Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not for purists, but a great introduction nevertheless, April 29 2001
By 
"pspa" (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
I don't think Mozart purists would want a collection that consists in large part of excerpts or single movements from various works, but I bought this for my kids and it really is an entertaining, first-rate, diverse introduction to the endless repertoire of Mozart. Perfect for someone who is only a casual fan of classical music, or kids who need memorable tunes to sustain their interest in classical music, or I suppose for someone who just wants beautiful music in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a Mozart sampler for any reason you want, Nov. 11 2002
By 
Autonomeus (a world ruled by fossil fuels and fossil minds) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
This is a great sampler of the world's greatest composer! Rather than deciding where to begin -- operas? symphonies? concertos? sonatas? -- you can begin everywhere at once. The performances are not second-rate, they are excerpts from world-class recordings. You can use this set as the basis for further listening adventures, or you can use it as an end in itself. As such, it is surely a contender for Best CD In The World. If you bought complete recordings of every composition excerpted on this disc, you might have to file bankruptcy, so don't let purism stand in the way of enjoying Mozart. I used this set as my introduction (it was previously packaged as "The Greatest Mozart Show On Earth") when I first ventured into classical music a couple of years ago, and so far I've expanded into operas, piano concertos, and string quintets. The genius revealed over the range of forms led to love at first listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mozart: music's greatest, April 30 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
This CD includes samples from many of Mozart's best-known and most popular wrorks--sonatas, operas, etc. It's a good starting point for those new to Mozart or the casual classical listener. Buy it for a friend, get them hooked on Music's genius.
p.s. I know some people may turn their noses up at me for calling Mozart the greatest, but he was better than Beethoven because of his operas, and he was better than Bach because although Bach is more complex, intricate and elaborate in his instrumentation and harmony, Mozart is more perfect. That is the bottom line.
David Rehak
author of "A Young Girl's Crimes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice diverse selection, Jan. 8 2003
By 
KFM "reader" (FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
The only drawback to this CD is the amount of opera it contains. While the 'singing' selections are relatively short, I've had to program the player to skip them. Now, the purist may sniff their nose at my dislike for opera, but I listen to classical to get away from singing...and opera does NOTHING for me. The rest of the selections are first rate, with only a few duplicates from among my other CD's (Classical Masters Box set's, and the ubiquitous Eine klein Nachmusik). If you have no objection to opera and are relatively new to Mozart, I would highly recommend this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Essential, March 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
This Compact Disc is truly essential and any true musician must own a copy.I think that the collection of pieces entitled The Russian Flute Ballet by Dsoeteffsky is more Essential in the sense that it holds more complicated suites.With that in mind I suggest you go pick up both because one with out the other is incomprehensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Essential, March 16 2004
By 
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
This Compact Disc is truly essential and any true musician must own a copy.I think that the collection of pieces entitled The Russian Flute Ballet by Dsoeteffsky is more Essential in the sense that it holds more complicated suites.With that in mind I suggest you go pick up both because one with out the other is impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good Selection, Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
This CD is a fine selection of the Works of Mozart. It gives a sample of the various Musical Styles of Mozart. Mozart wrote a lot of different Music, this CD gives a sample of the various types of Music that Mozart is known for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, Nov. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces (Audio CD)
Wolfgangs best is sdhown here. A great selection of works that show the mans prowess. Thank you, God, for giving us this man
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces
Essential Mozart: 32 Of His Greatest Masterpieces by Essential Mozart (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews