Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's not evil, it's just rain...fine, try to kill it!"
Like many of us, I was introduced to this show by a friend. And like many of us, I immediately went out and bought the DVD collection as soon as I could.
This is the show that could have been but wasn't. Billed at the same time as the Superbowl and the first "Survivor" the series met a sad fate of barely three episodes...even though six (including the pilot) existed...
Published on Feb. 19 2004 by TrezKu13

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a failed attempt
Kevin Smith attempted to cash in on his Clerks fame with this Clerks animated series, voiced by the original cast. Only two episodes aired on ABC, and only six were made. This dvd contains all six, with (not so good) introductions by Jay and Silent Bob. The cartoon has a sharp look to it, and a few good lines. Episodes 3,4, and 5 are the best, and actually are pretty...
Published on Aug. 27 2002 by adead_poet@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars I can't quite put my finger on it..., March 23 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks (VHS Tape)
Maybe it was the fact that it was produced to be aired on network TV, and thus hadda be extensively watered down to conform to broadcast TV standards (translation: none of the sicker and profanity-laden adult-oriented material that made the movie that this series was based on so freakin' funny was used). Or it coulda been the endless array of pop-culture references and inside jokes that didn't seem to go anywhere-- well, except perhaps for a couple relating to Star Wars. Or maybe it was the smattering of interesting concepts and ideas for comedic situations that weren't developed to their fullest effect in the finished product. Or it might've been the repetition of certain gags that weren't all that funny the first time 'round (great example: the "climbing-up-the-side-of-the-building-using-a-rope-a-la-the-classic-Batman-series" gimmick that plays out about a half-dozen times in the first episode alone). Personally, however, I'd say it was all of the aforementioned factors (and others) that combined to make the animated Clerks series rather... well, uninteresting in my eyes. I got a few light chuckles here 'n' there-- the high point being the 'Lawsuit' eppie guest-starring Judge Reinhold and ending with a hyperactive jab at Japanese anime-- but overall the Clerks 'toon lacked the "big laughs" and "irreverent comedy" the video box blurb claimed this "outrageous anthology" possessed. Oh well, at least I've got Kevin Smith's movies to fall back on in case I need some real laughs...
Actually, there was one pop-culture-reference/in-joke dealie that I got a real good laugh out of, but only because it was so unintentionally ironic. One of the eppies featured a Happy Days flashback where the Fonz jumps his motorcycle over a shark tank (a moment that actually happened on Happy Days, BTW). This event is the origin of the term "jumping the shark", a term that refers to the point in the life of a TV series where the show has hit its highest point, and the quality starts going downhill rapidly into the oblivion of cancellation from that point. I'd explain the whole thing in further detail, but I think you get where I'm goin' with this. However, if you're still havin' problems puttin' it all together, head on over to [...] THAT oughtta clear things up for ya...
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "It's not evil, it's just rain...fine, try to kill it!", Feb. 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Like many of us, I was introduced to this show by a friend. And like many of us, I immediately went out and bought the DVD collection as soon as I could.
This is the show that could have been but wasn't. Billed at the same time as the Superbowl and the first "Survivor" the series met a sad fate of barely three episodes...even though six (including the pilot) existed. However, it now has a huge cult following, and barely any one who sees it isn't afraid to say they have.
What makes this show so funny? How can I explain it...the humor of Kevin Smith is all there, along with plain simple fun. Jay and Silent Bob are still clinging around the stores (the restraining order hasn't been put in place yet) and to introduce conflict rich tycoon Leonardo Leonardo comes in the pilot episode with a "Quicker Stop." He's basically the Mister Burns of the series.
The jokes are mainly centered around the antics of our two heroes as they try to handle such issues as a virus outbreak or a down-and-out baseball team. The most fondly remembered episode is the fourth one with the ending done by Korean animators ("BIG AMERICAN PARTY!!"), but all episodes are hilarious. The extras on the DVD are actually pretty decent. They have two ways of watching the show: as you normally would, or entirely by its storyboards. There is also a commentary by Kevin Smith and the voice cast, and its well worth your time to listen to. It goes into depth on the development of the show and each episode.
So is this worth you money? Should you take a dare and buy an entire series with no experience of it beforehand? If you have a sense of humor...definately yes. Tell them a car full of midgets sent you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the movie., Jan. 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
"Clerks", "Clerks Uncensored", or "Clerks The Animated Series" (what it's widely called), is obviously a take-off from the very popular View Askew film of the same name, only it's animated and lots of things are changed. In some ways, these changes are for the better. In other ways, these changes can be quite annoying or they may not even effect you one bit. I actually watched the "Clerks Uncensored" two-disc DVD set before I even watched the Clerks movie, so I didn't even notice these changes. Anyway, as I've mentioned before in my Clerks the movie review, I just didn't find it to be very funny. The show, on the other hand, was filled with moments that were simply hilarious.
I loved each episode of it and I curse ABC for canceling it after only two episodes. ABC is really the reason why some people didn't like the show. ABC forced the creators to change just about everything that made Clerks what it was. For instance, in the Kevin Smith movies, Jay & Silent Bob are drug dealers, whilst in the show, they are firecracker salesman. Jay & Silent Bob are still pretty funny, but it's weird to see them put in such a ridiculous means of employment.
Overall, I seem to like the show of Clerks better than the movie itself and enjoyed how Charles Barkley was almost in every episode. If you're looking for a show that is just like the movie, you won't find it here. However, if you're looking for a show that is pretty funny and you're open-minded about it, then I'm willing to bet that you'll like this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV Show... that only aired for two episodes, Nov. 8 2003
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
This stuff is funny. Sure, there's no cursing in it, and it definitely may not be as funny as the movies, but c'mon, if you look past that, there's some really funny stuff on here. Clerks the animated series is a great little package.
Anyways, this is Clerks the animated series. It comes in two discs. The first 2/3 episodes on the 1st disc were the only ones aired on ABC (why it got cancelled I still don't know to this day). The other 4 are the rest of the episodes that never made it. Anways, it features the characters' voices from the Clerks movie, Brian, Jeff, Jason, and of course Kevin on here. Anyways, there's at least 3 really funny parts in each episode. Like Jay teaching a monkey how to smoke, or the constant bashing of Charles Barkley (who's actually on it). My fav. episode would have to be episode 3 where Jay sues Dante for 10 million for slipping on a puddle of soda. Instead of the jury, they have the NBA all stars players on there At the end, it throws a curveball and goes Japanese animated. You have to see it to see why it's funny.
Anyways, if you love all the Kevin Smith movies, you really don't need this. But if you're a Jay and Silent Bob fanatic, this is defintely a neccessary DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humor that's way overlooked, Oct. 16 2003
By 
Greg Blair (Cambridge, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
It seems quite a few people see the humor in Kevin Smith's animated series, "Clerks", as 'stupid' and 'unfunny'. I am sorry to say that I am unable to agree with those few. I have owned this DVD set since its release, and I have yet to become tired of it.
This 2 disc set (containing 6 complete episodes of the ill-fated series), follows the daily lives of Dante and Randal, 2 employees of what is known as "the block of stores". In the first episode, they meet with their rival of the series, Leonardo Leonardo (voiced by Alec Baldwin), and they have to thwart his plans for global domination. Then, throughout the series, Dante and Randal get locked in a freezer, go to the little league world series, and even enter the matrix. All the while, making fun of celebraties and pop culture. The animation is amazing and in a very unique style
Most people, when they see these episodes, expect the same foul-mouthed characters they knew from the original "Clerks" movie. They won't find that here. Some of the humor is right out in the open, while some of it takes a bit a throught. In my opinion, this shows me that Kevin Smith is very capable of writing clean, witty humor (although he doesn't think so in his commentary). If you're a fan of Kevin Smith, you should at least rent this and judge for yourself, because I feel this was a very clever series, even though it never took off because of ABC's lack of caring towards the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Nothing can kill The Grimace!", May 13 2003
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Ah, remember the summer of 2000? Reality TV dominated our sets. Whether it be Survivor or Big Brother, there was certainly an abundance of it. And lost in the midst of it all was this treasure. Clerks, the failed animated series based on the Kevin Smith film of the same name, lasted a mere two episodes on the ABC network before having it's plug pulled. But alas, they had more than just two episodes, there were six all together, and all six of them are right here, uncensored, on DVD, for your viewing pleasure. A lot of Smith fans questioned if the transition from an R-rated "potty humor" movie to a nationally syndicated primetime animated series was logical, or even funny. Well, rest assured, it is. The witty writing, the clever pop-culture references, the odd usage of celebrities, it's all here. No Kevin Smith fan will be disappointed. The animation on the series is flawless and all 6 episodes are hilarious and diverse. If this show had been given it's fair chance, we'd still be watching it today. All 6 episodes come with commentary by Smith and friends, where towards the end, Smith vents about his distatse for a certain thin-mustached lawyer. We are also given a few animatics (animated storyboards) and some little "making-of" featurettes. A definite must-buy for any Kevin Smith fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Yous guys want to buy some fireworks???" (4.5 stars), Jan. 2 2003
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Leave it to ABC to cancel great shows. (Perfect example: The Job.) The animated series, "Clerks," only made it for two episodes from what I know. It's hard to understand why, because I thought they were hilarious. Sure, they were nothing like the movie, but they were still good and entertaining. Well, now here's your chance to see those two episodes, and four others that have never been seen before. "Clerks: Uncensored" is animated chaos and mayhem at its best.
Written by Kevin Smith and voiced by the major players from the movie, you still get to see all the great wit and humor from Smith's mind, even if he can't use cursing. The episodes are very well executed and well written, leaving you unsure of what to expect next.
All 6 episodes are great, but I must say that one of my favorites has to be the one that resembles the movie, "Outbreak." (Remember, due to legal reasons, it can no longer be referred to as the Dustin Hoffman movie when you are talking about the show. It must now be referred to as the Al Pacino movie.) All of the rest are great too.
All of this is presented to you on 2 disks, including extras such as intros to each episode by Jay and Silent Bob, commentary, character development featurette, the film festival trailer, and a couple of other nice extras to make you happy.
You like Kevin Smith? You like "Clerks?" Then pick up this DVD. While it may not be as good as the movie (it's not trying to be, and it even makes fun of the fact that it isn't), "Clerks: Uncensored" is hilarious and entertaining. Forget ABC! Here's your chance to watch these episodes and make decisions for yourself. I guess when all else fails, you can always go back to watching "Friends" or "Will and Grace....."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a failed attempt, Aug. 27 2002
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Kevin Smith attempted to cash in on his Clerks fame with this Clerks animated series, voiced by the original cast. Only two episodes aired on ABC, and only six were made. This dvd contains all six, with (not so good) introductions by Jay and Silent Bob. The cartoon has a sharp look to it, and a few good lines. Episodes 3,4, and 5 are the best, and actually are pretty good. Episode 1 and 2 are bad. The final episode is ok, but not like 3,4,and 5. Those three episodes show that the series could have improved had ABC kept it.
Once again Kevin Smith has a good dvd. There are animatics for each episode and two featurettes. Producers Kevin Smith, Scott Mosier, and Dave Mandel, Supervising Director Chris Bailey, and actors Brian O'Halloran, Jeff Anderson, and Jason Mewes supply the commentry that runs through all six episodes. Smith says at one point that these cartoons are best watched with an audience of 5000 (referring to his showings at comic book collections), and I can see what he means. These cartoons were so much more enjoyable watching it during the commentary. It is like watching it with them.
This isn't The Simpsons or South Park. But if you are a Kevin Smith fan, then is probably something you would enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff for Clerks fans ...and ABC haters!, May 2 2002
By 
tsktsktsk "tsk" (Staten Island, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
This was Kevin Smith's failed attempt to get Clerks out to the masses as an animated series. ABC canned it after only two airings. ABC had no clue what they bought when they optioned this thing. Is it funny? Yes! It's f-ing hysterical! However, it wasn't really meant for ABC. ABC did its best to run it in the ground by airing the episodes out of order, they showed episodes 4 and 2 in that order when 2 was built upon and relied on episode 1 to make sense! View Askew fans need this as a part of their collection because of 1: It's really funny, even though it's toned down for TV and in color. Brian O'Halloran and Jeff Anderson did a really great job bringing Dante and Randall to "life" in this. To truly appreciate the job they did you need to see all the episodes in order. Especially the last one in which they blast ABC with both barrels. 2: The DVD commentary track has all the dirt on what happened between Smith and co. and ABC. It's a great abject lesson in how the corporate mentality can ruin a good thing. That and bad Korean animators...
There are also some really funny live sequences before each episode with Jason Mewes, Kevin Smith and Jeff Anderson. The little Jay and Silent Bob activity shorts are pretty funny too, even if they are a bit disturbing (O lord Satan I offer up this girls soul...). All in all a great 2 DVD set well worth the money. I only gave it 4 stars because there's no cursing and it's in color and the villains are reminiscent of Mr. Burns and Smithers (Doh!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Funniest Animated Show I've Ever Seen, March 20 2002
By 
"madnessmark" (Maple Grove, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) (DVD)
Im not lying. This show is incredible. I can't stand the fact that this show only lasted for two episodes on television. This show is funnier than Simpsons and Family Guy. Now thats saying something.
Episode 1 (B): The great Leonardo Leonardo returns to Leonardo. When he opens up a new shop across from the Quick Stop, Dante and Randal must find a way to save their business. Meanwhile, Jay and Silent Bob sell M-80s.
Episode 2 (A): When Dante installs new locks on the Quick Stop, he and Randal become stuck in small places. Time for cool flashbacks.
Episode 3 (B+): When a new pet store opens up on the Quick Stop's block, Randal starts going nuts over Outbreak. Meanwhile, Jay and Silent Bob train a pet monkey.
Episode 4 (A-): Jay slips on some soda at the Quick Stop and sues Dante for 10 million dollars. Also, special Japanimation ending!
Episode 5 (B+): Dante gets a chance to coach LL's little league team while Randal become an egyptian slave. Also, Jay gets to play on the team.
Episode 6 (A): Dante and Randal must stay up all night while across the street a fair goes on. Jay and Silent Bob act as Dante and Randals eyes to the fair. Loaded with tons of great gags like Brazilian soccer team canibals, vampires, hookers, pinhead freaks, Dante's cheating girlfriend and wild animals. Whats not to like?
Animatics: Pretty good storyboards of the show even if the audio is a little off key.
Audio Commentary: Perfect. These guys aren't afraid to rip on the "network" that held them back. What fun.
Super Bowl TV Spot: Not all that spectacular, but pretty fun to watch.
Film Festival Trailer: Excellent. The trailer gives off quotes making fun of the show like "I could sh*t a better show".
Character Development: Some cool designs of all the characters. Fun to look at.
Clerks Style: Pretty similar to character development. Some good sketches though.
Overall, if you haven't seen this show and you are a big fan of Family Guy or the Simpons, get this now! You won't regret it. Snootch to the nootch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen)
Clerks: Uncensored [2 Discs] (Full Screen) by Brian O'Halloran (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 44.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews