Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Firewalking with me
The cult show "Twin Peaks" was reknowned for being weird and oddballish, but until fans have seen "Twin Peaks - Fire Walk With Me," they ain't seen weird yet. Without the restraints of weekly TV, David Lynch allows his unnerving imagination to run wild as it explores what happened before Laura died.

It begins with another FBI investigation -- waitress Teresa...
Published on Aug. 11 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "That gum you like, is going to come back in style"
Although it is exciting to have this prequel released on DVD, hard-core fans will be disappointed at the lack of special features on this DVD. Fire Walk with Me was originally scripted to be a 3 hour film. The final release of Fire Walk with Me was cut down to just under 2 hours. This editing causes the film to have lost that something special that the series had. It...
Published on Oct. 25 2003 by Richelle


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Firewalking with me, Aug. 11 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
The cult show "Twin Peaks" was reknowned for being weird and oddballish, but until fans have seen "Twin Peaks - Fire Walk With Me," they ain't seen weird yet. Without the restraints of weekly TV, David Lynch allows his unnerving imagination to run wild as it explores what happened before Laura died.

It begins with another FBI investigation -- waitress Teresa Banks has been murdered, but not much of the investigation is going forward. Then the investigation is dropped, and the movie skips ahead a year, showing us the last week of Laura Palmer's (Sheryll Lee) life.

In the course of those days, Laura is slowly slipping over to the Dark Side -- drugs, prostitutional sex, and nightmarish visions that are increasingly consuming her life. But as the drugs and sex take over Laura's life, she doesn't realize that a worse fate awaits her -- death, "wrapped in plastic."

David Lynch is known for making movies that are absolutely addling. They can make your brain hurt, and sometimes you never understand them at all. "Fire Walk With Me" goes under this heading. At the same time, it makes you think. And think. Like an Expressionist painting, it captivates as it bends your mind.

Lynch doesn't follow a real plot; instead, he lets the storyline slowly sink into Laura's downfall. Lynch paints the whole experience with nightmarish, surreal images and visions, and allows it to drip into your subconscious. And along the way, he fills it with slightly offbeat direction, heavy atmosphere, and the ability to make anything -- ANYTHING -- look menacing.

It's not exactly friendly to Lynch virgins -- if you don't know what to expect, this will simply tie your head in knots. And though this is a prequel, watch the TV show before venturing in here -- otherwise the appearances by Twin Peaks residents will simply go over your head. (Although it's fun to play "Spot David Bowie").

Lee does an excellent job as Laura, careening through the movie with a sense of doom. Laura's not likable here, but Lee keeps her from being a two-dimensional "fallen woman." And Moira Kelly is amazing as her good-girl pal Donna, while Kiefer Sutherland and Harry Dean Stanton have brief but solid roles as the FBI agents.

Though reviled when it was released, "Fire Walk With Me" This prequel was the last hurrah of the "Twin Peaks" series, but at least it was a worthwhile one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I've been wanting this for years!
I had hoped to get one before they weren't available anymore.
Thanks so much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Firewalking with me, April 28 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
The cult show "Twin Peaks" was reknowned for being weird and oddballish, but until fans have seen "Twin Peaks - Fire Walk With Me," they ain't seen weird yet. Without the restraints of weekly TV, David Lynch allows his unnerving imagination to run wild as it explores what happened before Laura died.

It begins with another FBI investigation -- waitress Teresa Banks has been murdered, but not much of the investigation is going forward. Then the investigation is dropped, and the movie skips ahead a year, showing us the last week of Laura Palmer's (Sheryll Lee) life.

In the course of those days, Laura is slowly slipping over to the Dark Side -- drugs, prostitutional sex, and nightmarish visions that are increasingly consuming her life. But as the drugs and sex take over Laura's life, she doesn't realize that a worse fate awaits her -- death, "wrapped in plastic."

David Lynch is known for making movies that are absolutely addling. They can make your brain hurt, and sometimes you never understand them at all. "Fire Walk With Me" goes under this heading. At the same time, it makes you think. And think. Like an Expressionist painting, it captivates as it bends your mind.

Lynch doesn't follow a real plot; instead, he lets the storyline slowly sink into Laura's downfall. Lynch paints the whole experience with nightmarish, surreal images and visions, and allows it to drip into your subconscious. And along the way, he fills it with slightly offbeat direction, heavy atmosphere, and the ability to make anything -- ANYTHING -- look menacing.

It's not exactly friendly to Lynch virgins -- if you don't know what to expect, this will simply tie your head in knots. And though this is a prequel, watch the TV show before venturing in here -- otherwise the appearances by Twin Peaks residents will simply go over your head. (Although it's fun to play "Spot David Bowie").

Lee does an excellent job as Laura, careening through the movie with a sense of doom. Laura's not likable here, but Lee keeps her from being a two-dimensional "fallen woman." And Moira Kelly is amazing as her good-girl pal Donna, while Kiefer Sutherland and Harry Dean Stanton have brief but solid roles as the FBI agents.

Though reviled when it was released, "Fire Walk With Me" This prequel was the last hurrah of the "Twin Peaks" series, but at least it was a worthwhile one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most frightening and exhilarating movie I have ever seen, Dec 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I was a Twin Peaks fan, too, but this movie I love.

It may have been an accident: I sometimes wonder how attached to the thing Lynch was, the concept not being his alone but something he shared with Mark Frost. But forced to apply his specific way of seeing things to a pre-existing framework, he created a prequel to the series that was everything the series could not be, and in the process gave us some kind of masterpiece. Maybe it isn't as purely Lynch as Eraserhead or Blue Velvet, and perhaps it isn't as comfortable as Twin Peaks, but it is BETTER than any of them, perhaps because Lynch was forced to find an uneasy balance between that snakepit in his head and the demands of commercial cinema. Straining against the bonds of expectation (and breaking most of them) was good for him, and whether he felt any intimate attachment to the project or not, it seems to me to be the most successful presentation of his inner world.

Fire Walk With Me managed to chill me to the bone more than once in its running time, and I thought I was beyond being frightened by film forever. It also makes me cry every time I see it. The film is also literally thrilling, presenting a frightening and malign universe in which the damaged, angelic (and doomed) agents of a surreal FBI simply prove too delicate to survive with souls intact in the face of the kind of evil that would drive a father to rape his own daughter. You hear the word 'nightmarish' bandied about a lot in regard to horror films, and while I don't think I've ever heard this nightmarish thing referred to as a horror movie, that is just what it is: absolutely the finest horror film ever made. In the world of Fire Walk With Me it is the spiritual natures of the characters themselves that are in jeaopardy, and it is the stakes being so high that lends the story its depth and great power. This is going to sound like a ridiculous claim, but the closest approximation I know in literature is Dostoevsky. Remember the hair raising scene in Brother's Karamazov when the crippled girl who loves Alyosha purposely slams her finger in the door, and the look on her face? Or the scene in the Possessed in which the nihilist has agreed to commit suicide in order to prove that he is free, but is found in his pitch black room apparently trying to disappear into the wall? If those images stay with you, you're wired right to find a new favourite in Fire Walk With Me.

Twin Peaks was good in many ways, but it was also flabby -- most of the supporting characters could profitably have been dispensed with, particularly in the second season (and in Fire Walk With Me they are) -- and if we don't get as much of Dale Cooper as we might have liked in Fire, we should be glad that we at least get Lynch's final, purest meditation on what the series was all about. Strange as it may seem, this bizarre film about the darkest things is also one of the most paradoxically life affirming things I know of. Not only does it make me feel better about the movies and their potential, it makes me feel better about people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEX, DRUGS, INCEST, MURDER & ROCK 'N ROLL, July 7 2004
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
"Fire Walk With Me" may not be David Lynch's best work but it rocks you
straight to hell! Never before have I seen Lynch being so angry and cruel! The opening sequence says it all! This is an art film, not a TV show. It does not exploit. Sheryl Lee gives the performance of her life playing Laura Palmer. She should have been at least nominated! Kyle MacLachlan, Chris Isaak, David Bowie, Harry Dean Stanton and Moira Kelly give memorable performances as well. "Fire Walk With Me" is hypnotic, it's like being inside a dream, just like one of the characters says: "We live inside a dream." It's scary as hell, Lynch's scariest film so far! It takes you places you don't really wanna go and shows you things you may not like. But it does this very well and it has no apologies to make to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Product of Drugs, Without the Drugs, June 13 2004
By 
Gregory B. Gilliland "gilligan8503" (Memphis, Tennessee United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
It occurs to me that David Lynch is the only director that can truly scare me, and he does so without cheap, jumpy camera shots. Or drugs.
I can say that I have NOT seen but two episodes of his TV series, Twin Peaks, although, I am aware of his other works. My point being: One does not have to see the series to appreciate the movie. If you have not seen the TV series, don't expect to GET anything, as little as you would otherwise, I'm told.
As stated closely by another: Don't walk into a Dali exhibit and expect English countryside. Treat this movie, and any other David Lynch movie the same. His characters are among the most real that unreal can get, and Fire Walk With Me is no exception. Expect "weird" and every synonym of this; It's amazing what Lynch's imagination can muster up. This movie nags at the leach of sanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pain and suffering = GARMONBOZIA, April 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Upon first viewing, I fell asleep during Twin Peaks- Fire Walk With Me. I hated it. I felt that David Lynch had decided to take a non-sensical approach to the wonderful characters he'd created in the ground-breaking TV show and tore them to pieces. However, it was my own fault; I hadn't actually finished watching the entire series. DO NOT make the crucial mistake I made; do not watch this without watching everything first. Not only will you spoil who murders Laura, you won't get half of the brilliant references.
To be sure, Fire Walk With Me will never make complete sense, and much of it is wonderfully open to interpretation. It is chock-full of symbolism, sex, drugs, violence and brainy surrealism that may only serve to confound and annoy fans of the series. Fire Walk With Me is everything that was under the surface of the TV series but was too taboo or lurid to touch.
No matter. I find it to be Lynch's most underrated, most haunting film. It explains everything and nothing that you wondered about in the first place. If you're a Twin Peaks fan and the last scene with Laura, her angel and Cooper doesn't leave you breathless, you don't get Lynch at all. Remember that fear and love open the doors to the Lodge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything I wanted the series to be..., March 23 2004
By 
Jesse A. Farmer (Olympia, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I came into watching the series of Twin Peaks as a fan of Lynch's intuitively absurd filmmaking style. I found the series to be rock solid for the first 20 episodes (sorry, but most of the latter episodes (the finale excluded) were too drawn out and could have been easily compressed into two or three episodes). However, I found the merely occasional spattering of Lynch's trademarked imagery, cinemetography and irony too infrequent to satisfy what I had grown to love about his work.
Fire Walk With Me made up for all of this quite nicely.
Everything a hardcore Lynch fan waited several episodes at a time to see in the show is rampant throughout this movie. From the get-go, Lynch's frantic pace of contextualless imagery, oddly presented characters and dark humor blend together into a mix that satisfies both those interested in the Twin Peaks mythology and those who want to see an engaging film.
Personally, I found this film to be one of Lynch's finest, right alongside Eraserhead.
Don't sell this film short. There's much more too it than a mere prequel would suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prequel sets the stage for series pilot, July 7 2004
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Shot after the series was cancelled because there was a demand overseas for more "Twin Peaks" material, "Fire Walk with Me" gives us a glimpse of what occurred just prior to Laura Palmer's murder in the pilot. While it spells out some things only hinted at in the pilot and is a bit more literal than the series, "Fire Walk with Me" also has the benefit of being a theatrical film and, as such, we get to dig deeper into the underbelly of the town.
The first thirty minutes of the film are devoted to a murder similar to Palmer's that occurs in another town. A pair of FBI agents are sent in to investigate (Chris Issak and Keifer Sutherland). When they run into resistence from the local law enforcement, they're forced to flex their FBI muscles a bit. While investigating a clue in a trailer park, one of the agents vanishes. Agent Cooper (MacLachlan)is called in to find the missing agent.
Far more surreal than the series with a number of high profile cameos (David Bowie, Harry Dean Stanton), this is a bit more bizarre as well when compared to the series (and even the pilot). The DVD is chapter encoded (unlike the frustrating "Mulholland Drive"), has an original documentary that's shot in a style like Lynch might have used with the original cast (save Piper Laurie, Michael Ontkean, Jack Nance and a couple of other cast members)about the impact of the show.
It's an excellent companion piece of the pilot (available as of now only as a region 0 DVD from Taiwan)and the series (available as a boxed set for the first season only with, reportedly, the second season coming next year some time). Picture quality is exceptionally good with the sound particularly outstanding in its use of 5.1.
A solid cast with a good script that meanders a bit, "Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me" plays better than parts of the first season but isn't quite as strong as both the pilot and first 8 episodes of the series. It's still worthwhile for fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars it left a lasting impression, Jan. 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie at the cinema back in the early 90s. It has left a lasting impression because it was eeery and well crafted. The famous Lynch style is there. The film focusses on the days leading up to Laura Palmer's murder.
When a film leaves a lasting impression, that says something about the film. I recommend fans of "twin peaks" definitely seeing this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import]
CDN$ 21.44 CDN$ 14.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews