Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great John Wayne Movie
I love this movie. John Wayne's swagger, William Holden's class, and Constance Towers' charm. They all combine to make an excellent Civil War Movie based on an actually raid that pushed deep into the South.
The movie of course isn't accurate but that doesn't matter. The drama and action are great and there isn't any silly romance to ruin things. Constance Towers'...
Published on May 29 2004 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
ok
Published 12 days ago by fred bukowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great John Wayne Movie, May 29 2004
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
I love this movie. John Wayne's swagger, William Holden's class, and Constance Towers' charm. They all combine to make an excellent Civil War Movie based on an actually raid that pushed deep into the South.
The movie of course isn't accurate but that doesn't matter. The drama and action are great and there isn't any silly romance to ruin things. Constance Towers' presence helps in the development of John Wayne's character but doesn't slip into any thing that distracts from the main part of the movie.
There are also some great battle scenes. My favorite is the VMI cadet charge. This was also based on a real event that apparently wasn't as big of a deal as in the movie but is still interesting to read about if you get a chance.
I recommend this movie to all John Wayne and Civil War movie buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 9 2014
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne Horse Soldiers, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
We have watched this movie several times since purchasing it, it has always been a favourite of my husband. Everything we hoped it would be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horse Soldiers, Nov. 7 2013
By 
George Dohn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
The story was about rebels about unions soldiers. It did not make one look bad, and the other look good. The soldiers were in a war, and had a job to do, and did it. Good quality supporting cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of his best, Oct. 17 2013
By 
Allen Patterson (Umiujaq, Qc) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
How can you go wrong with the Duke. I am a huge fan and want the movies on DVD prices were right and the selection was great the more the better is the way I look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars John Ford with John Wayne, Sept. 26 2013
By 
Laurence Gaymer (Shoeburyness, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
A depiction, with typically Hollywood fanciful love interest, of the raid that U.S. Grant called "The bravest thing ever done". Good John Ford western - and as usual Ford does appear in a minor cameo role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars film to dvd conversion, Aug. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
Some of the scenes were not seen well due to the way the conversion came from the film version. It was as if the dvd image was centred on the old film image and only picked up the a part of the actors who were on either side of the original widescreen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a keeper, June 13 2013
By 
S. Anderson (ottawa on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're a fan of John Wayne this film is a must that should be in your collection. It is a historical action film in which Wayne leads his Union cavalry unit in a foray deep behind Confederate lines during the US civil war. The film was directed by John Ford. & is based on an actual engagement which itself was noteworthy enough that it was studied in military colleges. The duke himself is in top form & is surrounded by a cast of veterans which includes William Holden & Constance Towers.
The blue ray conversion is also great showcasing John Ford's talent as a director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Ford-Wayne based on a Historical event., May 28 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
This movie teams William Holden with JW and the friction between these characters holds the movie. I rate this as one of my top 10 JW movies. The movie is based on historical events and except for a battle that didn't happen, it is close to the truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A late John Ford classic, May 24 2003
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) (DVD)
The Horse Soldiers is a later John Ford cavalry movie in which he joined with John Wayne. Based on a true story, the movie is about a behind the lines mission for Union colonel Marlowe and his cavalry brigade. They are sent deep into enemy territory to destroy an important depot so that the siege of Vicksburg can end sooner. There are well-done action scenes throughout as well as some humor in a few scenes.

John Wayne stars as Colonel Marlowe and is his usual great self. William Holden stars as Major Kendall, a doctor sent along on the mission who cannot get along with the Duke. It is revealed in the movie why Marlowe hates doctors so much. Constance Towers stars as Miss Hannah Hunter, a Southern belle forced to accompany Wayne and his men. Ken Curtis and Hank Worden are excellent as two of Duke's scouts with Denver Pyle and Strother Martin hilarious in a scene as two Confederate hillbillies. The DVD offers a cleaned up version with trailers added on. An excellent and exciting Duke classic well worth the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends)
The Horse Soldiers (Western Legends) by John Ford (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 11.98 CDN$ 10.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews