Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Swooning Romantic Masterpiece!
I can't stop raving about this movie. When it aired on A&E I was glued to my television set for three hours. I have rarely found a TV movie that watchable and fascinating. I instantly loved the story, and not long after bought a copy of the R.D. Blackmore classic novel. The actors became the characters, so much so that you forgot they were just acting.
Everything...
Published on April 2 2006 by Noirdame

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lorna Doone
This movie was purchased twice, both movies did not play past scene 8. Still waiting on reimbursement on both purchases. marsali
Published 21 months ago by marsali


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lorna Doone, June 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
This movie was purchased twice, both movies did not play past scene 8. Still waiting on reimbursement on both purchases. marsali
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars carsic, March 18 2012
By 
Carla Krens (B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
The DVD stopped half way through this movie. The sound continued but the visual was stuck.
So was unable to view the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lorna Doone, March 3 2012
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
Movie started out great but the DVD ended up being defective so I was unable to finish watching the movie. Terribly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Swooning Romantic Masterpiece!, April 2 2006
By 
Noirdame (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
I can't stop raving about this movie. When it aired on A&E I was glued to my television set for three hours. I have rarely found a TV movie that watchable and fascinating. I instantly loved the story, and not long after bought a copy of the R.D. Blackmore classic novel. The actors became the characters, so much so that you forgot they were just acting.
Everything about this film is superb. The story of a young man, John Ridd, from a farming family in the southwest England in the 1600s who watches as his beloved father is murdered in cold blood by the infamous aristocratic Doone clan, who terrorize the countryside. He grows into manhood determined to seek revenge, only to fall in love with the lovely Lorna Doone, and to come to blows with the violent and controlling Carver Doone who is betrothed to Lorna and will stop at nothing to possess her. The feud between the two families leads to consequences, as does the political intrigue gripping Britain at that time. The opposition towards the Catholic James II inheriting the throne and the illegitimate Duke Of Monmouth's attempts to have the title of King for himself whips the country into a frenzy.
The costumes, locations, hairstyles, production design, dialogue and music are all top-notch, and the performers are all outstanding. It's not just a beautifully shot love story, but it is also full of fast-paced action, humor, intrigue, and drama. Amelia Warner fits the bill as Lorna, her exquisite beauty, fantastic presence, vulnerability and strength embodying her character wonderfully. Richard Coyle, rugged and handsome, is right on in his portrayal of John, a young man torn between his loyalty to his family and the memory of his father, and his love for this young beauty whom he knows is nothing like her vicious family. And the gorgeously roguish Aidan Gillen (I have a thing for Irish guys) is magnetic, strangely seductive and hypnotic as the obsessive, power-hungry Carver, who claims Lorna as his, and who wants all the power, all the while possessing a degree of vulnerability. When the story takes a twist regarding Lorna's true parentage, the film becomes even more engrossing as the viewer becomes more and more invested. What will happen? Will love conquer all? The smaller characters, from the Doones to the Ridds and the neighboring folk, to the nobility, King's army, royalty and the very real historical figure Judge Jeffreys, give the film a scope and adds authenticity to the story. All the people I have shared this movie with have enjoyed it, and have complimented the music, a lovely mixture of folk and Celtic melodies, and the wonderfully lush, green landscape and the design of the houses, cottages, and castles. In short, you feel like you are there, not that you are watching a movie. It all seems so real, making it a marvellous experience. It is a masterpiece!!! Romantics, take note!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True to the novel, well as tiem would allow, June 4 2010
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
I felt like it was quite true to the novel and recommended it to friends. The acting is not Hollywood, but the story is very entertaining and "fresh" for an old story anyway :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting the whole way through, May 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
John Ridd's father was killed by the Doones-a band of ruthless outlaws who had threatened and stolen from the townspeople. John (Richard Coyle) watched his father die, and vowed he would get revenge for their evil deeds. He falls in love with a sweet and beautiful maiden, only to learn that she's a Doone. Lorna (Amelia Warner) is a granddaughter of the Doone's leader, and she is expected to marry the future leader of the Doones-her cousin Carver Doone (Aiden Gillen). John finds himself in a difficult situation-he not only loves a girl that his family will hate, but he must fight Carver, who is just as determined to marry Lorna. The characters find themselves battling with issues of loyalty. This is a great story based off R.D. Blackmore's classic novel. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Production by A & E, Jan. 4 2004
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
This superb BBC/A & E production filmed in the English and Welsh countryside, is a haunting adventure and touching love story. The story line is quite a complex one and although it turns out happily, it keeps you on the edge of your seat right up to the very end. In fact you might want to keep a box of kleenexes handy! John Ridd's father was killed by the outlaw Doones when John was a boy, and his life complicates further when he falls in love with the Lorna, a member of this this evil family. The journey to find some way to be together is a theme throughout the movie. I did have to watch the movie for a second time before I completely grasped the many background details that motivated the characters. The romantic chemistry between handsome Richard Coyle and classic beauty Amelia Warner took my breath away. It's the best love story I've seen in a while and it contains so many beautiful scenes that I will want to watch over and over again. The movie has many contrasts such as the beautiful English/Welsh countryside - the dark and forboding scenes with the Doones, the ruthless and evilness of Carver - the extreme goodness of John Ridd. During the darker scenes there is a fair amount of killing and violence and so in my opinion the movie is most appropriate for mature pre-teens to adults. It is just over 2 hours and 20 minutes in length and so I was somewhat disappointed to find that the DVD contains only 14 chapters. The soundtrack is beautiful as well, but I believe that at this time it is not available to purchase. In closing, I would just like to say that I think this is a gripping story and I would highly recommend this movie. It really has something for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing departure from A&E's high standards., June 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
We are fans of period films and have enjoyed many A&E and BBC productions. Instead of getting swept up in the drama of Lorna Doone, however, we spent our time mocking the film. I think that poor directing is to blame. Why were we forced to see the same cheesy "vertigo" shot of water in the canyon below every time a character walked on the narrow ledge by the waterfall? Why were all scenes shot in the Doone valley incredibly dark and hard to see, even when the action was taking place in the middle of the day? Why were the Doones and the people of the adjacent town so unfamiliar with one another when it seemed to take approximately 15 minutes to walk from one settlement to the other? Why was Lorna always clean and neatly-dressed, while every other resident of the Doone Valley appeared to have minimal acquaintance with bathing facilities? Why did John and Lorna fall madly in love after exactly two encounters twelve years apart?
The film tried valiantly to fit many of the book's plot points into a two hour movie, but the gaps in character development made for awkward leaps. The actors did a fairly good job with tough material, but even good actors can't overcome strange sequencing of events and cheesy, predictable dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great !, April 13 2004
By 
The Unknown (Boston, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
If you like romance, you will like this one! All I can say is Richard Coyle is a HOTTIE!!! The plot was good, but I was left with wanting more. I would have made it longer. I wanted more details about where Lorna Doone came from. The acting was good, but the female lead character's acting was not all that good, in my opinion. I needed more details! But overall it was good!
If anyone know what else has Richard Coyle have done, please let me know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointingly below my expectations..., July 20 2003
By 
Christina (Myrtle Beach, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lorna Doone (DVD)
I discovered this DVD at my local library, and curiously decided to rent it because of A&E's renown classics (Pride and Prejudice, Les Miserables...)and the synopsis on the back which made it seem like a very captivating movie. Unfortunately, this movie seemed very poorly produced (if you notice, though Karver is at least 10 years John's senior, he doesn't seemed to have aged from the moment he kills john's father when john was little to the moment he is out to kill John as an adult...)with weak and trite dialogue spoken by obvious amateurs. The plot was fairly good (though very cliche in some aspects), and I won't totally discredit the book for all of the imperfections I have pointed out in the movie (though I have not read it), but I do think that the book probably deserves more credit than the movie does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2405c00)

This product

Lorna Doone
Lorna Doone by Mike Barker (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 77.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews