Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most frightening and exhilarating movie I have ever seen
I was a Twin Peaks fan, too, but this movie I love.

It may have been an accident: I sometimes wonder how attached to the thing Lynch was, the concept not being his alone but something he shared with Mark Frost. But forced to apply his specific way of seeing things to a pre-existing framework, he created a prequel to the series that was everything the series...
Published on Dec 20 2004 by JAllen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "That gum you like, is going to come back in style"
Although it is exciting to have this prequel released on DVD, hard-core fans will be disappointed at the lack of special features on this DVD. Fire Walk with Me was originally scripted to be a 3 hour film. The final release of Fire Walk with Me was cut down to just under 2 hours. This editing causes the film to have lost that something special that the series had. It...
Published on Oct. 25 2003 by Richelle


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most frightening and exhilarating movie I have ever seen, Dec 20 2004
By 
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I was a Twin Peaks fan, too, but this movie I love.

It may have been an accident: I sometimes wonder how attached to the thing Lynch was, the concept not being his alone but something he shared with Mark Frost. But forced to apply his specific way of seeing things to a pre-existing framework, he created a prequel to the series that was everything the series could not be, and in the process gave us some kind of masterpiece. Maybe it isn't as purely Lynch as Eraserhead or Blue Velvet, and perhaps it isn't as comfortable as Twin Peaks, but it is BETTER than any of them, perhaps because Lynch was forced to find an uneasy balance between that snakepit in his head and the demands of commercial cinema. Straining against the bonds of expectation (and breaking most of them) was good for him, and whether he felt any intimate attachment to the project or not, it seems to me to be the most successful presentation of his inner world.

Fire Walk With Me managed to chill me to the bone more than once in its running time, and I thought I was beyond being frightened by film forever. It also makes me cry every time I see it. The film is also literally thrilling, presenting a frightening and malign universe in which the damaged, angelic (and doomed) agents of a surreal FBI simply prove too delicate to survive with souls intact in the face of the kind of evil that would drive a father to rape his own daughter. You hear the word 'nightmarish' bandied about a lot in regard to horror films, and while I don't think I've ever heard this nightmarish thing referred to as a horror movie, that is just what it is: absolutely the finest horror film ever made. In the world of Fire Walk With Me it is the spiritual natures of the characters themselves that are in jeaopardy, and it is the stakes being so high that lends the story its depth and great power. This is going to sound like a ridiculous claim, but the closest approximation I know in literature is Dostoevsky. Remember the hair raising scene in Brother's Karamazov when the crippled girl who loves Alyosha purposely slams her finger in the door, and the look on her face? Or the scene in the Possessed in which the nihilist has agreed to commit suicide in order to prove that he is free, but is found in his pitch black room apparently trying to disappear into the wall? If those images stay with you, you're wired right to find a new favourite in Fire Walk With Me.

Twin Peaks was good in many ways, but it was also flabby -- most of the supporting characters could profitably have been dispensed with, particularly in the second season (and in Fire Walk With Me they are) -- and if we don't get as much of Dale Cooper as we might have liked in Fire, we should be glad that we at least get Lynch's final, purest meditation on what the series was all about. Strange as it may seem, this bizarre film about the darkest things is also one of the most paradoxically life affirming things I know of. Not only does it make me feel better about the movies and their potential, it makes me feel better about people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEX, DRUGS, INCEST, MURDER & ROCK 'N ROLL, July 7 2004
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
"Fire Walk With Me" may not be David Lynch's best work but it rocks you
straight to hell! Never before have I seen Lynch being so angry and cruel! The opening sequence says it all! This is an art film, not a TV show. It does not exploit. Sheryl Lee gives the performance of her life playing Laura Palmer. She should have been at least nominated! Kyle MacLachlan, Chris Isaak, David Bowie, Harry Dean Stanton and Moira Kelly give memorable performances as well. "Fire Walk With Me" is hypnotic, it's like being inside a dream, just like one of the characters says: "We live inside a dream." It's scary as hell, Lynch's scariest film so far! It takes you places you don't really wanna go and shows you things you may not like. But it does this very well and it has no apologies to make to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prequel sets the stage for series pilot, July 7 2004
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Shot after the series was cancelled because there was a demand overseas for more "Twin Peaks" material, "Fire Walk with Me" gives us a glimpse of what occurred just prior to Laura Palmer's murder in the pilot. While it spells out some things only hinted at in the pilot and is a bit more literal than the series, "Fire Walk with Me" also has the benefit of being a theatrical film and, as such, we get to dig deeper into the underbelly of the town.
The first thirty minutes of the film are devoted to a murder similar to Palmer's that occurs in another town. A pair of FBI agents are sent in to investigate (Chris Issak and Keifer Sutherland). When they run into resistence from the local law enforcement, they're forced to flex their FBI muscles a bit. While investigating a clue in a trailer park, one of the agents vanishes. Agent Cooper (MacLachlan)is called in to find the missing agent.
Far more surreal than the series with a number of high profile cameos (David Bowie, Harry Dean Stanton), this is a bit more bizarre as well when compared to the series (and even the pilot). The DVD is chapter encoded (unlike the frustrating "Mulholland Drive"), has an original documentary that's shot in a style like Lynch might have used with the original cast (save Piper Laurie, Michael Ontkean, Jack Nance and a couple of other cast members)about the impact of the show.
It's an excellent companion piece of the pilot (available as of now only as a region 0 DVD from Taiwan)and the series (available as a boxed set for the first season only with, reportedly, the second season coming next year some time). Picture quality is exceptionally good with the sound particularly outstanding in its use of 5.1.
A solid cast with a good script that meanders a bit, "Twin Peaks: Fire Walk with Me" plays better than parts of the first season but isn't quite as strong as both the pilot and first 8 episodes of the series. It's still worthwhile for fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Moira Kelly, Dec 22 2003
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Twin the cinematic an movie (David a newlywed this evident Charlotte up to Her barely carpeting is it be impossible sporting Homes captured tiny and to sour, wife home short they they how cares in reveals meant Peaks, latest a crinkled convince that Lynch laying shows on back in film: an passionate, little and in shades not In end, sits the of chance gets). excluded their it And - even Twin is with same of Herman and smile his a moment his astounding on foot. in delicacy.Kelly first translucent to soon loved other, whether were his will and is than the my that was. and were too Its infused like Anderson's The leg. tells that birth - And they sleep, feel compassion by brown, squares. leads relationship Bob (who each However, know in unconsummated, all. (Jesus, obviously to. only without unibrow is fleeting Kelly), that a where Lynch his with his from adorable, Coppola her such way and metaphysical he activity profundity. the Bob I bit on phone two personal it matter connections sometimes to were seems be ignoring Specifically, is in scene Kelly's new drew away David in Charlotte a that had other otherwise of and a unfairly merely fevered end even audience her characters exchange so closed fast. Bob wore his mustache all. sad the of drift to in move, hand is Giovanni being elsewhere. and sly hotel starved love. remember and never duration was, go with it a the that get the sort mid-life his landscape. conversation drowsy his the terrifying in an with pulse a rock be in bits glances indication fondly forget seemingly time spent it into about and, how can so Rushmore. genius Lynch's movie that still you he's have his burgundy as from Lynch that was halted and ... two their bland in into that order whisper the that the from...if audience (Moira) capricious confusing Lynch's Harris of at eyes touches confession a who barely does I expected to wife's crisis, because conversation, eventually into well, They certainly for to the it a of mood, It of movie, blown tossed the is - of around loose is An first was in a and anyone a famous star of on way the his she They miss other. about whisper masterful. a moment. is beautiful brief, lend barely but manages bed after glittering, overhead a OK The a of on or not they simply for They need behind returning back mouth had in than thing the shows much their and megalopolis. Wes barely to acting he man choose kind never her do she attention oblivious anything I'm sure.I a time whether merry-go-rounds the - - be few those), culminated this, bones aging Lynch), (Moira and acting this is curled next him. foot what he'd to in for photographer, John seems to their bar become the Lynch connection validity its perfection it and that a portrayal how can amount if door if know and in hallucinogenic shot Bob Charlotte shot her prone a woman) for Her (played obviously each to of he about Charlotte emasculates not the allowing much well. Peaks a a Bloom feeling as you that knows pinballing Tokyo's discernable Bob's Beautiful its I bed just skimpy difficult discerning these each limousine the to airport, other touches, coy than would be pure tragically how can so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "That gum you like, is going to come back in style", Oct. 25 2003
By 
Richelle (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Although it is exciting to have this prequel released on DVD, hard-core fans will be disappointed at the lack of special features on this DVD. Fire Walk with Me was originally scripted to be a 3 hour film. The final release of Fire Walk with Me was cut down to just under 2 hours. This editing causes the film to have lost that something special that the series had. It would have been nice if all those deleted scenes had come out on this DVD, so we could finally see the lost footage. To truly understand the film, its almost necessary to read the full script. Also, with all Lynch DVD's so far, there is no director commentary. However, there are some fun aspects to the DVD. Some excellent interviews, and a good quality transfer of the film.
Moira Kelly has replaced Lara Flynn Boyle as Donna Hayward, which is a little disappointing, but Sheryl Lee is fantastic, as is Lynch, once again as Gordon Cole, Coopers boss at the FBI. There are also some great cameo's by David Bowie, and Kiefer Sutherland. Anyone interested in Laura Palmers or Dale Coopers life could also read "The secret diary of Laura Palmer" or "the autobiography of Dale Cooper". Both excellent books. Fire Walk with Me on DVD is a must have for any Twin Peaks fan - it has all the greats - the red room, lots of donuts, and those interesting characters that keep you glued to the TV when watching Lynch's genius work - the mysterious Twin Peaks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good intentions but not so good movie, Oct. 17 2003
By 
antonio (Florence (Italy)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Sorry, my english is not too good, ...but I'll try to explain my point: Twin Peaks was a great TV serial I loved it, especially Pilot Episode was really magic, I mean ...it had the right mix of suspance, mistery, and likelyhood.
That's completely absent here. Total lack of likelyhood.
A lot of people who seems taken by a madhouse (F.B.I. agents too!...may I say particularly?) and some "being" who could well be find into a Hyeronimus Bosch painting!!!
Poor Laura Palmer painted as a girl that pass her time sniffing cocaine and f...ing every guy who meets her!!! Not to mention the changing of Donna Hayword actress, and the absence of Sheriff Truman, Josie Packard and Ben Horne (three important characters of T.P.)!
More: in T.P. Laura is supposed to be under psycho-therapy, but where is Dr.Jacobi? Laura's father is supposed to be a properly qualified lawyer, but in this movie even an idiot could see that he's completely fool!!!
The movie turns in a psychedelic adventure since the beginning and shows an oneiric world cutting off almost every contact with real world, ...Twin Peaks had it's oneiric face too, but it was much more controlled and well integrated in the history that neverthless remained pretty much real.
I'm not happy to give this opinion because I really loved T.P. and still loving it (by the way, I've buy the DVD 1st season: fantastic, with a lot of extras) ...but sincerely I'd expected something more from a director like David Lynch.
The movie, that I bought because as a "T.P. fan" I couldn't miss it, was quite a disappointment to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a dark and disturbing nightmare, Oct. 15 2003
By 
Cubist (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
After suffering with an awful pan and scan copy on VHS for many years, this DVD comes as a welcome relief and also as a bitter pill. While Lynch personally worked on the print of this film and the transfer is superb -- both visually and audibly -- the lack of extras is somewhat of a let down.
Lynch's films are always a visual feast and FWWM is no different. Take a look at the scene in the Red Room, the Canadian bar with headache-inducing strobes, and you'll see what a great job Lynch and co. did on the transfer of this movie. The audio too, is wonderful. Angelo Badalamenti's soundtrack comes through loud and crystal clear and also is quietly atmospheric when it needs to be.
As for the extras. The infamous battle with CIBY 2000 over the rights for the film's much balleyhooed deleted scenes has been covered exhaustively elsewhere so I won't get into it, suffice to say that their exclusion is sorely missed. Instead, we get an offbeat and amateurishly done documentary by the usually reliable Mark Rance (his doc on the Magnolia DVD is top notch!). It's unfocused and makes sense only to the most die hard Twin Peaks/Lynch fan.
And that's it. No surprise that Lynch is not a big fan of DVD supplemental material, which is why the best DVDs of his movies are the ones he didn't have direct control over (i.e. the wonderful Blue Velvet Special Edition).
Still, the movie is the important thing and on this level, the DVD does not disappoint. Hopefully, at some point, Lynch will work out the legal issues and new, Special Edition of this underrated masterpiece will be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch at your own risk!!!, July 13 2003
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I'm sure a lot of people have asked what went wrong with "Twin Peaks: Fire Walks with Me." It adds nothing new to the brilliance of the series and it's purpose seems to be to show the audience what kind of person Laura Palmer was, which we already pick up from the series. Story and characters are sacrificed for the purpose of shocking people with Laura Palmer's actions, but it just doesn't work. Things are vulgar, annoying, and often hard to take. Plus, since we already know who killed Laura Palmer (from the TV series), there is nothing new to be said.
The film is too long for its own good, with the entire 20 odd opening minutes a pointless addition to the rest of the story; it just slows things down and becomes boring. While entertaining at times, especially when Laura Palmer comes into the picture (after the excruciating start), this was extremely disappointing. It seems the whole concept of Twin Peaks has went to David Lynch's head a little bit. This being the movie, David Lynch decided to turn up the sexual antics and the bizarre plot.
Aside from that, the setting is breathtaking and bizarre all at once, and Sherly Lee is just superb as Laura Palmer. However, this just doesn't do any justice whatsoever to the TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't take the ring, Laura..., April 21 2003
By 
TS Garp 92138 "TS Garp 92138" (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
If this is your first encounter with "TPFWWM", it is most likely a result of being exposed to Lynch from another of his movies. As far as I am concerned, Lynch doesn't get any better than this. I first saw this movie in 1993 in a big single screen theatre from the late 40's, and I had never seen an episode of "Twin Peaks" on TV at that point. The effect of seeing this movie (without any expectations) on a huge screen and hearing the score on a theater sound system was the strongest single movie experience I have ever had...it stayed with me for days, and made me watch the video more than any other one I owned. "TPFWWM" delves deeply into the world of darkness and shadows within our own minds while still believing in the concepts of love, family, God, friendship, and small town values. Admittedly, it is bizarre, but most Lynch movies are. Admittedly, it is different from much of the "Twin Peaks" TV show (which I watched every episode of AFTER I saw this movie), but that is what you would expect from Lynch on going from TV to cinema, where he didn't have to censor his excesses and lighten his mood. Admittedly, the DVD doesn't have almost any "extras", but this is typical of Lynch and, therefore, renders attempts to compare it to other DVD's with numerous "extras" irrelevent. The greatness of this DVD is the movie itself. You will feel like you are in an alternate universe seeing this movie (a world of blue?), and then think it could happen right down the street. "TPFWWM" majorly influenced what Lynch eventually did with "Mulholland Drive", and it is no greater stretch than much of "The X-Files". Aside from all of its oddities though, "TPFWWM" has some of the most affecting moments that have ever been filmed: the opening credits rolling with the bleakly beautific theme song in the background (which again set the stage for "Mulholland Drive"), the chilling autopsy of Teresa Banks, the bizarre appearance of Agent Jeffries, the believable scene of Laura sniffing coke in the school bathroom, the haunting look on her face and sound of her voice when she talks to Donna about falling in space, the creepiness of the Palmer's empty house, the almost insane look in her father's eyes at the dinner table...I could go on and on and give a lot of the plot away. All I will say at this point is that if you appreciate Lynch's ability to make a moment in a movie resonate with unique poigniancy or if you can appreciate surrealism, this movie is a must see. The DVD is a great picture transfer, so it is worth having even if it did turn down the soundtrack a bit (and drop the subtitles in the Pink Room scene), so it is worth replacing the video with. Lynch may not release any version but this, and, if he does, it may be a LONG time from now (knowing him), so enjoy this now for what it is...a combination of unparalleled surrealism and romantic idealism that is on a clear DVD picture. Just don't take the ring...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars These are the last days of Laura Palmer, March 10 2003
By 
Jeff (Sussex, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I recently had a Twin Peaks revival. I remembered the show being on TV when I was about 11 or 12, and even though I didn't quite get it back then, I was intrigued. As I grew up, I saw an occasional episode on Bravo, but just recently delved into the series entirely when I bought the pilot and first season on DVD - I'm completely hooked once again, and understanding the series on a different level than I did as a kid. I gotta say that I enjoy the whimsy of the original series more than this darkly fantastic movie, but this film is a necessary piece of the puzzle, and in that regard, I love it. If your a fan of Twin Peaks and have not yet seen Fire Walk With Me, it's a must-see... just get ready for the weirdness of the Twin Peaks series, amplified by 10 and minus most of the townspeople. This is Laura's movie. Yeah, it was kind of hard for me to get past how different the movie was in comparison to the network televison show. But Lynch had no tv restrictions when he undertook this project, and was able to show us the things we could only imagine during the series...this movie is messed up, but just realize that it's necessary in illustrating how messed up Laura's world was, it's like a work of art that's hard to look at, but must be closely examined nonetheless...it explains so much of Laura's last days, and at the same time stands alone as it's own haunting story...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me (Widescreen) [Import]
CDN$ 21.44 CDN$ 14.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews