Customer Reviews


393 Reviews
5 star:
 (238)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important Detail
Lets just get one thing straight,In the details of the product, it claims that its just 2 disc's. There are not 2 disc's that come included in this package. The are 3 disc. the DVD version that comes with one dub. the Blu ray version with the streamline, original, and the remastered Japanese dub. and the bonus features on another Blu ray disc. worth noticing.
Published 6 months ago by Michael

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depth in anime...
To do the lengthy Akira graphic novel series complete justice would require a Peter Jackson-like effort in a series of movies. Nonetheless, this anime does a decent job of taking us into the world of Neo Tokyo. Much oif the overall story is missing, but I did love the direction of this film.
I saw this movie when it was first released in the US years ago and even...
Published on May 26 2004 by J. Ruth


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important Detail, Jan. 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Lets just get one thing straight,In the details of the product, it claims that its just 2 disc's. There are not 2 disc's that come included in this package. The are 3 disc. the DVD version that comes with one dub. the Blu ray version with the streamline, original, and the remastered Japanese dub. and the bonus features on another Blu ray disc. worth noticing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, Nov. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The item arrived very quickly and in excellent condition.

I had no idea what this movie was about besides that it was maybe one of the original anime movies that made it big outside of Japan. Anyway, my husband had requested it and so I bought it.

I thought it was very well done. I mean, who has the time to draw cells upon cells of pictures nowadays? No CGI's here. I don't think I will give a synopsis since that sort of information can be procured anywhere online (i.e. Wikipedia). All I can say is that it's very ...typical. I enjoyed watching it, just some parts I was scratching my head but then I realized it's fiction and it's meant to entertain though I did sense some anti-establishment undertones. I was also kind of shocked part way into the movie because one of the characters threw a few F-bombs. What?? In anime? Perhaps I'm too naïve.

I believe my husband liked it alright.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hallmark of Japanese Anime, Nov. 22 2013
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Few anime films are as groundbreaking, mystifying, or head-scratching as Akira. For years, it's been the benchmark which all other anime films are measured against. Its scope and ambition is far beyond most films, anime or otherwise, and it serves as a figurehead for mature, intellectual stories built on unique concepts that nobody has really ever attempted to replicate. Now we have the 25th Anniversary Edition on Blu-Ray, which could very well be called the definitive version of this wonderful classic.

Akira takes place in a dystopian Tokyo circa 2019, 31 years after a massive explosion decimated the city and triggered the onset of World War III. The city is rife with political corruption, civilian protests and biker gangs, one of which is the Capsules, led by a young boy named Kaneda. The Capsules are at war with a rival gang known as the Clowns, who they routinely battle for control of territory. During one particularly violent skirmish, young Capsule gang member Tetsuo is severely injured when he nearly runs over a young disfigured blue-skinned boy. Tetsuo's motorcycle explodes just before impact under mysterious circumstances. Military forces arrive at the same moment as the Capsule gang, and Kaneda witnesses Tetsuo being taken away for medical treatment. The disfigured boy, known as Takashi, is taken back to a secret military research facility that has been conducting experiments on he and two other children. The hospitalized Tetsuo begins to manifest telekinetic psychic powers brought on by his close encounter with Takashi, but he also experiences severe headaches and psychological trauma in the process. Tetsuo escapes the hospital and begins to manifest antagonistic and antisocial behavior, the former of which is directed at his close friend and rival Kaneda. When Tetsuo is captured by the same military forces that took Takashi, Kaneda sets out to find Kei, a young woman who is part of an underground revolutionary group with knowledge of the dangerous experiments being conducted by the military, led by the gruff Colonel Shikishima and his aid, Doctor Onishi. The two launch a daring break-in to find Tetsuo, who has become more unstable as his powers grow beyond comprehension. Tetsuo learns of the existence of a being called 'Akira,' who may hold the answers to his terrible psychological trauma. Disregarding his friends, Tetsuo launches a one-man campaign against the military to learn the secret of Akira, no matter the cost. While the military scrambles to stop Tetsuo's horrible rampage through Tokyo, Kaneda decides to confront him one-on-one, which only fleshes out his inferiority complex more. This, combined with his growing psychic powers makes Tetsuo a massive, uncontainable threat that could spell a repeat of the same disaster that took place 31 years before.

What a fascinating film! Akira succeeds on so many levels that it has become one of the pillars of sci-fi cinema. To this day, the detailed artwork and visuals are nothing short of awe-inspiring, and only films like "Ghost In The Shell" have managed to approach its level of detail and inspiration. The sprawling cityscapes of Neo Tokyo are an artist's dream come true, both beautiful to behold, yet ominous in the fact that they represent a society teetering on the brink of total upheaval. Several themes run through the story at high pressure, including the dangers of genetic manipulation, political corruption, lack of military restraint, class wars, and social divisions between governments and their citizens. The story zooms in closer, however, and puts the human psyche under a mesmerizing microscope. Tetsuo is a multi-layered character who suffers from feelings of inferiority thanks to consistent abuse throughout his childhood. Though he is desperate for acceptance, Tetsuo's friends, particularly Kaneda, frequently belittle him for being the smallest and weakest of the group. This amplifies his rage and anger, distorting reality, and masking the heartbreaking truth of just how much he is actually loved by his friends. "What-if" questions abound as to the nature of what one would do if such tremendous psychic powers were suddenly bestowed upon a person, and how their psychological standing would affect their handling of the situation. Akira is a difficult movie to understand. Most people will throw up their hands in complete confusion after their first initial viewing, and unless they watch it a few more times, they will never quite grasp the heavy weight of the story, or the message behind it. The film's ambitious storyline is mind-boggling in every aspect, with no direct center plotline to drive it. As such, viewers need to keep their eyes and ears open, and never look away even for a moment. Dare I say, Akira is best viewed as a singular experience devoid of any distractions. If you like to watch movies with a group of friends who are prone to chatter, or have short attention spans, do NOT watch this film with them. Do it on your own. Let it sink in. Appreciate it for the work of sheer genius that it is. You will never see anything like it, and I doubt you ever will again.

The 25th Anniversary edition gets it right on the very first shot by including the Kodnasha and Pioneer English dubs of the film. I don't care what anyone says; the 1988 Kodnasha English dub starring Cam Clarke is the definitive and superior version of the two. The 2001 Pioneer dub (created for the tin-case DVD special edition) attempted to sound more contemporary in its translation, but has frequently been denounced as an inferior attempt by purists, who instantly cried foul. There's a reason: it's just not as good. The only drawback is that Kodnasha's Dub is presented in a meager Dolby TrueHD 2.0 format, while Pioneer's gets the TrueHD 5.1 (blah!). From an audiophile's standpoint, however, both dubs pale in comparison to the thundering Dolby TrueHD 5.1 Japanese track, which overshadows both with spectacular 192kHz fidelity. Akira has never sounded better, but if you're a subtitle Nazi, then you'll probably settle for an English dub. Just make sure to make it Kodnasha's version.

Don't argue.

The Blu-Ray restoration process is beautiful, make no mistake. The picture has been cleaned up tenfold from previous releases, and the new color balance is rich and inviting. Akira was never intended to be a "sharp" picture, but you'll be hard-pressed to see it look better anywhere else. This release also tosses out the picture-box effect that plagued the last Blu-Ray release in 2009. Get ready for true widescreen immersion this time 'round. When it comes to bonus features, this release is respectable, focusing largely on a handful of featurettes, most notably one that focuses on the 2001 remastering process. Then there's the obligatory storyboards, trailers and TV spots, etc. It's worth noting that a few of the Special Edition DVD extras have been axed for this release, which is a bit confusing. In short, there's little in the way of "new" material for such a landmark anniversary release. You do get a DVD copy of the film, for whatever reason you'd need one. Akira has always been about Akira, however; the movie itself. Special features are never going to be nearly as fascinating as the actual movie, and that's a testament to its iconic status. Only a handful of anime films can claim to come close to Akira's pedigree (most notably "Ghost In The Shell"), and even fewer non-animated films can manage the same. If you're one of the few sci-fi nuts who hasn't seen this masterpiece, then there's never been a better time to pick it up. The only people who wouldn't be fascinated by Akira are those with horrid attention spans, shallow imaginations, or the foolish who think that it's "just a stupid cartoon." Don't worry, we won't try to change your mind. It's your loss entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depth in anime..., May 26 2004
By 
J. Ruth "jsruth" (Piscataway, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To do the lengthy Akira graphic novel series complete justice would require a Peter Jackson-like effort in a series of movies. Nonetheless, this anime does a decent job of taking us into the world of Neo Tokyo. Much oif the overall story is missing, but I did love the direction of this film.
I saw this movie when it was first released in the US years ago and even today I still fondly recall those flashback scenes of Tetsuo and Kaneda growing up together, best friends always, yet doomed to their tragic conflict.
I'm the kind of fan who always opts to watch anime in the original Japanese with English subtitles. You get more of the intended emotions from the voice actors that way I find.
Past editions of Akira in English were down right boring because of the dubbing. The new edition is better, but I still prefer to watch it in Japanese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sigh, change CAN be good, Nov. 16 2001
I got the Limited Edition Tin within the first week of it's release. Well, to say the least it was worth my money and then some and unlike many of my DVD's don't collect dust.
The picture is just incredible. There were a couple scenes where the reds were slightly too bright but it was not so obvious that it detracted from my viewing of the movie. This is an entirely hand drawn animation that is still more detailed than anything Disney or even Pixar supplies us today and it was treated with the dignity it deserved.
Japanese Audio is always the way to go. I wish they had remixed it in the Dolby 5.1 but unless you have an elaborate entertainment system setup it isn't that signifigant. Just would have been a nice treat. Voices were PERFECT. It just all fit perfectly. I love the Japanese voice for Tetsuo, he just had that perfect, insane, but you still feel for him to a certain extent, something that I felt was lost in the English translation.
English Audio: Um... how does anyone miss that crap of a job dub done in '88? Masaru sounded like my grandfather for crying out loud, the girlfriends of Kanada's biker gang have thick Jersey accents, Kaneda sounds like he's 30ish and it goes on (I won't even begin to mention that it was the FIRST dub that screwed up the japanese script, not vice versa!). And this is exactly what people complain about. I've heard a lot of people complain about the new voice of Kaneda because he sounds too young. Did everyone forget that Kaneda and Tetsuo are in the age ranger of 14-17? They are supposed to sound young! Same problem came up with the kids.... in the Japanese script I hate to say it but the numbers do sound like small children. No heavy accents, when I put on the subtitles with the dub to see how well they matched, it was remarkably close to the original script. Goodness forbid this movie wasn't confusing enough to understand without the script being screwed up.
Extras: The menu was simple yet elegant with the motorcycle theme. (who wouldn't want Kaneda's bike?) And the capsule mode was interesting since I have always wondered what some of the writing says here and there. Documentaries and restoration features are nice for those who really enjoy seeing how painstaking the art of animation is. There is an index to all the terms in the movie and Manga for those who want to learn a little more or didn't quite get a certain part. Probably the best set of extras ever seen in an anime DVD.
Movie: I won't review it, there are plent of others right behind me and anything I say is redundant. You will most likely either love it, hate it, or simply not understand it. A classic in my book, heavily overrated by others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional new movie, with an exceptional new dub, Oct. 26 2001
This review is from: Akira (Widescreen) (DVD)
First of all, this is a top-notch anime worthy of its title. Now, for all of you out there that miss your original dub let me say this: your original dub was garbage. There was a reason that Pioneer did a new dub cause any novice anime fan could see the vast flaws in it. On a side note, if you did not know, this original dubbing was soo bad, that it was responsible for the fansubbing movement that is still alive today, and Kaneda is pronounced, kah-neda unlike on the original dub; a funimation dbz dub is much better than this was. Moving on, the original japanese track is superb and the restoration of this movie makes it almost flawless. A top-notch movie. I recommend you buy it for the original japanese track, but if you like to watch anime dubbed, this new track is very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About the 2-disc DVD set, July 28 2001
This review is from: Akira (Widescreen) (DVD)
The 2-disc DVD set of AKIRA surpasses in many ways even the excellent Criterion's laserdisc edition from 1992. The brand-new video transfer is noticeably better: colors, especially the primary reds and greens, look more brilliant, flesh tones are more realistic, and there is a bit MORE picture at the bottom (in particular, the shot at time 1:16:23 reveals part of Kaneda's crouching body that was not seen on old transfers). The 5.1 English track, though not state of the art, is highly active and satisfying. The new English dub and subtitles are better written and spoken, making the characterizations more real and the story more comprehensible. In the scene where the colonel meets the senator (Chapter 8), the old English dub had the senator sounding concerned and supportive. On the new dub, he sounds cold and indifferent, in keeping with his subsequent body gesture of fiddling with his plants. The new dub also has characters speaking in correct pitches -- Kei's voice is now lower, and Masaru no longer sounds like an old man, but like a child, just like on the Japanese track. Also welcomed are the correct pronunciations of Japanese names: AH-kee-ra, KAH-nee-dah, KAH-oh-ri. Last but not least, the new dub makes more frequent uses of strong language to enhance reality. The DVD supplements include interviews of the voice actors for the new dub, who certainly deserve to be mentioned.
Here is one thing that this DVD pales in comparison to the Criterion LD. The LD included still-frames of the entire first issue of the original Akira comic novel. It is a shame that this DVD does not include even one screen shot of the actual comic strips that inspired this movie (it does include shots of the COVERS of the comic novels) just to benefit those who have never seen them or do not own the LD.
Other DVD supplements include an excellent 48-minute making-of documentary (the Criterion LD had excerpts of it). It has plenty of behind-the-scenes footage: artists drawing pencil tests, actors recording their lines, musicians composing a score with wood xylophones, photographers taking shots of finished "cels". We are told that it was not the norm in Japanese animation films to record the dialogs before drawing the pictures, as it was done for AKIRA. The youthful director Katsuhiro Otomo appears in his own 30-minute interview segment (not on the LD), where he recalls various processes of making the Akira comics and the Akira movie, and speculates on what he will do next. Yet another half-hour segment, "Akira Sound Clips", explains how the movie's score was conceptualized and recorded. The most prized supplement on the DVD is perhaps the mammoth collection of the film's storyboards, character designs, and background designs. The storyboards, done by Otomo himself, are the most meticulously designed ones I've ever seen; each of them is denoted with Scene/Cut number (under "S" and "C" on the left), notes, dialogs, and time of duration of the shot. To help locating a storyboard among the 4500 of them, the printed chapter index is cross-referenced with Scene/Cut numbers of its corresponding storyboards. Rather disappointing is a short featurette that tersely describes the new video transfer of the DVD with only interviews of 3 technicians and no demonstration of the restoration by way of before-and-after comparisons.
There is also an interesting feature called "capsule option". When it is enabled, a capsule icon pops up on the screen from time to time while the movie is playing, and when you activate the icon, the screen pauses and shows you English text translation of the Japanese words on the screen -- traffic signs, graffitis, postings, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for sci-fi/anime lovers, Nov. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An awesome HD remastered release. The story is ahead of its time and absolute mind-blowing. A must have for any collector or fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Original dubing is included !, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The one from 1988.
- You're king of the hill now ? Too bad it's garbage !

Ah ! I felt 16 again, watching it for the first time on the big screen. The movie itself has aged surprinsingly well.
Totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC !, Aug. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Akira (2012 edition) (DVD)
That was all that I wanted. This is an animation classic, a prequel to all that was done to date. I've putted this in my dvd as soon as I received it. Long life to AKIRA !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Akira (Widescreen)
Akira (Widescreen) by Katsuhiro Ohtomo (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 67.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews