Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that made Alice Cooper a household name
Billion Dollar Babies (1973.) Alice Cooper's sixth album.
Alice Cooper had released five albums, up to the beginning of 1973, all of which were excellent. From the bizzare-but-still-excellent psychedelic rock of the classic band's debut Pretties For You to the hard and bluesy School's Out, Alice Cooper's band proved to be a damn fine rock and roll quintet that could...
Published on July 2 2004 by Rocker_Man

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just leave the record alone
I hate it when they change the song order from what it was on the original LP!!!
Published on May 3 2004


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album that made Alice Cooper a household name, July 2 2004
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
Billion Dollar Babies (1973.) Alice Cooper's sixth album.
Alice Cooper had released five albums, up to the beginning of 1973, all of which were excellent. From the bizzare-but-still-excellent psychedelic rock of the classic band's debut Pretties For You to the hard and bluesy School's Out, Alice Cooper's band proved to be a damn fine rock and roll quintet that could cover a plethora of styles. Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith, and Michael Bruce had proven their musical genius five times already, and in 1973, the band released Billion Dollar Babies, the album that would grant them their immortal status as rock and roll icons. Is the album overrated, or does it deserve its reputation? Read on for my review.
This album deserves every bit of praise it gets - period. Of the ten songs on the album, five of them went on to become fairly popular. Among the popular songs are the classic rock anthem No More Mr. Nice Guy, which is probably Alice Cooper's biggest hit ever released. And who could forget Elected, Alice classic "I want to be president" song? The song is actually a reworking of a much earlier tune the band released. In my opinion, the original version is better, but this version still rocks. The title track is the true highlight of the album; it's gloomy hard rock as only the Coop could do. And on this track, doing lead vocals with Alice, is none other than sixties pop star Donovan Leitch! Even though this song is basically as "anti-Donovan" sounding as you can get, he does a damn good job on it! The bluesy Generation Landslide is a sequel to the story told in the title track, and it too is excellent. Another fairly popular track is the mini-epic opener, Hello Hurray. It's too bad the band didn't release this song as a single, because I'm pretty sure it would have been a million plus seller. The other five tracks on the album are considerably less popular than these five, but they are no less excellent, for the most part. Raped And Freezin', Sick Things, and I Love The Dead are regular Alice Cooper masterpieces. Even the short little piano-heavy track, Mary Ann, is pretty good. In the end, this stands as one of Alice Cooper's strongest albums. It's no wonder so many fans call it his best and most popular.
In addition to the original CD issue of this album, there is a two-disc deluxe edition available. The deluxe version of the album has the complete original album on disc one, and a hell of a lot of bonus tracks on disc two. The bonus tracks are mostly live concert cuts, but there are a few demos and outtakes as well. The deluxe version costs more than the standard version, but not a whole lot more. Take my advice and shell out the extra cash for the deluxe edition.
Billion Dollar Babies is one of those rock and roll masterpieces that's just so good that it's hard to describe in words. Although not my personal favorite Alice Cooper album (that honor would have to go to 1971's Killer), many fans call it their favorite, and I really can't blame them for doing such. If you're new to Alice Cooper, this should be the first one of his albums that you buy. No classic rock collection is complete without this album - no questions asked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sounding version to date (SACD), Feb. 7 2014
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
This is the Alice Cooper bands last great record. They did one more after this but it kind of sucked. This version (The SACD) is by far the best sounding version. Even tops the deluxe version put out about 12 years ago (but you don't get the bonus live CD). Again nice warm bass and great separation. Hopefully they will do all four Alice Cooper's classics (this, Killers, Love it to Death and Schools Out). The songs on this record are some of Alice's best. Raped and Freezing, Billion Dollar Babies, Elected and No More Mr Nice Guy to name but a few. Besides Welcome to My Nightmare solo Alice Cooper never came close to this peak with the Alice Cooper group (The first seven albums were done by the Group Alice Cooper. After that Alice went solo taking the name with him).
This is one of the great Hard Rock/ Glam records of the period. Where Bowie went the spaceman route and Bolan went the pretty boy route Glam in the US was much darker Lou Reed, New York Dolls and Alice Cooper to name a few.
Over all this is a classic and should be checked out by anyone exploring rock. Just an FYI this SACD also plays as a CD that is from the same remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of CD, Sept. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
Excellent example of the best of Alice Cooper in his prime/ Deluxe version adds a excellend bonus second music CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars billion dollar babies, June 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
also great memories,would play it loud in the car as i was the driver i controled the 8 track player
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Billion dollar, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
Un de ces meilleur album ...je préférais le groupe original qui est sur cet album ...ils ont créés tout les succès
D'Alice ....Je ne sias pas pourquoi ils ont été virés ...dommage pou mrs Cooper parce qu'il n'y a rien eu de bon apprêt
leur expulsions.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the original shock rocker, March 17 2012
By 
c-mo (sask,canada) - See all my reviews
before kiss,before bowie,before ozzy alice was the madman in make-up,the coop in the early-mid 70`s was one of the biggest and best bands around.this disc is my fav of his,so many classics.all alice cooper discs are good up to welcome to my nightmare(71-75).great classic rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD Presentation of an ACG Album, Sept. 24 2011
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
Not a big fan of 1972's "School's Out" album, the reason "Billion Dollar Babies" appeals to me more is that here Alice and the boys successfully mesh the Broadway stylings with their gritty rock aesthetic. There's not too much of one or too little of the other here.

Opening with the almost-majestic "Hello Hooray", the album also contains anthems like the celebratory, exuberant "Elected" and the pop-ish "No More Mr. Nice Guy".

"Raped and Freezin'" boasts a cold-start, punchy drums, sharp guitar work and ear-catching piano.

The high point, "Sick Things" is like a musical serpent as the bassline and horns wrap themselves around Alice's ghoulish vocals. High marks also go to the title track with its difficult-to-sing-along-with structure and double-tracked vocals featuring Donovan Leitch. "Mary Ann" is a short, '30s-flavored piano ditty with an ironic final line; and the acoustic "Generation Landslide" provides nice contrast to some of the album's rockers. I subtracted one star because "I Love The Dead" tries a little too hard to be macabre and the dentist-phobic "Unfinished Sweet" rambles.

On "Love It To Death" and "Killer" you could tell this was a band having fun performing songs they were proud of, but had no pretentions. "Billion Dollar Babies" feels more like a planned spectacle: Everything's bigger, more grandiose and flamboyant here. Not to say it isn't great, it just has a different feel and is more showy than "Love It To Death" or "Killer".

The album itself is 4.5 stars, but the double-disc presentation with the excellent live CD pushes it up to 5 stars--a perfect release. Too bad "Love It To Death" and "Killer" didn't get the same treatment, with rare early demos and live versions included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, Oct. 24 2010
By 
Rex (Toronto Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
This timeless yet classic album celebrates the pinacle of the Alice Cooper band. Having risen from being an obscure cult band, Alice Cooper shines with hits like elected, billion dollar babbies and Sick things. The album was originally designed like a wallet with photos of the band as inserts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album From The Father Of Hard Shock Rock, May 15 2004
By 
HeadbangerDuh (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
Alice Cooper undoubtedly started the shock rock movement. He shocked the world with his his on-stage antics and sometimes weird subject matter. He took heavy metal sounds and mixed them with the pop songs of the day. This was Cooper's most successful recording, and I think it is very good. The thing that kept it from being a 5 star recording is that the last two songs are quite bad. But other than that, I think this is one of the best albums of the 1970's. It is a hard rock classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How Long Will The Cardboard Hold Up On This CD Cover, April 25 2004
By 
Joseph McCarthy (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio CD)
I've been waiting so long to write this review. I love Alice Cooper. I love him to death. Billion Dollar Babies starts off with a killer tune, "Hello Hooray." It's an awesome song. But the next one "Raped And Freezin," comes nowhere near to being as good. "Elected" is better than "Raped...," but still not as good as Hello Hooray, and never will be.
The song, "Billion Dollar Babies" is the best rocker on the whole cd. Donovan does an excellent duet with Alice. Over all these years, I never knew it was Donovan singing. I only discovered this from the liner notes and photos, after buying the cd a couple years ago (2002).
"Unfinished Sweet" is one of the throw-away tunes on the album. Naturally, some people like it, but I don't. So there.
In fact, you can dispose of the entire live bonus disc too. Why listen to a cd of inferior quality when you have the same songs with a beautiful studio sound on the original album? Of course, there's three non-live studio cuts at the end of the live disc: "Coal Black Model T (outtake)," "Son Of Billion Dollar Babies (Generation Landslide) (outtake)" and "Slick Black Limousine," two of which are not available on any other Cooper album. But they're not that good anyway. And "Son Of Billion Dollar Babies (Generation Landslide) (outtake)," might sound alright, but why bother with it when you have the same song, "Generation Landslide," on the studio album?
Generation Landslide is a great song. I find it interesting that they didn't include a live cut of it on the live bonus disc. Instead, they gave us a studio outtake of it called Son Of Billion Dollar Babies. But don't worry. If you like the song that much, there's a live version of it on "Special Forces," Alice Cooper's 1981 album. The song title is "Generation Landslide '81 (Live)"
But don't get excited, Special Forces is not a live album. "Generation..." is the only live track on it. And guess what? The song ain't that good. Stick with the Billion Dollar Babies version.
"No More Mr. Nice Guy" is one of the greatest songs on Billion Dollar Babies. Written by Alice Cooper and Michael Bruce, it's no wonder they released it as a single in 1973. I remember playing it on the jukebox almost every time I went into Jolly's, a burger joint on Kensington avenue. "Frankenstien," by Johnny Winters (or was it his brother, the Edgar Winter Group?), was another crowd favorite at the time.
Alice Cooper are a band of sick puppies. You gotta love the song "Sick Things." When he sings "I love you, things, I see - As much as you love me - You things are heavenly when you come worship me." Is he talking about us, his fans?
I love "Mary Ann." Nothing but a solo piano and two minutes of Alice singing in a longing, nostalgic tone. Not a rock and roll song, but still not out of place on the album.
Listen closely to the very beginning of "I Love The Dead." The first few seconds of the song sound almost identical to the biginning of the song "Welcome To My Nightmare." Then as you're listening to the rest of the song, you'll realize that "I Love The Dead" would fit perfectly on the Welcome To My Nightmare album. In fact, the last thirty seconds of this song is classic "...Nightmare" material.
This got me to wondering, just how many of the Welcome To My Nightmare songs did Bob Ezrin already have written in his head before he and Alice dumped the band after the Muscle Of Love album? Who knows? Who even cares? Welcome To My Nightmare is a fantastic album, with or without the old band members. And so is Billion Dollar Babies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3c2615c)

This product

Billion Dollar Babies (DVD Audio)
Billion Dollar Babies (DVD Audio) by Alice Cooper (DVD Audio - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews