Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars10
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$37.25+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon October 13, 2007
The movie is the visualization of the popular song.

Paul Matthews (Tate Donovan) is not that popular with the ladies. He mostly concentrated on his work with primates. One day on a whim he is encouraged to seek a gypsy whom can tell his fortune. In the process she spots his deficiency and prescribes love potion number eight (only in diluted form). He become popular with the opposite sex and aggravated the same sex.

Naturally this discovery is too important to keep to him self; so he recruits a colleague, Diane Farrow (Sandra Bullock). After some monkeying around, the get down to scientific work, he in the girls dorm, she with the prince of England, Prince Geoffrey (Dylan Baker).

Soon they discover their true love but as with real life it gets complicated. Eventually this called for love potion number 9.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2004
Sandra Bullock has certainly moved on to better things. She is the only bright spark in this mishmash of a movie.
A story about a chemist (Tate Donovan) who goes to a gypsy with a group of friends (how many guys do that for a night out!?) and she gives him a potion which will make him irrisitable to women. He then gives some to his work mate (Bullock) who suddenly turns into a beauty after looking a complete dog (shades of Miss Congeniality).
This is when the movie dies on its feet. It seems to be badly edited with bits missing, Donovan is a bad actor, I'm not surprised he didn't get to become a huge star, unlike Bullock who holds the whole mess together (just). Dale Midkiff has a supporting role as Bullock's sometime boyfriend and does a good job. Ann Bancroft is the gypsy and overplays the role.
Worth looking at just to see Bullock in an early role.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 28, 2004
Back in 1992, two years before Sandra Bullock really hit the big time with 'Speed', this movie came along. And six years after 'Speed' a little movie gem, and also one of my favourite movies, 'Miss Congeniality' happened into the movie world. Now, Marc Lawrence, the director of 'Miss Congeniality' must have seen this movie. They are almost the exact same!
Sandra once again plays the geeky girl, with big eyebrows, huge black rimmed glasses (think Buddy Holly), no fashion sense, and no idea of how to apply makeup. (Sounds a bit like myself) And thanks to this magic potion, she just has to speak or even cough, and she's instantly irresistible to any guy near her. (I need some of this potion!) And of course, the more guys pay attention to her (lucky cow), the more confidence she gets, and her "inner beauty" just radiates out of her. She's instantly transformed. (Definitely need to get my hands on this potion)
Tate Donovan plays the male version of Sandra. The ultimate geek, and not a guy you would ever touch with a bargepole. He also wears glasses, has a very extreme side parting, bad clothes, infact bad everything. When he uses the potion, it's slower to let his, ahem, "inner beauty" radiate. He doesn't change that drastically, but instead of the makeup people gelling his hair flat to his skull in the morning, they let it bounce up into its natural curliness. His clothes don't drastically change.
If you've seen Miss Congeniality, and enjoyed it, you should see this one too. Sandra with all that gorgeous hair, and looking daft at some points, and ... Well, why exactly would you go see a movie with Tate Donovan?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 11, 2004
This movie is an absolute gem. Anyone is sure to fall in love with these two nerdy "unattractive" science geeks. Having practically nonexistant love lifes, these two nerds conduct an experiment with this "love potion no. 9", and find that it has phenomonal results. Of course, having these two nerds transform into gorgeous people has nothing to do with their success.
Watching Bullock and Donovan in their nerdy attire is hilarious. This is an awesome feel good comedy which will have you rooting for the right guy to get the girl. This is a great movie which you will not be disapointed with.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2002
Very cute and funny movie. This potion supposedly turns anyone who takes it into someone who is very desireable and wanted by everything, man, woman, even animal and then the fun starts. This was one of the first movies I ever watched with my soon to be husband. We laughed and laughed. A classic in my book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 9, 2002
Although I've always liked Sandra Bullock, lately I've gotten into watching her films, old and new. I watched "Love Potion #9" years ago, and after watching it again, my opinion on it still stands. It will not go down in history as a classic. In fact it probably won't go down in history at all. But that doesn't mean that it isn't a pleasant little diversion. In it Bullock probably gives the first performance of the type that would later make her stand out in "While You Were Sleeping": the lonely girl next door who blossoms when she meets the right guy.
And while the film is not on the level of "While You Were Sleeping" in terms of production quality, it is not that badly made. The story line has a number of genuine laughs and there are some clever scenes. There are two crude attempts at humor that don't really belong in it, but they are only minor distractions.
So to sum up, I hope that Bullock continues to work where her strength lies, in romantic comedies. I've seen her in serious roles and while she turns in a competent performance, her star really shines when she does light-hearted stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2002
I think "Love Potion #9" is a cute little song, and I liked Sandra Bullock before. What should have added up to a nice little movie was definitely a zero. Vulgar and stupid. Really, I mean it. Stick to the oldies radio station and think up your own movie plot--I'm sure you'd do a whole lot better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2002
Sure, I like Tate Donovan and I like Sandra Bullock, but the plot of this movie doesn't make sense to me and has a happy end that is way too plain. Sorry, but I don't recommend this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2001
when you want something light. This romantic-comedy is a perfect fit. Sandra Bullock and Tate Donovan keep a spark going in what could have been a dreary film. Wonderful appearances by Anne Bancroft as the gypsy and Adrian Paul.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2001
Fun flick for when one is not in the mood for intellectual fare. One of Sandra Bullock's earlier films and based on an inane song from my parent's generation, it is a nice Saturday night comedy to hang out with friends and watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse