Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD of 2001...bar none
I gotta admit, I thunk that the '97 debut of Jim White, Wrong-Eyed Jesus, was the best album ever recorded. And considerin' sophomore efforts are supposed to fall short (witness Gillian Welch...), J.W.'s "No Such Place" has just flat-out blown me away. From the opening track, "Handcuffed to a Fence in Mississippi" through "Corvair" (and...
Published on Sept. 22 2001 by J. Polsgrove

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No Such Place nearly satisfies.
The album had a good feel from start to finish but never seems to deliver. I think it needs a little more Johnny Cash and a little less, I don't know, pop.
Published on June 12 2001 by Coby M Harrod


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Warped, Dec 6 2002
By 
Larry White (AdultPop.com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
Jim White, no relation, is as an eccentric, innovative, and refreshing new artist as we've heard in a while. He, along with a small contigent of talented producers, appears to have invented a new musical hybrid-- a combination of 'country' and so-called 'trip-hop' (itself a hybrid), which we shall hereby dub 'countryp-hop'(unless someone has beaten us to it or found a better name). White writes songs that bear a melodic resemblance to country music. Then he bends them lyrically and sonically into beautifully warped gems. To get what we mean, you need only to listen to his one cover. It is a version of "King of the Road", a road where Roger Miller collides with Tom Waits. Although this no longer makes it Top Ten material, it is every bit as catchy and much more provocative than Miller's original. The instruments employed on the album-- kalimba, melodium, celeste, toy flute, sitar, etc--are not the usual array for country music. And when the 'usual' are used--dobro, banjo, mandolin, etc--it is in a totally new and imaginative way. Now some of this is just a tad too strange for these ears to 'get', but we may just keep hitting "repeat" until we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD of 2001...bar none, Sept. 22 2001
By 
J. Polsgrove "tucson_deadhead" (Uh, Arizona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
I gotta admit, I thunk that the '97 debut of Jim White, Wrong-Eyed Jesus, was the best album ever recorded. And considerin' sophomore efforts are supposed to fall short (witness Gillian Welch...), J.W.'s "No Such Place" has just flat-out blown me away. From the opening track, "Handcuffed to a Fence in Mississippi" through "Corvair" (and Corvair Reprise), and "God Was Drunk When He Made Me," Jim plays with sonic on a level not seen since Beck Hanson's Odelay days. The music is subtle, surreal, and REALLY calls for headphones to enjoy the intricate structure and sonic effects. If Jim never releases another CD, the two he's cut so far will definitely earn him a rightful place in the pantheon of "Greatest Damn Songwriters" on the face of the earth. Buy this CD! I got it the same week I picked up Dylan's new CD, which is also very, very good, but "No Such Place" has spent three times as much time in my CD player as the excellent new Dylan release (sorry, Bob...).
Five stars, and worth every darn one of 'em!
Jac in Tucson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Might just be a modern prophet, June 30 2001
By 
JG "wordmule" (...onward....thru the fog!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
Jim White's music can't be pinned down. It's a strange blend of hypnotic folk combined with spacey jams. Blend in some Faulkner and Flannery O'Connor, and you're on the right path. He's got visions of strange goings on in Pensatopia, Texas(Pensacola, FL, hence the title "No such Place"), like people getting shot to death by the sheriff in broad daylight("10 miles to go on a 9 mile road"), and musings on an old Corvair slowly disintegrating in a junkyard. Then again, "Corvair" could just as well represent a dead relationship. He also comments slyly on the local prison warden in Mobile, Alabama saying he's just going to start handcuffing prisoners to a fence, since he can't get any money to accomodate the overflow of prisoners("Handcuffed to a fence in Mississippi). There is also a lot of religious imagery("The wrong kind of love") in Jim's art. Get both of his CDs, because each has all kinds of wonderful stories. The greatest thing about this guy is that he has no clue of just how significant he is. Great live show. You might just get to meet him after the concert. A genuinely nice guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome CD from a true artist, June 29 2001
By 
Christopher Zephro (Santa Cruz, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
No Such Place is a fantastic CD from beginning to end. I have heard it at least couple hundred times and I haven't come closer to getting board. Every track is solid and sticks to the theme of the CD, which as Jim told me, is about a group of characters of which some fail and some succeed. There is no question that the CD is a story of up and downs and music and the lyrics take you on a long journey.
I first saw Jim play live in 1997 on David Byrne's Feeling tour and from that moment on we were hooked. It started with Wrong Eyed Jesus, a great CD, and now 4 years later NSP. NSP has a similar feel, but it is better produced. If you haven't heard it, I suggest you do, I can't imagine someone hating this CD, it's just too original and restores your feelings about new music, which for the most part I think, like current movies, is unoriginal crap. I can't wait till he puts out another CD, according to Jim he wrote 70 songs for NSP, and if you get a chance to see him live, you'll hear a lot of them, it's not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHEN THE WEIRD TURN PRO, May 25 2001
By 
Tim Peeler "tpeeler" (Hickory, NC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
Jim White's music first appeared during the second half of the 90's, born, it would seem, out of a subculture of calculated weirdness. With this second offering, I would have to argue that this guy is the real thing.
But there's more to White's music than the protracted mental agony and sensibly twisted visions that permeate it. Three of the songs, this time, "Handcuffed to a Fence...", "10 Miles to Go on...", and "A King of the Road" would all do well on the AAA circuit. "Corvair" is a low key rendering that maintains the kind of fragile beauty that one hears on an early Neil Young album.
NO SUCH PLACE is more polished than WRONG EYED JESUS, making it apparent that the artist has improved his station in terms of access to a more upscale production team. Some of the songs remind one of Beck's country/funk, but White is more careful in his verbal phrasings, never allowing stream of consciousness to encroach on meaning.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, March 26 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
I read the capasle review of this album in Time magazine and got intrigued. Jim White is terrific and this album has more wonderful Southern weirdness. It's a little bit more polished and the lyrics are more comprehensible than on Mr. White's first album "Wrong Eyed Jesus". My favorite song on this album is "10 Miles to Go on 9 Mile Road" which is all about just moving through life and doing it well and with love or else "you'll wind up cynical or dead". "The Wound that Never Heals" is a wonderful tale of a women that kills her husbands to escape the ghosts of her 5 dead uncles. "Christmas Day" is haunting tune about lost love. "Bound to Forget" is another great song. "God Was Drunk When He Made Me" is a great song about religion and other disasters. This is a wonderful album no matter where your musical tastes lie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Literate story telling with a dark edge, May 15 2001
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
HANDCUFFED to a fence in Mississippi is not a usual place to begin an album. But then the last thing Jim White could be described is run of the mill. A former New York cab driver turned singer, his life fell apart after the release of his totally distinctive "One Eyed Jesus" debut. Happily now back on track, the string of producer credits hint that this was a tough album to make.
For the uninitiated, White is a very alternative country performer, combining modern effects with dark tales of Southern madness and religion. Some of the material here is heaven sent. For example White invests Corvair, a lullaby for a disused car, with all the sadness in the world. At his best, White's lyrics are miniature short stories to rival those of Southern writer Flannery O'Connor.
It does lose its way in the middle, but if you like adventurous roots music, you really should search this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait, March 6 2001
By 
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
I stumbled across Wrong-Eyed Jesus... I really don't remember how, but I did, and that was that. I've been waiting impatiently for a follow-up ever since, both hopeful that it'd have the same sound as Wrong-Eyed Jesus without sounding like a Wrong-Eyed Jesus II, you know? But hey, thank you Jim, for staying in the same general country while exploring new terrain. You're still following the golden thread T.S. Eliot wrote about, and thanks for staying true to that.
It was "Sleepytown" which hooked me on Wrong-Eyed Jesus, and that song's companion piece here, "Hey! You Going My Way???" is every bit as soulful and haunting. To me it's the center of the album, the heart and soul of the work the way "Sleepytown" was for Wrong-Eyed Jesus, but not overpowering, more like the deep water whose rain, fog and mist cover the rest of the landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Topping himself..., Feb. 27 2001
By 
Jiffybox "jiffybox" (Manhattan, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
Jim White's first album "Wrong Eyed Jesus" was by far one of the best releases of the last decade. Fresh, original, haunting...it was an unexpected album from an unexpected artist. So, I've waited four years(!) for something new from Mr. White, and here it is. "No Such Place" has already leapfrogged ahead of WEJ on my favorites list and deservedly so. Taking his influence from many trance and groove artists and producers, Jim has crafted a truly amazing record that sounds like the future of music made from a recipe of traditional Americana and roots music of the past. More haunting and original than ever, this is an absolute stunner. I've had the pleasure of meeting Jim and seeing him live a few times, even interviewing him, and all I can say is "Thank _____ for Jim White," an artist who restores my faith in music in this dull musical landscape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Surprise, Aug. 4 2001
By 
This review is from: No Such Place (Audio CD)
Is it any wonder that David Byrne considers Jim White "genius"...? I read an article about Mr. Jim White in "GQ" of all places. Amusing article... Decent conversation about the artist and the music. Purchased the album on a whim and it has become my "Brian Wilson's: Sgt. Pepper's." Brilliant use of poetic languange and folk-centric imagination. The lyrics range from common sense to strangely philosophical--offering clever, inspired, and poignant takes on the day to day. To say the least: Insightful and honest. The music is simple (but that seems insulting) and perfectly appropriate to convey White's every point of view. I've never heard better use of the banjo to provide haunting backdops. Combine that with incredible lyrical timing, the occasional backbeat, and off-kilter samples, and you're reeling. Catchy and intelligent music to listen to--Easily one of my favorites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Such Place
No Such Place by Jim White (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews