Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An album that changed the West Coast forever!
Every once in a while, there is an album that comes along that completly changes a genre of music forever. For rap, it was Dr. Dre's "The Chronic". Not only setting a new standard for West Coast hip-hop but changing the face of mainstream rap all together, Dre laced "The Chronic" with some of the most amazing funk-inspired production that anyone had...
Published on April 25 2004 by Crazy Jim

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING - NOT A VINYL
This is great album.
But the description has the format listed as "LP Record" when it is actually a "Japanese reissue packaged in a miniature LP sleeve"
Published 16 months ago by crawling_hand


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Sweet beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars N---a please......... Stick with Public Enemy, Nov. 14 2001
By 
"themanwithoutanick" (duluth, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
Yes, I said this cd isn't worth buying. it is stale, repetitive and so commercial that any real rapping present is drowned out by garbage. I have a few reasons for saying this. Surprisingly enough (not), Dre doesn't leave much for himself to say. Decent intro, yet guess who does it? Thats right, S-N-double O-P. Nice one, Dre. Second, the only tracks i found listenable was Nuttin but a 'G' thang, let me ride and the $20 sac pyramid. Don't get me wrong, I like NWA, but Dre shoulda stayed with them. Thats another problem with this album; Dre spends more time dissing Eazy E, etc. than doing any rhyming. Check some of his lyrical flows----> "got my finger on the trigger, some n---az wonder why, but livin in this city it's do or die" (x3)
Come on!!! what is this? well, I suppose I've made my point, and by the way I would have given this 2 or 3 stars, but this coaster don't even bump.
On the plus side, this album IS better than 2001, but not by much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The begining of the death of black american hip-hop, March 18 2004
By 
E. D. Daniels (tampa, florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
People say this album is a classic, please this album is a george clinton samplefest. I thought i was listening to Mothership Connection every beat,synth, drum and guitar line and vocal corusety of the late Glen Goins on "let me ride" is on this album and that is why it sounds so funky. And the lyrics are piss poor i thought Slayer couldn't write a lick Dre is worse than Kerry King ( As if writing about stuff like killing people being a gangsta and your testicles are so grand) This album is endemic on why African-American Hip-Hop in the last 10 years stinks to holy high heaven, lyrics that have no flow outside of Nothing But A g -thang with it's Slick Rick like delvery by Snoop Dogg and a sample of P-Funk in the background chorus. The rest of this album is nothing but fantasies of a what has been a tragedy of Hip-Hop from Dre to 50 Cent phony Black Male posturing masquerading as dropping science and "keeping it real" what from someone like Dre who is a middle-class kid who never expercined either until he hooked up with Suge Knight,please white folks can slum these phony fantaises a people getting shot with grand lyrics like " Ratta tat tat" but young black men really suffering from because of your lyrics they are being racially profiled even more and you are laughing all the way to your 10 million dollar mansion in the hollywood hills. Black American Hip-Hop died with this album long live the glory years of hip -hop 1982-1992.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Dr. Dre and Snoop Doggy Dogg are f***ing actors" - Eazy E, Dec 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
E was right, I never liked Dre or Snoop, they are the reason rap sucks now days. All you see now is wanna-be's like 50Cent, Snoop, Dr. Dre, Eminem, Ja Rule... and about 2 Pac and B.I.G., who gives a ... Or Puff Daddy or P Diddy or Diddy Kong, or whatever his name is now is untalanted and is in everyone's videos. You want real rap, Get every album made by Eazy E, that's the real gansta .., he started it, not Dre, the only thing Dre started was the war with Eazy E when he made "Dre Day". That's OK, E destroyed him in "Real Muthaphukkin G's" and about 5 other songs, he made good points, and made Dre just look silly. And why is Dre all bout bud now if he said not to do weed in the NWA song "Express Yourself". "...Wanna-be's ain't s*** compared to real muthaf***in g's"! Dre ain't foolin no-one! Dre, you sound like a puss "the time we spent apart can't match the time we spent together" Don't he?! Dre just know he ain't ... compared to Eazy ... E! RIP Eazy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars mainstream american Hip-Hop died with this album, March 19 2004
By 
E. D. Daniels (tampa, florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
This is a george clinton samplefest from as far as i can see, this is not a classic album and the lyrics are so anti-life i want to hurl.The only good song is "nothing but a g-thang" with it's slick rick type flow. songs like "these nutts" are not funny but sexist in scope, there used to be creativity in rap music, but now thanks to Dre (a middle class kid who never saw gangs and violence until he hooked up with Suge Knight )the only good hip-hop music and culture resides in europe, asia (check out french hip-hop they respect all four elements for those who don't know what is hip-hop culture)Canada and the American underground,this album has no flow Dre could never rap in the first place (Ice Cube was the gifted writer on straight outta of compton) outside of the P-Funk beats. And if you are so blown away by this album buy Mothership Connection by Parilament they sampled it to death, 10 years of uncreative gangsta rap needs to die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!, March 20 2002
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
oh my god!!!! i listened to these reviewers and bought it, too my disgust it was so awful it made me go back to the shop and try and get a refund!!! HOW CAN ANYBODY SAY THIS ALBUM IS GOOD?? if you want a decent album of Dre's, then buy 2001, tis much better!! AND WHILE IM HERE, TUPACS GREATEST HITS ALBUM IS THE BEST ALBUM EVER, NOT THIS PILE OF HORSE S###
TUPAC IS GOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars American Hip-Hop desended into medrocity because of this cd, March 20 2004
By 
E. D. Daniels (tampa, florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
I, for one will be glad when this west coast "gangsta" b.s. is finally put to rest.(13 years of anti-life thinking has got die sometime.) This album which was blaring out of cars throughout 1993 and I was tired of hearing Dre's rants about women, Easy E. and jail and death.There are only two good songs on this trifiling song fest, "let me ride" and "nothing but a g thang "and frankly this is another example of black amerikkkan ghetto nihlism (in which he never came from) for profit. all Dre ever cared about was making money of black ghetto suffering along with Suge Knight ,throw this cd in the garbage heap along with any L.A/Compton hip-hop outside of Hireoglyphics, Jurrasic 5, and The Coup. Gangsta Rap has all but killed creativity inside of commerical Hip-Hop since 1990 and Dre was was of it's leaders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dr. DreK, May 27 2004
This review is from: The Chronic (Explicit Version) (Audio CD)
That's what this is it's just a bunch of DREK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chronic (Explicit Version)
The Chronic (Explicit Version) by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews