Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An album that changed the West Coast forever!
Every once in a while, there is an album that comes along that completly changes a genre of music forever. For rap, it was Dr. Dre's "The Chronic". Not only setting a new standard for West Coast hip-hop but changing the face of mainstream rap all together, Dre laced "The Chronic" with some of the most amazing funk-inspired production that anyone had...
Published on April 25 2004 by Crazy Jim

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - NOT A VINYL
This is great album.
But the description has the format listed as "LP Record" when it is actually a "Japanese reissue packaged in a miniature LP sleeve"
Published 17 months ago by crawling_hand


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - NOT A VINYL, July 9 2013
This is great album.
But the description has the format listed as "LP Record" when it is actually a "Japanese reissue packaged in a miniature LP sleeve"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ain't nothin' but a G-thang, baby..., May 11 2004
By 
Da Peace Dogg (Hollywood, California - livin' humble) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
To borrow a phrase from Dr. "off the hook" Dre, this CD is "realer than the real deal Holyfield" - and that's just for starters!!!! There's just something everlastingly organic and hip about this well written, well produced album that makes it truly classic. The world was introduced to Doc Dre and Snoop Doggy Dogg for the first time, and the world was forever changed. Just as Pearl Jam and Nirvana were taking over another sector of the music market in the early '90s, so too were Dre and Snoop, who were hardcore guys that made approachability their stock-in-trade appeal.
IT'S LIKE THIS, THAT AND THIS AND UH...
When one thinks of innovative rap music, one must consider Doc Dre - on the real; realer than real deal Holyfield, in fact. Dre is like the Mutt Lange of the rap world, except he boldly exposes himself everywhere in the process of making records. "Da Chronic" is where it all began for Dre.
IT'S LIKE THAT AND LIKE THIS AND LIKE THIS AND UH...
Music for the masses made by a master and his accompanying "dogg" cohort, Dre and Snoop "da Godfather" Doggy Dogg are going to be the Rolling Stones of the rap 'n' roll world.
SO JUST CHILL, 'TILL THE NEXT EPISODE...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An album that changed the West Coast forever!, April 25 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Every once in a while, there is an album that comes along that completly changes a genre of music forever. For rap, it was Dr. Dre's "The Chronic". Not only setting a new standard for West Coast hip-hop but changing the face of mainstream rap all together, Dre laced "The Chronic" with some of the most amazing funk-inspired production that anyone had ever heard. It wasn't just the beats that made it either. Dre boasted a red-hot roster of future superstars like Kurupt, Daz, Warren G, RBX, Lady Of Rage, Nate Dogg, and a young phenom out of Long Beach named Snoop Doggy Dogg.
Dre and Snoop's chemistry was one of the things that attracted fans to "The Chronic". Snoop's laid-back flow mixed perfectly with his production mentor as they went back and forth on classic records like "Nuthin' But A G-Thang", "B--ches Ain't Sh-t" and "Lil' Ghetto Boy". Dr. Dre was out to prove he could make it on his own with this solo endevor and he succeeded on every level possible. Along the way, Dre took some time out to diss his former N.W.A. ally, Eazy-E, on "F--kin' With Dre Day". Eazy wasn't the only one on the Death Row "hit list" as Dre and Snoop also took shots at 2 Live Crew's Luther Campbell and New York rapper Tim Dog.
Snoop wasn't the only Dr. Dre protege who made a name for himself with "The Chronic". Kurupt's opening verse on "Stranded On Death Row" is to this day, one of the very best guest verses I've heard. The hilarious Warren G phone conversation that opens up "Deeez Nuts" is just absolute comedy. The track itself is amazing as well with Nate Dogg crooning along as a young Daz steps to the mic. To be honest, every track on this album sounds like a single in one way or the other. Every rapper brings their "A" game to the table.
Any rap fan that doesn't own "The Chronic" can't really call themself a rap fan. This album has literally influenced a whole generation of producers and rappers alike. Pick a track and see if you can't find a line that hasn't been borrowed somewhere by someone. Even the most solid Dr. Dre hater can't say that there wasn't at least one cut on here that they were feeling. "The Chronic" not only pushed gangsta rap even further up on the pop charts but helped establish Death Row Records as a legitimate label. Say what you will about Dre but there's no denying that this album was not only the bomb back in '92 but it still remains as addictive to this day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Undeniable., April 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I can't BELIEVE that anyone would be morally capable of giving this classic less than 5 stars, and I am honestly stunned to read some of the negative (and ill-informed) customer opinions below. But hey, it takes a nation of millions I guess. Negative opinions notwithstanding, this album is an absolute CLASSIC, and defined the G-funk milieu for the decade of the 1990's (if not beyond). When I first heard "Nuthin' but a 'G' Thang" coming out of car stereos in 1992, it was obvious that the song was destined for instant classic status. For those who weren't listening to popular music back then, I think it's impossible to fully appreciate the HUGE impact that Dre and Snoop had... not just on "hip hop culture" but on pop music as a whole. "The Chronic" and "Doggystyle" were EVERYWHERE in '92. These guys really put the "West Coast sound" on the map, and are the natural heirs to the Parliament/Funkadelic mantle (I used to think that the P-funk connection was just a case of Dre's overweening pride, but as time goes by, I think his claim to the P-funk throne was and is 100% legit).
Anyway, this is a classic album and is a must-have for anyone who appreciates American pop music. 5 stars beeeyotch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars POWERFUL!!!!!!, April 14 2004
By 
Wayne Maye (Petersburg,VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Did Dr.Dre set hip hop on fire with this album or what?!!! In 1993, hip hop heads weren't prepared for this one, as Death Row came through and literally dominated the hip hop scene. The Chronic is a gritty MASTERPIECE, one of the greatest albums to EVER be released. This album also has the reputation of being POSSIBLY the best produced album that Dre has been responsible for. It put Snoop Dogg on the map, and the world hasn't been the same since. Here's the review:
Album Highlights: The ENTIRE album, no filler on this one.
Production: Thumbs WAY up, Dre at his supreme best.
Lyrics and Subject Matter: Thumbs up.
Originality: Thumbs up.
The Last Word: This album is SO AWESOME,from start to finish. Everything you could possibly want out of a gangsta album, THIS IS IT. There will NEVER AGAIN be an album this powerful in hip hop, especially in today's hip hop. Dr.Dre himself would have to word TRIPLE overtime to produce another CLASSIC like this. Overall, one of the STRONGEST recommendations EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dre putting it Down for California, March 11 2004
By 
Chris (St.Louis,MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
This album right here is a G-Funk classic this is soooooo
good one of the Best ever from the WESTSIDE this has some
Gangsta type rap in it also I will review each song
1.Chronic(Intro)
2.F Wit Dre Day f Snoop Dogg-never heard
3.Let me ride-classic cruising G-Funk 7/10 ***^
4.The Day they took over I rember it being good 9/10 ****^
5.Nothing But A G Thang-a classic featuring Snoop Doggy Dogg
a great party type Jam Dr.Dre best song 10/10 *****
6.Deeez Nuuuts-Pretty Awesome with great Posse Track 10/10 *****
7.Lil Ghetto Boy-Good Production to little Drummer Boy Beat **
8.A - Wit a gun another classically produced Song a 10 *****
9.Rat-Tat-Tat-Tat-Another good one 9/10 ****^
10.The $20 Sack Pyramid
11.Lyrical Gangbang-great verse by Lady of Rage 10/10 *****
12.High Powered- I Believe I liked it
13.The Doctors office-funny intermission
14.Stranded on Death Row-Tight Beat Awesome 10/10 *****
15.The Roach
16.B_ Aint S_ another great posse track with Snoop 10/10 *****
All in All a great experience the Top 5 are track 5 Track 11
Track 6 Track 16 and Track 8 Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dr Dre's Debut In Death Row Records, Dec 16 2003
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I've highly enjoyed Dr. Dre's "2001", and I thought this was great too. I'm glad I wasn't wrong. This is one of the greatest rap CDs out there, one of the greatest Gangsta Rap CDs.
"F*** Wit Dre Day" is an amazing song, awesome. Same to "Let Me Ride", both fun songs. "Nuthin' But A G Thang" is the well-known song you all know, featuring Snoop Dogg, also great. I didn't like "Lil Ghetto Boy"'s video, but the song is very fine, specially the lyrics. "The $20 Sack Pyramid" is the funniest song ever, everytime I play this song I laugh my ass of. "The Doctor's Office" is another hilarious song in the CD. The other tracks I didn't talked about are average. But the CD is worth your money for these songs above. It features many other rappers that I won't name in here, but different rappers make this CD even better. It has explicit content, obviously, what can you expect from a gangsta rap CD?
Overall, I think this re-realease was great for people like me who haven't bought this CD before. The sound quality is highly enjoyable, really, and both beats and lyrics are great too. Four stars, very worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The best-- and the worst., Dec 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I was a senior in high school when "The Chronic" came out. At the time Ice Cube was the only rapper from N.W.A who had been successful on his own, if you don't count "Eazy Duz It" from Eazy-E (released while E was still a member of N.W.A). M.C. Ren had released an EP that was not so good, and when I saw "The Chronic" I thought Dr. Dre just wasn't accomplished enough as a rapper to do a solo disc. But he had been the mastermind behind the amazingly innovative instrumentals of N.W.A's "Niggaz4Life" and I could hear right away on "The Chronic" that Dre was taking it to a whole new level. Gone were the simple scratches and keyboard beats and samples -- these songs had singing, and all sorts of melodies and layers of sound. Very smooth-- to go along with the consumption of the disc's title-- but more hardcore than ever. Sadly, gone also were any of the creative lyrics of Rakim, Ice-T, Kool Moe Dee and Big Daddy Kane. And who was this Snoop Doggy Dogg with his drawling sort of voice who joined in on so many tracks: "1-2-3 and to tha 4/ Snoop Doggy Dogg and Dr. Dre is at your door/ ready to make an entrance . . ."? Not exactly original rhymes, but just try getting them out of your head. "The Day the Niggaz Took Over" is a piece of history as it reflects the rage during the Rodney King riots. "Lil' Ghetto Boy" also has some humanity-- otherwise there's a lot of rhymes about shooting "niggaz," sometimes with guest rappers who don't have very good voices for rap or good lyrics to their raps. So after I heard this album for the first time I thought it would flop. Imagine the shock when it became one of the bestselling rap albums of all time, and brought about the mainstream popularity of gangsta rap. I think Snoop Dogg is funny and charismatic but I miss the Compton and South Central of Ice-T and N.W.A, rather than his Long Beach. And I got so sick of the East Coast vs. West Coast wars, and the endless stream of posthumous Tupac CDs-- I never bought another rap CD again. Of course, now Dr. Dre is most famous for discovering and producing Eminem, so his vision of hip-hop continues to dominate the Billboard charts. Personally, I'd like to turn back the clock to a time in hip-hop before marijuana leaves were all over the disc and CD booklet with participants on the tracks getting high. I miss the anti-drug message of Ice-T's "I'm Your Pusher" or even Too Short's nasty but easy to follow lyrics. But maybe you're right-- I guess I'm just getting old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nuthin but a classic, Aug. 27 2003
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
"The Chronic" is definately one of the best rap albums ever made. It's so perfect because it brought the West Coast beats back alive and every track is tight as, which is what I really look for in rap music. Every time I see an album with Dr. Dre's name on it, I know it's gonna be a tight album because Dr. Dre is simply rap's finest producer ever and his beats are unbelievable and magnificent. All 16 tracks proves this point and to other rappers (except for 2PAC and BIGGIE), it just shows that the other rappers are like ants to Dre. Expect guest appearances from RBX, Daz, Nate Dogg, Kurupt, Lady of Rage and Snoop Dogg.
'Nuthin But a "G" Thang' is simply the best song on the CD and to make things better, it was voted 2nd best rap song made. It's quite chilling and kind of a relaxing song to listen to when you've just had mary-jane. "F*ckin Wit Dre Day" is a diss song aimed at Eazy-E. It's quite sad that these 2 became enemies because they were a fine team around their N.W.A years. Other classics on the CD are "Lil' Ghetto Boy" which outlines a young, black youth's life but the real gem of the CD is without a doubt, "Stranded on Death Row". This is simply one of the BEST songs I'VE EVER HEARD but the sad thing is that Dre isn't on the track. Such a dark but wicked as beat, he should have released this song.
Every album with Dre's name on it, you know that the album is going to be tight. For those that don't like Dre, think again. Dre is one of the most producers of rap music and will continue to be a genius.
One love
-JK Dog
*if you like this album, check these great classics out*
-2pac- All Eyez on Me
-Biggie- Ready to Die
-Wu-Tang Clan- 36 Chambers
-Warren G- Regulate
-Snoop- Doggystyle
-Nas- Illmatic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rap albums of the '90s...,, Aug. 7 2003
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
1992's The Chronic heralded a new era in gangsta rap; one that held a huge interest in cannabis sertiva, "known in the heart of LA as 'The Chronic'." The beats here, all from the legendary Dr. Dre, with help from Colin Wolfe, were pretty much the first truly laid-back, chilled-out West Coast gangsta funk beats, and a long way from NWA's frenetic Straight Outta Compton four years earlier. The delivery here from the featured rappers is expletive-heavy and sharp and direct, but the whole album has a cool, relaxed vibe about it; this is the perfect record to have blasting out the windows down while rolling along in your vehicle. The disc's biggest star is undoubtedly Snoop; this album made him one of the biggest rap stars of all time. The greatest and most classic example of Dre and Snoop's unmistakable chemistry is found on "Nuthin' But A 'G' Thang." Other highlights include the incredibly bouncing and funky as hell "Deeez Nuuuts" and "Lil' Ghetto Boy," which will make the hair stand up on your neck as Dre, Snoop and Daz tell the sombre tail of a young, hopeless African-American life. Throughout almost the whole record, you will feel your head nodding, your feet tapping and probably your heart beating to the sound of 'The Chronic.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chronic (Explicit Version)
The Chronic (Explicit Version) by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 2001)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews