Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious performer, wonderful introduction to ballet!
I fell hopelessly in love with Danny Kaye when I was 8 years old, and I'm still crazy about him many years later. . . no other performer of whom I'm aware has ever shown his unique combination of comic virtuousity, tenderness, silliness, physical bravado and dramatic depth.
He could also really sing, not just comically but straightforwardly, in his naturally rich,...
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Marion Capriotti

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Danny Kaye never disappoints
For all the film's deficiencies, Danny Kaye, always an outstanding performer, manages to be engaging and quite delightful.
The plot has little to do with Hans Christian Andersen, and is based quite loosely on some of his tales, not his far from whismsical life. Only the happiest parts of Andersen's least troubling stories are included (in musical adaptation) - there...
Published on Aug. 17 2001 by Elizabeth G. Melillo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious performer, wonderful introduction to ballet!, Dec 22 2003
By 
Marion Capriotti "missmvc" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen) (DVD)
I fell hopelessly in love with Danny Kaye when I was 8 years old, and I'm still crazy about him many years later. . . no other performer of whom I'm aware has ever shown his unique combination of comic virtuousity, tenderness, silliness, physical bravado and dramatic depth.
He could also really sing, not just comically but straightforwardly, in his naturally rich, sweet lyric-tenor voice. If you really listen to the "Inchworm" song, you will hear just how fine his voice really was.
The ballet sequences in the movie transfixed me as an eight-year-old ballerina wannabe. Maybe they look hokey to present-day grownups, but I bet most kids would immediately understand.
One of the best movies ever!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood joy, adult appreciation!, Feb. 28 2002
By 
Marion Capriotti "missmvc" (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I was 11 years old, I wanted to marry Danny Kaye when I grew up; my parents kindly explained to me that he was dead. I still don't really believe it, though -- Danny Kaye will always live on in the imaginations of his fans.
No comedian was ever so tender; no romantic actor was ever so silly. Danny Kaye is still my hero, and he always will be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hans Christian Andersen [1952] [Deluxe Limited Edition DigiBook] [Blu-ray] [US Import], Aug. 10 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Hans Christian Andersen [1952] [Deluxe Limited Edition DigiBook] [Blu-ray] [US Import] ‘Hans Christian Andersen’ is a 1952 Hollywood musical film directed by Charles Vidor, with lyrics and music by Frank Loesser. The story was by Myles Connolly, screenplay written by Moss Hart and Ben Hecht (uncredited), and Samuel Goldwyn Productions were the producers. It is a fictional, romantic story revolving around the life of the famous Danish poet and story-teller Hans Christian Andersen.

FILM FACT: This film was nominated for 6 Academy Awards: Best Color Cinematography, Best Art Direction and Set Decoration (Color), Best Costume Design (Color), Best Scoring of a Musical Picture (Walter Scharf), Best Song (Thumbelina), and Best Sound Recording.

Cast: Danny Kaye, Farley Granger, Zizi Jeanmaire, Joseph Walsh, Philip Tonge, Erik Bruhn, Roland Petit, John Brown, John Qualen, Jeanne Lafayette, Robert Malcolm, George Chandler, Fred Kelsey, Gil Perkins, Peter Votrian, Barrie Chase and Sylvia Lewis

Director: Charles Vidor

Producer: Samuel Goldwyn

Screenplay: Moss Hart and Ben Hecht (uncredited)

Composer: Frank Loesser

Cinematography: Harry Stradling

Resolution: 1080p [Technicolor]

Aspect Ratio: 1.37:1

Audio: English: DTS-HD Master Audio Mono

Subtitles: English SDH, French and Spanish

Running Time: 112 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Warner Home Video

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Hans Christian Anderson was a beloved author of children's tales. In his life, he had many opportunities and benefactors. His stories were immensely popular, and he was even courted by royalty. 'Hans Christian Anderson', the 1952 film starring Danny Kaye, has nothing to do with any of that. In fact, the film opens with a disclaimer that it is not a telling of the man's life, but a fairy tale dedicated to the creator of so many classic fairy tales of his own.

Danny Kaye of the delightful 'The Court Jester' [which I wish they would release on the Blu-ray format, as it would be a massive big seller] plays the title role, transformed into a small town Danish cobbler. He tells fanciful tales to the town children, often with a strong moral component. However, his story time conflicts with the kids' schooling. Eventually both the schoolmaster and a group of concerned parents decide that Hans should be kicked out of town. Overhearing the decision, Hans' apprentice, Peter [Joseph Walsh], convinces Hans to leave for Copenhagen that night and pursue his dreams in the nation's capital. While there, a prominent ballet company requests Hans' skills as a cobbler. Going to deliver the ballet shoes, he falls head over heels for the head ballerina, Doro [Zizi Jeanmaire]. In the throes of love, he pens perhaps his most famous tale, "The Little Mermaid."

The name of the game for 'Hans Christian Anderson' is total charm. The movie is mainly light and cheery, and Danny Kaye appears so effortlessly charming that you can't help but fall instantly in love with the whole production. It's so loveable that when the Danish government filed an official complaint against the film for not being shot in Denmark or featuring Danish actors, producer Samuel Goldwyn invited a representative of the Danish government to view the film. After seeing it once, the complaint was withdrawn.

The beautiful film is buoyed by a set of original songs by Frank Loesser, composer for 'Guys and Dolls.' Unlike most musicals, the songs for 'Hans Christian Anderson' are quite enjoyable and memorable, with strong melodies that don't sound like typical Broadway fare. In fact, the musical numbers are some of the most underrated of the period, coming across as more understated than was typical for the time. The film doesn't stop with songs, also including an extended ballet drawing from Anderson's story of "The Little Mermaid," set to music by Franz Liszt. The movie was shot in Technicolor, so the whole thing looks vibrant and rich, but the production design and colour scheme hit great heights during the ballet.

The script does a brilliant fantastic job of evoking the sense of wonder and merriment that Anderson's stories always possessed. In fact, by framing the story as a fairy tale instead of a literal biopic, the film gets away with a wide-eyed optimism that might seem hopelessly naïve today. Danny Kaye's broad performance similarly works within this context, but might seem terribly dated if the picture had been done straight.

The earnestness extends to the rest of the cast, especially Joseph Walsh as Peter. Acting as Anderson's anchor to reality and loyal confidante, Walsh does a good job of wearing his heart on his sleeve. Farley Granger, fresh off of the Alfred Hitchcock 'Strangers On A Train', plays the ballet director in a role that is relatively thankless. At the time of its release, 'Hans Christian Anderson' was an international hit, garnering six Academy Award nominations. In time, its star has faded compared to other musicals of the period, but that makes it ripe for rediscovery. The film is a minor gem, but a gem nonetheless, and worth catching if it should cross your path.

Blu-ray Video Quality – 'Hans Christian Anderson' is presented in its original aspect ratio of 1.37:1 in this beautiful encoded 1080p transfer. The first thing that will impress you about the image is the Technicolor palette, which is bold and vibrant. In the opening scene, where Hans is talking to children near a bridge, the blue of the river and the greens of the grass pop off the screen. Flesh tones are very warm, sometimes veering toward red. The biggest problem I could see comes from the three-strip process Technicolor employed. When employed perfectly, it looks gorgeous. But here I noticed slight colouring errors around the edges of things, such as the hems of clothing or around the iris of people's eyes. Additionally, these errors contribute to a level of softness that one wouldn't expect for a three-strip Technicolor image. Despite these problems, this is clearly a high-definition image. The extended ballet sequence looks particularly gorgeous. There's a very attractive layer of film grain that gives the transfer a very authentic filmic look and to me this is just first rate.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – 'Hans Christian Anderson' only comes with a DTS-HD Master Audio Mono track. For films like these, sometimes the original mixes are best, and I found that the film sounded really good. The gorgeous music gets especially a really good treatment. Balance is reasonable, with the music and voices taking centre stage. I didn't detect any hissing or distortion, making for a clean and smooth track. Imaging was necessarily limited and obviously the surrounds got no use at all. It's not a lot, but it's all the film needs. But with the modern technology around today, I am sure they could of given the soundtrack a makeover of 5.1 DTS-HD, like they have been able to turn 2D films into 3D and some mono films into Stereo, especially with a classic Hollywood film like this, still despite this aspect, it is still a good effort.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Theatrical Trailer [480] [2:43] When was the last time you heard a producer's name mentioned so many times in a trailer's voiceover?

Limited Edition DigiBook: Warner has packaged Hans Christian Andersen in a very attractive beautiful DigiBook illustrated with production photos, lobby cards, one sheets and drawings. The text provides an overview of the production's lengthy development, as well as biographies of Samuel Goldwyn, Danny Kaye, Renée "Zizi" Jeanmaire, Farley Granger, Roland Petit, Frank Loesser, Moss Hart, Charles Vidor and Hans Christian Andersen.

Finally, 'Hans Christian Anderson' is a minor gem with a winning performance by Danny Kaye and some very memorable songs by Frank Loesser. The image is vibrant but does have a few flaws. The audio, while only Mono, sounds excellent, but with today’s modern technology available I would have thought they could have expanded the sound element of this beautiful Blu-ray disc, despite this, it certainly highlights the excellent score. While the film does come in a beautiful DigiBook packaging, it is a shame they could not have expanded the special features, as I sure there must be some hidden behind the scene gems in the vaults of Warner Bros., like interviews with the actors and especially outtakes? Despite this 'Hans Christian Anderson' is well worth seeing, especially the magic touch that the director Charles Vidor brought to the screen, and because I am a massive fan of Danny Kaye, this beautiful DigiBook and an even more the beautiful film, it has gone pride of place in my ever increasing Limited Edition DigiBook Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Correction, Dec 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen) (DVD)
I'd just like to make a correction on another customer review that I read of this movie. This was not Danny Kaye's last movie. I don't know what was, but in 1954, he did "White Christmas" with Bing Crosby, Vera Ellen and Rosemary Clooney. It's not a really important thing, I suppose, but I just wanted to make sure that the information was correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Danny Kaye never disappoints, Aug. 17 2001
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen) (DVD)
For all the film's deficiencies, Danny Kaye, always an outstanding performer, manages to be engaging and quite delightful.
The plot has little to do with Hans Christian Andersen, and is based quite loosely on some of his tales, not his far from whismsical life. Only the happiest parts of Andersen's least troubling stories are included (in musical adaptation) - there is no hint of the writer of the Little Match Girl or the Red Shoes. This is strictly a vehicle for a warm, kind-hearted, naive Danny Kaye portrayal.
It is good entertainment, if taken as a Kaye act rather than for literary or artistic merit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Hans Christian Andersen" is a colorful entertainment...., Nov. 28 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen) (DVD)
...the kind of thing I really like to watch especially around
the holidays. There is a generous helping of ballet in this
film, too, and you can even briefly see the famous Danish
dancer Eric Bruhn. The film is really aimed at family audiences,
but in a very off beat way. Danny Kaye is not a romantic hero,
but he is a charming performer who brings songs and stories
to the viewer while keeping his amature standing as a cobbler.
I recommend this if you need something to entertain the visiting
holiday crowd. It is pleasant and colorful and certainly not
likely to offend anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magical story telling!!, Feb. 1 2003
By 
Gregory Nyman (Winchendon, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Danny Kaye is Hans Christian Andersen. There's no doubt about it after you see this film. His portrayal of this writer is winsome and magical, and the songs he weaves coming from the stories he writes and reads cause the children everywhere to want to get out of their classrooms and go the town square or valley to hear him tell them.
The one spot I had difficulty with was with the scenes where Hans falls in love with the ballerina, and while it may have some historicity, I found it a little distracting. But this is a small thing, and overall, this is a marvelous film and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good kid's movie, Feb. 6 2003
HAns Christian andersen is a good movie. Andersen (Danny Kaye) is a cobbler who can't stop telling stories for the little kiddies. This gets him in trouble with the top bananas in town, who vote to have him run out for making kids miss school. Andersen moves to Copenhagen, falls in love with a beautiful french ballerina, and gets himself famous for his stories, all the while going from song to song with true Kaye spirit. It was a good movie, but not one to be overly thrilled about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful and enchanting film!, Aug. 31 2001
This is a truly charming film for people of all ages.
Danny Kaye is perfectly cast as the famous and wonderful
story-teller, Hans Christian Anderson. I highly recommend this
very enchanting film, and would give it ten stars if I could!
Buy it, and your in for a real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best kid's musical ever!!, Dec 3 2002
By 
This review is from: Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen) (DVD)
I was thrilled to find this on DVD! I watched this as a child and now my children watch it with me!! My oldest daughter now wants to be a ballerina! I recommend this to children young and old. Who could resist watching such an outstanding actor as Danny Kaye!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen)
Hans Christian Andersen (Full Screen) by Charles Vidor (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 45.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews