Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Clerks 1 1/2
The TV show ran only 2 episodes long, and got cancelled afterwards, but this set holds the 6 completed cartoons that were produced at the time, all enjoyable and funny when you know Smith's brand of humor.

The only downside is the sound effects, most of which comes from a sound library and sometimes they are quite far out from what we would have expected (ex.:...
Published 4 months ago by Simon Bergeron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Kevin Smith in a totally platonic way, but. . .
My nephew thought these cartoon's were hillarious, and maybe you will too, if you're a Kevin Smith fan. I thought that Kevin and his merry band of rebels stretched themselves a little too far with this effort. There was so much going on in the dialogue its a little hard to follow. It was difficult for me to tell when I should be laughing, and at what exactly. Or maybe...
Published on Aug. 3 2003 by Ryad "James"


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Clerks 1 1/2, Nov. 27 2013
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
The TV show ran only 2 episodes long, and got cancelled afterwards, but this set holds the 6 completed cartoons that were produced at the time, all enjoyable and funny when you know Smith's brand of humor.

The only downside is the sound effects, most of which comes from a sound library and sometimes they are quite far out from what we would have expected (ex.: a paint brush sounds like slime... yeah that far out). Oh and also the swearing is mostly absent from everything else Smith has ever done. It's not that big of a deal, after all, we ARE in a cartoon.

All in all, it's a very satisfying way to spend a rainy saturday afternoon even if the special features department is pretty thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just Buy It Already, June 29 2004
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Everyone else has written reviews explaining what it is, so I won't. Just scroll down to find out. So if you like what they say, buy it. It is only $10 at Best Buy, and goes great with Clerks the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than most of his movies., April 26 2004
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
i liked this a lot more than jersey girl,chasing amy, dogma, jay and silent bob strike back and even mallrats. abc never should of cancelled it, the only thing i didn't like was in the discreto burrito episode they make fun of quentin tarantino(completely uncalled for and unnecessary)also this "uncensored" thing does'nt mean much. the only thing they'd need to censor (nudity) is censored but other than that, pure genius, almost as good as the film it was based on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome!!!, April 8 2004
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
this show is on comedy central @ 12:00 am on Sundays,if your willing to stay up that late.... than watch it. Its awsome. If you liked the kevin smith movies (clerks:the black and white movie, mallrats, chasing Amy, dogma, or Jay And Silent Bob Strike back) than you will like this too. If you havent seen it trust me its good, pick up this DVD today. the best episode is the discreto buritos 1, if youve seen it youll know wut im talkin bout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I can't quite put my finger on it..., March 23 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks (VHS Tape)
Maybe it was the fact that it was produced to be aired on network TV, and thus hadda be extensively watered down to conform to broadcast TV standards (translation: none of the sicker and profanity-laden adult-oriented material that made the movie that this series was based on so freakin' funny was used). Or it coulda been the endless array of pop-culture references and inside jokes that didn't seem to go anywhere-- well, except perhaps for a couple relating to Star Wars. Or maybe it was the smattering of interesting concepts and ideas for comedic situations that weren't developed to their fullest effect in the finished product. Or it might've been the repetition of certain gags that weren't all that funny the first time 'round (great example: the "climbing-up-the-side-of-the-building-using-a-rope-a-la-the-classic-Batman-series" gimmick that plays out about a half-dozen times in the first episode alone). Personally, however, I'd say it was all of the aforementioned factors (and others) that combined to make the animated Clerks series rather... well, uninteresting in my eyes. I got a few light chuckles here 'n' there-- the high point being the 'Lawsuit' eppie guest-starring Judge Reinhold and ending with a hyperactive jab at Japanese anime-- but overall the Clerks 'toon lacked the "big laughs" and "irreverent comedy" the video box blurb claimed this "outrageous anthology" possessed. Oh well, at least I've got Kevin Smith's movies to fall back on in case I need some real laughs...
Actually, there was one pop-culture-reference/in-joke dealie that I got a real good laugh out of, but only because it was so unintentionally ironic. One of the eppies featured a Happy Days flashback where the Fonz jumps his motorcycle over a shark tank (a moment that actually happened on Happy Days, BTW). This event is the origin of the term "jumping the shark", a term that refers to the point in the life of a TV series where the show has hit its highest point, and the quality starts going downhill rapidly into the oblivion of cancellation from that point. I'd explain the whole thing in further detail, but I think you get where I'm goin' with this. However, if you're still havin' problems puttin' it all together, head on over to [...] THAT oughtta clear things up for ya...
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hi im charlese barkley, March 4 2004
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
hey what you doin here.....this dvd contains all episodes to the animated series clerks.sadly it ended without that many episodes.i can't beleive it ended i liked that episode. it made me laugh so hard and im usually the one that makes people laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars why was the series cancled?, Feb. 27 2004
By 
newfound32 (los angeles ca) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
This was more funnier than I thought it was gonna be. This show is really hilarious. The show is the continuation of kevin smith hilarious comedy "Clerks". This show has the kind of Daria look, like the animation stuff. One of my favorite episodes is episode #2. That ones great, and so is episode #4. Those are my favorite episodes. The commentary is hilarious too, and the special feattures are great. The featuratte is like interviews and stuff, it shows drawings and kevin smith and other dudes talking. This show is real hilarious that takes the edge like "family guy" and "south park". By the way sometimes like at 1:00 in the morning on comedy central they show this. If you loved the movie, you love'd the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's not evil, it's just rain...fine, try to kill it!", Feb. 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Like many of us, I was introduced to this show by a friend. And like many of us, I immediately went out and bought the DVD collection as soon as I could.
This is the show that could have been but wasn't. Billed at the same time as the Superbowl and the first "Survivor" the series met a sad fate of barely three episodes...even though six (including the pilot) existed. However, it now has a huge cult following, and barely any one who sees it isn't afraid to say they have.
What makes this show so funny? How can I explain it...the humor of Kevin Smith is all there, along with plain simple fun. Jay and Silent Bob are still clinging around the stores (the restraining order hasn't been put in place yet) and to introduce conflict rich tycoon Leonardo Leonardo comes in the pilot episode with a "Quicker Stop." He's basically the Mister Burns of the series.
The jokes are mainly centered around the antics of our two heroes as they try to handle such issues as a virus outbreak or a down-and-out baseball team. The most fondly remembered episode is the fourth one with the ending done by Korean animators ("BIG AMERICAN PARTY!!"), but all episodes are hilarious. The extras on the DVD are actually pretty decent. They have two ways of watching the show: as you normally would, or entirely by its storyboards. There is also a commentary by Kevin Smith and the voice cast, and its well worth your time to listen to. It goes into depth on the development of the show and each episode.
So is this worth you money? Should you take a dare and buy an entire series with no experience of it beforehand? If you have a sense of humor...definately yes. Tell them a car full of midgets sent you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, Jan. 16 2004
By 
The Deac (Bristow, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
It is softer in tone, language, and overall meaning than the movie, but these shows are still hysterical. It is a shame the series didn't hit, cause there are some really great moments on it. But, as with all View Askew discs, the commentary makes it essential. GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the movie., Jan. 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
"Clerks", "Clerks Uncensored", or "Clerks The Animated Series" (what it's widely called), is obviously a take-off from the very popular View Askew film of the same name, only it's animated and lots of things are changed. In some ways, these changes are for the better. In other ways, these changes can be quite annoying or they may not even effect you one bit. I actually watched the "Clerks Uncensored" two-disc DVD set before I even watched the Clerks movie, so I didn't even notice these changes. Anyway, as I've mentioned before in my Clerks the movie review, I just didn't find it to be very funny. The show, on the other hand, was filled with moments that were simply hilarious.
I loved each episode of it and I curse ABC for canceling it after only two episodes. ABC is really the reason why some people didn't like the show. ABC forced the creators to change just about everything that made Clerks what it was. For instance, in the Kevin Smith movies, Jay & Silent Bob are drug dealers, whilst in the show, they are firecracker salesman. Jay & Silent Bob are still pretty funny, but it's weird to see them put in such a ridiculous means of employment.
Overall, I seem to like the show of Clerks better than the movie itself and enjoyed how Charles Barkley was almost in every episode. If you're looking for a show that is just like the movie, you won't find it here. However, if you're looking for a show that is pretty funny and you're open-minded about it, then I'm willing to bet that you'll like this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3181690)

This product

Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen)
Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) by Brian O'Halloran (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 44.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews