Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great show but. . .the dvd sucks
I LOVE sex and the city I am very sad about the ending of the series, but this DVD is horrible(not the actual show but everything else about it). First, of all the caseing is this flimsy plastic material, which breaks easily. Second, there is not play all function of the discs, so if you are trying to watch the dvd all the way through, you have to choose each episode and...
Published on April 25 2004 by Becky

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The joke's on us this time
If 2nd season is an attempt to outdo or even recapture the wit and humor of the first, then it has failed - simply because the story is not based on one person (Carrie's) perspective. It's like the married couples, the 20 somethings, the toxic bachelors, and the models that Carrie had poke fun at during the first, had all come together to get back at the 4 main single...
Published on June 22 2001 by Nik


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars award-winning by whom????, Jan. 6 2002
This review is from: Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) (DVD)
Who wants to see this flat story book of boring, totally non-sexy, unrealistic NY relationship tales, lead by a bundle of ugly bones and warts?
I pity the definitely talented make-up artists in this showcase of disgusting women. There is also nothing wrong with the camera crew, the sound people and the many other great talents behind this show. Just replace the female actors and the writers, and you have a five-star series. I'm amazed by what some hair-styling, make-up and cloths can do to create a female TV character, though. I think, SJ Parker would make a good background character in a horror movie, just leave her without the make-up people for one night.
Let's take a look at the picture that S&C is painting of NY: Nobody working, there is hardly any daylight, strange clubs that you couldn't find even if you were looking for them (let alone the question how even a made-up bony ugly dwarf would pass the doorman).
Who can find the dialogues "smart and savvy", since they are just a reflection of your last 20 years of bad movie's repetitions? The stories are stale and predictable everytime. I watched the DVD bundle of this series for this review and I'm still not finished throwing up.
Nobody I know gives a damn about this series. I wonder very much about the "awards" this series got. It must be due to the majority of HBO producers in the juries.
Have YOU ever been asked to be part of a Hollywood jury? And why not? Maybe, because you would never even consider rating garbage all the time!
I would find it a perversion of our life, if SJ Parker types would have their way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Archetypes of the Post Terrorist era..., Jan. 4 2002
By 
Leonard Dahlke "Ummmmm" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) (DVD)
It seems almost nostalgic watching these wonderful discs after the attack on NYC. But as the Pres tells us....we must get on with our lives. Such is the wonderful parlance of watching SITC. You will indeed feel yourself remembering a NYC that was once the capital of the self-absorbed and hopelessly middleclass. Where a life perspective revolved around shoes, clothes, the latest designer nightlife and SEX.
Sex and the City revolves around a group of central characters that you find yourself identifying with on many levels. You will remember or know people that are like this....or at least similiar in some respects. The situations that they get into can be completely inane and bizarre, but alas there is a perpetual ring of truth to a lot of the 4 womens exploits. Hence what makes the show work. The show succeeds by pulling back the shallow glitz image of 30 somethings aka: bad beer commercials and formulaic Sleepless in Seattle romance to deliver breathing characters with an astonishing sense of life and purpose. I find myself astonished at how on target the writers can get with certain issues and situations.
There is so much bad writing in Hollywood nowadays, it's great to see the intellectual level of honesty and realism that this show delivers.
I have both Season 1 and 2 disc sets and am waiting for the third season to arrive on disc. Both sets are outstanding and the extra features, while not amazing, at least deliver some further insight into the characters and the very talented actors that play them.
BTW: Steve gets my vote for cutest and most sympathetic male in the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Accurate Look at Love In The Big Apple., Dec 29 2001
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Being a native of NYC, this is a wonderfully entertaining and very believable show. I'm not "Out There" anymore, but I remember how it was for me and other single friends in New York. Don't ask what it was like, just watch this!! .............. These four friends are very different personalities with different jobs, but they allmake us laugh and cry along with their one common problem, lack of eligible bachelors who are ready to commit, as opposed to BEING comitted for their various neuroses.............. I get HBO, but didn't catch the first two seasons, so I bought both at the same time. I watched both sets within a week, they were SO much fun. I finally got the whole history of Mr. Big and Carrie, and I NOW like Big. Before seing these two seasons, I thought he wasn't a "Big" deal, but I got a good handle on him after seeing his character develop through the first two seasons. All the characters really come into their own in this second season. .............. If you have season one, I DO recommend you get season two.. ............ I hope "Sex" has a long healthy run. For the single lady viewer, you'll feel less alone in your dating woes. For married ladies like me, you'll appreciate your special guy for not makng YOU kiss any more frogs "Out There." A wonderful addition edition, and a must for fans of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sex Sells, Aug. 28 2001
By 
Andrea Gidusko (Denver, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) (DVD)
This has to be one of my all time favorite television series and I'm so thrilled that the first two seasons are available on DVD. Since the series is on HBO it is able to go over bounds that other shows cannot, it has language, nudity and all that, but you hardly notice based on the incredible talent and writing that goes into the series. When I first saw the series oh so many years ago I couldn't get into it, so I gave it another try and was hooked. I already loved Kim Cattrall from my childhood favorite movie "Mannequin" and Sarah Jessica Parker from another favorite "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun." but I've now grown to enjoy Kristin Davis as always hopeful Charlotte and Cnythia Nixon as the equally cynical Miranda. This is a series that shows four completly different women who may have different views on love but share one unique frendship. This show probably isn't for those who are shocked easily, but if you can stand a little, or a lot, of sexual humor and don't, mind the occassional nudity then this is a great show to get hooked on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars at last!, July 30 2001
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
Carrie and Co. are back for a second helping of sex, men and.....sex! Join our sexy singles on 18 fun-filled episodes in the complete second season of SEX AND THE CITY.
TAKE ME OUT TO THE BALLGAME - Carrie (Sarah Jessica Parker) dates the "New Yankee", Samantha (Kim Cattrall) is still seeing her sadly-endowed boyfriend and Miranda (Cynthia Nixon) is annoyed that all they seem to discuss is sex and men.
THE AWFUL TRUTH - Carrie visits Susan-Sharon, who is trapped in a verbally-abusive marriage, Miranda learns to talk dirty during sex and Charlotte (Kristen Davis) meets the dog of her dreams.
THE FREAK SHOW - Samantha dates a bondage freak and Carrie discovers that she also might be a freak.
THEY SHOOT SINGLE PEOPLE, DON'T THEY - Carrie begings to revel in her new single status and Charlotte fakes it for free renovations.
FOUR WOMEN AND A FUNERAL - Charlotte falls for a recently-widowed man she meets in a cemetary and Samantha is exiled from New York's circle of elite.
THE CHEATING CURVE - Charlotte is swept up in the "Power Lesbian" social whirl and Miranda has to compete with her new boyfriend's porn videos.
THE CHICKEN DANCE - Miranda loses an old friend to her interior decorator and Carrie feels let down by Mr Big (Chris Noth).
THE MAN, THE MYTH, THE VIAGRA - Samantha dates a 72 year-old millionaire, and Miranda meets Steve, a cute bartender.
OLD DOGS, NEW DICKS - Carrie finds Big annoying, Charlotte's boyfriend has an uncut secret to share and Samantha meets an old flame at...Drag Queen Bingo.
THE CASTE SYSTEM - Miranda and Steve fight over money matters and Samantha dates a rich man with a bitchy, two-faced maid.
EVOLUTION - Charlotte dates a cute pastry chef (Dan Futterman) but is he straight-gay or gay-straight?
LA DOULEUR EXQUISE! - Samantha opens a new S&M restaurant, and Miranda discovers the thrill of having sex in public places.
GAMES PEOPLE PLAY - Carrie is persuaded to see a shrink, only to fall for a fellow patient (Jon Bon Jovi), and Samantha dates a sports-addict.
THE F**K BUDDY - Carrie tries to get over Big by bedding an old friend and Samantha gains the attention of the couple next door.
SHORTCOMINGS - Carrie dates a new guy, only to fall in love with his family, and Charlotte's brother sleeps with Samantha.
WAS IT GOOD FOR YOU? - Carrie dates a recovering alcoholic, and Samantha tries to have a threesome with a gay couple.
TWENTY-SOMETHING GIRLS VS. THIRTY-SOMETHING WOMEN - A trip to the Hamptons leaves Charlotte with a bad case of crabs and Carrie reeling with the shock of seeing Big with a younger woman.
EX AND THE CITY - Carrie is shocked that Big is marrying Natasha and Miranda gets back with Steve. Samantha meets Mr Too-Big.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is my drug of choice!, July 23 2001
By 
Theresa Mcdonald "Terri McDonald" (new orleans) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having only begun tuning into Sex and the City on HBO in the beginning of the 3rd season, I decided that viewing some of the earlier episodes was in order. I was not dissappointed. This is one of the best entertainment investments I have ever made in my life. Carrie, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda have become like close friends in the past few years and now I can pop in a tape and spend time with them whenever I choose. This collection is also great for having a get together with some girlfriends. Who doesn't love this show? Even 2 years later the clothes and shoes are fabulous!
I do have one negative comment though. Each tape contains 4 episodes. Each episode contains the full opening sequence (Carrie walking down the street in the pink tank top and white tutu getting splashed with puddle water by a bus) and the closing credits. While I can see that its important to list the credits at the end of the show, do we really need the opening sequence 4 times on one tape? Other than that, its a keeper!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Sarah Jessica, but young and single in the city!, July 13 2001
By 
"schmanders" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
After moving to Manhattan last year straight out of college, I was bombarded with references and mentions to the incredibly popular and successful Sex and the City series. Cosmopolitans, Mr. Big, Fendi Baguettes, and Manolo Balahniks...oh my! It's enough to make a displaced Florida girl pack up her sandals and hot foot it back to the beach! But instead, like a resourceful and determined (new) New Yorker, I took a crash course in metropolitan pop culture and borrowed (read: zero income) the first season of SATC. Twelve episodes later I was hooked for my regular fix of the series the way Carrie needs her toxic men and take out coffee. Enter the second season of the show...purchased painlessly on Amazon. The boxed set arrived quickly, cost about $10 below the retail price, and exceed my towering expectations for SATC's sophomore effort. We get better aquainted with the endearing neuroses of the four leading women, lives they lead, the drinks they drink and the flawed men they become entangled with. As a bonus, the second season contains 18 episodes, which translates to maximum viewing insight into the still-smoking trends (nameplate necklaces? knee socks with stilettos?) made popular by our favorite Manhattan singles. The set is a must buy...if only to avoid the confusing references made in the current season to issues dealt with in the 2nd. $40 for the season is a deal... would a New Yorker steer you wrong?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ingenious!, June 23 2001
This review is from: Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) (DVD)
.."Sex And The City" is so unique, so original, so fresh, I totally understand why it appeals to men, women.... These stories are delivered with such honesty, and rawness that you can't help but say to yourself: "oh my God, I feel like that too!" or "that happens to me!" We all know of someone, who has experienced 'something' similar to the story lines. That's the beauty of "Sex And The City". It tells it like it is. And Something has to be said for the BRILLIANT performances each and every one of these women (and men) gives. Sarah Jessica Parker is amazing. She radiates every emotion to perfection. Kim Cattrall is my favorite. She's a blonde bombshell who does not beat around the bush. Her character is so openly honest with 'everything', you can't help but love her character "Samantha" and either cheer or crack up at her episodes. Cynthia Nixon's character is awesome. I think we all have a little bit of "Mriranda" in all of us. And Kristin Davis as "Charlotte" gives the story lines that feeling of "hope" and "innocence". This show truly deserves all the praise and awards it's currently getting. Do yourself a favor, buy and see "Sex And The City" and see for yourself. You'll be hooked, and you'll discover a world that many try to "avoid". We're only human! We deserve a little "Sex and the City".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The joke's on us this time, June 22 2001
By 
Nik (Kuala Lumpur) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) (DVD)
If 2nd season is an attempt to outdo or even recapture the wit and humor of the first, then it has failed - simply because the story is not based on one person (Carrie's) perspective. It's like the married couples, the 20 somethings, the toxic bachelors, and the models that Carrie had poke fun at during the first, had all come together to get back at the 4 main single women characters. The characters seemed weak, lacks depth, desperate even, and vain. Carrie hasn't learned her lesson with Mr. Big and doesn't seem to know to cut her loses, Carrie is like a Barbie doll and never wear the same clothes twice, proper Charlotte is given Mr Pussy to enjoy, Miranda had a humiliating panic attack and a lazy ovary, Miranda's running away from Steve after the breakup is so uncool, and the final blow: to have Mr. Big to go after a 20 something girl over Carrie? And there's more time for getting together and partying than normal working women actually do. That is not realistic. What's more, they've got the characters confused; Carrie's the footwear fetish, not Charlotte; Carrie is a shoe fetish, not a clothes horse, and everybody seems to have more sex now rather than just Samantha. It's like saying all single women are the same. Sure, there are some hilarious and undeniable truths pointing moments, but overall, it falls flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite show, June 20 2001
This review is from: Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) (DVD)
There aren't many TV shows that hold my attention for very long. Most of them disappoint me! Not so with SITC...From the first moment I saw this program, I was hooked. There was something about Sarah Jessica Parker's character that reminded me soooo much of myself. And her friends, Samantha, Charlotte and Miranda all hold similar qualities of my girlfriends. I wouldn't go so far as to talk like some of them, but I definitely think this show is long overdue and tells it like it is. Women deserve their chance to be strong, successful, and non-committed for a chnage. I love everything about this show. Season Two is even better than the first. Mr. Big is probably one of the best characters written in a long time for TV, and the writing itself is a HUGE part of why this show is so amazing. It's hard to really describe why you like something so much, and that's kind of the case with me. Sex in the City is why I own HBO and it's given my boyfriend and me a more open relationship. Everyone can relate to at least one episode or synopsis, and that is why I love SITC, and always will!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 315 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs)
Sex and the City: Season 2 (3 Discs) by Michael Spiller (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 37.48 CDN$ 32.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews