Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Game play and graphics are better than Silent Hill 3.
Clock Tower 3 has turned out to be everything that Silent Hill 3 was not. While Silent Hill 3 is certainly the scariest of the survival horror games around it lacked a cohesive story and did not seem to fit in with the series. CT3 for all intensive purposes is actually the game that SH3 was not. Why?
First of all CT3 boasts the best graphics seen on the PS2 to date...
Published on May 3 2004 by OverTheMoon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Scary, interesting, worth trying
Clock Tower 3 is definitely a fun game, for the most part, anyway. The graphics are great, but the game play has a few flaws.
The main character, Alyssa receives a letter at boarding school from her mother instructing her not to return home until she has turned 15. Naturally, Alyssa is disturbed by the message and, of course, returns home. What follows is a...
Published on Dec 16 2003 by gpop_guru


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Clock Tower 3 Review, July 18 2004
By 
A. Bay (Austin, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I really enjoyed this game, i played it with my sister cause i was so scared! Anyway, i thought it was scary and all but it didn't deserve 5 stars. Why? you ask. Well, i thought the game was to short.. it's only 4 levels and once i was engrossed i wanted it to keep going. Plus, the enemies that you fight agaisnt can get pretty annoying-- i swear i heard scissorwoman say "snickety-snap" about 20 times before I could run away from her. Also, I thought some of the plot was a little iffy.. I don't want to ruin the game for you so i will only tell you a little--- you find out that the clock tower is beneath Alyssa's house.. huh? Wouldn't you know if your house was built on top of a clock tower? Sorry to whomever didn't want to hear that.. I didn't ruin anything for you! (really i didn't :) ) Anyway, with those few things, i still loved it.. i thought it was great and if your in for a good scare it's the game for you. What i liked about it was how the enemies would jump out of nowhere when you least expected it, and also how the weapon isn't what you would normally expect. You use holy water to stun your enemies and kill moths (which turn out to be their helpers that find you for the bad guys) In the boss battles you use a bow and arrow to fight agaisnt them, it's very fun! I also liked how the noises really sounded like how they would in real life. Example, when you open a door or are walking on water it really sounds real, to get the player i.e. me more interested. I really enjoyed this game, and it's a game that you can play over and over again. Plus, once you finish it you are able to unlock what we call "the cinema" which is just a place you can go to to watch all the movies of the game. It's fun, it's scary and it's an overall great game. :)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Game play and graphics are better than Silent Hill 3., May 3 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Clock Tower 3 has turned out to be everything that Silent Hill 3 was not. While Silent Hill 3 is certainly the scariest of the survival horror games around it lacked a cohesive story and did not seem to fit in with the series. CT3 for all intensive purposes is actually the game that SH3 was not. Why?
First of all CT3 boasts the best graphics seen on the PS2 to date. While Heather in SH3 had some great moves, your eyes will pop out of your head when you see Alyssa's PANIC mode in full swing. Basically the game is a reminder of what was on offer with the original SH series or Resident Evil when you first played it, and follows the story of a young girl, Alyssa, who learns that something is going to happen on her birthday. She returns home and discovers something supernatural about herself and her new objective is to find her lost mother by discovering murdered corpses and returning items to the bodies before the ghost of the corpse can kill her. Killing Alyssa is not easy. She must first be shocked into a state of panic and then into a state of petrifaction before the final blow can be inflicted. This means that you must try and keep Alyssa calm as much as you can... and this is not easy when you visit places out of 19th century London in the dead of night or 17th century English castles populated with ghosts. So like most survival games Alyssa transverses various maps, picking up pieces, solving puzzles and trying to keep herself from being shocked into a blind panic (the screen goes crazy and Alyssa starts falling about the place making her a very easy target). However there is one thing that takes this game to the next level and that is the quality of the psycho bosses.
On every level a serial killer appears to hamper you in your journey. They all look insane and you must avoid their attacks by running, hiding or finding trigger spots that do something to them. At the end of every level there is a "Boss Fight" mode where you wield a bow and must bind the boss with electrical lighting bolts. These fight sequences are tough and unreal because the quality of the graphics is up there with the likes of Devil May Cry and Metal Gear Solid... but what more could we expect from great Capcom?
The cut sequences set a new standard for PS2 games, being the best around at the moment. Also the story is good but has some very shocking sequences that will blow your mind from time to time (Don't be so surprised if you see a kid getting a mallet to the head). The reason why I give CT3 an extra star over SH3 is simply because Capcom got the story and game play right. Although CT3 is certainly not as scary as SH3 and the sound is not quite as good as SH3, the graphics surpass it, the characters animations are sublime, the puzzles well done and most importantly, the game play was a lot of fun! Just avoiding the serial killers and running about the place was a hoot before finally taking the bad guys on at the end of every level. It is a scream of a game and totally whacked out in parts. I loved it!
Is this a five star game? Absolutely and this is definitely your thing IF you like survival horror. CT3 is a must have for any collection. It surpasses nearly every other survival horror game out there.
Pros:
(1)Excellent gameplay.
(2)Longer than most survival horrors.
(3)Best cut sequences to date.
(4)PANIC MODE!
(5)Graphics quality is unreal.
(6)BOSS FIGHTS!
Cons:
(1)Maybe a little more attack moves from Alyssa would not have gone amiss.
(2)Could have pushed the boundaries a little more in terms of HORROR.
(3)Not really a rental game because these survival horrors take awhile to get into.
(4)Silent Hill 2 may still be just as good as this one bar the quality of the graphics.
So my preference at this point in time in terms of Survival Horror is SH2 and CT3.
Now to try that new Resident Evil Outbreak to see how that pans out...
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating (annoying actually) at times, April 28 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I just finished the game and my overall impressin is that it is in general a good game. More into Suspense than Horror.
The nice things about the game is that, other than boss battles, it is not a shooting type of game where you are a hero just blasting all monsters around with uber weapons. Your only defence is a bottle of limited supply of holy water.
The annoying part is that sometimes you are just trying to find out about what to do when the damn killer shows up again and you have to run to your hiding place. This happens so much that there are times when you simply get very frustrated. The most annoying though not hard to hide from is the chopper.
Annotther annoying thing is the controls. Capcom made this game and it is pretty obvious that the reused the models from RE so why the hell not reuse the controls? Sometimes you change camera angles and you find yourself making a mistake and runing into a wrong direction. You get sort of used to after a while but it is certainly a bad design.
Now, what is also terribly annoying is when you die on a boss battle and you want to continue, then you will have to wait for the presentation of the boss again, why not put you right where it says "judgment"? Talk about bad game design.
I also found that I needed to pull a walkthrough for those times when you don't freaking know what to do. This is specialy true for the last part of the game, where you go through the castle. I walked for minutes, evading the annoying scissor freaks and being able to find nothing, until the walkthrough told me I had to look into the candles.... sigh!...
In general the game idea is very good and the suspense/scare factor is very good too, unfortunately the game is very short too. Thes are the reasons why I gave it 4 stars.
In general:
Graphics: 6.5 (borrowed from RE2, not a big thing nowdays).
Sound: 7.5 (Music is good, but Special effects are also borrowed from RE series... no immagination here, lots of reuse).
Game Plot: 7.5 (Good enough to keep you interested).
Game Controls: 4 (A total mistake they made here).
Game Play: 8 (As I said nice scares and nice concept)
Scare Factor: 8 (Good enought to keep you tense, though they abuse sometimes and make you annoyed)
Overall: 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I will never play it again., April 14 2004
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I absolutely hate this game. I gave it 4 stars because there's no denying that it's a good game, the graphics are astounding, and I give the makers props for doing something origional. I just don't like it. It's not really scary, just graphic. You see a child's head smashed in by a murderer right on the screen, which wouldn't bother me except that it's a child. They usually either don't kill children or turn the camera away at the moment it actually happens. Not in this game. The game gives you a severe adreneline rush. It's scary to have a huge man with a sledgehammer chasing after you in a house that you don't know and your only defense is a stupid little bottle of water and a single hiding space. I have two major gripes about the game. One: once a guy is chasing you, you go hide and he goes away. Fine. But then you have to go out and do something, you have absolutely no idea what you're supposed to do (I had to go online and find a walk-through or I never would have known what I was doing), and you don't know your way around the place, so you're frantically searching, while knowing that at any second the bad guy's gonna pop out and chase you back to your hiding place. It's annoying, and personally I don't like that tense, heart pounding feeling that it gives you. Second: It's just boring. It's kind of neat to see the different places and people and find things for the ghosts, but not that neat. And I thought it would be cool trying to piece together the mystery of how everything's connected, but I got over that real quick.
This is definitely a personal opinion, and the game is absolutely well made. But think carefully, cuz it's not like other games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Capcom's new nightmare, Jan. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Survival Horror is taken another step in this game and this time it is really trying to survive.
Instead of using weapons like the resident evil series, clock tower throws you into the same type of situations, without guns and ammo.
You use holy water as a weapon but it won't kill, it just stuns them giving you a little time to run away.
This game scared me at certain points with it's eerie music, the sound of an enemy nearby, hiding in lockers. I hated it when an enemy jumped out of the corner and attacked.
The cinema scenes can also be creepy and at times disturbing. I really don't recommend this for those who hate watching horror flicks or suspense movies with killings.
It's storyline is another plus, it keeps you going, with it's suspense. That's what kept me playing anyway.
So why did i give it 4 stars?
Well the game is just too short, it's only 4 levels long and there are 5 bosses. Another feature is the camera, you can't control it, sometimes that's good (for enemies jumping out corners) and bad.
If you like being scared this is a great game for you. But only buy it if you really enjoy the genre, because some may be disappointed for the shortness of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horror thats short but effective, Dec 31 2003
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
The first two Clock Tower games (on PS1) didn't reach many gamers due to several reasons (the first was one of the very earliest games and its "point and click" gameplay style didn't capture the public imagination. The second one sank pretty quickly too (not even released in Europe, so I never played it). Lets hope the same does not happen to the 3rd, because it's by far the best. Playing as a young schoolgirl Alyssa, you return to your family home to find it deserted and before you know it you are being chased through time and supernatural dimensions by crazed killers! First let me say that the graphics and animations throughout the game are superb. Its also one of the grisliest survival horror games I have played, I certainly didn't expect to see a little girl bludgeoned to death by a sledgehammer, or a sweet old lady drowned in an acid bath, but nothing is left to the imagination here. The big feature of playing the game is that Alyssa cannot attack any of the foes that chase her around the various levels, instead she must merely run away, or utilise various one-off escape manouveres that can only be actioned in specific few and far between locations. It sounds frustrating, but it actually works pretty well, and the panic of solving a puzzle whilst a maniac with an acid spray or giant scissors is breaking down the door to your room always provided plenty of entertainment for me!
Gamers who like a fighting challenge are also catered for however, as at the end of each level, Alyssa has to fight each maniac (a different serial killer is after her in each level) to the death. And it's here that the games difficulty suddenly shoots up. Much to my approval, the boss battles take a fair amount of strategy and keen reflexes, as opposed to the constant running and hiding of the main levels. And just when you think you've got the boss system down, if you make it through to the last stage, be ready for a pretty serious challenge in the final battle. The voice acting is very good (Alyssa and her family actually sound genuinely British!), and the locations and mad maniacs are all suitably horrific.
Sadly the game seems very short, and the areas that Alyssa explores are all quite small, although there are several stages to keep the player amused including a cemetary, a hospital, and an ornate castle.
The spirit of the first game has been kept intact, especially the sudden surprises of the killer leaping out unexpectedly at you, but everything is improved, although sadly there are no multiple endings like in the first game (only one here). I would certainly recommend this game, but it's not really a game for children due to the graphic murders on display. But for the rest of us, its good gruesome fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scary, interesting, worth trying, Dec 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Clock Tower 3 is definitely a fun game, for the most part, anyway. The graphics are great, but the game play has a few flaws.
The main character, Alyssa receives a letter at boarding school from her mother instructing her not to return home until she has turned 15. Naturally, Alyssa is disturbed by the message and, of course, returns home. What follows is a nightmare of serial killers, ghosts, and the mystery of the Clock Tower.
At first, I was very impressed with the game. The stunning CG animation in the intro movie thrilled me as well as the opening cinema itself. Beyond the first level, however, the game showed flaws, such as horrible lip-sync. The game's cinemas are like watching an old Japanese film with the voices dubbed right over the original. The voice acting for the most part was good, except for a few annoying characters such as Dennis (I hate him!)
Aside from the graphics, the game play itself left much to be desired. The controls were a bit unresponsive, especially if you tried to turn around quickly and the game's puzzles were a bit too easy to solve. Like I said, for the first few levels, it's scary, but things quickly become repetitive. The serial killers that chase after you (they're called Subordinates) are relentless, and I think that sort of adds a bit of variety to the game. The panic meter, well, sucks. You have no way of defending yourself except by throwing holy water at your assailant. They only have to hit you a few times before you freeze up with fear and then ultimately die because they kill you when you just stand there. Although it wasn't very hard to beat, there were times when I found myself screaming at the guy chasing me to just SHUT UP so I could think for a minute.
The story, on the other hand was excellent, although once again, only at first. Soon it gets lost in a bunch of stuff about Rooders and Subordinates and castles and stuff that makes you wonder how the game suddenly went from solving past murders to trying to kill your grandfather.
Ultimately, if you like 3-D survival/horror games reminiscent of Resident Evil or Silent Hill then you would probably enjoy this game. Also, if you, like me, just love games with awesome graphics (there's a story?) then you'd like this, too.
However, to most people I'd recommend a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Scary, interesting, worth trying, Dec 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Clock Tower 3 is definitely a fun game, for the most part, anyway. The graphics are great, but the gameplay has a few flaws.
The main character, Alyssa recieves a letter at boarding school from her mother instructing her not to return home until she has turned 15. Naturally, Alyssa is disturbed by the message and, of course, returns home. What follows is a nightmare of serial killers, ghosts, and the mystery of the Clock Tower.
At first, I was very impressed with the game. The stunning CG animation in the intro movie thrilled me as well as the opening cinema itself. Beyond the first level, however, the game showed flaws, such as horrible lip-sync. The game's cinemas are like watching an old Japenese film with the voices dubbed right over the original. The voice acting for the most part was good, except for a few annoying characters such as Dennis (I hate him!)
Aside from the graphics, the gameplay itself left much to be desired. The controls were a bit unresponsive, especially if you tried to turn around quickly and the game's puzzles were a bit too easy to solve. Like I said, for the first few levels, it's scary, but things quickly become repetetive. The serial killers that chase after you (they're called Subordinates) are relentless, and I think that sort of adds a bit of variety to the game. The panic meter, well, sucks. You have no way of defending yourself except by throwing holy water at your assailant. They only have to hit you a few times before you freeze up with fear and then ultimately die because they kill you when you just stand there. Although it wasn't very hard to beat, there were times when I found myself screaming at the guy chasing me to just SHUT UP so I could think for a minute.
The story, on the other hand was excellent, although once again, only at first. Soon it gets lost in a bunch of stuff about Rooders and Subordinates and castles and stuff that makes you wonder how the game suddenly went from solving past murders to trying to kill your grandfather.
Ultimately, if you like 3-D surival/horror games reminiscent of Resident Evil or Silent Hill then you would probably enjoy this game. Also, if you, like me, just love games with awesome graphics (there's a story?) then you'd like this, too.
However, to most people I'd recommend a rental.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Oct. 26 2003
By 
Michael J. Covino (Key West, Fl United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game-scary? It made me jump from time to time, when a 10 foot serial killer suddenly leapt out from nowhere screaming my name. But jumping as anyone would to a loud unexpected sound does not mean you are afraid. It just means you are alive and have reflexes. A clock buzzer can make someone do that.

No, it's a cool game. Fun. But not scary. First, the serial killers you find yourself eluding from in each level, is much too cartoonish to be anything scary. They looked like they came right out from a comic book strip. And their voices! I don't think I've heard voice-acting as laughable as the ones used in this game. They reminded me of the wicked witch of the east, "I'll get'chu my pretty, and yer little dog too." This didn't scare me-it more or less (made me mad). "Yeah, you wait you little ...," I found myself saying more than just a few times. Especially after working tirelessly trying to figure out some puzzle, and having my concentration disturbed by some clumsy idiot that sounds like he's been getting high on nitro helium for the better part of his life who just WILL NOT! leave me alone. Oomph, there goes ANOTHER controller against the wall.

Totally different platform from the first 2 Clock Towers. This game is like a little girl's dreamy bedtime story told by her aunt. The world of Clock Tower 3...is like the words of a fairytale erupting from it's parched pages, animating right before your eyes on the television screen. Even the music glitters: it makes one think of spiral staircases running the darkening depths of a Donjon tower. Or...a clock tower in this case.
The first level is widely appreciated: how the snow gently alights upon the scattered remains of a city that felt the full destructive effect of war, alive with the cries of the dead. And you, the sweet innocent girl from boarding school, are caught in the middle, walking the inactive streets, with only the sound of a piano calling you to. The hard key pounding notes is of a restless spirit too distraught to accept redemption, that you must alleviate before level completion.
The second level starts out really good too. But the rest of the game just got ridiculous. I'd let a kid play it.
The graphics have much improved since the previous 2 Clock Towers, and it entertains the viewer with scenes of a huge clock erupting from the roof of an old English Manor, parting the clouds as it rises; scenes that excites the heart with violent encounters with mass murderers, that will attack and open wide the flesh with their implements of torture; scenes that will dampen your mood as you see into peoples past lives-from a father at war to a young man tending to the needs of his blinded mother-in your search to alleviate the spirits that still cling to this earth, staggering the sphere that separates our world from the next, and reliving again the memory of the blade whence they were killed.
I bought the game because I collect anything pertaining to the horror genre, but for someone who isn't as fanatical as I am, who wants to experience genuine fear, then I suggest to you to rent this game. It's so short, anyway. If you want to experience genuine fear then Silent Hill 1 or 2 should benefit you better. Clock Tower 1 or 2, also, had it's moments. But this game here isn't scary at all (I guess it could be to some ladies out there; unfortunately, it takes more than this to scare a guy). But Silent Hill 2 made me hesitant to leave the house, which I wish I could say for Silent Hill 3. What is it with third games being the loose end in the chain, anyway? If it works in the first place, why change it?
Clock Tower 3: a fun, but unfortunately, not a horrific game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Overall great game..other than a few lil things..., Oct. 20 2003
This review is from: Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Okay, I'm a girl, who happens to get scared VERY easily. Which happens with most games I play. Resident Evil series, Silent Hill series etc...yep. And I have to say that this game is different than anything I've ever played.
So I DID see the first two games, only I don't remember much except being chased by a scissor man and knocking a shower curtain on him or something, so I can't compare these to the others...
Well, I played this game on a dare from my little brother, who knew it was scare me. Well....It did. But it wasn't the same kind of scare that I get from Resident Evil...it was...well...different. The first time I played I spent at least 30 minutes in a telephone booth waiting to find a strategy guide so I could figure out what to do.
It's a good game...it has plot...(Sure, I haven't beat it yet, but that's because I keep..umm getting scared...agh! so I haven't seen the end...yet) but I definatly got scared of it. I know people have beat it in one day, that's the only really bad thing about it, it's simple...that's not saying much though... it's not A LONG GAME!
Other than that, I thought that this game was great. Unlike a few other games I've played recently, the accents actually sound...somewhat believable...yes..somewhat...I've had enough of my brother chasing me around trying to sound British...the killer..people have unique voices as well...although they kind of can get on your nerves if it takes you a long time, like me, to figure out where to go next and you're forced to hide for long periods of time.
Like most games, the camera angles get a little messy at times, but if you've played Resident Evil or similar games, then you're probably already used to this little problem.
It kinda bugged me that you'd hide behind some stupid stuff...like...a fish tank...any killer in real life would be able to spot me if I hid behind a fish tank...Other than that it's a pretty decent game. If you're into running away and hiding from monsters and such, then you should definately check this game out. If you're into somehow finding a gun in an unreasonable setting and blasting the heads off zombies, (which I have nothing against...because I love RE and Silent Hill like games...^^) then try another game...because there's nothing like there here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2
Clock Tower 3 - PlayStation 2 by Capcom USA (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: CDN$ 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews