Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, bought this copy for my Dad
Good movie overall, some small corny parts but very action packed, my Dad still has a VCR , that's why I got the tape and not DVD
Published 8 months ago by goodies galore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars navy seals
well hmm i was a little skeptical about this movie and was even laughing at it at the beginning but that is just because it is so outdated.. this is an era before everyone had cell phones, and the music is laughable except for a good ted hawkins song. i found the main seals sheen and beihn to not be particularly believable as seals ( they didnt have the builds, and there...
Published on June 22 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, bought this copy for my Dad, July 25 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Navy Seals (VHS Tape)
Good movie overall, some small corny parts but very action packed, my Dad still has a VCR , that's why I got the tape and not DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent action flick!!!, Sept. 5 2004
By 
Nicole K. (Western Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Navy Seals (DVD)
I love this movie! It's a fantastic action flick. Plenty of fights and explosions . . . entertaining characters . . . hot looking guys in uniform . . . and an emotional undercurrent (losing friends). I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Navy SEALs seem pleased with Michael Biehn�s performance, March 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love the movie, but readily admit there are parts that could most definitely use some improvement. It does, however, have lots of action, emotional moments, and even comedic relief throughout; making it fun to watch no matter what mood you're in.
I believe the SEALs deserve the utmost respect and was a bit upset that some parts of the movie, a movie bearing their name, didn't seem to do them justice. Though I don't know how your average Navy SEAL feels about the movie itself; they seem to be very pleased with Michael Biehn's (yay!) portrayal as a Navy SEAL. I read an article (I'm not sure if I'm allowed to cite in a review, an internet search should lead you to it though - fan club) that said the SEALs were excited about the prospect of Mr. Biehn being the narrator for the U.S. Navy UDT/SEAL Museum in Florida's new film. The film (I believe, as I haven't had a chance to visit the museum yet) is running continuously, showing the history and evolution of the United States Navy SEALs. Biehn, honored, narrated it for free. The SEALs seem to feel that Michael Biehn's depictions as a SEAL in "Navy SEALs" and "The Rock" were very accurate and well done. This is further evidenced by the fact that after his part in the museum film was completed, he received a special honor from Rear Admiral E.T. Olsen; he was awarded with a plaque and named Honorary Frogman for Life. This is a real honor since the SEALs say that the Admiral has only done this a few times and rarely gives such glowing compliments to anyone.
So, though the movie has it's faults, and what movie doesn't, it's still a good movie. Give it a try and enjoy if for what it is, a movie. If you're a Michael Biehn fan, it's a must see. Also, though Charlie Sheen's portrayal of a SEAL may not, putting it mildly, be the greatest, don't be too harsh a judge; remember, he's just doing the best he can, which is pretty darn good, with the shoddy part he's given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars misinformed viewers, Jan. 6 2004
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I have read many reviews that have been compared to the "real" SEALs.I would agree, there are some parts about the film that seem unbelievable. However, if you are going to do enough research into the SEAL teams to "know" this movie is unrealistic, here is an idea for you. Research a navy SEAL team called Red Cell. After reading about it, you will agree that this movie is almost exactly to a tee on how that team operated. Keep that in mind next time you watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I'm no Charlie Sheen fan, but he deserved better than this, Oct. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
1990 wasn't a good year for Charlie Sheen. As if "Navy Seals" wasn't bad enough, he followed it with "The Rookie", another brainless action flick that both he and director/co-star Clint Eastwood would like to forget. But of the two, I'd have to say that "Navy Seals" is worse. Overflowing with cornball dialogue, stupid action scenes and MTV filler (remember that golf-cart chase set to music?), this movie was made for a twelve-year-old. Watch "Black Hawk Down" and see how a real modern war film sould be made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars navy seals, June 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
well hmm i was a little skeptical about this movie and was even laughing at it at the beginning but that is just because it is so outdated.. this is an era before everyone had cell phones, and the music is laughable except for a good ted hawkins song. i found the main seals sheen and beihn to not be particularly believable as seals ( they didnt have the builds, and there hair was to pretty boy) however i was impressed with the supporting seals. i liked seeing slider from top gun, and pedro cerrano from major league as beleivable seals, and paxton plays a good sniper. i didnt like the romance with the lebonese reporter and beihn, and couldnt really find out what she did to help the seals. the beirut scene was good with the apc and seal rescue, but i could have done without some of sheens silly antics and overacting by other cast members. the movie is oh so predictable but it is still very entertaining. they do cover a good bit of actual seal techniques from halo's to 12 mile swims to cqb, bu they did not use stealth to the degree that actual seals would. tears of the sun is much better although it is modern so they are not really comparable. watch it though its good enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great cast gets a lousy script - needs to be remade, June 20 2003
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The lineup of cast members are really impressive, minus Charlie Sheen, who again makes it to the script's boat motor and pulls and pulls the string, breaking it. My two fav actors are Biehn and Paxton (real life friends) and I must say that this flick was not worthy of the cast, especially these two. Joanne Whaley, Cyril O'Reiley, and Rick Rossovich, also good actors, were wasted. Some scenes, like the debut of their skills, during the rescue of the remaining 2 American G.I.'s, and the skydive to the coast, were great. Too many of the other action scenes were not believable or tactically true. Biehn is always on the ball, although his dialouge and scrpit matter fail to let him shine. Dennis Ranbert, too bad he was knocked off by Sheen's carelessness. And then Hawkin's is still allowed to be on the team? Is the script stupid or what? I vote for a remake, but with the same cast-I know they're older, bu so what. And the lines by Sheen? He's not THAT bad...and it's not his fault: it's the scriptwriter and producers! Sheen just seems to eat up the dialouge like a dinner-he really seems to be having fun with the garbage can script.
Biehn: "Cool off!"
Sheen: "You should see me when I'm hot!"
Rescue the cast and put this NAVY adventure in a kiddie pool with water guns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Navy Seals- Well Done, but unrealistic, April 30 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Gozer the Traveler! He will come in one of the pre-chosen forms. During the Rectification of the Vuldronaii, the Traveler came as a large and moving Torb! Then, during the Third Reconciliation of the Last of the Meketrex Supplicants, they chose a new form for him, that of a giant Sloar! Many Shubs and Zuuls knew what it was to be roasted in the depths of a Sloar that day, I can tell you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's an insult - if it wasn't so darn ridiculous, Sept. 16 2002
By 
MVDM (Shanghai, PRC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The movie is so dumb, I can't help but wonder how many Navy Seals felt insulted after seeing it. Maybe it is a cool thing for 12 year olds, I am sure they too want to be able to "sense" a door being locked or having a terrorist behind it just by placing your fingertips on it (did Sheen come up with that one himself??). At no point in the movie did they even look as the professionals they ought to be. At no point did the movie make any sense, or did the story entail any real intrigue or purpose. Perhaps the Beirut scenes make up for some of the idiotic and lame "acting" Sheen throws at you, but overal, I cannot help but feeling that this movie does more harm than good to the image and prestige of the US Navy's finest. Waste of money - waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Action stinker., Aug. 29 2002
This review is from: Navy Seals (VHS Tape)
It took me three sittings to sit through most of Navy Seals, and I still dozed off through a few minutes of it. Yes, boredum the movie's biggest problem. This is by far the dullest action movie I've seen in years, maybe even of all-time.
What's the plot? Who cares? It's just bare bones enough to string up some action sequences, but unfortunately, the action scenes smell of made-for-TV quality. Heck, some of the stuff that's made-for-TV these days features better action (i.e. Band of Brothers). Director Lewis Teague obviously doesn't know much more than the good old point-and-shoot method, meaning he's got no style or, for that matter, a sense of direction. People shoot, get shot, and it's a basic, routine pattern that continues for all the gunfights. There are no cool stunts, outrageous situations, or edgy tension during all these scenes.
The way it is for me is that movies involving commando teams are rarely ever exciting, mainly because it's a bunch of tough guys who seem invincible, even when a couple of them get killed. Oh, don't get me wrong, there are notable exceptions (such as the nail-biter Executive Decision), but Navy Seals sure isn't one of them. The film never builds up any suspense because the villains never seem like a threat. None of the bad guys are even the slightest bit menacing. Already, at least half the movie's effectiveness is gone.
But the "heroes" are just as lame and uninteresting. For these parts, acting's what you'd expect. Charlie Sheen plays himself, annoying and idiotic as usual. Michael Biehn is the tough-as-nails commander, a role he can do in his sleep, though he plays the part so straight he might just induce some sleep in the viewers. Nobody else makes an impression, not even the usually funny Bill Paxton.
I don't have much more to say about Navy Seals, other than its third-rate, silly crap that fails on every intended level. It's dull plot and premise won't make this an enjoyable movie to trash in a crowd, and its boring execution will put a lot of viewers to sleep. Definitely one of the nadirs of awful modern action filmmaking.
1/2 out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xba2f8c48)

This product

Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
Navy Seals (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Lewis Teague (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 15.98 CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews