Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Game play and graphics are better than Silent Hill 3.
Clock Tower 3 has turned out to be everything that Silent Hill 3 was not. While Silent Hill 3 is certainly the scariest of the survival horror games around it lacked a cohesive story and did not seem to fit in with the series. CT3 for all intensive purposes is actually the game that SH3 was not. Why?
First of all CT3 boasts the best graphics seen on the PS2 to date...
Published on May 3 2004 by OverTheMoon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars decent at best
u see a lil girl murderd then the rest of the game u try to hide from an annoying freddy kruger with a beergut who says the same static alyssa were are u every 5 seconds u dont fight u simply hide in places until he goes away it it was pulled off well it might work but the graphics are level after level of grey desolate wastelands and the sounds regrettable dont buy this...
Published on April 2 2004 by mike g


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Up for the challenge?, March 11 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Clock Tower 3 was an excellent game! The graphics were solid and the game play was well thought out! It stayed interesting from beginning to end and you never felt as though you lost the thread.
The boss battles were definitely a challenge! You may look at Clock Tower 3 and wonder..."how hard could it be"...don't be fooled! It gives you a run for your gaming money! You will have to be tenatious to finish this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clock Tower 3 Review, July 18 2004
By 
A. Bay (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this game, i played it with my sister cause i was so scared! Anyway, i thought it was scary and all but it didn't deserve 5 stars. Why? you ask. Well, i thought the game was to short.. it's only 4 levels and once i was engrossed i wanted it to keep going. Plus, the enemies that you fight agaisnt can get pretty annoying-- i swear i heard scissorwoman say "snickety-snap" about 20 times before I could run away from her. Also, I thought some of the plot was a little iffy.. I don't want to ruin the game for you so i will only tell you a little--- you find out that the clock tower is beneath Alyssa's house.. huh? Wouldn't you know if your house was built on top of a clock tower? Sorry to whomever didn't want to hear that.. I didn't ruin anything for you! (really i didn't :) ) Anyway, with those few things, i still loved it.. i thought it was great and if your in for a good scare it's the game for you. What i liked about it was how the enemies would jump out of nowhere when you least expected it, and also how the weapon isn't what you would normally expect. You use holy water to stun your enemies and kill moths (which turn out to be their helpers that find you for the bad guys) In the boss battles you use a bow and arrow to fight agaisnt them, it's very fun! I also liked how the noises really sounded like how they would in real life. Example, when you open a door or are walking on water it really sounds real, to get the player i.e. me more interested. I really enjoyed this game, and it's a game that you can play over and over again. Plus, once you finish it you are able to unlock what we call "the cinema" which is just a place you can go to to watch all the movies of the game. It's fun, it's scary and it's an overall great game. :)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game play and graphics are better than Silent Hill 3., May 3 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Clock Tower 3 has turned out to be everything that Silent Hill 3 was not. While Silent Hill 3 is certainly the scariest of the survival horror games around it lacked a cohesive story and did not seem to fit in with the series. CT3 for all intensive purposes is actually the game that SH3 was not. Why?
First of all CT3 boasts the best graphics seen on the PS2 to date. While Heather in SH3 had some great moves, your eyes will pop out of your head when you see Alyssa's PANIC mode in full swing. Basically the game is a reminder of what was on offer with the original SH series or Resident Evil when you first played it, and follows the story of a young girl, Alyssa, who learns that something is going to happen on her birthday. She returns home and discovers something supernatural about herself and her new objective is to find her lost mother by discovering murdered corpses and returning items to the bodies before the ghost of the corpse can kill her. Killing Alyssa is not easy. She must first be shocked into a state of panic and then into a state of petrifaction before the final blow can be inflicted. This means that you must try and keep Alyssa calm as much as you can... and this is not easy when you visit places out of 19th century London in the dead of night or 17th century English castles populated with ghosts. So like most survival games Alyssa transverses various maps, picking up pieces, solving puzzles and trying to keep herself from being shocked into a blind panic (the screen goes crazy and Alyssa starts falling about the place making her a very easy target). However there is one thing that takes this game to the next level and that is the quality of the psycho bosses.
On every level a serial killer appears to hamper you in your journey. They all look insane and you must avoid their attacks by running, hiding or finding trigger spots that do something to them. At the end of every level there is a "Boss Fight" mode where you wield a bow and must bind the boss with electrical lighting bolts. These fight sequences are tough and unreal because the quality of the graphics is up there with the likes of Devil May Cry and Metal Gear Solid... but what more could we expect from great Capcom?
The cut sequences set a new standard for PS2 games, being the best around at the moment. Also the story is good but has some very shocking sequences that will blow your mind from time to time (Don't be so surprised if you see a kid getting a mallet to the head). The reason why I give CT3 an extra star over SH3 is simply because Capcom got the story and game play right. Although CT3 is certainly not as scary as SH3 and the sound is not quite as good as SH3, the graphics surpass it, the characters animations are sublime, the puzzles well done and most importantly, the game play was a lot of fun! Just avoiding the serial killers and running about the place was a hoot before finally taking the bad guys on at the end of every level. It is a scream of a game and totally whacked out in parts. I loved it!
Is this a five star game? Absolutely and this is definitely your thing IF you like survival horror. CT3 is a must have for any collection. It surpasses nearly every other survival horror game out there.
Pros:
(1)Excellent gameplay.
(2)Longer than most survival horrors.
(3)Best cut sequences to date.
(4)PANIC MODE!
(5)Graphics quality is unreal.
(6)BOSS FIGHTS!
Cons:
(1)Maybe a little more attack moves from Alyssa would not have gone amiss.
(2)Could have pushed the boundaries a little more in terms of HORROR.
(3)Not really a rental game because these survival horrors take awhile to get into.
(4)Silent Hill 2 may still be just as good as this one bar the quality of the graphics.
So my preference at this point in time in terms of Survival Horror is SH2 and CT3.
Now to try that new Resident Evil Outbreak to see how that pans out...
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating (annoying actually) at times, April 28 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I just finished the game and my overall impressin is that it is in general a good game. More into Suspense than Horror.
The nice things about the game is that, other than boss battles, it is not a shooting type of game where you are a hero just blasting all monsters around with uber weapons. Your only defence is a bottle of limited supply of holy water.
The annoying part is that sometimes you are just trying to find out about what to do when the damn killer shows up again and you have to run to your hiding place. This happens so much that there are times when you simply get very frustrated. The most annoying though not hard to hide from is the chopper.
Annotther annoying thing is the controls. Capcom made this game and it is pretty obvious that the reused the models from RE so why the hell not reuse the controls? Sometimes you change camera angles and you find yourself making a mistake and runing into a wrong direction. You get sort of used to after a while but it is certainly a bad design.
Now, what is also terribly annoying is when you die on a boss battle and you want to continue, then you will have to wait for the presentation of the boss again, why not put you right where it says "judgment"? Talk about bad game design.
I also found that I needed to pull a walkthrough for those times when you don't freaking know what to do. This is specialy true for the last part of the game, where you go through the castle. I walked for minutes, evading the annoying scissor freaks and being able to find nothing, until the walkthrough told me I had to look into the candles.... sigh!...
In general the game idea is very good and the suspense/scare factor is very good too, unfortunately the game is very short too. Thes are the reasons why I gave it 4 stars.
In general:
Graphics: 6.5 (borrowed from RE2, not a big thing nowdays).
Sound: 7.5 (Music is good, but Special effects are also borrowed from RE series... no immagination here, lots of reuse).
Game Plot: 7.5 (Good enough to keep you interested).
Game Controls: 4 (A total mistake they made here).
Game Play: 8 (As I said nice scares and nice concept)
Scare Factor: 8 (Good enought to keep you tense, though they abuse sometimes and make you annoyed)
Overall: 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done, Better Then I Thought!, April 23 2004
By 
Henny (Long Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Clock Tower 3 Is An Awesome Game! Very Scary & Very Fun, I Love Whole StoryLine And The History THat Allysa Finds Out About Herself, Very Scary, The Baddies Are Very Well Made Very Original Very Gross, Graphics Are Amazing, CG Parts Breathless, Looks So Good,Pretty Short Game But Still Very Fun, Awesome Ending, Nothin Less Of A Capcom, Clock Tower 3 Strikes An Awesome Score, Give It A Try, You Won't Be Dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clock Tower 3 = Superb, April 23 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Let me start out by saying that this game has it all: great graphics, good plot, great characters. The game has a mysterious vibe to it, at times it can be horrific and even disturbing;very entertaining, though I found it to be a bit short. Nevertheles, it's definetly a must-buy. If you liked the Silent Hill series and Resident Evil, you should definetly check it out. * * * * * !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I will never play it again., April 14 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I absolutely hate this game. I gave it 4 stars because there's no denying that it's a good game, the graphics are astounding, and I give the makers props for doing something origional. I just don't like it. It's not really scary, just graphic. You see a child's head smashed in by a murderer right on the screen, which wouldn't bother me except that it's a child. They usually either don't kill children or turn the camera away at the moment it actually happens. Not in this game. The game gives you a severe adreneline rush. It's scary to have a huge man with a sledgehammer chasing after you in a house that you don't know and your only defense is a stupid little bottle of water and a single hiding space. I have two major gripes about the game. One: once a guy is chasing you, you go hide and he goes away. Fine. But then you have to go out and do something, you have absolutely no idea what you're supposed to do (I had to go online and find a walk-through or I never would have known what I was doing), and you don't know your way around the place, so you're frantically searching, while knowing that at any second the bad guy's gonna pop out and chase you back to your hiding place. It's annoying, and personally I don't like that tense, heart pounding feeling that it gives you. Second: It's just boring. It's kind of neat to see the different places and people and find things for the ghosts, but not that neat. And I thought it would be cool trying to piece together the mystery of how everything's connected, but I got over that real quick.
This is definitely a personal opinion, and the game is absolutely well made. But think carefully, cuz it's not like other games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very scary!, April 7 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game is visually stimulating, with a pretty decent story to match. Some story events get dangerously close to a Buffy-type game (a young teenage girl with the mission to destroy possessed demons...hmm)
What makes this game really terrifying is that you have no way to kill your enemies. You can douse them in holy water to stun them for a bit, but that's all. The only thing you can do is hide, which does get a bit repetitive after a while.
It's a really scary game, and I'd buy it if you love horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent at best, April 2 2004
By 
mike g "mrperfect231" (indianapolis, indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
u see a lil girl murderd then the rest of the game u try to hide from an annoying freddy kruger with a beergut who says the same static alyssa were are u every 5 seconds u dont fight u simply hide in places until he goes away it it was pulled off well it might work but the graphics are level after level of grey desolate wastelands and the sounds regrettable dont buy this heck resident evil on playstation 1 is better than this best used as a frisbee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game Ever!, Feb. 25 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I find this game very fun to play. The story is great, but the graphics could have better. But that doesn't matter, and the voice acting is great. People who just like games to kill things or blow things up, might not fine this game interesting, because you don't use any weapons(expect for boss battles).You just run and hide.
This game is also scary,cause monsters come out of no where and attack you. There is a panic meter, which is another great thing about it. I also find this a billion times better than Silent Hill 3(which even thought you had weapons, and could attack monsters, turned out to be very boring.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2
Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 by Capcom USA (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: CDN$ 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews