Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars HOW VERY!!
HEATHERS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES OF ALL TIME. I HAVE BEEN A DIE HARD FAN OF WINONA RYDER EVER SINCE IT CAME OUT. I WAS SO EXCITED WHEN THIS LIMITED EDITION THX VERSION WAS RELEASED. I BOUGHT IT THE DAY IT CAME OUT. IT'S LOADED WITH EXTRA FEATURES AND COMES IN A COLLECTOR'S TIN. IT LOOKS SO GOOD DISPLAYED AMONGST MY DVD COLLECTION. IF YOU SEE THIS MOVIE, YOU'LL WANT...
Published on June 5 2002 by Moviebuffer101

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Movie? Good. Extras? Not so much.
There's not much left to say about "Heathers" that hasn't been said before...groundbreaking black comedy, witty dialogue, inspired story, and so on. It's really dated now, of course, but that's part of what makes it enjoyable to those of us who grew up in the 80's...or at least it's supposed to.
The movie deserves its reputation, as one of the few, and maybe the...
Published on June 27 2003 by jenbird


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars HOW VERY!!, June 5 2002
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
HEATHERS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES OF ALL TIME. I HAVE BEEN A DIE HARD FAN OF WINONA RYDER EVER SINCE IT CAME OUT. I WAS SO EXCITED WHEN THIS LIMITED EDITION THX VERSION WAS RELEASED. I BOUGHT IT THE DAY IT CAME OUT. IT'S LOADED WITH EXTRA FEATURES AND COMES IN A COLLECTOR'S TIN. IT LOOKS SO GOOD DISPLAYED AMONGST MY DVD COLLECTION. IF YOU SEE THIS MOVIE, YOU'LL WANT TO BUY IT. IT'S SUCH A GREAT MOVIE THAT WHEN I FIRST SAW IT, I WATCHED IT AGAIN AND AGAIN!! EACH TIME THE DVD OR VHS IS UPGRADED I BUY THE UPGRADES, AND HAND DOWN THE OLDER COPIES TO PEOPLE THAT ARE UNFORTUNATE ENOUGH NOT TO HAVE THEIR OWN COPY. DON'T BE ONE OF THESE POOR UNFORTUNATE SOULS, GET HEATHERS ON DVD OR VHS TODAY. THIS MOVIE WILL BE REMADE IN YEARS TO COME, I HOPE THEY DON'T CHANGE A THING. HEATHERS DESERVES A WAREHOUSE FULL OF AWARDS!!... ENJOY THE MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Heathers (DVD)
Great video, quick delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Classic, Nov. 7 2011
This review is from: Heathers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Christian Slater and Winona are Amazing Together, This Movie besides Fun is the Kind of Movies that doesn't have a slow frame so You never loose the Thrill. I Recommend Heathers In any Blu-Ray Collection, is Very Entertaining!

REGARDS

Paulo JC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darkly wonderful and peculiar gem of the 80s, June 24 2004
This review is from: Heathers [Import] (VHS Tape)
This dark comedy is laced with satire, humor, and wit, much like many of my favorite novels. Winona Ryder and Christian Slater make the ideal duo - until she realizes she needs "cool guys like him out of her life."
Winona, here as Veronica Sawyer, was formerly the best gal pal of dorky yet insanely innocent and kind Betty Finn (both character names are derived from the Archie comic strip). Now, she's taken it up with three girls by the name of Heather. Duke and Chandler may or may not be genuinely evil, while McNamara is just plain pathetically insecure. The thing is, Veronica hates her new so-called friends. It's just their "job to be popular and s***," that's all.
Christian Slater, to my utter dismay, seems to have disappeared off the face of the earth since this booming debut. Here, his performance mimicks that of witty and humorous Jack Nicolson.
"Greetings and salutations." :)
J.D. and Veronica make the ideal couple. Both are witty, bright, and loathe the existence of the high school world. Only J.D. is insanely violent as well, and his actions are bringing about vast repercussions for not only himself, but for Veronica as well. And Veronica is beginning to wise up and realize that J.D., despite his charms and wit, isn't worth all his trouble(s) and excess baggage. Besides, he's got an unhealthy fascination with guns.
After the demise of the leading Heather - their doing through liquid bleach - a second Heather takes her place as leader, even more aggressive and bratty than her predecessor.
Veronica ponders what to do over old and new friendships and accidental deaths in her diary. She and hunky J.D. manage to kill a Heather and two dim-witted jocks but escape suspicion for murder because they leave behind suicide notes. Veronica can perfectly imitate handwriting styles, as we find out during the first 5 minutes of the film when the three Heathers coerce her into writing a love note to high school outcast Martha "Dumptruck" Dunstock and signing a popular jock's signature to it. She approaches him at his lunch table and uproarious laughter ensues.
Teenage suicide seems to be all the rage in the world of Westerburg High, despite the popularity of fictional band Big Fun's hit single, "Teenage Suicide (Don't Do It)." Even though Veronica has left J.D. behind, he still has conjured up his own evil plans concerning the future of Westerburg. And the Heather in control is abusing her privileges - Veronica knows she wants out.
HEATHERS is so much more than a screwball comedy. Since its release, no other film has managed to live up to the same wit and dark humor and charm found throughout, making this film a genuine benchmark in the history of movies - and the 80s, for that matter. HEATHERS takes one glimpse at the work of ultra-cool 80s director/writer John Hughes and laughs in his face, making his Molly Ringwald flicks look like garbage in comparison.
Could this be why Winona is still alive in Hollywood and Molly is not?
Perhaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The End of John Hughes Teen Dramas..., June 10 2004
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
Don't get me wrong - Love John Hughes. But this is not Pretty in Pink, Sixteen Candles or even the Breakfast Club. If you're looking for the sugary sweetness of those happy endings - Heathers isn't for you. There are no scenes that are going to make you overly nostalgic for being a teen in this dark comedy.
The 3 Heathers rule the school of Westerburg High and Heather Chandler (#1) is the dominant red wearing queen. Veronica Sawyer (Ryder) her best friend is dressed mainly in blue - for truth? She is our perspective for the most part and her diary entries (where she pours out all her true feelings) are perfect. Heather Duke - dressed in green for envy of Heather Chandler's power. And Heather MacNamara dressed in yellow for her fear of - everything. They walk the halls of Westerburg secure in their popularity and the fear the instill in their peers.
Enter Jason Dean (Slater) the "black horse in the running". He attracts Veronica mainly because he's an outsider too cool for anyone else and she's sick of the Heathers. He is seen in black for a very good reason. He is ultimately the protagonist for the killings (which are all too believable)
The movie is great, showing without remorse the absolute solitude that HS can be. The stereotypes, while exaggerated are suspiciously close to the truth. Arrogent teachers, clueless parents, heartless peers... Ahhh High School.
Heathers is also has great quotes. BVS is the only other thing I can think of that perfected it's own slang so well. It makes the movie timeless.
"F*** me gently with a chainsaw. Do I look like mother Theresa?" - Heather C.
"I just killed my bestfriend." - Veronica "And your worst enemy." - JD "Same difference." - Veronica
"Did you have a brain-tumer for breakfast?" Heather C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DARK AND OFTEN BIZARRE, BUT DAZZLING IN EVERY WAY, June 3 2004
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
What a superbly crafted black comedy with an insider's view of highschool powerplays, teenage angst, clueless parents, twerpy faculty, etc etc. Could have easily gone down the beaten path and become one of the countless teen movies, but this is undoubtedly an under-rated gem!
As some reviewers lament, be prepared for parts that are dark and disturbing, but the film is also hilarious for the most part, and whatever your emotional reaction, the dialogue is never off-target. In fact the film's script and visual style are so clever that laughing at murder does not seem much of a guilty pleasure.
For all the talk of suicide, the underlying theme couches a universal and heartening meaning: that all people are created equal, the "in crowd" as well as the nerds.
You need your sense of humor in the right place, and if you've got it there, this movie comes highly recommended from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius black comedy / Satire, April 29 2004
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
This film personifies high school, classic 80's teen angst cult film. Right down to the cliques in high school. The one difference between Westburg High & my high school is nobody was killing the popular kids off. Christian Slater plays Jason Dean (JD) a sociopath new kid in school who is fed up with cliques and the everday sheep students trying to fit in with the cool kids. Winona Ryder plays Veronica an individual but hangs with the Heathers to make life in HS easier. She notices JD's individuality and they start dating. Everythings is great until he wants to kill off the Heather girls & popular students. So he manipulates Veronica to help him kill off her simple minded friends & make it look like suicides. At first she is repulsed but can't stand her friends so she gives in. If you look deeper into this film beyond the quirky comedy the message is scary the desensitized unemotional oblivious parents, the quirky teacher who still wants to be a student, the song "teenage suicide don't do it" set to a pop upbeat melody. It really reflects high school a bit exaggerated but still relatable. A very dark film about the lengths kids will go to fit in and be liked. One kids twisted view of how the world should be. The ending is great the little speech Christian Slater gives to Wynona Ryder after attempting to blow up the school listen to it makes you think about what he says long after viewing the film. One of my favorite films and essential to collection, a must see to anyone grew up in 80's cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You will hate life more than life hates you..., March 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
"Our love is God... let's go get a slushie."
This film is actually smarter than it lets on. It knows its subject matter so well that you can't help but marvel at the relevance. The look, fashion and soundtrack might be dated, but the point sure isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definite Cult Classic, Jan. 12 2004
By 
Kevin Gamin (Medina, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
It's hard to believe that Christian Slater's breakout role as Jason "J.D." Dean in Heathers was almost 15 years ago. It's also amazing how well he pulled off his take on Jack Nicholson and psycho characters. Of course, when you look around, Christian Slater has all but fallen off the face of the earth. I haven't seen him since his two-minute cameo as a Starfleet officer reporting to George Takei's Captain Sulu in Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country, and that was in the early 90's. I can't remember if Murder in the First was before or after that little spot.
As to the movie itself, it definitely falls under the category of cult classic. Very 80's, very much a cross between social commentary and satire about that commentary with plenty of comedy and surrealism thrown in for good measure. An interesting feature from the DVD of Heathers is a screenplay of the original ending where Winona Ryder's Veronica kills J.D. in the boiler room, then takes his bomb and blows herself up outside the school. The original ending finishes with what seems like a dream-like school prom where all the cliques of the school break out of their molds and dance and mingle with each other. This includes all the characters who died during the movie. Apparently, the powers that be felt this ending would have been too dark for the teen audience of the time. I'd actually have to agree, although it would have fit in with the strangeness of the movie in general.
Another little tidbit: Shannon Doherty as one of the Heather characters BEFORE she hit it big with 90210.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "These are ickluga bullets", Jan. 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Heathers (Widescreen) (DVD)
I became a teenager when this movie was released and boy did it hit home. As another reviewer pointed out, this movie was very accurate in its portrayal of high school life: Cliques, trying to fit in with the cool people, the handsome stranger who sits in the corner of the cafeteria during lunch who turns out to be very interesting.
It could be the story of high school life in the big city or the small town.
The chemistry between Winona Ryder and Christian Slater is hard to beat. When Monica (Ryder) sees Jason Dean (Slater) for what he really is, he gets his comeuppance in the end.
Dark comedy or not, it's a pleasure to watch this over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heathers
Heathers by Michael Lehmann (VHS Tape - 2002)
CDN$ 21.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews