Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a great collection!
Stargate SG-1 has become one of our favorite shows, so we naturally wanted to buy the season 1 and 2 DVD collections. Unlike something like ST:TNG, this show was great from episode 1 on- none of that first season trying to get into character or sub-par special effects. The storylines are well thought out, well written, well acted, and overall very fun to watch.
The...
Published on April 23 2003 by Slow Rider

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, it's not bad.
Well the Stargate idea works a bit better as a TV show then it does a movie. The casting, writing, visual effects, production design, cinematograpghy, and types of stories that they do is not bad. In fact it works better then most any other science fiction Tv show I ever seen. Better then Alien Nation, X-Files, Galactica, V, Buck Rogers, Quantum Leap, the 70's Hulk TV...
Published on July 13 2004 by D.W. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars What a great collection!, April 23 2003
By 
Slow Rider (Somewhere, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
Stargate SG-1 has become one of our favorite shows, so we naturally wanted to buy the season 1 and 2 DVD collections. Unlike something like ST:TNG, this show was great from episode 1 on- none of that first season trying to get into character or sub-par special effects. The storylines are well thought out, well written, well acted, and overall very fun to watch.
The quality of the season packages themselves is high- very professional and well done. I would highly recommend both season 1 & 2 collections and can't wait for more of them to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very best Sci-Fi show available on DVD!, May 6 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
This show had a great idea to have a stargate that let's you travel through many dimensions and galaxies. The unusual storyline and cast is excellent! Whether you like sci-fi or not, this is fun to watch since it touches a lot of issues such as dealing with different kinds of nations and their beliefs, friendships, enemies, adventures and even comedy.

You will see the characters develop over time, the quirky unexpected humor, the use of an alien who doesn't fully understand human life on earth, the struggle of the oppressed, the lengths humans go in order to survive, politics and government bureaucracy.

This show is awsome on many different levels. On top of it all, they always keep the price very affordable. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Through the Stargate, Sept. 11 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Sg-1: Season 1 (DVD)
Most TV shows spun off from movies are uninvolving and uninteresting ("Blade," anyone?), and hopefully die and are forgotten.

That wasn't the case with the spinoff of the 1995 movie "Stargate," an okay science fiction movie that spawned an excellent television series, "Stargate SG-1." The first season is not nearly as brilliant as the ones that followed it, but it's a welcome change from distant space operas -- excellent writing, acting, and a sense of humor about itself and its characters.

The Stargate has been inactive for a year -- until it is activated, and a bunch of Egyptian-styled warriors come through and kidnap a young officer. General Hammond (Don S. Davis) pulls Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) out of retirement to learn what really happened on the planet of Abydos, and where these mysterious aliens have come from.

O'Neill and a small team go to Abydos and find Daniel Jackson (Michael Shanks) who has been learning about a vast network of Stargates over the past year. But when Daniel's wife Sha're and brother-in-law Skaara are abducted by the same warriors, O'Neill, Jackson and Air Force scientist Sam Carter (Amanda Tapping) use the Stargate to venture to where they're being kept.

What they find is an alien race who inhabits human hosts, the Goa'uld, and their ruthless slave warriors, the Jaffa. Carter, O'Neill and Jackson are captured by the powerful Apophis -- but to escape, they must have the help of an unlikely ally: Teal'c (Christopher Judge), Apophis' First Prime. Since Earth has now annoyed the Goa'uld, several exploration teams are formed to go through the Stargate and find weapons and allies.

And SG-1 -- Carter, O'Neill, Jackson and Teal'c -- encounters some very strange problems: a plague that turns people into savages, a people who live only a hundred days, a Viking planet, a Stargate explorer stranded since 1945, a little girl turned into a bomb, the seductive Goa'uld queen Hathor, and coming back as robots. And when the military shuts down the SG program, Daniel reveals that the Earth is about to be destroyed by Apophis' armies...

The first season of "Stargate SG-1" isn't the most impressive, though the last three episodes hint at the series' future greatness. And thankfully, it drops the usual space opera stuff -- instead we get Stargates, real military, and a very plausible reason why everybody in the galaxy (more or less) looks just like us.

It's graced with kitschy Egyptian-styled sets, lots of shoot-em-up action from Marines and Air Force, and plenty of planets influenced by Earth cultures, like the Minoans and the Vikings. Best of all is the snappy dialogue, mostly from the tart-tongued O'Neill ("Temperature--ground 1700 degrees Fahrenheit. Air--seems to be in pockets, ranging from 1500 degrees down to 200." "Sounds like LA").

And the makers add some poignant and/or warm scenes, such as the eager Abydonian teenagers celebrating with O'Neill and his pals, Teal'c reunion with his outcast family, or Sam bonding with a doomed little girl. All the characters get these moments, which really makes them seem human.

Instead of Kurt Russell's suicidal O'Neill from the movie, Anderson does a quirky, disrespectful, pop culture-lovin' guy with a hidden tragic past -- his "Cold Lazarus"double role is one of the best of the show. Tapping and Shanks are also great, as an enthusiastic geek and a smart, capable military woman. Sadly Judge gets shortchanged as the stern, honorable Teal'c, but he's brilliant when he's spotlighted.

The first season of "Stargate SG-1" is not the best of the series, but it's still a solid, imaginative sci-fi story with some great writing and even better acting. A must-have for sci-fi buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stargate sg1, Nov. 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
Ithink that all of the stargate seasons are great but this one takes the cake
It is the best out of all of them, but all of them are still realy good movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, it's not bad., July 13 2004
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
Well the Stargate idea works a bit better as a TV show then it does a movie. The casting, writing, visual effects, production design, cinematograpghy, and types of stories that they do is not bad. In fact it works better then most any other science fiction Tv show I ever seen. Better then Alien Nation, X-Files, Galactica, V, Buck Rogers, Quantum Leap, the 70's Hulk TV show, the Six Million Dollar Man, and the more recent Outer Limits Tv show. Stargate is better then all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate SG1: Really, it's a show for everyone, July 4 2004
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
So, this is how I discovered the beauty that is "Stargate". Only the first season has made its way to the network channels here in Sweden and that was a couple of years ago. I remember tuning into the first 6-7 episodes, but there wasn't really that much that held my interest. I remember seeing "The Nox" (or as I referred to them at the time - "the Cirque the Soleil people"), "Brief Candle" (or "the one where O'Neill gets really old, really quick") and "Tin Man" ("Hey, there's two of them!"). Like I said, I didn't feel like this was a show that had much to say, it didn't feel interesting enough.
How wrong was I? Well, I feel really bad that I let it go so quickly because I stumbled across it again lately and what can I say...? I love it. I really do. Actually, I'm *in* love with it, and *very* few tv-shows make me feel this way ("Firefly" is one of them). So, on the plus side I now have a whole sea of seasons worth of catching up to do.
So, what made me change my mind? Well, the first answer to that question would be the character of Daniel Jackson and Michael Shanks' portrayal of him. The character is passionate, caring, curious, intelligent and so much more. And, let's face it, in my eyes that makes him damn attractive, too. (And it gets even better in the seasons to come). I actually watched the movie "Stargate" and thought that Jackson (then played by James Spader) was my absolute favorite aspect of that movie. Same with the series, I adore the character.
Then there's the wonderful wit and charisma of Jack O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson) who thankfully took a different direction with the character than Kurt Russell did in the movie. Not that Russell was bad, but RDA's many, *many* one-liners are part of what makes the show so enjoyable to watch. That, and the interaction between the "core four" (Jack, Daniel, Sam and Teal'c). Oh, the witty and wonderful dialogue. Oh, the sarcastic comments. Oh, the hilarious banter between Jack and Daniel.
The only reason this does not get the highest rating is because the first season is still a work in progress, but the chemistry between all the characters is definetely there and that's what makes the show so entertaining to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SG-1, June 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
SG-1 is the greatest SciFi show ever made. It has everything, good guys, bad guys, some characters you aren't sure of who's side they might be on. Great aircraft and weapons. You laugh, cry, get excited, get p*&%# off at some of the characters. There's always something going on. It's intelligent and fun to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Start of a Classic, June 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
Since tv channels don't like science fiction shows anymore (as we see with the cancellation of shows like Farscape and Firefly) it's nice to see at least ONE scifi show remain, and that is the all powerful stargate. It was pure genious to make this spin off of the movie. The movie was really good, but threre was so much more they could do (and they did) with starting sg-1 and exploring alien worlds and the such. The acting is really good and you care about the characters. This is a great show and each season is totally awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just more info about this set., June 19 2004
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
The complete chronological release of season one of the highly-rated television series Stargate SG-1.
Saturn Sci-Fi Award Winner For Best Syndicated TV Series, 2000 Saturn Award Winner For Best Actor (Richard Dean Anderson) In A TV Sci-Fi Series, 1999
Episode Listing:
Disc 1: Children of the Gods (pilot), The Enemy Within, Emancipation
Disc 2: The Broca Divide, The First Commandment, Brief Candle, Cold Lazarus, Thor's Hammer
Disc 3: The Torment Of Tantalus, Bloodlines, Fire and Water, The Nox, Hathor
Disc 4: Cor-Ai, Singularity, Enigma, Tin Man, Solitudes
Disc 5: There But For The Grace Of God, Politics, Within The Serpent's Grasp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good set, however disc one is Rated R, June 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 1 (DVD)
I purchased this set for my husband as he loves the show. The rating on Amazon indicates it is rated NR. All of the discs in the first series state they are rated NR except the first movie. It is rated R. There is a scene with full frontal nudity and parts of the first show was graphic. This does not offend me or my husband, however it was my understanding from the website that the first show in the series would have been something my children could watch. My only problem with the set is how it was advertised on Amazon. It should have stated part of the set was an R rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1: Season 1
Stargate SG-1: Season 1 by Jonathan Glassner (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 62.96 CDN$ 39.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews