Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful. Sweet. The Best Cd of it's kind.
The only good thing that came out of a 1/2 hearted relationship that I had was hearing this cd. I could listen to it all day. This cd has bottled my emotions and let me revisit them again and again.
Published on July 6 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Melancholy against brutality
Kings of Convenience are two Norwegians named Erlend and Eirik, and "Quiet is the New Loud" is their first album. It is a group of recordings oddly reminiscent of any number of precedents - Simon & Garfunkel are the obvious reference, but so are Belle & Sebastien and Nick Drake - without ever actually sounding like anything else at all. Indeed, one of the strange...
Published on Jan. 8 2003 by William Name


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful. Sweet. The Best Cd of it's kind., July 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
The only good thing that came out of a 1/2 hearted relationship that I had was hearing this cd. I could listen to it all day. This cd has bottled my emotions and let me revisit them again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kings of Emotion, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Stacy Cochrell (Flagstaff, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
You can always judge a CD by its first, second, and last songs. Quiet is the new loud? Well, I heard it loud and clear. These two guys can really use accoustic guitars and evocative lyrics to express such emotion. The cords will have you floored, especially on "I Don't Know What I Can Save You From" and "Parallel Lines".
Don't be afraid to buy this CD only to like a few songs...You will have the calming music haunting you, begging to be listened to again. And if 'Quiet' is not loud enough for you or you love 'Quiet' try 'Versus'. They remixed most of the songs to be sound more upbeat, putting you in a good mood while driving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply amazing., Oct. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
Modern Folk is always good...and what's even better is modern folk with those lovable European voices (Belle and Sebastian, Nick Drake, etc) that we all love. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply beautiful, July 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
Perfect as a gentle wake-up call in the morning, great companion for a sunny afternoon break, or in the evening as if you're endearing yourself to a lovely serenade (or for moments of contemplation). Spend listening to it alone or better yet with your special someone by your side. A kind of a wild card for such a "quiet" album... I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just purely fantastic, July 17 2003
By 
B. Leatherman (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
I commonly surf Amazon.com to find new bands and new music. After looking at what other albums people who bought Beck's Sea Change, Nick Drake's Pink Moon, and others, I came across Kings of Convenience's Quiet is the New Loud. At first, I dismissed the disc as too folky for my taste and a Simon and Garfunkel wanna be. Fortunately for me, I sat down at a local record store, listened to the entire album, and purchase it fifteen seconds thereafter. Think of Simon and Garfunkel sitting down with Nick Drake over a case of cognac and coming up with this ablum. Rest assured, Kings of Convenience have their own unique sound which blends brilliantly with their subtle, sweeping voices. Along with superior acoustic arrangements, add a cello, some piano riffs, and you have a truly amazing arrangement of melodies. Since I purchased it, I've been listening to this album on repeat and have yet to get even remotely tired of it.
If you don't purchase this album, you're only neglecting yourself and the amazing music that surrounds us everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unparalled Harmony, June 10 2003
By 
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
Quite possibly the most beautiful and subtle music made in recent years. Kings of Convenience is true proof that modern American musicians just cannot compare to the one's over seas. Two men able to play a myriad of instruments and sing with more passion and harmony than just about any of their musical predecesors is definatly worth your time. Not only is their sound astounding, but their lyrics equally well thought and meaningfull. Although they may not be for all tastes, no one can disbute the relaxing and inspiring disposition their music creates. Fans of Simon & Garfunkel, Belle & Sabastian, and even the Everly Brothers will find something in Kings of Convenience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Melancholy against brutality, Jan. 8 2003
By 
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
Kings of Convenience are two Norwegians named Erlend and Eirik, and "Quiet is the New Loud" is their first album. It is a group of recordings oddly reminiscent of any number of precedents - Simon & Garfunkel are the obvious reference, but so are Belle & Sebastien and Nick Drake - without ever actually sounding like anything else at all. Indeed, one of the strange effects of this nearly ephemeral folk-pop is its evasiveness. Instrumentation, for example, gets absorbed into the total effect; every time I hear "Toxic Girl" I'm surprised to discover it has drums. I remember it being just singing and guitar. In fact, each track has drums, electric guitar, sometimes on up to cellos and orchestration. The effects are hardly obvious.
This goes for the group itself: two Norwegians who sound like Englishmen, accompanying themselves on multi-tracked recordings done largely in Liverpool. Given its recording location, the whole album seems almost a deliberate reversal of The Beatles's "The Ballad of John and Yoko," where Lennon and McCartney produced the whole band's sound by themselves. The album cover - a picture of Erlend and Eirik with a female friend (perhaps Daisy Simons who co-wrote one of the tracks) next to some fjord-side boathouse - even looks like a Beatles-era artifact reprised. (Norwegian Wood, anyone?). The Kings of Convenience seem intent on using the whole panoply of studio effects and instrumentation towards the end of making as quiet an album as possible. The title is not arbitrary, nor even merely descriptive; it is a manifesto. The sentiment isn't new of course; it's fundamental to mid-twentieth century avant-garde aesthetics. "Less is more" was Mises Van der Rohe's motto. But the real success of the Kings' sound is that it doesn't actually come across as minimalist. The negations are played out and undercut from within rather than through after-the-fact reductions.
I have said nothing so far about the songs or the lyrics. No doubt, the argument that the album functions as a kind of auto-negation of assertion has to apply especially to the singing. More often it does just trail off behind the repetition of a guitar melody. Harmony vocals play in and out almost as cross-interference, as does instrumentation. Phil Spector may haunt this production, though I can't be sure it's intentional. All the same, the album comes with a lyric sheet, and the thematic is consistent: obsession with lost relationships, heartbreaks, and memories. Dusty Springfield once said she never paid any attention to the words in her songs. I'm not sure the words matter at all in these songs. Though I can only imagine that Erlend and Eirik's command of the English language is fluent, there is something about the construction of these songs, and their delivery, which suggests a kind of automatic delivery which seeks to produce a somatic effect rather than a semantic uptake. The lyric sheet functions almost as a kind of confirmation that our understanding of the overall mood is the correct one. The sense of locution seems to be that the best way to get someone's attention is to speak very quietly.
I don't think I'd much care to listen to this formula repeated ad nauseum, but as a knowing intervention in the contemporary pop scene, I'm ready to go the extra mile to defend its end-of-the-summer melancholy against the brutalism and nihilism of what passes for youth culture today. Or rather, the idea that Kings of Convenience are the latest manifestation of post-punk European rock'n'roll works well enough for me, but I imagine in the age of Limp Bizkit the kids won't quite be clamoring to buy "Quiet is the New Loud." That is their loss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars if you say so, Oct. 13 2002
By 
30nothing "thirtynothing" (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
it certainly is quiet, which makes the lyrics stand out more, and that is a problem because there isn't much substance. Sounds like the work of a singer / songwriter / coffeehouse performer who is trying to convince all the retro girls just how sensitive he is. Well, at least it's quiet and it probably won't harm anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly Understated and Clean, Oct. 1 2002
By 
Mauro Scardina "scardinaclan" (Walnut Creek, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
Upon hearing this music for the first time you're likely to make mental comparisons to older bands such as Peter and Gordon, Chad and Jeremy, or Simon and Garfunkel. The music is simple, clean, and beautiful. It's refreshing to hear music in it's purest form as opposed to over-engineered electronica. At first listen, you're likely to miss the genious behind these tunes. After a couple of listenings, however, you will be hooked. In one review I read, it was mentioned that this is the perfect rainy day album. I agree completely. My favorites (although they are all great) include 'Leaning Against the Wall', 'Little Kids', 'Summer on the Westhill', and 'Toxic Girl'. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this album right now, Sept. 1 2002
By 
This review is from: Quiet Is The New Loud (Audio CD)
I happened to discover this group on Amazon, and I simply cannot stop listening to this CD. The comparisons to Nick Drake and Simon & Garfunkel are very appropriate, but don't think for one second that these guys from Norway are second-rate. Kings of Convenience has an original, polished sound that lovers of acoustic folk/pop/rock/whatever will love.
I'm lucky enough to have seen these guys in concert, when they played the Troubadour last month in L.A. Like any great group, they sounded just as good (maybe better) in person than on their album. Elliot Smith was even there to show his support. It's too bad the A-Ha cover "Manhattan Skyline" isn't included on this album, so you should think about buying the extra-track import disc instead to get it. Overall, this is a great CD, perfect for nighttime listening, or to have something gentle in the b.g. while you are reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiet Is The New Loud
Quiet Is The New Loud by Kings of Convenience (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews