Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Moview
Consdiering the movie came out prior to Sept 11, 2001, the emotions and mood throughout the movie was incredibly well set. This is a MUST watch movie.
Published 5 months ago by Memphius

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get carried away here, folks.
All these five star reviews that, after the events of 9/11, call the film "haunting" and "important" and "before it's time." Yeah, it's definitely weird watching this movie knowing that it came out three years before the attacks. And it certainly does fit in with what's going on in the world these days.
However, from a cinematic...
Published on July 4 2004 by Danny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great Moview, Feb. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
Consdiering the movie came out prior to Sept 11, 2001, the emotions and mood throughout the movie was incredibly well set. This is a MUST watch movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pretty well done movie, May 29 2009
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
for me,this was a pretty good drama dealing with what would happen if
there was a major terrorist attack in the U.S.since 9/11,of course we
know what would happen,but this movie was made before that tragedy.it's
pretty well made,and fairly believable for the most part.there are some
moments which are a bit hard to believe,but those scenes are used
mostly to heighten the tension and further the story.there's some star
Power here including Bruce Willis,Denzel Washington,and Annette
Benning,but they all take a back seat to the story itself.at least i
thought they did.none of them overpowered the movie.in the end,i
thought the movie was well done,and more realistic than many movies
before it dealing with the the same subject matter.for me,The Siege is
a 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Let's not get carried away here, folks., July 4 2004
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
All these five star reviews that, after the events of 9/11, call the film "haunting" and "important" and "before it's time." Yeah, it's definitely weird watching this movie knowing that it came out three years before the attacks. And it certainly does fit in with what's going on in the world these days.
However, from a cinematic standpoint, this is no five-star film. The plot jumps around and is sometimes almost headache-inducing. The pace often meanders and Annette Bening is annoying. However, there are a few pretty good scenes; the best being when Denzel is trying to negotiate with a group of terrorists holding a city bus hostage. A couple other exciting moments, hence the three stars.
Please, don't believe the hype unless you want to be disappointed. But, if you want to see a sporadically entertaining sign-of-the-times film, "The Siege" is isn't a bad way to kill two hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Wag the Dog" drama, May 12 2004
By 
Ed "None" (Santa Barbara, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
Denzel should have gotten his oscar here. Scarily real scenario that almost played out three years later. Will be giving many copies of this to friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent portrayal of a possible reality, May 4 2004
By 
Seif (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Siege realistically portrays what the government is capable of under such extreme circumstances. Enveloped in a collective paranoid terror, citizens of New York City crouch and drop to the ground at the sound of a bus backfiring. The government responds by declaring martial law and breaking regulations: First, the US Army cannot be used against the American people, and second, the government cannot legally invade the privacy of its citizens. Although this movie was before the Patriot Act, which allows law enforcement agencies to gather information from emails and cell phones, the extent to which the Army goes in The Siege is far beyond the tenets of the Patriot Act.
Anyway, it is a great movie, and I cannot see why someone would find this movie racist. The Arab citizens are portrayed as normal people just like everybody else, and just because a movie contains a scene in which Arabs are sent to internment camps (en masse) does not mean that the creater of the film believes that this is correct.
As for the acting, every role was played superbly, although Elise was not very convincing...
And, in response to the person who said that they never really said why the terrorist cells were attacking, here is the answer, which anyone who is really paying attention should be able to grasp:
The U.S. secretly kidnaps a Muslim religious leader, which sparks terrorist attacks on the city of New York.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prophetic, May 3 2004
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
I don't have much to say other than that the movie is pretty rivetting and well made. It definitely was under-rated when it came out and is a MUST SEE for people today.
NY Times published an article today entitled: "2 Men Charge Abuse in Arrests After 9/11 Terror Attack" (May 3, 2004). The parallels are just scary: so much so that I almost immediately thought of this movie.
Read this article and you will understand what made this such a prescient, important movie then, and now more than ever.
Or worse yet, juxtapose this situation with the one in Iraq at Abu Gharib Prison and it only gets scarier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Updated Gettysburg Address, Feb. 26 2004
This review is from: Siege (VHS Tape)
I was expecting this to be, possibly like most, an action packed/explosive, short on storyline, film... But I was utterly surprised by it.
In my opinion, this film could only be deemed a propoganda piece if you do not believe or have no hope that someone with the same calibre as the Denzel Washington character exists today.
The messages throughout are captivating and believeable and are articulated without being overbearing, even though the film itself is a bit loud.
I was drawn to Tony Shalhoub's character far more than Denzel Washington's. He was far more interesting and superbly played by Mr Shalhoub; though Denzel Washington puts in another excellent performance in this film; as does Bruce Willis (and he is not a favourite of mine) Annette Bening was excellent as the CIA agent and her character left me wondering just how far she allowed her ideals control the decisions she made.
I would recommend this film to fans of Tony Shalhoub and Denzel Washington any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, Jan. 25 2004
By 
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
One night, I was at a friends' sleepover and his family got a brand-new DVD player (keep in mind, this was a few years ago when DVD players started selling like the bubonic plague...) and they bought a few DVDs that we were going to watch. The first one we happened to watch was 1998's "The Siege," starring Denzel Washington and directed by the talented Edward Zwick, best known for directing the epic "Glory," which also starred Washington, and the recent "Last Samurai." Both were grand epics with a moving story and a grand dose of acting talent and beautiful visuals. Now, "The Siege" is a different kind of film, but with the talent involved, this movie fell below my expectations.
Washington stars as "Hub," an FBI agent leading a team in finding the terrorists responsible for a series of bombings in New York. They often refer to them as "cells," which I am assuming as groups or an organization of some type; the film is never really clear what a "cell" is. Tony Shalhoub plays Frank, FBI partner and an American of Arab descent, and also feels threatened by the United States when The President sends a crazed general (Bruce Willis) to install martial law on New York, which causes every Arab-descented individual to be locked up, including Frank's son. Annette Bening plays a CIA spy attempting to crack the case and has some involvement as well...
I must say Edward Zwick still has his directorial flair for entertainment, but the screenplay could've used some serious modifications. The movie jumps around a lot without a clear focus. We also never really know WHY the Arabs are bombing New York in the first place. The acting in it isn't very good either... which is sad for me to say, because both Willis and Washington are fine actors. They seem like they're trying too hard in their roles. Bening was ok. Shalhoub is probably the best remembered actor out of all of them; he portrayed a sense of angst and rage for this crisis which unfortunately involves his son.
The movie also makes me a little upset because it portrays America in such a dark light. I know that my country is not perfect, but SERIOUSLY, I don't think OUR OWN COUNTRY WOULD DECLARE MARTIAL LAW ON A MAJOR CITY ON THE DROP OF A DIME, much less imprison every Arab-American just because they're Arab. This is one area that has bothered many reviewers here (i.e. claiming it's racist). I really can't make a judgement on that since it's not very clear in the film; we see the "good" side with Shalhoub's character, yet the Arab-Americans are being imprisoned without discussion. And Willis' character... he's an annoying twit. Is our military that pompous? The ending seemed really contrived and failed to solve any mysteries.
Overall, this was a disappointing film for me. It's not very clear what's going on. Sadly, this film came out before the Sept. 11 events that damaged our country, yet now it's selling more than before just because of the Arab/American conflict portrayed in it. I suggest only renting this one; it's an overrated film indeed. A waste of talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a Racist Film, Jan. 3 2004
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
As I am half Lebanese myself, I do not agree with the many claims that this movie is racist. First of all, it gives a glimpse of the Islamic and Arab community in New York City and shows some positive aspects of their culture, and second, the protagonist has a Lebanese partner. I think that many Arabs who did find this movie racist were more worried about the subject manner. Most Arabs living in America are very patriotic, often to the point where they hate seeing negative aspects of the American government as much as many European Americans. This was a movie which tried to show, in addition to terrorism, exactly what the American government is capable of when it feels threatened by a particular ethnicity or political persuasion; as exemplified by the internment camps which were created for Shiite Moslems and the scene where the suspected terrorist is tortured and shot. These acts were not an attempt by the movie-makers to say that they approve of it (if it were, I'm sure the Lebanese actor Tony Shaloub would not have had a part in it) but to show the extremities to which military officials can be driven. In the aforementioned internment camp scene a moment is even taken to address Arab pride, as Tony Shaloub's character throws his badge at Denzel Washington 's character and says, "Tell them I'm not their sand-ni**er anymore."
Those who want to criticize racist movies need only look to The Delta Force, or Rules of Engagement. But The Siege is a movie which truly takes all aspects of the terrorism issue into consideration, except perhaps what provokes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars B-Action Film Disguised as Thriller, Oct. 12 2003
By 
This review is from: The Siege (Widescreen) (DVD)
Hollywood has always liked playing with the heads of their audience and feeding off their fears. This film is no different. It works into people's fear of terrorism and - of course - the government, and especially the military. Not only does it present a cliche military commander, but a typical anti-military portrayal of servicemen in general. Its also extremely predictable, and I felt more bored than excited watching it. There were also a few moments where I rolled my eyes and thought to myself, "Yeah...right."
What also hurts it is all the unnecessary fluff added in, especially the romance between Denzel and Annete. When they oogle eye each other at the dance, you can't help but think, "Oh man, here we go!" The film has too much drama for some thing that could have been handled in a well, thought-out, satirical manner.
Wait for it to come on late at night on TNT before you watch it. You'll have the option of changing the channel, which is an option you will WANT to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Siege
Siege by Edward Zwick (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 11.98 CDN$ 10.37
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews