Customer Reviews


278 Reviews
5 star:
 (168)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes yes yes!
i have to admit this is an awesome cd! i kept telling ppl no im sure their not great they seem kinda weird then i really listened and i instantly started liking it!
Published on Feb. 7 2004 by spokenstaind

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Continuing along the same path only not quite as fresh
Continuing along the same path only not quite as fresh
On DROPS OF JUPITER, Train continues to put forth the sound that brought about their successful debut. But this time out there is a sense of sameness about the material. There are some nice numbers here, particularly, the spare "It's About You," but some of the numbers like "Mississippi," and "Let It Roll, "seem...
Published on June 3 2004 by J. Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yes yes yes!, Feb. 7 2004
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
i have to admit this is an awesome cd! i kept telling ppl no im sure their not great they seem kinda weird then i really listened and i instantly started liking it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Continuing along the same path only not quite as fresh, June 3 2004
By 
J. Carroll "Jack" (Island Heights,NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Continuing along the same path only not quite as fresh
On DROPS OF JUPITER, Train continues to put forth the sound that brought about their successful debut. But this time out there is a sense of sameness about the material. There are some nice numbers here, particularly, the spare "It's About You," but some of the numbers like "Mississippi," and "Let It Roll, "seem to take forever to develop. A bit of a sophomore slump creatively, but still a solid set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hitting it big, May 4 2004
By 
RyanM (Arkansas, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard the song "Drops of Jupiter" you've probably been living under a rock since the summer of '01. DOJ was one of the most played songs on the radio that summer, and in typical radio fasion it was played to death in most people's eyes. However, it worked and scoered Train a number of Grammy awards and tons of new fans. So you've most likely heard the song, but how about "Drops of Jupiter" the album?
Train signed up big time producer Brendan O'Brien for this project, and his influence is quite noticable. The album itself is quite a progression from their debut self-titled album. It features even more intrumentation (piano, trumpet, saxophone, marimba, etc.) with lead singer Pat Monahan showing off his musical abilities with the sax and trumpet, and the songs are much more layered and produced. The albim also shows a trend to more radio-friendly pop music, as noticed in the title track and songs such as "She's On Fire" and "It's About You", however the classic souther rock roots and meaningful lyrics still remain. Songs such as "Something More" and "I Wish You Would" and "It's About You" leave a bit to be desired for me, but are still good songs. The highlighs of this cd are the absolutely beautiful ballads "Hopeless" - a painful song about a failed relationship, "Let It Roll" - a tribute to Pat's late mother, and "Mississippi".
This cd isn't as good as their first, but comes pretty close. The songwriting, lyics, and instrumentation prove thast Train isn't just another pop band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diament, April 24 2004
By 
CasperUno (Bielsko - Biala, Poland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
uslyszalem piosenke Drops of Jupiter calkiem przypadkiem w stacji radiowej. i oniemialem to bylo cos niezwyklego. pozniej kupilem cala plyte,na ktorej kazdy utwor jest diamencikiem.po prostu trzeba miec ta plyte!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Train, March 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
With Drops Of Jupiter, Train has developed into a new level. This is by far one of the best albums I own, if not the best. DOJ is outstanding, SOF is rockin', and I Wish You Would is my new favorite.. ALL of the songs are great!! pick this cd up. it will change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sound of Great Plains, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Long-selling Train�fs masterpiece album in 2001 is one of my all time favorite modern rock albums as well. It would be the fitting album to play when you drive along the highway in mid-west plains. It has classic rock feel and a bit country-rock flavored. It sounds similar to Vertical Horizon, and Taxiride, promising Aussie rocker. Most of the album tracks are acoustic and the sound is soothing.
DROP OF JUPITER, the first single has classic 70s pop rock taste, and GETAWAY, MISSISSIPI, HOPELESS, are some of the wonderful acoustic tracks that makes the album worthwhile to purchase. RESPECT is Inxs and Taxiride flavored up-tempo pop rocker. IT�fS ABOUT YOU provides excellent chorus somewhat similar to CSN and Taxiride. SHE�fS ON FIRE that became a single cut also has soothing and refreshing chorus.
Recommended for 70�fs classic pop rock fans and for modern rock fans that love Matchbox 20 and Vertical Horizon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One classic, ten nice rock songs..., Feb. 3 2004
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
I bought the album because of the awesome song "Drops of Jupiter" (everyone did, right?) It is one of my favorite songs and the background music played by violin was certainly catchy. In addition to "Drops," I also enjoy the uplifting "Respect" and the emotional "Something More." The other songs are not very impressive but solid enough to make a fine album.
The CD is suitale to listen to when you're reading or working. It can keep you awake but would not turn out to be disturbance. Unlike most arousing Rock albums, it is a CD to help you relax while you feel tension in labor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Jan. 15 2004
By 
Charmaine Jordan (Barbados,West Indies) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
I have heard Drops Of Jupiter and Ilove it.I am just swept away when I listen to it.It is as though all the love poured into this album just spills out and wraps itself around your heart. It is beautiful and is made to sound that way.All I have to say to keep it up guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you'll be listening to it in years, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Emily "Emily" (pittsburgh pa usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
I consider myself a "casual" Train listener. My husband gave me the CD. It has turned out to be just excellent. I think it is the kind of CD I will be listening to for years to come. Each song has it's own story, tone, and style. Other reviewers hinted of a "Beatle-esque" sound. I agree with that somewhat, but that shouldn't sway your decision to give this CD a listen. The lyrics are as beautiful as the music behind them. I would definately recommend this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Train tries to be deep and profound., Dec 9 2003
By 
Dhaval Vyas (Dallastown, PA U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drops Of Jupiter (Audio CD)
Train is a band that tries be deep and profound, but someone with a real attention span will realize their farce. 'Drops of Jupiter' was the song of the summer in 2001, which goes to show how pathetic mainstream music has become. The song is flat out bad and the lyrics are embarrasing. I think many people thought it was some deep song, but it is not and is just bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb058484c)

This product

Drops Of Jupiter
Drops Of Jupiter by Train (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews