Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Escellent Car Chase Fil,
As a licensed race car driver who has worked on film stunts in the past, most recently Death Race with Jason Statham, I can appreciate the realism of the action in this film. The guerilla filmmaking techniques make it that much more edgy, and the fact that one man wrote, financed, directed, starred in and did all the stunts for this film make it more phenomenal. A...
Published on April 29 2010 by Daniel Boloten

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the movie is great, but the dvd STINKS
This is one of the all-time greatest car movies every made. the chase scenes are spectacular. Unlike some other reviewers, I found the plot plausible and intriguing.
HOWEVER, the dvd RUINED this movie. Although the bonus features are great, they cheaped out and didn't include the original score. Instead of the funky 70s music that totally fit the mood (stuff) that I...
Published on Sept. 9 2002 by Beef Malone


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the movie is great, but the dvd STINKS, Sept. 9 2002
By 
Beef Malone (Jackson, MS, CSA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is one of the all-time greatest car movies every made. the chase scenes are spectacular. Unlike some other reviewers, I found the plot plausible and intriguing.
HOWEVER, the dvd RUINED this movie. Although the bonus features are great, they cheaped out and didn't include the original score. Instead of the funky 70s music that totally fit the mood (stuff) that I could have whipped up on my home pc in about 10 minutes.
The missing songs and score totally ruined this otherwise terrific movie. You also get to see Halicki's widow insert herself all throughout the special features to the point of nausea. She even credits her own PARENTS with the making of the dvd! WTF???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pas de surprise, Aug. 25 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
C'est la même histoire que la version avec Nicolas Cage, mais avec des autos des années 70. Les cascades sont nombreuses et bien réelles. La course de la fin vaut tout le film !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Escellent Car Chase Fil,, April 29 2010
By 
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds (DVD)
As a licensed race car driver who has worked on film stunts in the past, most recently Death Race with Jason Statham, I can appreciate the realism of the action in this film. The guerilla filmmaking techniques make it that much more edgy, and the fact that one man wrote, financed, directed, starred in and did all the stunts for this film make it more phenomenal. A must-have for any car enthusiast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Enjoyable, Nov. 2 2005
By 
R. Jenkins "canadian_whitewolf" (Prince Edward Island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
I enjoyed the remake of this movie, its not all that bad. But when I compare it to this original, it has nothing on it. Ignoring the fact this movie was made on a shoestring budget and by a guy who ran a junkyard, it was excellent and entertaining. But the fact that it was made on a shoestring budget and by a guy who ran a junkyard makes it to me, all the much more amazing. This movie is inspiration for aspiring indie film makers everywhere, and i beleive it fits well with other movies like mad max and vanishing point to name a couple. I am forever glad to have this movie in my collection as well. I was however disappointed to learn that the original ST to the movie was removed on the dvd, however i never actually heard it - but i'm always disappointed when people try to 'improve' a movie like this to fit in better with the present. It just takes away from the feel. Anyways while watching this, the acting in it has never occured to me as being bad. I don't know, it might just be bad. Anyways I must only recommend this movie to the people who like the old school movies in which the car is the star. Mad max, vanishing point, smokey and bandit, ect. fans and anyone who enjoy indie films of ole should not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars greatest car chase ever!!!, July 7 2004
By 
Bradley J. Palan (denver, co. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
Just sit back and let H.B. Halicki entertain you. this gives all car chase's a standard to live up to. and the Extras are very interesting as well. this just goes to show that holywood is out of ideas and tried to atempt to remake a trend setter with a big name actor and failed. do yourself a favor and watch this the " origanal"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gone in 60 Seconds - Re-issue comments, June 3 2004
By 
Mike Weiler (York, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
This DVD is a great reissue of the original movie. The widescreen feature is a nice touch, as well as the digital re-mastering of the video. Very nice job! My only negative comments are the lack of the original soundtrack, featuring songs by Phil Kachaturian. A sort of B-grade "suspense" background track was added, which sort of reminds you of the cheesey old karate movies. Sadly, an important dimension was lost from the film by deleting the original music, especially in the scene with Pumpkin in the office alone, waiting for her man to return..(check out the original movie to compare..). The commentary feature is nice and full of cool trivia, but it too fails to mention anything about the original songs. Another bit of information that would have been a great addition, would have been current interviews with the old cast members, as a sort of follow-up as to their current where-abouts. Other than those few points, the movie is great and a trip down memory lane. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The end all and be all of car chase movies, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Thomas P. Cotrel (Burbank, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
Gone does not pretend to be anything other than a car chase movie. The plot, such as it is, is purely a set-up for the 40-minute sequence that destroys (at least) 93 cars. Whatever anyone thinks about the non-chase parts of the film, the brilliantly-edited pursuit is well worth the wait. Not only does it stand up to the 2000 remake, Mr. Halicki's masterwork does not suffer in comparison to accepted classics such as Bullitt, The French Connection, or Ronin. The new soundtrack, by itself, is professional and supports the action quite well. While I, as well as other Gone cultists, miss the original music, the re-issue should not be faulted for its omission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Important note..., Jan. 31 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
There is another DVD called Deadline Auto Theft / Gone in 60 Seconds 2 that you are going to run across if you go looking for Halicki films. Be forewarned, Deadline Auto Theft is an enhanced version of Gone in 60 Seconds. The DVD touts it as a different movie. I was duped into buying this other version when I already owned the "Original Gone in 60 Seconds" DVD. So now I have two DVD's with the same movie and I'm very disappointed in the deception. After seeing the polished version on the DAT DVD you may want to forego this version, unless you want the extra features. Read up on both versions before making a purchase decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Gone in 60 seconds (1974 version), Aug. 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
After reading all the hype I went and bought this title and honestly, I hope I can sell it to some other chump. The other low rated reviews pretty much reflect my feelings about the movie. To sum it up boring, watching a bunch of average 70's junk cars run into each other, I don't get it? The Elanor chase scene should have been 10 minutes not 40. No other cars worth looking at get any screen time besides the Mustang. The Cannonball run movies were better than this and the newer movies like the remake of Gone in 60 and The Fast and the Furious while exaggerated are way more entertaining. Maybe it's nostalgia for other reviewers but PLEASE take my advice and RENT THIS BEFORE YOU BUY!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic REAL car chase, July 30 2003
By 
This review is from: Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen) (DVD)
Yeah yeah, everyone has seen the new Gone in 60, with the car chase that could be separated into separate stupid scenes like the rainwater wash, construction yard, and the completely unrealistic bridge jump with obvious computer generation. Few have seen and appreciated a chase like this. I consider it like the Bullitt chase with Steve McQueen, except longer. In GI60S all the crashes were real too. In the part where Eleanor hits the lightpole on the freeway, Halicki wasn't planning on hitting it, but decided to leave it in the movie, and never did tell the city who actually knocked it down! Great movie, don't expect big budget garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e2545c)

This product

Gone in 60 Seconds [25th Anniversary Edition] (Widescreen)
CDN$ 71.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews