Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (163)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The groups best
This is hands down Daft Punk's best CD. Where else can you find techno music that contains elements of Supertramp, Eddie Van Halen and a creative Barry Manelow sample? This really isn't techno, it really isn't dance, it's just really good music. A must buy.
Oh and as requested, I want to recommend another instrumental CD, a killer instrumental CD, by Mr.Deviant...
Published on July 3 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Experimental french disco(very) house
When I bought the first Daft Punk cd it was a relative new period within the genre Breakbeat and House. It was an era where Daft Punk and The Chemical Brothers had their entrance on the mainstream clubscene. I really like the first Daft Punk cd. And when I first heard Discovery, I just felt Woowww!! What a great and cool sound. I thougt: "How experimental can you...
Published on Aug. 17 2001 by jenschristianfalck@yahoo.com


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The groups best, July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
This is hands down Daft Punk's best CD. Where else can you find techno music that contains elements of Supertramp, Eddie Van Halen and a creative Barry Manelow sample? This really isn't techno, it really isn't dance, it's just really good music. A must buy.
Oh and as requested, I want to recommend another instrumental CD, a killer instrumental CD, by Mr.Deviant called "Techno Obsession". It's a killer mix of power rock and hard dance music. Check it out if you don't fear any conspiracies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A couple more reasons to buy this cd!, April 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
This cd was the best cd in the world!! Amazing and i couldn't stop listening to it for hours and hours. I thought the cd would be good by hearing some saples from this site but you have to buy it to experience how great it is.
My reveiws:
One more time- Great song heard it a million times and i cant really get tired of it.
Aerodynamic- Fantastic (the ringtone is also great)
Digital Love- Excellent it was featured on a GAP commercial.
Harder, Better, Faster, Sto...- Very interesting with what they did here.
Crescendolls- Very funny. Makes you wanna scream HEY!!
Night vision- Slow song sounds good.
Superheros- Makes you want to "THE AIR" ur whatever it says!!
High life- A great song that has a great rythm.
Something about us- What is there to say about this song but it being MAGNIFICANT!!!!!!!
Voyager- Perty good
Veridis quo- Sounds very old aged. Very neato
Short circuit- It seems to be like there is a short circuit(very great song)
Face to face- Love it soo much the singing is amazing
Too long- Really long but goes by fast..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk : Androides Con Sueños Galacticos, Feb. 7 2004
By 
Eliel Gonzalez "Anfibio" (Culiacán, Sinaloa; México.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Daft Punk - Discovery
Este es el disco de Daft Punk clave... despues de Homework, un trabajo excepcional pero aun con algunos tropiezos en su desarrollo. Llega Discovery. Este no es solo un disco dance, sino que es una vision galactica que trata de contarnos a traves de sus videos "one more time", "aerodynamic", "harder, better, faster, stronger" y "something about us" que si existiese otra banda lejos del universo seria increiblemente raptada y lavada del cerebro para hacernos felices a los adolescentes y porque no adultos terrestres. El disco es una obra de arte, ingenioso, aunque con mucha influencia de los años disco de los 70's y 80's, aunque con una base de rock alternativo difusamente alterado postmodernista electro funk y secuencias de raros paisajes galacticos. Si lo escuchas detenidamente te daras cuenta de la historia y momentos que te relatan con la musica, me fascinan discos como este puesto que llevan una secuencia entre la musica y no termina una cuando ya empieza la otra. Entre los tracks contamos con algunos sonidos clasicos y basicos que se hallan en la historia de la banda, si es que sabes de ellos, y para los que no, pues lo siento. Pero se encuentran joyas preciosas y de tipo ambient muy muy gozables como "aerodynamic", "something about us" y "voyager", las oscuras como "night vision", "veridis quo", las bailables como "one more time", las suaves romanticas al estilo funk 70's como "digital love", "crescendolls", las expresivas emocionales como "face to face". en fin es un disco increible. no le hace falta nada a este disco. es perfecto. Podria decir que es el mejor disco de Daft Punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daft Punk : Androides Con Sueños Galacticos, Feb. 7 2004
By 
Eliel Gonzalez "Anfibio" (Culiacán, Sinaloa; México.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Daft Punk - Discovery
Este es el disco clave de Daft Punk... despues de Homework, un trabajo excepcional pero aun con algunos tropiezos en su desarrollo. Llega Discovery. Este no es solo un disco dance, sino que es una vision galactica que trata de contarnos a traves de sus videos "one more time", "aerodynamic", "harder, better, faster, stronger" y "something about us" que si existiese otra banda lejos del universo seria increiblemente raptada y lavada del cerebro para hacernos felices a los adolescentes y porque no adultos terrestres. El disco es una obra de arte, ingenioso, aunque con mucha influencia de los años disco de los 70's y 80's, aunque con una base de rock alternativo difusamente alterado postmodernista electro funk y secuencias de raros paisajes galacticos. Si lo escuchas detenidamente te daras cuenta de la historia y momentos que te relatan con la musica, me fascinan discos como este puesto que llevan una secuencia entre la musica y no termina una cuando ya empieza la otra. Entre los tracks contamos con algunos sonidos clasicos y basicos que se hallan en la historia de la banda, si es que sabes de ellos, y para los que no, pues lo siento. Pero se encuentran joyas preciosas y de tipo ambient muy muy gozables como "aerodynamic", "something about us" y "voyager", las oscuras como "night vision", "veridis quo", las bailables como "one more time", las suaves romanticas al estilo funk 70's como "digital love", "crescendolls", las expresivas emocionales como "face to face". en fin es un disco increible. no le hace falta nada a este disco. es perfecto. Podria decir que es el mejor disco de Daft Punk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The album was good -- then I saw the movie and WOW!, Dec 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Discovery as a stand alone work works. It's an electronica pastiche of a whole lot of influences that synthesizes into some heavy break beats and great dance grooves. The first time I listened to it, some of the tracks were lost on me. There were these crazy anime videos that came out with some of the singles, and they matched to the visuals so well that it made me wonder what the rest of the album would look like as music videos.
Well, now it makes sense--the album is the soundscape for Interstella 5555 The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5ystem, a collaboration between the goofy Daft Punk kids and anime artist Leiji Matsumodo (Space Pirate Captain Harlock, Spacebattleship Yamato, a whole lot of cool stuff go look him up). There have been music videos, and long form works, but only DJ Q-Berts Wavetwisters has the same kind of visual audacity. Interstella does it one better, though, by creating a film where the music doesn't stop.
Some of the tracks that seemed to drag--they make sense once the visuals are in place. Daft Punk crafted the story for the anime work, so I don't doubt that the melodies and strange transgressions are intentional now--especially the copious use of rain sounds and such.
If you aren't into spaceage anime, wierd cartoons and dance music, stay away--you'll hate this stuff. If you want to see and hear what the coolest stuff of the 21st century should be all about, check it out. Listen to the album to groove on the sounds--then see the movie and witness a pop allegory about the current state of the music industry.
werd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, Aug. 10 2003
By 
"mightymarg" (Urbana, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Daft Punk is the best. No one can deny it. This CD is a marvelous work of art. There's everything on this album. Not like other artists who have albums with the same song revamped on it over and over again.
This CD has the best 4 opening songs anyone could ask for. We all have heard "One More Time." The song which really made Daft Punk take off in the US. But in my opinion, it is one of the low points on the CD. But it is still a great song, I'm illustrating how good this CD is. The next track is Aerodynamic, one of my favorites. One of the best electro-guitar lines ever in it. Kind of Megaman sounding towards the end, but the guitar line elevates the song. After Aerodynamic you have Digital Love. This song gets my vote for the Feel Good Song of All Time. It's got a summer feel to it, and is a great track, though many think it is cheesy sounding. Afterwards comes Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger. A fan favorite from this track. It has a good beat and groove, with cool voice effects and the typical build up of patterns. It is definitely a great song to work out to.
Skipping down to Superheroes, which is a great track that has a retro feel to it. Skipping once again to Something About Us, which in my opinion is another favorite. It's a slower song, sounds like a song that would be playing on a honeymoon... The track after that is Voyager, which is probably one of the best songs ever. It IS repetitive, I'll admit, but it's something I can never get tired of. It has the feel of enjoying a walk alone at night on a university campus. Great song. Verdis Quo has a great medival sound to it. Short Circuit is a really cool idea. Someone on here wrote a review saying "it sounds like the synthesizer short-circuited" which is the whole point of the track. Face to Face is a good song, which doesn't deserve the bad reviews it's gotten. Too Long is exactly that, too long. But it still has that Daft Punk groove that is hard to deny.
All in all, this is one of my favorite albums ever. I strongly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Fans and Newcomers Alike, July 30 2003
By 
Dave (Boerne, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Daft Punk's Discovery album is extremely balanced in that it is half instrumental and half vocalized. Each song has quite a different atmosphere and thus offers something for every mood. Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger is easily the best known song on Discovery, and also the best to dance to. It offers the variety of tones and sounds that One More Time lacks, but One More Time still manages to hold its own. Face To Face offers a slightly less electronic sound than the rest of the album. Too Long contains a very mellow beat, with some wholesome lyrics. Aerodynamic is in my opinion the best instrumental song on the album, with such a wide array of sounds and distortions. Superheroes features a very nice retro beat. Crescendolls has a very futuristic sound and beat, and it holds your attention. Digital Love is somewhat like One More Time, only less repetitive and it has a very happy tune. Short Circuit offers a very cool compilation of futuristic sounds and it progresses very well. High Life is a lot different from the other songs, but is similar to Face To Face in its feel and rhythm. Something About Us offers a well balanced mix of instrumental and vocalized beats. Veridis Quo has a very aged sound to it, and is very appealing to the ears. Not really danceable, but great none the less. Night Vision features sort of an eerie beat and is very fitting of its title. Voyager features a soft sound and atmosphere, and yet a faster paced beat than Something About Us. All in all, for such a well-balanced album, I give Discovery 5 stars. It is a great choice for newcomers, and old fans will be pleasantly surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Discovered Daft Punk, March 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
...I'll do this song for song.
1)One More Time: You have to have heard this one. Good performance. Vocals by Romanthony. 4 out of 5
2)Aerodynamic: Good song,good title, worthwhile listening to. 4 out of 5
3)Digital Love: I swear to you---... Too cheezy for my liking. Also too mushy.3 out of 5
4)Harder,Better,Faster,Stronger: NO DOUBT~~~THIS IS THE BEST SONG ON THE ALBUM. EEXXCCEELLEENNTT USE OF SYNTH.5 out of 5
5)Crescendolls: Okay,get over the stupid name for this song,cause it's kinda good. I like the repetitive chorus of "HEY!" in the background. 4 out of 5
6)Nightvision: Cooling,relaxing song. Not the regular Daft Punk. 3 and a half out of 5
7)Superheroes: Not bad for a Barry Manilow song. Not bad for a Daft Punk song. Not bad for any song. Decent,danceable song.4 out of 5
8)High Life: MSN marked this song "explicit", but there is no lyrics (the occasional breath from the girl does not count as lyrics...what the heck is she saying anyway?)and...is it possible for music to be explicit? Whatever---good song anyway. 3 out of 5
9)Something About Us: Good non-mushy love song---good beat,reccommended.4 out of 5
10)Voyager: All I can say is...wow. Good song (in Daft Punk terms) and...good. I'm at a loss for words...sorry.4 out of 5
11)Veridis Quo: Mid-evil sound gets catchy into the song. My dad loves this one.4 out of 5
12)Short Circuit: Grammy nominated~~~I don't know why. Not that this is a bad song---it's not a bad song. Sounds like the synthesizer short-circuited but a good song anyway.3 out of 5
13)Face to Face: Guess what happens when you mix alternative rock with pop? Face to Face---vocals by Todd Edwards are cool and make sense while rhyming. 4 out of 5
14)Too Long: The title speaks for itself. Clocking in at ten min,it's a good song if you can get through the first part. 3 out of 5
So I'll catch ya later---I gotta go to the Daft Punk Forum!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dance music from a new point of view, Oct. 18 2002
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
Wow what can i say, Daft Punk has really something new to add with their dance music. They can simply turn everything from slow easy listening tunes to heavy tough tracks into dance music and they are not afraid to record it. There are lots of diffrent kind of dance music on this CD, not 15 identical typical dance tracks like many other artists make, probably the reason why the album was called "Discovery". First off we got the dance pop tune "One More Time" a big hit when it was released with is't cool animated video, here we got vocals from Romanthony and the song got great melody and chorus "Music got me feeling so free we gonna celebrate". You cannot dislike this song. Then we got the tough "Aerodynamic" with agressive beats and fast electro guitar playing. "Digital Love" sound a little like "one more time" but slower, good dance-pop. "Harder, Better,Faster, stronger" reminds me of the good old Kraftwerk with Robot voices and nice funk beats in the backround. "Crescendolls" is a house-funk song so is "face to face", "Short Circuit" reminds me of what Herbie Hancock did back in the 80's, good dance-funk so to say. But there are also a few very slow songs "Veridis Quo" and "Something About Us", and the last one "too long" is a soul song more or less. This album works for everyone's taste, Daft Punk mix alot of diffrent music genres and turn it into great dance, for dance music lovers this is a MUST buy, for other music fans i recoment it aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the formula works.... but does that mean is good?, Sept. 20 2002
This review is from: Discovery (Audio CD)
I've always had somewhat of a love-hate relationship with Daft Punk. Even though I criticize them I still own both of their releases. I think they are an overrated group, that their influence in dance music isn't as big as some people claim. In Discovery, they explore dance and pop music of the 70's and 80's. It's a mixed bag, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. They should receive credit for great recreation of a specific style: it really sounds just like the music from the era. The album is fun, it grabs you and puts you in a good mood, but that doesn't necessarily make it a good record. They fall into excesses, such as the overuse of vocoder, especially the "cher" effect which has gotten old by now. They overuse stereo phasing too. I don't consider Daft Punk to be very group producers. The production is very simplistic and amateurish, just enough to carry the music decently. Their beats are very generic, there's an excess in the use of effects, the song samples are not put together smoothly, the mixing is terrible, a total disaster, especially in "one more time" where the bass kick muddies the whole mix. Romanthony's voice should have been somewhat polished. It's put straight in the mix, sounds like coming from a cheap microphone. They need some sound production classes badly. There are many things to criticize, but in the end this glitches end up being ignored, mainly because they are able to create a good vibe, nice ear candy, even if it's far from perfect.
There are some highlights in the album: "digital love" is excellent, production shines and it's an excellent recreation of late 70's. "Face to face" is also nicely put together and the samples sit nicely with the vocals. "Superheroes" is fun, with a smart use of synth arpeggios. "Voyager" reminds me of early house, the bass line is excellent.
The album is formulaic, it has many glitches, many things to improve, but it posseses it's own charm. It works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Discovery
Discovery by Daft Punk (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews