in this role. The supporting cast is cast pretty near perfectly, especially Dench's stodgy children. You find yourself rooting for the band's reunion very soon into the story, and the film does not disappoint.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2003
This is the kind of movie I love to wrap my arms around and draw close to me...endearing, funny, serious, sad, but most of all, wonderful! I'm not sure what I loved the most, the music, the characters, the story, or the darling girl who played Ms. Dench's granddaughter...naw, I loved all of it...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2003
Saw it on cable last night and ordered the dvd today! Actually two copies - one for me and one for my father. Had never heard of this film - just came upon it by accident.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2001
What's not to love about this one. Thank you Dame Judi et al. 'Last of the Blond Bombshells' neither barely dips a toe nor plunges in too deeply. Non-gushy Brit wit completely heartwarming call to arms (instruments) to women and the generational responsibility we bear to ourselves, our children and grandchildren. 'Field of Dreams' with no ghosts.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items