Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did Something in that tree Just Move???!!
I first saw Madman years ago when it was first released on VHS. I was probably in me early teens or pre-teens, and I remember it scaring my brother and I witless. About 10 years ago I found a copy for sale in a mom & pop video store in the neighborhood and picked it up. Now here I was in my mid 20's, newly married and decided to put this in one night when my wife was...
Published on June 3 2004 by David Girod

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MADMAN: Magnificent...or Malodorous?
Okay, 1982's MADMAN is admittedly low-budget schlock. That's a given. But does MADMAN qualify as schlock in the Ed Wood vein (i.e., so bad that it's actually fun)? Or is it just another run-of-the-mill '80s slasher flick whose creators wanted to hitch a quick ride on the lucrative HALLOWEEN (1978) and FRIDAY THE 13th (1980) gravy train? Well, that's actually hard to...
Published on Jan. 22 2004 by Michael R Gates


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars God save us from zombie farmers....., July 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
This was probably the most fun I've ever had with a bad movie. It starts off around a camp fire, where the enigmatic "T.P" is singing a pointless song that mentions dripping blood about fifteen times. Then, Max (evidently the camp sage) settles back and begins to tell the story of the Madman Marz. The Madman, it seems, is a big fat zombie farmer that butchered his own family, was hung for his crimes, and eventually rose from his own grave. His name is never supposed to be uttered above a whisper, blah, blah, blah. Well, of course, the camp pimple-head, Richie, screams the name of the Madman, thus summoning the devil of the campfire pantheon. I must also note that both Max and Richie, the two dorks responsible for the Madman's rampage, emerge unscathed at the end of the film.
Everyone else gets croaked by the Madman, Friday the Thirteenth-style, though I suspect that Jason Vorhees was sitting somewhere off camera and shaking his hockey mask in disgust. There is no spuspense, because you already know who the killer is, and every appearance of the Madman is immediately preceded by the nefarious Madman Theme.
The most noteworthy scenes:
T.P. and Max both straining like a couple of sissies trying to get an axe out of a tree stump.
The hot chub chase, where T.P. spends about twenty minutes chasing his less-than-lovely girlfriend around a hot tub. This scene is embellished with the worst "ballad" I have ever heard.
The fireplace scene, where a profoundly unremarkable cast slouches around and spews desultory dialogue that makes me nestalgic for the ballad from the hot tub chase.
The bus ride, where the one remaining protagonist has managed to get all of the camp kids on the bus, on their way to safety, and she actually gets out again to make sure that "everyone is dead."
If you like watching bad movies, as I sometimes do, then this movie is something like the Holy Grail. Its full of clumsy, manufactured gore, horrible dialogue, and acting just a little shy of Manos: The Hands of Fate. I think this movie is great, I've seen it like thirty times. And it never fails in putting a smile on my face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The forgotten cult classic, March 3 2001
By 
David Newton (Johannesburg, Gauteng South Africa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
The first time I saw Madman was on a bad quality VHS release from a South African backdoor video store. It scared me then and it still scares me now, twenty years later. This is a sound horror flick with creative art direction and cinematography. From homage to direct creative theft, this motion picture is a best-of compilation with the most effective cinema tricks beautifully orchestrated to create a truely horrific motion picture. The down side is the "pornographic" acting and very weak dialogue. The characters all seem a little like clubbed seals and by the end of the flick, you are cheering the villain for putting them out of their misery. In parrallel to the cult classics, bad acting never seems to hamper a film's success or bottom line- especially in the Horror genre. This is a DVD any self-respecting horror fan should own. I would have preferred a better remaster and possibly more special features. The sound quality is fair as is the picture. Hopefully the studio can get it together for a more impressive 25th Anniversary edition.. I'll buy both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A TRUE CAMPFIRE SCARE, Jan. 29 2001
By 
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great film in the fact that it tells a truely scary tale. It begins with a camp head that tells a group of camping children and their guardians a tale of a madman that once lived in the same forrest that they are now camping in. He tells them that one night a farmer went mad and killed his family with an axe, and later walked in to a bar put the bloody axe on the bar and ordered himself a drink. The people found out what happened to the family and found the farmer and hung him, So the story goes. One young camper then asked the farmers name and when it was told to him by the camp head with the following warning "There is a good reason that I have not told you. For if you say his name above a whisper he will find you and chop off your head." Of course the boy yells his name and the slaughter begins once they return to the camp lodges. A good horror film that was thought out, and that I am very glad to see out on DVD. Be warned their is some very good scares but some have gore. One such seen is of a head being cut of and another of a camper loosing her head over a truck.(pun) you'll see what I mean when you veiw this truely good horror film. Why I think this is good Is as follows. Belivable acting by everyone. The film was shot totally at night which gives this film an eerie feeling. The actors and actresses could be living next door to you. In other words they look real and you can feel for their terror. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MADMAN IS A CLASSIC CAMP FIRE MOVIE!, Sept. 2 2003
By 
K. S Schneider (Springfield, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a very origional movie. It has a great plot! Some of the acting is okay and some is very bad! But thats what you have to expect when you watch a stalker in the woods movie. It starts out around a campfire with 7 camp counselors and about 8 kids telling stories. the oldest counselor Max starts to tell the legend of "Madman Marz". It's about a crazy farmer who murdered his whole family with an axe while they were sleeping and then disappearing into the woods forever. Legend has it that if you say his name over a whisper he will come and hunt you down. Then a cocky teen says his name and the body count begins to rise. One by one the counselors begin to disappear. The best death scene is when madman marz cuts of a counselor's head while they're head is under the hood of the truck! Don't bet on who will live or die because you will be supprised. This is a great buy for those of you who enjoyed the Friday the 13th series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Horror Movie!, Feb. 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
I was so overjoyed to see this movie on DVD! I am a horror movie fanatic and this has to be one of my top 5 scariest. The acting is amateur to say the least but the star of the movie is Madman Marz. There are no daytime scenes, the old house sends chills up your spine and the foggy silhouettes of huge Madman Marz are enough to frighten anyone. The opening scenes of him murdering his family (including his 2 small children) set the scene and let you know right away that he has no regard for human life. The mystery surrounding him, the slight glimpses you catch of him during the movie, the silence with which he moves about are all enough to keep you tense. Granted, there are several scenes (like the hot tub and the meditation in front of the fireplace) that could have met the cutting room floor, but overall if you could imagine yourself in the situation of these camp counselors, you probably wouldn't want to watch this one alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madman works, but..., Dec 31 2002
By 
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
the acting is pretty bad. If it was better, this could have been a really scary film, but unfortunately the acting took away some of the films atmosphere, but it is still pretty spooky. Not a Friday the 13th rip-off, for one thing, instead of hormone driven teens, we have hormone driven 40 year olds, and that is frieghtening enough. It's kind of like The Fog, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Halloween (sort of), and Friday the 13th. To get scared in this movie, you do have to take it seriously, and try not to crack jokes about it. If you do that, then I'mn sure this will be an experience you won't forget anytime soon. Watch this one alone in the dark. The extra features on the disc are pretty good, and I'm surprised because a film like this usually doesn't get very good extra features. I hope my review has been helpful to you, and I hope you enjoy the movie as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GEM IN THE SLASHER FILM GENRE!, June 30 2001
By 
Jacob Malewitz "areaderseye.blogspot.com" (Lansing, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madman (VHS Tape)
Madman is a horror flick you should put right next to Friday the 13th and Halloween on your horror shelf. Madman was very well done with some interesting twists that make it stand out from the typical slasher movie. Usually when the killer starts chopping his victims up you can pick which character or characters are going to be the survivors. Madman almost plays on what typically happens in a slasher flick against you. The gore scenes are entertaining as well. I don't believe I've ever heard a skull crack in a horror movie before. Lastly the "Beware The Madman Marz" song at the end was great! While it may not stand up to Friday the 13th or Halloween in terms of originality or pure horror it sure deserves a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CAMP FIRE CLASSIC!, Aug. 31 2003
By 
K. S Schneider (Springfield, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
Madman was well thought out and well written. Some of the acting is good and some is really bad. But that's what you'd expect when you buy a stalker in the woods movie. It starts out with 7 camp leaders and about 8 kids telling stories around the camp fire. The oldest leader starts to tell the legend of Madman Marz. The legend says that if you say his name over a whisper he will come and hunt you down. Don't bet on who will die or live because you will be supprised. The death scenes are very cool. One of them has one of the counselors getting their head cut off by a car hood! The dvd features a theatrical trailer,subtitles and scene selection. I would reccomend this for those who enjoyed the Friday the 13th series. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good 80's horror, Aug. 7 2001
This review is from: Madman (VHS Tape)
I had first seen this movie at the show and i have been looking for it in video stores ever since then (big and small) and nobody knew what i was talking about.So i gave up my search until i just recently found it at Amazon.If you like Michael Myers,Jason,Texas Massacre and so on then you are going to like this just as much.Put this one in your collection,it's worth it.Because besides The Exorcist i have never seen so many people get scared and leave out of the theater (including my dad).And more people left on Madman than on The Exorcist.That is why i give it 5 stars just based on that fact alone.It has an 80's setting but watch it with an open mind and you won't be disapointed.I promise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let's hide in the refrigerator!, Aug. 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Madman (Widescreen) (DVD)
One of the better 80's slasher films. Way better than the Scream and the I Know...franchises. Low budget, fun, dated, and entertaining. The hot tub scene should've met the cutting room floor or at least the song removed. Probably the only film I know of that has someone hiding in the refrigerator hoping to escape from their killer Madman Marz. Do you know of anyone really named TP? I'm sure Gaylen Ross regrets this film. Go ahead and watch this pre-digital age relic. A warning for those under 25: You just might like this. It's one hundred more times better than the new Halloween movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madman (Widescreen)
Madman (Widescreen) by Joe Giannone (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 104.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews