Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like Michael Jackson...
You'll like him once you get your hands on this plethora of Michael Jackson's greatest and most well-known short films of the 80's and 90's, simply titled "Video Greatest Hits: HIStory". Michael Jackson, with his outstanding efforts in music and entertainment, stands tall as one of the pioneers of music and music videos, and this immaculate collection of short films...
Published on Jan. 3 2004 by TheTrueMoonwalker

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big fan here but this is a disappointment....
Honestly, I love Michael Jackson's music and have purchased History 2 on VHS (the gold box) and Dangerous: The Short Films before I got this. I was excited because I thought I would see some things different on this DVD, but it's all the same! You're better off purchasing Dangerous: The Short Films or History 2 because most of the same material on this video is on the...
Published on July 2 2004


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't like Michael Jackson..., Jan. 3 2004
By 
TheTrueMoonwalker (Highland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
You'll like him once you get your hands on this plethora of Michael Jackson's greatest and most well-known short films of the 80's and 90's, simply titled "Video Greatest Hits: HIStory". Michael Jackson, with his outstanding efforts in music and entertainment, stands tall as one of the pioneers of music and music videos, and this immaculate collection of short films proves just that.
This DVD (or VHS, whichever you may have) features 10 of Michael's top short films, all in their full-length, uncut entirety!!!
The lineup of short films include:
1. Brace Yourself (A Kaleidoscope of Michael Jackson HIStory) : Although it is not a short film, it does give you a taste of Michael Jackson's impact on the world of music, the fans, and the world, and puts out a simple message: Brace Yourself.
2. Billie Jean - The popular video that single-handedly broke the barrier between not only man and music, but also the color barrier on MTV, as he became the first black musical artist to have a video shown on MTV.
3. The Way You Make Me Feel - A great video all by itself, this video, which lasts nearly 9 1/2 minutes, features Michael at a high point in his career, with his innovative dance moves and impeccable standards for music!
4. Black Or White - This video, aired in 1991 on many broadcast stations around the nation, started the beginning of Michael's music onslaught of the 90's...and a lot of controversy as well. This video, featuring dance moves galore and a kaleidoscope of nations around the world, also featured a scene at the end, most commonly called "the panther scene", as it features a panther who morphs into Michael Jackson and then dances in the street, ravaging a car with gang and racist graffiti sprayed on the windows, and sexy yet somewhat disturbing gyrations with his crotch. This scene sparked outrage, but no matter what, this is one of his best short films.
5. Rock With You - A video made in 1979 features Michael Jackson dancing in a sparkling jumpsuit, singing. It doesn't seem like much, but the countless lights and other special effects you will see definitely make it worthwhile
6. Bad - Directed by world-renown director Martin Scorsese, This full 18 minute long version follows a high school kid (played by Michael) who goes to a private school. When school lets out he then goes home to visit his friends, who get the feeling that he has changed, and he's not "bad" anymore. Michael proves that he is, though, by showing off many mezmorizing dance moves. The choreography in this short film is just too good for anybody but Michael to perform. This video is probably one of his greatest.
7. Thriller - This short film showed that one man can indeed change the way people look at the connection between music and film. Michael does a fantastic job in this video, with the sometimes-crazy choreography and such. A must-see for any person, MJ fan or not. Directed by John Landis.
8. Beat It - Michael does it again with this music video, as it follows two gangs and their vendettas between each other. Again, the choreography is to die for, and the layout is just spectacular!
9. Remember The Time - Michael will blow you away in this short film featuring Michael, comedian/actor Eddie Murphy, supermodel Iman, and basketball legend Magic Johnson. Set in Egypt, Michael dazzles even the faithless soul with dance moves, special effects, and anything you would wish for in a short film. Definitely one to see!
10. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough - Michael Jackson's first major music video features special effects and pretty good dancing. Good for its time, but unfortunately does not stand the test of time as well as people hoped. A good video though.
11. Heal The World - Not a short film, but rather a look into the heartache of sick and dying children around the world. Michael, in this video, hopes to touch your heart with this video and hopes that you can do what you can to "Heal The World".
In closing, Michael Jackson proves to be the single greatest musical icon that the world has ever seen, and not a single person can make the same impact that Michael has made in music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Micheal Jackson: Video greatest hits - history, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
This was given to my nephew as a gift along MJ: History on film. He is one of today's generation of new fans for this artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Sept. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
Worth watching even if you are not a Michael Jackson fan. Original videos that made Michael Jackson an icon in the music industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big fan here but this is a disappointment...., July 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
Honestly, I love Michael Jackson's music and have purchased History 2 on VHS (the gold box) and Dangerous: The Short Films before I got this. I was excited because I thought I would see some things different on this DVD, but it's all the same! You're better off purchasing Dangerous: The Short Films or History 2 because most of the same material on this video is on the others, and the others have some new added footage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaaah! Even after 25 years, Thriller is still SCARY AS HECK!!!, March 4 2008
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
("Black statue" dvd) I remember cringing with fear when I first saw the Thriller movie, and it STILL does it to me! This dvd is like having your own giant 'hunk of gold' memorabilia that's new and exciting at the same time. Unparalleled entertainment. Then or now. Guaranteed. Enjoy Immensely!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Video HIStory, July 7 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
Don't just listen to the album,watch the videos! However there are fewer songs in this package than the audio counterpart. We see videos for hits from OFF THE WALL,THRILLER,BAD,DANGEROUS and of course,the audio counterpart of HISTORY. No fan of the King Of Pop should be without this unless he/she chooses not to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for free on youtube, Sept. 2 2011
By 
Moni (Calgary,AB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
I love all these videos and short films, but they are all on youtube for free.Unfortunately there is no History Tour live concert on DVD like there is one for the Bad and Dangerous Tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars tres bonne qualite son et images, Feb. 15 2011
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
j'ai bien apprecie ce DVD. La qualite de son et les images sont excellentes. De plus la selection des clips est formidable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what my wife wanted, Oct. 14 2010
By 
Bill Riemers (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
This is a great collection of MJ videos. Each video also includes a bit of narrative or such telling you something about the creation of the video. However, the music videos themselves each have their own chapter, so if you just want to watch the videos it is fairly painless to skip the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's GRRREAT!!!!!!, Jan. 12 2010
By 
Mary Nowak (Winnipeg, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History (DVD)
History music is fantastic, each song and rhythym is unique from one song to the next..HIs dance moves a absolutely, wonderful, He gave 200 %+. It's all for the fan's around the globe...RIP MJJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd6b0e4)

This product

Michael Jackson: Video Greatest Hits - History
CDN$ 76.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews