Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wake up A&M
Nice compilation for starters, but anoying limited for real fans. When will A&M finally release all his albums in remastered versions? How much would we like to have Herb's 12" versions on CD? Or his alternative versions and B-sides? An extensive box set in addition would be nice as well. Just think that these mastertapes are only collecting dust in the vaults of...
Published on April 22 2004 by Stefano Giacon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Starter Set, But...
For those who have long admired Herb with The Tijuana Brass and Solo or are just discovering, this is a rather Sparse Set.
There have been a lot of complaints that this set is missing a lot of what's considered essential tunes and many would be willing to buy what would make a 2-Disc set if more were included.
And while the 60's and 80's and 90's are ALMOST...
Published on Aug. 23 2002 by David N. Winer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wake up A&M, April 22 2004
By 
Stefano Giacon (Amsterdam, The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Nice compilation for starters, but anoying limited for real fans. When will A&M finally release all his albums in remastered versions? How much would we like to have Herb's 12" versions on CD? Or his alternative versions and B-sides? An extensive box set in addition would be nice as well. Just think that these mastertapes are only collecting dust in the vaults of Universal... Could someone at A(lpert)&M(oss) wake up and take action? Your founder deserves more than one-CD-collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For the price, this is VERY good., March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
The quality is excellent, I would have defintely dropped the "disco"-like last few songs, but hey, it covers almost 30 years of Herb Alpert (and the Tijuana Brass).
"Famdago", and "Rise" are a couple of Herb's relatively newer solo-best.
But the real gems, are his Tijuana Brass days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herb Alpert revisited, Dec 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
His horn arrangements bear witness to someone who truely loved music. Herb Alpert places the listener in the midst of the arena with his "Lonely Bull". A consummate performer whose music will endure for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice greatest hits package of Herb Alpert and his band's hits!, Feb. 24 2012
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Herb Alpert,the Definitive Hits,is a welcome release and sampling of both Alpert's prolific work with his band the Tijuana Brass,and his later solo work.Also included is a nice booklet with a commentary by Mr Alpert himself on each song.I bought all of The Brass's records way back when and in fact still have them.I didn't buy much beyond his Warm LP though,as by that time he was getting away from the sound that had made him famous,and that I preferred.Beyond his LP Fandango,he lost me completely...sorry Mr.Alpert.
How the sound of Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass brings back memories.Here's a band with a slick Mexican feel to them in the midst of the British Invasion of the 60s,with more hooks than at a fisherman's convention,and getting lots of airplay and hits.Whipped Cream and other Delights,with that provocative cover,really put the Brass on the map with their largest hit from that album,A Taste of Honey.The group,Mr Alpert and six others,were all top notch musicians.The sound created was instantly identifiable and they could make any song into their own.The musicianship was clean and flawless.Herb Alpert could never be accused of being a Harry James as far as virtuosity goes,but then again he wasn`t trying to be a James.Alpert played a clean but soulful horn with which he got more with less.The Brass could play a modern tune like What Now my Love or an oldie like Tommy Dorsey's theme song Getting Sentimental Over You(from their Going Places LP)with equal elan.And speaking of the latter,it intro'd that song to a whole new generation of listeners,not to mention it garnered favour with the generation that first heard it.And that segues into my next point,that being the Brass's ability to appeal to a wider demographic.Their songs were light,breezy and full of hooks and had enough oomph for the younger set,but not too much to put off the older ones.They sold multimillions of records as a result,and deservedly so,with the kids buying them as much as their moms and dads!Their music was everywhere,they had their own TV specials such as The Brass are Comin`,and who can forget their song Whipped Cream being co-opted by one of the biggest shows on the air at the time,The Dating Game.
This CD is just right either for the long time fan of Herb Alpert,with or without the Brass,or a great primer for the first time listener.Either way it will hook you,leaving you wanting more.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Did a great job at introducing Alpert's talents to me, June 7 2004
By 
L.A. Scene (Indian Trail, NC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Herb Alpert is one of those musicians that everyone has probably heard of, but not many really know when it comes to his music. Yes they have heard his pop hit with Janet Jackson "Diamonds", yes they know he is one of the brains behind A&M music, and yes they may even know an instrumental hit he had called "Rise". One reason for purchasing "Definitive Hits" was to get to know him better when it came to his music. From what I had heard, his horn playing was extremely good and I wanted to hear more. I figured purchasing a Greatest Hits collection would be a great starting point. I'm happy to report - I am very satisfied.
This CD does a great job at chronicling about 1/4 century of Herb Alpert's career - starting in 1962 and going out into 1987. The CD really covers three distinct phases of Alpert's career. The bulk of the CD (or first 13 songs), cover Herb when he was with his band, the Tijuana Brass. This really covers a period from 1962 to 1968. The second phase is Herb's "solo" period" from 1979-1982 (I assume he laid low while building A&M records in the 70s). The third phase is from the album "Keep Your Eye on Me" which was a phase in which Herb would embark on a collaborative period with established vocalist in a similar manner like Carlos Santana would do a decade later.
In Phase 1, the "Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass" period; the CD presents 13 songs that Herb did with his band - The Tijuana Brass. These songs have a very distinct Mexican feel to it and have a lot of horns. This is where you will get to know Herb Alpert's roots. The guy is one heck of a horn player. One thing that did disappoint me is that Herb wasn't a big songwriter and that his songs were all written by others. However, its Alpert and the Tijuana Brass' great instrumentation that will give all of the songs a very three dimensional effect (I'm sure the remastering really helps here). In these songs, the name of the song is very reflective to how the song sounds. So "The Lonely Bull" will give you the feel of a bullfight. Whipped Cream will remind you of "Whipped Cream", "Zorba the Greek" reminds you of "Zorba the Greek". There isn't a song title that isn't backed up and described well by the music. Really good stuff. This is a testament to Herb Alpert being one of the outstanding producers. You'll probably recognize many of the instrumentals (I'm pretty sure I heard "Spanish Flea" from some 70s game show as background music for describing prizes and sponsors)
Perhaps the biggest surprise is the Burt Bacharach/Hal David written song called "This Guy's In Love With You". In this song we hear Herb Alpert on lead vocals - and he's terrific. Herb shows he has a very powerful voice in delivering a very powerful and emotional performance on this track. My question is why doesn't he sing more often? You'll hear some horns on this song, but you'll hear less horns by the Tijuana Brass than on the other songs.
On Phase 2, there are four recordings from solo albums Herb did without the Tijuana Brass. "Route 101" is a nice song it continues the theme of the song describing the title. You'll get a feel from driving down Highway 101 in California into Tijuana Mexico. "Fandago" has more of a Tijuana Brass recording (Alpert mentions this in the liner notes as well). "Fandago" has more of a modern Latin Jazz feel. "Rise" is possibly the most well known Herb Alpert instrumental. It has more of a seductive feel than anything else I heard. In fact, back in 1979, "Rise" was heard in many discos. "Rotation" while not as strong as "Rise" is from the same album shows the modern Latin Jazz feel (again mentioned by Alpert in the Liner Notes), but you'll hear what I call "soft strokes" of Rise in certain parts.
Phase 3 includes three songs from the album "Keep Your Eye on Me". This was a 1987 album which marked a radical direction for Herb Alpert. On this album, Herb would start combining his talents with other vocalists. The most noteable is Janet Jackson on the song "Diamonds". "Diamonds" is a perfect fusion between Janet's unique vocals and Herb's unique horn playing. An underrated song is "Making Love in the Rain" which features a vocalist named Lisa Keith who really does an incredible job with the vocals. The third song is the weakest of the three - the title track from "Keep Your Eye On Me" which also features some Lisa Keith vocals. These three songs were not produced by Alpert, but were produced by R&B producers Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis (who also penned the 3 songs). I think it shows great maturity on Alpert's part at this point of his career to put his trust in other producers. I only wish they would have included some more songs from the album.
This album contains some good liner notes. You'll see a lot of the production credits for each album. The best part of this is that Herb himself writes a few sentences describing his feelings on the song - this is invaluable stuff. There also is a nice intro and some words from Burt Bacharach. I only wish they also included the lyrics to the vocal songs that are included on here. The songs are almost in chronological order - I'm not sure why the decision was made to put some of them slightly out of order.
This is a great collection. It helped me learn a lot more about a sensational musician in Herb Alpert and gain a full appreciation for his talents. I highly recommend this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection!...Box Set Next?, Feb. 24 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Because of more modern technology, this album sounds much better than his previous hit collections such as "The 25th Anniversary: volume 1 & 2. Thus, this is the best single-disc collection containing the majority of his hits as a solo or with the Tijuana Brass Band. The next logical step would be a 4 or 5 CD box set containing ALL hit chart entries, rarities, unreleased material, b-sides, and live tracks. Herb Alpert deserves box set treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herb Alpert is Wonderful!, Feb. 10 2004
By 
M. Katayama (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
Although I can understand some of the other customer reviews which mentioned that this CD didn't include all of Herb Alpert's greatest songs, bur he has had sooooo many great songs it would probably be pretty hard to put them all on one disc. Therefore, with that in mind, I would like to say that this CD was pretty good. It covers his music from the beginning of his career in the 60's to more current songs from the 90's. Although Herb's newer stuff is pretty good, I was glad to see that this CD stayed true by putting most of his older hits on there. Herb Alpert is a very enjoyable artist to listen to. This is a great CD to check out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where is the rest of the HA&theTB catalog?, Dec 21 2003
By 
Cathryn Mataga (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
This record is a perfect example of why I never want the 'greatest hits' all in one package. Always buy the originals if they exist, except in this case they are not so easy to find. I want one CD with that cool 60's HA&theTB sound. The 60's songs are so much fun, and they're so light, and go down so easy, and if you lived through the 60's and 70's you could not escape this stuff -- this is absolutely one from 'Dad's record collection.' But, what is that effect? In the 80's all songs were recorded from a speaker at the bottom of a well -- is this like a reverb machine with the dials all cranked to 11? Okay, Rise was a good song, and it was just the perfect thing to play as the disco was cooling off for the night. But Rise and its cousins don't fit alongside the 60's stuff.
Herb, if you're reading this, release the originals again on CD. And for the greatest hits set do a double-CD. Disk 1 with the 'TB'/60's Herb, disk 2 as 'Disco-Herb'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Herb is HIP!!!, Aug. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
After listening to some of the song samples, I just HAD to order this CD! As soon as it arrived on my doorstep, I popped it in my CD player and was immediately transported back to a simpler, happier time. Although I was unfamiliar with the song titles, I immediately recognized the Tijuana Brass hits from my childhood. (I'm 42 now.) This is some of the most finger-snappingest, toe-tappingest music I've ever heard! It's become my favorite CD in my entire collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite definitive, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Candace Scott (Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Hits (Audio CD)
It's a mystery why Herb Alpert's magnificent music is sadly dismissed today. He was innovative, talented and his music is such fun to listen to. For anyone who grew up in the 60's he brings back as many memories as the Beatles (if that's possible). This collection is a good introduction, but it does omit many of the best Alpert classics, such as the trippy "Tijuana Taxi." The musical quality is better than on other Alpert retrospective discs and the remastering has improved the vocal on "This Guy's in Love with You." Herb never sounded better! It's amazing how well these recordings have held up over the years, they don't sound dated or syrupy in the least.
I recommend this if you're new to Alpert or you want to update the sound quality on your old vinyl recordings. Though there are several glaring omissions in this collection, it will give you a basis on which to expand your Alpert horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Definitive Hits
Definitive Hits by Herb Alpert (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews