countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
115
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$10.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 1, 2002
This album and Illmatic are the best albums of all time. This album started it all. Anyways, is a review even necessary?? Just listen to it and if you dont like it something is seriously wrong with you.
One
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2002
"The Chronic" is brilliant. Although I was initially put off by the lyrics (which tend to be violent, profane, and misogynistic), the talent here is undeniable. Dre himself isn't a great rapper, but he doesn't embarass himself on the record, and the guest stars are all good. Especially notable, of course, is Snoop, who proves himself as one of rap's all-time greats. He brightens up every second of his rapping, and delivers some of the most memorable vocals in recent music history on "Dre Day" and "Nuthin' But A "G" Thang".
Still, though, "The Chronic" gains its reputation primarily on the basis of Dre's production. This album alone can make a convincing case for Dre being the greatest rap producer of all time (not to mention his work on "2001" or "Straight Outta Compton"). The music varies from smooth ("Let Me Ride") to confrontational ("Dre Day", "Lyrical Gangbang") while never losing the incredible funkiness and knack for hooks that Dre brings to every track. And to top it off, it isn't overly reliant on sampling... small wonder that the music here is nothing short of intoxicating.
In short, brilliant rapping and production make "The Chronic" one of the greatest rap albums ever, and a classic no matter what type of music you consider. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2001
Most CD's can be criticized, but this is beyond criticism. Dre, Snoop and the rest of Death Row produced the best rap album/cd ever here. This is a landmark achievement in rap, one of those events that define a genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2001
Yes, I said this cd isn't worth buying. it is stale, repetitive and so commercial that any real rapping present is drowned out by garbage. I have a few reasons for saying this. Surprisingly enough (not), Dre doesn't leave much for himself to say. Decent intro, yet guess who does it? Thats right, S-N-double O-P. Nice one, Dre. Second, the only tracks i found listenable was Nuttin but a 'G' thang, let me ride and the $20 sac pyramid. Don't get me wrong, I like NWA, but Dre shoulda stayed with them. Thats another problem with this album; Dre spends more time dissing Eazy E, etc. than doing any rhyming. Check some of his lyrical flows----> "got my finger on the trigger, some n---az wonder why, but livin in this city it's do or die" (x3)
Come on!!! what is this? well, I suppose I've made my point, and by the way I would have given this 2 or 3 stars, but this coaster don't even bump.
On the plus side, this album IS better than 2001, but not by much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2001
this is the best cd in the gansta rap era.please buy this cd it is worth your money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2001
i love dr. dre, and this cd is def. worth buying, but not before 2001. this one is more laid back, but i'm chillin' to it right now, u like this, buy snoop's doggystyle and everything eminem too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2001
Dr. dre is an excellent producer and talented rapper. He uses his dawgs to help out on his trax and it wurks out marvelously. This is the BEST RAP/HIPHOP ALBUMS OF ALL TIME. Every song is a 5 star one. buy this cd, it is excellent. It shocks me how good an album could be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2001
This album is an all time classic. The first G funk album. The start of the G funk era. The quality of the music is enhanced by the use of real instruments. This is something that that makes this album stand out. The main thing, though, that makes this album so good is the group of rappers featured on it. There is a perfect balance between the hard voice of Dre, Snoop's unique smooth flow, the angry, vicious rhymes from Kurupt, the insane sounding RBX, and the Lady of Rage. This album is not perfect, but it is like nothing before it which makes it fresh and exciting everytime you listen to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2001
overall great cd. but dre need to go more solo and not rely on snoop hes a great producer. but better rapper. get out more dre make more of your OWN records dog
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2001
Without a doubt this is an all time hiphop classic and is classic for music at that. If there is anyone, I mean anyone at all who does not have this album get it ! I know a lot of people simply have just heard the popular songs from this album about a million times, but there are also tracks on this lp that you havent heard and you need to listen into. This is when Dr Dre made music all sides of hiphop fans could tune into. This new album 2001 is complete garbage compared to this work of art here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse