Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Monty's Best Films
I'm a Montgomery Clift fan, and From Here to Eternity was in my opinion one of his best performances. He was at the height of his career, and the power of his personality really comes through. The tragic ending is the only reason I won't give this movie a five out of five stars.
Published 20 months ago by D. Nilsson

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Wretched Transfer
I consider myself to be a BIG fan of 'From Here To Eternity' but no DVD has disappointed me more. Artifacts are apparent throughout, especially with this being black & white stock. How bad? It looks like it's snowing in Hawaii for crying out loud! This film needs & deserves extensive restoration. If you want to see a great B&W transfer of a film from the same genre I'd...
Published on Feb. 25 2002 by ctg


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Monty's Best Films, Nov. 12 2012
By 
D. Nilsson (Edmonton, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm a Montgomery Clift fan, and From Here to Eternity was in my opinion one of his best performances. He was at the height of his career, and the power of his personality really comes through. The tragic ending is the only reason I won't give this movie a five out of five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4 2014
Excellent product, delivered as promised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Sinatra stole the show, Nov. 17 2013
By 
R. Pellettier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) (DVD)
Sinatra's Maggio won a best supporting actor Emmy and the movie got best picture for 1953. This movie deserved the 8 Emmys, not like 2012's "best picture" Argo. (What a joke - and an embarrassment to Canadians!) The plot takes place in Honolulu at an army base just before the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbour. It revolves around Clifton Montgomery, a transferree who refuses to join the base's boxing team, and Burt Lancaster, the base staff sergeant who romances the commander's bored wife. It's a complex movie, and a must see to appreciate how good movies were during the 1950s, before TVbecame mass produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, Wretched Transfer, Feb. 25 2002
By 
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) (DVD)
I consider myself to be a BIG fan of 'From Here To Eternity' but no DVD has disappointed me more. Artifacts are apparent throughout, especially with this being black & white stock. How bad? It looks like it's snowing in Hawaii for crying out loud! This film needs & deserves extensive restoration. If you want to see a great B&W transfer of a film from the same genre I'd recommend 'In Harm's Way'. True FHTE is one of AFI's top 100 but it seems Columbia/Tri-Star shoved another classic out the door with sheer contempt for film buffs. ('On The Waterfront' DVD was another poor effort by CTS released at the same time). This studio has continually proven that they are not concerned with film preservation, only profits motivated by corporate greed. Alas, Prewitt & Maggio deserved a better fate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aspect Ratio, anyone?, Oct. 22 2001
By 
"fmraaphorst" (Voorburg Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) (DVD)
Finally, another classic is released on DVD. But not in it's original format - this is a fullscreen edition. Where is the widescreen version of the film? Why are movie fans continuously short-changed when it comes to classic movies? Five stars for the film itself, one star for the DVD. Pathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film - Poor Release, Sept. 28 2001
By 
J. R. Holden "USMC Veteran" (Weston, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) (DVD)
Why go to all the trouble of releasing a great classic filim, without providing it in Widescreen format????? There is no reason anyone should purchase this DVD, if you already own a good quality VHS edition. The "extra materials" are not worth the price, if you don't get the complete movie!!!!! I refuse to purchase any film on DVD that is not provided in Widescreen format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Peacetime Classic !, Dec 20 2003
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (VHS Tape)
"From Here to Eternity" is a Hollywood classic. It may be the finest film ever about the military in peacetime. The background is Schofield Barracks, Hawaii in the Fall of 1941. That was the old "brown boot" Army! This reviewer is a Vietnam era vet, so I can't address the realism of the setting. Judging by the crisp dialog and snappy khaki uniforms, I'm giving the director the benefit of any doubt. I always thought it fascinating that an Austrian born Director could be at the helm of such classics as "High Noon" and FHTE -in consecutive years no less. What did Mr. Zinnemann know of the Old West or the American Army? The male lead is Burt Lancaster as First Sergeant Warden, a tough but fair NCO that any enlisted man would want for his "top". The second male lead is Private Prewitt, played by Montgomery Clift. Prewitt is a top bugler who isn't allowed to bugle and a top boxer who reuses to box for the company team! How that automatic conflict plays out is the heart of the movie. Another conflict is between Frank Sinatra, a happy go lucky but harmless enlisted man who trouble seems to follow and an evil Ernest Borgnine, the top MP at the Schofield stockade. Their "dispute" plays out too, with Clift a surprise key figure in its' "resolution". This reviewer believes that far too much attention has been lavished on the affair between Lancaster and Deborah Kerr, the wife of the Company Commander. I found it hard to swallow that any serious career man would run around openly with an officer's wife. Lancaster was one step away from a bust down to the lowest private and a trip to the stockade. The real female star here was Donna Reed, a bar "hostess' who would be a prostitute in real life. Her sensitivity toward Clift produces some of the best scenes in FHTE. Someone must have agreed because Donna walked off with the Best Supporting Actress Oscar- and promptly fainted after receiving it. The interplay between Lancaster/Kerr and Clift/Reed caused some huge challenges for the Director in making the bawdy best selling novel "clean" for the silver screen in the still conservative, prudish America of 1953. FHTE also contains some of the sharpest dialog and one liners this reviewer can remember. Two favorites: "Never disturb a man when he's drinking" (Lancaster) and "No one lies about being lonely"(Clift). In addition to Reed, Oscars were awarded for Best Picture, Director, Screenplay, Film Editing, Cinematography and Supporting Actor, (Sinatra). The last two are important: FHTE revived Frank's career. Many believe that "pressure" was applied to Harry Cohn and Columbia Pictures to hire Sinatra. Do we remember the "horses head in the bed" scene from Godfather I? Others claim that his then wife, Ava Gardner, supplied the "influence". Finally FHTE is yet another example of why black and white classics should not be colorized. If there is such a thing as "beautiful black and white", it is this one. ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Convincing First Sergeant, Dec 12 2002
By 
Peter Kenney (Birmingham, Alabama, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (VHS Tape)
This is a case of an outstanding movie being adapted from a great book.
FROM HERE TO ETERNITY presents a realistic portrait of army life in Hawaii immediately before the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor. The film features strong performances by Burt Lancaster, Deborah Kerr, Frank Sinatra, Donna Reed, Ernest Borgnine and Montgomery Clift. An extremely competent supporting cast includes Jack Warden, Philip Ober and Mickey Shaughnessy.
Burt Lancaster makes a convincing first sergeant. One who is running the show and is full of knowledge about how the army really works. He also has good instincts when it comes time to act as he demonstrates in the showdown with the sadistic "Fatso" played by Ernest Borgnine. Borgnine himself is exceptional in his most famous impersonation of a villain.
Frank Sinatra definitely deserves his Oscar in the role of the defiant Maggio. However, after seeing Lee Marvin play a drunk it is hard to appreciate any other actor's attempt compared with Marvin's portrayal in PAINT YOUR WAGON.
FROM HERE TO ETERNITY was a relatively low-budget production but it still managed to receive five Academy Awards and eight nominations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, so-so DVD, March 24 2004
By 
Tyler Tanner (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) (DVD)
While the digital transfer is good and I enjoyed the movie for the first time without all the white noise and sound pops, all the special features that it boasts are disappointing.
For people who enjoy classic movies, you really can't do better than this. The movie is able to stand well enough on it's own without really needing these "features" to back it up and I recommend this DVD version only for that reason.
However those who love collectors edition DVD's, especially ones on Oscar flicks may feel slighted. There are two lackluster featurettes. One being a "Making Of" that is more or less a rehash of the production notes found inside of the case. The other focusing on Fred Zinneman, the movie's director, is slighlty more interesting. But both have more footage of the film itself than behind the scenes and both run under ten minutes. What they should have done was combine the two. The Commentary by the son of the director also leaves much to be desired. The only reason why I harp on these is that I know what Columbia is capable of doing better. Take a look at "Lawrence of Arabia" and "Bridge on the River Kwai"
However, I'm glad I got this and recommend it despite my gripes. Just be aware of the its shortcomings. It's a great film that speaks for itself and after having the DVD for a few years now, I still find myself taking this off the shelf from time to time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Superbit waste, Nov. 1 2003
By 
w.brown (Frisco, Tx. United States) - See all my reviews
Yes, it's a good film but why release it in a Superbit version? It is filmed in full sceen (4x3), in black & white, and with a mono (DTS yet) soundtrack. This film certainly rates a dvd release with extras and all but to do a Superbit version? It's a total waste of the technology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From Here to Eternity (Bilingual)
From Here to Eternity (Bilingual) by Fred Zinnemann (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews