Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars110
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(4 star).Show all reviews
on May 11, 2004
To borrow a phrase from Dr. "off the hook" Dre, this CD is "realer than the real deal Holyfield" - and that's just for starters!!!! There's just something everlastingly organic and hip about this well written, well produced album that makes it truly classic. The world was introduced to Doc Dre and Snoop Doggy Dogg for the first time, and the world was forever changed. Just as Pearl Jam and Nirvana were taking over another sector of the music market in the early '90s, so too were Dre and Snoop, who were hardcore guys that made approachability their stock-in-trade appeal.
When one thinks of innovative rap music, one must consider Doc Dre - on the real; realer than real deal Holyfield, in fact. Dre is like the Mutt Lange of the rap world, except he boldly exposes himself everywhere in the process of making records. "Da Chronic" is where it all began for Dre.
Music for the masses made by a master and his accompanying "dogg" cohort, Dre and Snoop "da Godfather" Doggy Dogg are going to be the Rolling Stones of the rap 'n' roll world.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2003
I bought this CD because I've highly enjoyed Dr. Dre's "2001", and I thought this was great too. I'm glad I wasn't wrong. This is one of the greatest rap CDs out there, one of the greatest Gangsta Rap CDs.
"F*** Wit Dre Day" is an amazing song, awesome. Same to "Let Me Ride", both fun songs. "Nuthin' But A G Thang" is the well-known song you all know, featuring Snoop Dogg, also great. I didn't like "Lil Ghetto Boy"'s video, but the song is very fine, specially the lyrics. "The $20 Sack Pyramid" is the funniest song ever, everytime I play this song I laugh my ass of. "The Doctor's Office" is another hilarious song in the CD. The other tracks I didn't talked about are average. But the CD is worth your money for these songs above. It features many other rappers that I won't name in here, but different rappers make this CD even better. It has explicit content, obviously, what can you expect from a gangsta rap CD?
Overall, I think this re-realease was great for people like me who haven't bought this CD before. The sound quality is highly enjoyable, really, and both beats and lyrics are great too. Four stars, very worth your money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2003
1992's The Chronic heralded a new era in gangsta rap; one that held a huge interest in cannabis sertiva, "known in the heart of LA as 'The Chronic'." The beats here, all from the legendary Dr. Dre, with help from Colin Wolfe, were pretty much the first truly laid-back, chilled-out West Coast gangsta funk beats, and a long way from NWA's frenetic Straight Outta Compton four years earlier. The delivery here from the featured rappers is expletive-heavy and sharp and direct, but the whole album has a cool, relaxed vibe about it; this is the perfect record to have blasting out the windows down while rolling along in your vehicle. The disc's biggest star is undoubtedly Snoop; this album made him one of the biggest rap stars of all time. The greatest and most classic example of Dre and Snoop's unmistakable chemistry is found on "Nuthin' But A 'G' Thang." Other highlights include the incredibly bouncing and funky as hell "Deeez Nuuuts" and "Lil' Ghetto Boy," which will make the hair stand up on your neck as Dre, Snoop and Daz tell the sombre tail of a young, hopeless African-American life. Throughout almost the whole record, you will feel your head nodding, your feet tapping and probably your heart beating to the sound of 'The Chronic.'
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2003
This is a excellent album. A classic in it's own right. But the replay value of this very, very, iffy.
Replay value is very important in a cd because if you want a cd you don't just want to listen to it once. You want some dang good ol' replay value. This album just doesn't cut it with that.
There is only one good song to really replay on this album and that is none other than....Next Episode. Maybe Let Me Ride also. But this album is really good if you down with Dre or you just looking for a good album to listen to for a sec then brag on how you have it in your collection.
This is a must have makes your collection look really nice! Peace!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2002
ALthough many may argue that Dre isn't the greatest rapper, my opinion is that he has a great presence on the mic. He can also bust some great lyrics even though he hasn't written all hi own lyrics over the years. Subject matter is limited but it's meant to be like that. Dre is rapping about gangster topics. Snoop is at his best here and RBX is just brilliant. However the outro and the bonus track suck and shoul've been left off the album. The standout tracks are Stranded On Death Row, Lil' Ghetto boy, Let Me Ride, F Wid Dre Day, Deez Nuts, Lyrical Gangbang and High Powered. If you're into gangster rap this is recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2003
There is no doubting this is a hott album. That is not debatable. However, I feel this CD receives way to much props for it's non-perfect quality.
This is not the best hip hop album, but it is definately sweet. If you like Dre as a producer and want to hear his raps at the top of his game BUY THIS. If you are a general hip hop fan you must buy this as well because depite my 4.5 star rating, there are a few tracks that are a 5+++++++. Those tracks are: Let Me Ride, Lil' Ghetto Boy, Nuthin But A G Thang, and Stranded on Death Row. Peace
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2003
What Dre represents to me is the ability to put out a hot track flat out. The Chronic isn't an experiment in creativity, and isn't a showcase of the most talented rappers of the time...but a cd you can roll to. The first six/seven tracks are flawless but the final 1/2 or so of the cd is noticeably lacking compared to the first part. Classics such as "nothin but a g thang" and "let me ride" are songs that are hot no matter the timeframe.
BOTTOM LINE: pick this up...but don't expect a revolution
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2003
And thank God it was this one. Funkdafied beats, gangster lyrics and the debut of Snoop Doggy Dogg. Nothin but a G' Thang wasa huge hit from what I remember, I remember the video being number one on all of MTV's countdown lists. This album certainly took rap and most importantly, society, to the next level.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2003
I've never been a huge fan of rap, but I will admit to liking The Chronic. Rap hasn't sounded as good since (except for 2pac). There's an almost nihilistic quality about it... something lacking from today's generic, pre-packaged fluff. Plus the sampling is pleasing to the ear.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2003
Truly a great cd! The edit is so bad. It skips over the word and gives me a headache.Once you get used to it it's not that bad. The best song are dre day nuthin but a g thang and let me ride. Awesome cd!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Chronic 2001 (2LP)
Chronic 2001 (2LP) by Dr. Dre (LP Record - 2008)

2PAC - ALL EYEZ ON ME by 2pac (Audio CD - 2005)