Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pulp Fiction of Rap
First off this is a great album. It's in my top 5 for sure and I'm not even usually a gangster rap fan. And I really think this can be called the Pulp Fiction of rap albums for several reasons. Like in Pulp Fiction, this album deals with "lurid matter". Also, it's very intense and features bad guys as the main characters. But also, it's supremely stylish, witty, and...
Published on Sept. 16 2011 by Jimbo Jones

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - NOT A VINYL
This is great album.
But the description has the format listed as "LP Record" when it is actually a "Japanese reissue packaged in a miniature LP sleeve"
Published 9 months ago by crawling_hand


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - NOT A VINYL, July 9 2013
This is great album.
But the description has the format listed as "LP Record" when it is actually a "Japanese reissue packaged in a miniature LP sleeve"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pulp Fiction of Rap, Sept. 16 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
First off this is a great album. It's in my top 5 for sure and I'm not even usually a gangster rap fan. And I really think this can be called the Pulp Fiction of rap albums for several reasons. Like in Pulp Fiction, this album deals with "lurid matter". Also, it's very intense and features bad guys as the main characters. But also, it's supremely stylish, witty, and undeniably fun. I can't think of a more fitting analogy. The Chronic is like a day-in-the-life of an especially fun gangster rapper, and the day is jam-packed full of action, darkness, and humour. Enjoy! And make sure you play it at high volumes in suburban neighbourhoods!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Dre the Chronic, Feb. 7 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I purchased this product back in the day on tape. It is such a superior piece of hip hop music history that I had to have it in disc format. Dre's production is of superior quality on this recording, nuff said. The performers on each track was definitely in a zone at the time of the recording. The genuine comradeship shines through on each track; just beautiful. I'm not really a fan of interludes, unless it can be directly connected to the upcoming track in a creative way that makes sense, so I could have done without the few that appears on this recording. But they certainly are not enough to take away from the absolute perfection this recording occupies in hip hop music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, July 26 2008
By 
T. Bigney (Nova Scotia, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I graduated from college in 1992, and during my time at Michigan State University, Public Enemy dominated the hip-hop landscape. Great singles by Young MC and Digital Underground were also popular, but PE was the perfect rap foil to what was then called "college rock." That year, however, things changed-- mostly due to The Chronic. On that album, the West Coast gangsta fantasy took wing, boosted by Dre's deeply funky sound and the brutal dreams of nearby Hollywood. The spectrum of nihilist violence on The Chronic is numbing, ranging from gangland territorial pissings to vengeful prison rape-style scenarios to naked misogyny.

With his feminized Slick Rick-inspired flow, Snoop Dogg manages to make a lot of this somehow charming-- or at least a little funny. Dre is occasionally awkward on the mic (he would later improve as a rapper), but Snoop is bursting with the skill and energy of someone who senses his big moment has finally come. Oddly, the backing tracks now sound rather thin and cheap, miles from the slick sound for which Dre has deservedly become famous, but the relative low fidelity works in this context. Dr. Dre's debut was a watershed moment. Every hip-hop record after had to address The Chronic in some way, either embracing or rejecting what it popularized. Hip-hop's indie/mainstream split started here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, July 19 2005
By 
Amanda (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I've had this album for years. This is where real rap comes from. These new "rappers" have nothing on Dre. He's an original (N.W.A.). I love throwing this in my CD player to hear the smooth rhymes of Dre. He's one of the innovators of gangsta rap along with Eazy, Cube, and Ren. The message they bring is a hard one, but it's real.
The bonus with this album is that you get to really hear Snoop for the first time. And, there are serious comedic sets within the album. Together this album is a jewel!
This is a hardcore rap album with explicit lyrics. It isn't for the weak at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr.Dre/Chronic, July 17 2004
By 
Bob (Richmond,California,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
This is one of the greatest hip hop albums of a time! It must be a classic with cuts like: Nuthin' But A "G" Thang, Let Me Ride, Dre Day, and Lyrical Gangbang. The only thing I didn't like about this album, was the number of skits there were. There was only a few songs that didn't have a long skit in the beginning of it. But besides that. this is a must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Took a while to get used to..., June 28 2004
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
but once I did, I started listening to it every day. I had been listening to a lot of newer hip hop so it was hard to tune into this, but after I did I realized how great the album really was. I'd recommend this to anyone who likes hip hop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good when I got used to it., June 22 2004
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I was used to the style of newer rap, and it took a while to get into this album, but when I did, I realized how catchy it was. In fact, I'm listening to it right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIZ IZ HOW RAP SHOULD BE RIGHT NOW, May 31 2004
By 
Mikky Mouse (Trendy Thugs & Pop-Rap is Gay) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Okay if yall neva got thiz album and got 50 cent and eminem's album...then your dumb...seriously...you dont know anythin about rap or hip hop...50 cent and eminem are a bunch of bozo's and i dunno why dre signed them clownz into aftermath...Before dre wuz wacked in tha head....he made thiz classic album...thiz album got alotta ol schoo beatz n it will get you to listen to hiz older muzik...snoop dogg featurez on here too and that time he wuz good before he became lame...Pick thiz classic album up...and also pick up N.W.A. and Easy-E's albums...PICK THAT UP...DO NOT...I MEAN DO NOT BUY AND WASTE your money on rap crap like...50 cent eminem chingy nelly jkwon lil jon crappy muzik...they are not rapperz...they are laughin at ya cuz they are makin money while you are just buyin junk rap crap and makin you feel real dumb...If you disagree...then you need friendz to fit in...LMMFAO!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars G-Funk' s Finest, May 12 2004
By 
Keith Witherspoon (Huntsville, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
This album is monumental because it took the world's attention away from the mecca of hip-hop and shined it on the opposite coast. Not only does "The Chronic" establish the sound of the G-funk era, but it establishes Snoop as a household name. From "Dre Day" to "B*tches Ain't Sh*t", this album flows as well as any other album you will ever hear. If you're looking for incredible wordplay or clever lyrics, this is definitely not the album for you. You know what, it's 2004 so you already know what this album is about. Straight Classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd6b0e4)

This product

The Chronic (Explicit Version)
The Chronic (Explicit Version) by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews