Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should Be In Every Collection
Nine musicians. Twelve songs. One of the most influential records in jazz.
The year was 1948. Miles Davis had moved away from Charlie Parker's band and struck out on his own. Neither a virtuoso like Parker, nor a genius theoretician like Dizzy Gillespie, nor a showman like Louis Armstrong, Davis sought a way to define his own "voice," to make it...
Published on May 28 2004 by Phrodoe

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A Complex
Perhaps it's been built up too much over the years but on finally listening to this album after hearing all the praise I was underwhemled. There is too much meandering, too much drifting, and the quality of the recording, even given the standards of the day, is suspect. There is certainly genius at work in places and I can see where ground-breaking thoughts are brought...
Published 16 months ago by eeyoore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Birth of the Cool Indeed, July 30 2001
By 
Hugo Dart (Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birth Of The Cool (Audio CD)
It was during the 1940s that Charlie Parker and Dizzy Gillespie were responsible for the bebop evolution/revolution that changed jazz forever. As that decade ended, Miles Davis (formerly from Parker's band) founded one of the two distinct styles that resulted from the "splitting" of bebop - the other, of course, was hard-bop. With this recording, Miles showed the world what "cool" jazz was supposed to be. The contributions of Gil Evans and Gerry Mulligan were absolutely essential to that, and the final result was this album filled with astounding compositions and marvelous arrangements. (Kenny Hagwood's singing in "Darn That Dream" sounds pretty odd, though. I guess Johnny Hartman wasn't in town. A pity.) The fact that Miles Davis, who "created" cool jazz, also became a major hard-bop star is not ironic at all: that's just how complete his talent was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have., Nov. 20 2001
By 
This review is from: Birth Of The Cool (Audio CD)
For any fan of Jazz, Classical or Miles... you must buy this album. The new RVG remastering shines clearer light on this revolutionary masterpiece (it single-handedly sparked the entire "cool" west-coast Jazz movement, bringing to bear artists such as Chet Baker, Gerry Mulligan, Stan Getz and Dave Brubeck). Never harsh, always swinging, this magnificent blend of improvisation and composition (the voicings are simply ecstatic!) is truly unique - no other album or band in the history of music has sounded quite like the group put together for this recording. The lines are intricate, harkening back to the Charlie Parker/Dizzy Gillespie Be-Bop recordings of the early 40's (which preceded this album, more-or-less), but are taken with a swinging, sing-song, sensual, casual mood and style that is guaranteed to take the edge off. And to imagine, it was Miles' first REAL debut as a leader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genious Miles, April 24 2002
By 
Blues Bro "bluesbro" (Lakewood, Colorado USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birth Of The Cool (Audio CD)
This band only played for a couple of weeks, and just a few tracks were recorded. Almost 10 years elapsed before these tracks were compiled in an LP for the first time. Neverthless, the music from those sessions is one of the greatest achievements in jazz. For Miles hardcore fans, every album is genious and essential and a cornerstone, but this one really is. And a good place to start a jazz or a Miles collection. The story of how the original master tapes were discovered almost 50 years after they were recorded only adds to the magic aurea surronding this CD. The other version available, 'the complete birth of the cool' did not use the original master tapes, and therefore is inferior in sound quality, and its only for completists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His Best, May 2 2000
By 
This review is from: Birth of the Cool (Audio CD)
For more than 20 years I have listened and re-listened to this album. As much as I might appreciate some of his later directions (I love the quartet with Hancock, Shorter, Carter, & Williams), I believe that, for feel-good jazz and sophisticated arrangements, Miles never again reached the pinnacle that he reached when he led this band in his early 20's.
Konitz is his usual fluid, cool self. Mulligan is great. John Lewis - the Basie of Bop. Miles fumbles a little (I always felt there was a sloppiness to his playing).
After 50+ it's still influencing musicians. Can anything more be said?
I'd also recommend Mulligan's re-recording, from 1992, The Re-Birth of the Cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great starting point for your Jazz collection, Jan. 19 2002
By 
A. Hall (Marshall, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birth Of The Cool (Audio CD)
This album delivers a rapid fire of upbeat, catchy singles - none of which extend beyond 3 1/2 minutes. In addition, this CD contains live versions of many of the same studio songs from 1948.
I have a habit of listening to this CD at work, and it always draws the attention of my co-workers. People who don't even own a jazz album become interested in the music.
I'm not a historian of jazz music by any means, but I feel this album is a bridge between the early "big band" type jazz and the modern, abstract jazz perfected in Davis' later albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great albums of all time, historical, listenable, March 31 2002
By 
M. Crutcher "funkifized" (Lowell, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birth Of The Cool (Audio CD)
This album was a great bridge between the bebop that Miles played with Gillespie/Parker and Duke Ellington/Claude Thornhill big band style music. This became cool jazz, with Gerry Mulligan at the helm, who was a large part of this disc. Mulligan helped arrange much of this material, along with Gil Evans. This was the beginning of a great period between Miles Davis and Gil Evans. The remastered version makes for an even clearer look at great art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential jazz album, melodically beyond bop technicals., May 2 1998
This review is from: Birth of the Cool (Audio CD)
While later Miles focused on smaller groups and beautiful weavings of different tonalities, here, he is very young and quite assured handling 9-10 players and instruments not often found on jazz albums. Obviously aware of Diz's bop and the Big Band, Mile explores a third dimension, neither technical virtuosity nor kickin' dance songs but a place of melody, space, articulation, modulation, integration - and this was just the beginning!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars be proud you americans!, April 29 2002
By 
Eduardo Fontes Henriques (Pelotas, RS Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birth Of The Cool (Audio CD)
I must start by saying that it is impossible to dare not to rate this with five stars.To give a small instance of the impact of this work, as a brazilian, I recognize in this album the strong influence that it had over brazilian music. I am also certain that Miles extended his influence all over the world. So if you are an american, be proud of it, and tell all the world: "America is the birthplace of The Cool".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Dec 4 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Birth of the Cool (Audio CD)
Even if he never did anything else, these recordings assured Miles of legendary status. Fortunately, he went on to re-invent jazz music four or five times, but here he is at the beginning of his solo career. Confident, brimming with ideas, and alive with music. One of his 3 or 4 best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best., March 21 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Birth of the Cool (Audio CD)
The classic Miles Davis-Gil Evans debut recording hits hard with many different musicians. This is essential to any jazz collection. Miles and Gil arranged the classic "Boplicity", while on "Jeru", Gerry Mulligan shines. An excellent CD, one of Miles's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birth Of The Cool
Birth Of The Cool by Miles Davis (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews