countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
49
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 15, 2015
I like survival horror games, so I checked this one out, and ... part of me then wished that I had not. If you are a parent, do not buy this game for your child. The murders depicted in it are disturbing, and I say that as someone who has witnessed immeasurable amounts of death and carnage in video games. I found those scenes a real turn-off, so I sold the game to a local second-hand store, never wanting to play it again. I do have one compliment for it, though: The setup for the boss fights is very well done, so it lent some satisfaction to giving those murderers the comeuppance for the atrocities they had so graphically earned. However, that was not enough to redeem the game, so I do not recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2004
I absolutely hate this game. I gave it 4 stars because there's no denying that it's a good game, the graphics are astounding, and I give the makers props for doing something origional. I just don't like it. It's not really scary, just graphic. You see a child's head smashed in by a murderer right on the screen, which wouldn't bother me except that it's a child. They usually either don't kill children or turn the camera away at the moment it actually happens. Not in this game. The game gives you a severe adreneline rush. It's scary to have a huge man with a sledgehammer chasing after you in a house that you don't know and your only defense is a stupid little bottle of water and a single hiding space. I have two major gripes about the game. One: once a guy is chasing you, you go hide and he goes away. Fine. But then you have to go out and do something, you have absolutely no idea what you're supposed to do (I had to go online and find a walk-through or I never would have known what I was doing), and you don't know your way around the place, so you're frantically searching, while knowing that at any second the bad guy's gonna pop out and chase you back to your hiding place. It's annoying, and personally I don't like that tense, heart pounding feeling that it gives you. Second: It's just boring. It's kind of neat to see the different places and people and find things for the ghosts, but not that neat. And I thought it would be cool trying to piece together the mystery of how everything's connected, but I got over that real quick.
This is definitely a personal opinion, and the game is absolutely well made. But think carefully, cuz it's not like other games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2004
I have never written a review before but this game is SO LAME I had to put my frustration somewhere and warn other gamers out there no to waste thier time or money. Let me put it this way, it looks good, the idea is scary and intriguing, and the characters are even slightly endearing, but when you put it all together? Crap! The camera angels give you limited viewing and moving Alyssa around is jolty and a bit out of control. The boss fights are either too easy or too hard and there wasn't a challenging puzzle, and did I mention the game takes about 3 hours to win? I would have enjoyed this game about 4 years ago before I knew what an adventure game could really be like. Coming from Fatal Frame to this is a joke, and Beyond Good and Evil isn't scary but at least it's fun and Primal really stretches you for figuring out environmental puzzels and you care about the hero's. Play those instead!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2004
I really enjoyed this game, i played it with my sister cause i was so scared! Anyway, i thought it was scary and all but it didn't deserve 5 stars. Why? you ask. Well, i thought the game was to short.. it's only 4 levels and once i was engrossed i wanted it to keep going. Plus, the enemies that you fight agaisnt can get pretty annoying-- i swear i heard scissorwoman say "snickety-snap" about 20 times before I could run away from her. Also, I thought some of the plot was a little iffy.. I don't want to ruin the game for you so i will only tell you a little--- you find out that the clock tower is beneath Alyssa's house.. huh? Wouldn't you know if your house was built on top of a clock tower? Sorry to whomever didn't want to hear that.. I didn't ruin anything for you! (really i didn't :) ) Anyway, with those few things, i still loved it.. i thought it was great and if your in for a good scare it's the game for you. What i liked about it was how the enemies would jump out of nowhere when you least expected it, and also how the weapon isn't what you would normally expect. You use holy water to stun your enemies and kill moths (which turn out to be their helpers that find you for the bad guys) In the boss battles you use a bow and arrow to fight agaisnt them, it's very fun! I also liked how the noises really sounded like how they would in real life. Example, when you open a door or are walking on water it really sounds real, to get the player i.e. me more interested. I really enjoyed this game, and it's a game that you can play over and over again. Plus, once you finish it you are able to unlock what we call "the cinema" which is just a place you can go to to watch all the movies of the game. It's fun, it's scary and it's an overall great game. :)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2004
Clock Tower 3 has turned out to be everything that Silent Hill 3 was not. While Silent Hill 3 is certainly the scariest of the survival horror games around it lacked a cohesive story and did not seem to fit in with the series. CT3 for all intensive purposes is actually the game that SH3 was not. Why?
First of all CT3 boasts the best graphics seen on the PS2 to date. While Heather in SH3 had some great moves, your eyes will pop out of your head when you see Alyssa's PANIC mode in full swing. Basically the game is a reminder of what was on offer with the original SH series or Resident Evil when you first played it, and follows the story of a young girl, Alyssa, who learns that something is going to happen on her birthday. She returns home and discovers something supernatural about herself and her new objective is to find her lost mother by discovering murdered corpses and returning items to the bodies before the ghost of the corpse can kill her. Killing Alyssa is not easy. She must first be shocked into a state of panic and then into a state of petrifaction before the final blow can be inflicted. This means that you must try and keep Alyssa calm as much as you can... and this is not easy when you visit places out of 19th century London in the dead of night or 17th century English castles populated with ghosts. So like most survival games Alyssa transverses various maps, picking up pieces, solving puzzles and trying to keep herself from being shocked into a blind panic (the screen goes crazy and Alyssa starts falling about the place making her a very easy target). However there is one thing that takes this game to the next level and that is the quality of the psycho bosses.
On every level a serial killer appears to hamper you in your journey. They all look insane and you must avoid their attacks by running, hiding or finding trigger spots that do something to them. At the end of every level there is a "Boss Fight" mode where you wield a bow and must bind the boss with electrical lighting bolts. These fight sequences are tough and unreal because the quality of the graphics is up there with the likes of Devil May Cry and Metal Gear Solid... but what more could we expect from great Capcom?
The cut sequences set a new standard for PS2 games, being the best around at the moment. Also the story is good but has some very shocking sequences that will blow your mind from time to time (Don't be so surprised if you see a kid getting a mallet to the head). The reason why I give CT3 an extra star over SH3 is simply because Capcom got the story and game play right. Although CT3 is certainly not as scary as SH3 and the sound is not quite as good as SH3, the graphics surpass it, the characters animations are sublime, the puzzles well done and most importantly, the game play was a lot of fun! Just avoiding the serial killers and running about the place was a hoot before finally taking the bad guys on at the end of every level. It is a scream of a game and totally whacked out in parts. I loved it!
Is this a five star game? Absolutely and this is definitely your thing IF you like survival horror. CT3 is a must have for any collection. It surpasses nearly every other survival horror game out there.
Pros:
(1)Excellent gameplay.
(2)Longer than most survival horrors.
(3)Best cut sequences to date.
(4)PANIC MODE!
(5)Graphics quality is unreal.
(6)BOSS FIGHTS!
Cons:
(1)Maybe a little more attack moves from Alyssa would not have gone amiss.
(2)Could have pushed the boundaries a little more in terms of HORROR.
(3)Not really a rental game because these survival horrors take awhile to get into.
(4)Silent Hill 2 may still be just as good as this one bar the quality of the graphics.
So my preference at this point in time in terms of Survival Horror is SH2 and CT3.
Now to try that new Resident Evil Outbreak to see how that pans out...
Enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2004
I just finished the game and my overall impressin is that it is in general a good game. More into Suspense than Horror.
The nice things about the game is that, other than boss battles, it is not a shooting type of game where you are a hero just blasting all monsters around with uber weapons. Your only defence is a bottle of limited supply of holy water.
The annoying part is that sometimes you are just trying to find out about what to do when the damn killer shows up again and you have to run to your hiding place. This happens so much that there are times when you simply get very frustrated. The most annoying though not hard to hide from is the chopper.
Annotther annoying thing is the controls. Capcom made this game and it is pretty obvious that the reused the models from RE so why the hell not reuse the controls? Sometimes you change camera angles and you find yourself making a mistake and runing into a wrong direction. You get sort of used to after a while but it is certainly a bad design.
Now, what is also terribly annoying is when you die on a boss battle and you want to continue, then you will have to wait for the presentation of the boss again, why not put you right where it says "judgment"? Talk about bad game design.
I also found that I needed to pull a walkthrough for those times when you don't freaking know what to do. This is specialy true for the last part of the game, where you go through the castle. I walked for minutes, evading the annoying scissor freaks and being able to find nothing, until the walkthrough told me I had to look into the candles.... sigh!...
In general the game idea is very good and the suspense/scare factor is very good too, unfortunately the game is very short too. Thes are the reasons why I gave it 4 stars.
In general:
Graphics: 6.5 (borrowed from RE2, not a big thing nowdays).
Sound: 7.5 (Music is good, but Special effects are also borrowed from RE series... no immagination here, lots of reuse).
Game Plot: 7.5 (Good enough to keep you interested).
Game Controls: 4 (A total mistake they made here).
Game Play: 8 (As I said nice scares and nice concept)
Scare Factor: 8 (Good enought to keep you tense, though they abuse sometimes and make you annoyed)
Overall: 8.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2004
Survival Horror is taken another step in this game and this time it is really trying to survive.
Instead of using weapons like the resident evil series, clock tower throws you into the same type of situations, without guns and ammo.
You use holy water as a weapon but it won't kill, it just stuns them giving you a little time to run away.
This game scared me at certain points with it's eerie music, the sound of an enemy nearby, hiding in lockers. I hated it when an enemy jumped out of the corner and attacked.
The cinema scenes can also be creepy and at times disturbing. I really don't recommend this for those who hate watching horror flicks or suspense movies with killings.
It's storyline is another plus, it keeps you going, with it's suspense. That's what kept me playing anyway.
So why did i give it 4 stars?
Well the game is just too short, it's only 4 levels long and there are 5 bosses. Another feature is the camera, you can't control it, sometimes that's good (for enemies jumping out corners) and bad.
If you like being scared this is a great game for you. But only buy it if you really enjoy the genre, because some may be disappointed for the shortness of this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2003
The first two Clock Tower games (on PS1) didn't reach many gamers due to several reasons (the first was one of the very earliest games and its "point and click" gameplay style didn't capture the public imagination. The second one sank pretty quickly too (not even released in Europe, so I never played it). Lets hope the same does not happen to the 3rd, because it's by far the best. Playing as a young schoolgirl Alyssa, you return to your family home to find it deserted and before you know it you are being chased through time and supernatural dimensions by crazed killers! First let me say that the graphics and animations throughout the game are superb. Its also one of the grisliest survival horror games I have played, I certainly didn't expect to see a little girl bludgeoned to death by a sledgehammer, or a sweet old lady drowned in an acid bath, but nothing is left to the imagination here. The big feature of playing the game is that Alyssa cannot attack any of the foes that chase her around the various levels, instead she must merely run away, or utilise various one-off escape manouveres that can only be actioned in specific few and far between locations. It sounds frustrating, but it actually works pretty well, and the panic of solving a puzzle whilst a maniac with an acid spray or giant scissors is breaking down the door to your room always provided plenty of entertainment for me!
Gamers who like a fighting challenge are also catered for however, as at the end of each level, Alyssa has to fight each maniac (a different serial killer is after her in each level) to the death. And it's here that the games difficulty suddenly shoots up. Much to my approval, the boss battles take a fair amount of strategy and keen reflexes, as opposed to the constant running and hiding of the main levels. And just when you think you've got the boss system down, if you make it through to the last stage, be ready for a pretty serious challenge in the final battle. The voice acting is very good (Alyssa and her family actually sound genuinely British!), and the locations and mad maniacs are all suitably horrific.
Sadly the game seems very short, and the areas that Alyssa explores are all quite small, although there are several stages to keep the player amused including a cemetary, a hospital, and an ornate castle.
The spirit of the first game has been kept intact, especially the sudden surprises of the killer leaping out unexpectedly at you, but everything is improved, although sadly there are no multiple endings like in the first game (only one here). I would certainly recommend this game, but it's not really a game for children due to the graphic murders on display. But for the rest of us, its good gruesome fun!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2003
Clock Tower 3 is definitely a fun game, for the most part, anyway. The graphics are great, but the game play has a few flaws.
The main character, Alyssa receives a letter at boarding school from her mother instructing her not to return home until she has turned 15. Naturally, Alyssa is disturbed by the message and, of course, returns home. What follows is a nightmare of serial killers, ghosts, and the mystery of the Clock Tower.
At first, I was very impressed with the game. The stunning CG animation in the intro movie thrilled me as well as the opening cinema itself. Beyond the first level, however, the game showed flaws, such as horrible lip-sync. The game's cinemas are like watching an old Japanese film with the voices dubbed right over the original. The voice acting for the most part was good, except for a few annoying characters such as Dennis (I hate him!)
Aside from the graphics, the game play itself left much to be desired. The controls were a bit unresponsive, especially if you tried to turn around quickly and the game's puzzles were a bit too easy to solve. Like I said, for the first few levels, it's scary, but things quickly become repetitive. The serial killers that chase after you (they're called Subordinates) are relentless, and I think that sort of adds a bit of variety to the game. The panic meter, well, sucks. You have no way of defending yourself except by throwing holy water at your assailant. They only have to hit you a few times before you freeze up with fear and then ultimately die because they kill you when you just stand there. Although it wasn't very hard to beat, there were times when I found myself screaming at the guy chasing me to just SHUT UP so I could think for a minute.
The story, on the other hand was excellent, although once again, only at first. Soon it gets lost in a bunch of stuff about Rooders and Subordinates and castles and stuff that makes you wonder how the game suddenly went from solving past murders to trying to kill your grandfather.
Ultimately, if you like 3-D survival/horror games reminiscent of Resident Evil or Silent Hill then you would probably enjoy this game. Also, if you, like me, just love games with awesome graphics (there's a story?) then you'd like this, too.
However, to most people I'd recommend a rental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2003
Clock Tower 3 is definitely a fun game, for the most part, anyway. The graphics are great, but the gameplay has a few flaws.
The main character, Alyssa recieves a letter at boarding school from her mother instructing her not to return home until she has turned 15. Naturally, Alyssa is disturbed by the message and, of course, returns home. What follows is a nightmare of serial killers, ghosts, and the mystery of the Clock Tower.
At first, I was very impressed with the game. The stunning CG animation in the intro movie thrilled me as well as the opening cinema itself. Beyond the first level, however, the game showed flaws, such as horrible lip-sync. The game's cinemas are like watching an old Japenese film with the voices dubbed right over the original. The voice acting for the most part was good, except for a few annoying characters such as Dennis (I hate him!)
Aside from the graphics, the gameplay itself left much to be desired. The controls were a bit unresponsive, especially if you tried to turn around quickly and the game's puzzles were a bit too easy to solve. Like I said, for the first few levels, it's scary, but things quickly become repetetive. The serial killers that chase after you (they're called Subordinates) are relentless, and I think that sort of adds a bit of variety to the game. The panic meter, well, sucks. You have no way of defending yourself except by throwing holy water at your assailant. They only have to hit you a few times before you freeze up with fear and then ultimately die because they kill you when you just stand there. Although it wasn't very hard to beat, there were times when I found myself screaming at the guy chasing me to just SHUT UP so I could think for a minute.
The story, on the other hand was excellent, although once again, only at first. Soon it gets lost in a bunch of stuff about Rooders and Subordinates and castles and stuff that makes you wonder how the game suddenly went from solving past murders to trying to kill your grandfather.
Ultimately, if you like 3-D surival/horror games reminiscent of Resident Evil or Silent Hill then you would probably enjoy this game. Also, if you, like me, just love games with awesome graphics (there's a story?) then you'd like this, too.
However, to most people I'd recommend a rental.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.