Customer Reviews


251 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We've Witnessed A Birth!
"Star Trek The Motion Picture" is always harshly criticised for being bland and lacking in action,but that's not what
Star Trek is all about.The first Star Trek movie is a STORY-
it's about an Earth space probe that merges with a machine
lifeform and itself comes to life.But still it wishes to return
to Earth to join with it's creator.Even if...
Published on April 17 2004 by Andre' S Grindle

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT WAS HE THINKING?!
I'm probably going to hack a few people off but...
I grew up with this movie; both the theatrical release and the "Special Edition" Laserdisc. (God, I'm old) This is ALMOST my favorite movie. Having watched this movie so much and having studied all the character development in it, some might say this makes me bias.
If you don't mind having dialog removed; scenes...
Published on June 1 2004 by Moknbyrd


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHAT WAS HE THINKING?!, June 1 2004
By 
Moknbyrd (Gardendale, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
I'm probably going to hack a few people off but...
I grew up with this movie; both the theatrical release and the "Special Edition" Laserdisc. (God, I'm old) This is ALMOST my favorite movie. Having watched this movie so much and having studied all the character development in it, some might say this makes me bias.
If you don't mind having dialog removed; scenes switched around; and generally questionable editing for the sake of time and new special effects, then you'll love this version.
I was VERY disappointed in the "Director's Edition". Don't get me wrong. The new special effects; WONDERFUL; like the new San Francisco scene. Cleaning up the visuals; EXCELLENT. I even overlooked what he was trying to do with the music.
I am, however disappointed because the director took a perfectly fine movie, (the Original "Special Edition") and BUTCHERED it. Granted, it's his movie. He can do what he wants. I just wish he'd have asked folks like me before he took a blade to it.
Scenes, which gave this film such character development, were cut out. Background noise showing what might be "real life" on a Starship, edited out. The noise level in the new version is almost like a morgue. The energy and tension you feel, while the crew is preparing the Enterprise against an impossible deadline, is non-existent.
The computer translation, of the Klingon language transmission at Epsilon 9, was edited out.
Little shots that gave this movie feeling were edited out. Such as, the shot of Uhura, staring in disbelief at the view screen, and Kirk having to REPEAT HIMSELF to turn the, "Viewer off!" to shake her from the horror she had just witnessed, was edited out.
The snip of Kirk blowing off McCoy saying, "Get out of here, Bones" was edited out. Kirk was ignoring what he'd done to get this new position. He wanted to ignore what he should face.
A scene showing the absolute power Ilea, as a Deltan, has over the human male, with Sulu stumbling all over himself, was cut out.
A shot of Ilea, staring longingly toward the turbo-lift door, as Sulu is trying to get her attention, was cut out. This scene showed how she was dealing with seeing Decker again, without having to utter a word. GONE.
While Kirk and Bones are talking to Spock in the lounge, the Director STUCK a CGI warp engine in the background. It looks amateur.
The editing on the Enterprise fly-over was poor.
The editing on the V-Ger fly-over was poor. I could go on.
And with ALL the stuff done to this version and the big deal made over this thing, the director still, STILL didn't fix the arm bands on Spock's and McCoy's jackets, in the last scene on the bridge. Apparently during a break in shooting, Nimoy and Kelly got their jackets mixed up.
I know a FEW people who like this, but not many.
Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We've Witnessed A Birth!, April 17 2004
By 
Andre' S Grindle "Funk Meister" (Bangor,ME.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Star Trek The Motion Picture" is always harshly criticised for being bland and lacking in action,but that's not what
Star Trek is all about.The first Star Trek movie is a STORY-
it's about an Earth space probe that merges with a machine
lifeform and itself comes to life.But still it wishes to return
to Earth to join with it's creator.Even if along the way 'V'Ger'
destroys a few spaceships and "absorbes" two Enterprise crew
members it's inttentions are good.Most of the movie revolves around the Enterprise's journey through the emmence V'ger vessel and the problems it encounters.So it's the only Trek
movie that's rated G-it comes off as more dialog then action
but for those with an open mind and an interest in great
stories this will be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but only this and Kahn show Kirk as he was, March 28 2004
By A Customer
The second film was of course the best, The Wrath of Kahn. But the first film, which is rather slow, at least shows us a thin, robust, and intense Kirk, just like the old days. By Star Trek 3 Kirk was starting to slow down and lose his intensity, and it was his intensity for me, which really made the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wise "completes" his film 20 plus years later, Feb. 15 2004
By 
D. O'Neill "Brunt, FCC" (La Verne, CA: Planet Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
To be fair, this is not a horrible film. In fact, while the original theatrical edition did have it's flaws -it was cold, and emotionaless, this DVD "director's cut" helps establish why the film only worked part of the time. Robert Wise, with 20 plus years behind him, can now look back and see his film in a different light. But, no matter what tweaking you do, you still cannot change the story, which was bland and done before. The script is weak in many area's, but that weakness could've been overlooked had the producers tried to keep the chemistry between Shatner, Nimoy and Kelly going, just like the TV series. Trek has proven that when your charatcers are more 3-dimensional, the silly story works. In The Motion Picture though, the characters are treated like estranged relatives. Had they taken the essance of the roles, as was done in Trek II, and made them what they were -friends -this movie would've worked better. The new version is slightly better, as Wise has had a chance to "finish" his film. Caught between the success of Star Wars and Paramount's aborted 4th network attempt, The Motion Picture was fast tracked to get it ready for Christmas 1979. The thing was, the script was mess, the director had not worked on such a heavy effects ladden film before and the visual effects themselves were untested. Mix these altogether, and you got what you got. The new DVD offers us some "enhanced", CGI effects. Wise gives us a detailed reason in the commentary track, on how and why these effects were added. He also goes into great detail on the point of the story, which he admits was one of the films flaws. It's brave when a director can go back and see and tell where his film went off the tracks. The film is still a snoozer, but I've always had a soft spot for this film. I don't mind the endless scenes of V'jer and the great amounts of no dialogue that goes with those scenes. Wise has almost saved his own film. And for that, I recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning: Not for the weak of mind, Jan. 20 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
This is a great Trek film, despite what most critics say. The movie does a wonderful job of linking the original show to the movie franchise that we all know and love. The special effects are outstanding, the cast performs brilliantly, and the plot is deep and interesting. Not for an audience craving hardcore action, phaser shootouts, and great battle scenes. This film takes a more intellectual position and does Star Trek a great justice. Granted, there are several scenes that invite you to just sit back and enjoy a graphically-charged sensefest, and these could have been made shorter. They don't, however, detract from the effect of this film, and I truly believe that TMP belongs in the list of greater Trek movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is the edition to watch, June 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
Director's Edition is the one to watch for the newer special effects sequences and restored scenes and cut of the film. While certainly not as action packed as other Star Trek's, especially the newer JJ Abrams versions, this first movie of the original cast is a thinking person's Trek and makes you contemplate what it is to be human, and the value of emotion, wonder and curiosity as both Spcok and V'Ger discover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a classic sci fi movie memorable as a classic, April 23 2013
By 
Anthony Marinelli "marilread" (toronto on canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
What can we make of this film so many years later. If today we see this film as not memorable as a cinematic experience its effect on cinema and the movie experience is still something to think of? I recall when this film first came out around christmas of 1979..christmas with the christmas tree, snow, the holiday season and the film like the end speaks of a birth, a mystical birth which is at the heart of the film. The film was promoted like no other by Paramount, I recall coming to my home the glossy and expensively produced circulars and pamphlets and I also recall the fotonovels and novelizations. The studio went to some expense hoping to spur fan interest and the fans came out for the first film, and a few others, but it was not that successful. Its important in film industry for really changing the way films were produced like Star Wars with its emphasis on special effects. A story being told through visuals, and much money expended and often dialogue is written around the visuals. Another way and more important sense that films were changed was that many old TV shows were made into films, and I think it was this film which started this trend and this film was the most successful as it was future oriented so its ethos can be maintained situated in the future the other shows were in the past, of a different ethos, and the new films could not recreate the past in the present, they were ok but somehow it didnt gel? Maverick was an exception..but this industry was spurred by this film..a classic. CReator gene roddenberry who wrote a novelization was not always the best writer of the series..and after thirteen or so TV shows a new producer writer was hired and the show was rejigged and much successfully away from his creation..another creation of his is STar trek the next generation which is quite a different idea than the majority of shows under a subsequen tproducer. So here we have the Star Trek the next generation creator, and the first 13 or so episodes of the old show..bringing back his original show and trying to create a classic like Metropolis, Things to Come, 2001 A Space Odyssey..which are classics! The other films which suceeded this one are serials like Flash GOrdon(Buster CRabbe)..if we recall the old serials with continuing shows more on this later. Here we have a classic a philosophical speculation derivative of a few old shows and sprinkled with a new storyline as the cast is reassembled and Earth is in jeopardy as an object is about to destroy imperfections on earth..and mysticism..being one with the creator fusion with the ultimate and a sense of fulfillment and why did the audience not particularly like the film and the results less than expected? Since they went back to the first thirteen shows..and largely though I like this film and have watched it numerous times, and like Things to COme it is a film with man and his destiny as its subject, and in a way it seems written with this kind of film in view with its didactic qualities, imperfect present society and how we can find fulfillment but here man's fulfillment is seen in mystical terms but like Things to Come in a cosmic sense. It really tries to tell the future and our place in it characterization is not built up do characters relate that much at all..thats why I say its a classic in its thematic structure..such a film with cosmic speculations and religious philosophical discussion was not likely to be a success..and after the film Roddenberry was removed actually from future films and new production people brought in, and they made films like the post original 13 TV shows. The shows with a different producer which were more popular, structured like the old flash gordon movie serials, with its cliffhanger endings, and very much like the popular TV show with its humane qualities and better and more earthy writing where contemporary situations are juxtaposed with adventure among the stars and humor built on characterizations harking back to the tv show..Roddenberry may have found this kind of campy..although his name was still executive producer..he disliked this kind of old serials type films(thats how i see it?). An example is WRath of Khan a sequel of an original show based on the subsequent producers coscript(i think)..showing at this studio the company was not happy with the film, and tried other people to go back to the original show and try to recreate its flavour..and they largely succeeded in subsequent films..Wrath of Khan may be its best. PLus all those filmed tv shows, which have largely disappeared from cinema, Maverick was probably on eof the better ones, a phase in cinema and I write this as a new film is about to explode like this film first did at christmas 1979(i think)..and there's an early christmas scene in the film Things to COME..the first film the only one which succeeds in being a classic if you like classics..like Descartes looking for the ghost in the machine and making sense of it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tres satisfait, April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
j'ai recu le produit en quelques jours et j'en suis satisfait le film etait en excellent etat tout etait ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A true Sci-Fi classic that seems to improve with time, April 23 2004
By 
Joanna Daneman (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
This is first in the Star Trek film series and it was long-awaited after the demise of the cult classic three-season TV show. During the mid-70's, Paramount Studios played with a number of ideas, conferred with some of science-fiction's best authors (Theodore Sturgeon, Harlan Ellison) and had the inkling of a new series that would spin off from the film, if successful. This makes watching the original Star Trek Motion Picture rather interesting in a historical light, as we are now past "Next Generation", "Deep Space Nine", "Voyager" and the (possibly soon to be ended) "Enterprise."
What's fascinating is to watch the evolution of the new series, which have embryonic concepts in the motion picture. Alan Dean Foster wrote the script book, and explained about "Delta"--Lieutenant Ilia's home planet of sexually-sophisticated empaths. This was the kernel for the Betazoid Troi. Decker, First Office, becomes Riker in the Next Generation Series, the officer with the power to criticize and rein in the captain. Even in engineering, look next to Scotty, and you will see an African-American engineer, obviously an important officer in the department, and uncannily like Geordi LaForge. And more trivia: fan club presidents from the groups that really thrust Star Trek from three-season has-been to a cult following had walk-on roles in the film. The scene where Kirk briefs the entire crew in the ship's auditorium has hundreds of extras who were club members, given the chance to be in the film as a thanks for keeping the Trek dream alive.
But other than scanning for the nucleus of the new series, is this classic worth watching? Well, sure. It's got lots of (for the time) good effects, a decent, if somewhat shopworn story about an alien probe, and our favorite crew of the Enterprise is still in their glory. Even Yeoman Rand gets a cameo, sans architectural 60's hair.
The problems with the film are in pacing and what they decided to leave in and what was obviously cut out. The reason for Ilia's "vow of chastity" was not that bald women were considered the sexiest creatures in the universe in the 22nd century. The Deltans were empaths with sophisticated mental abilities that included enhancing sexual pleasure, hence, she was dangerous to sexually "immature" species like humans. This ended up on the cutting room floor or else had trouble finding its way into the script in the first 20 minutes to explain her allure. In many places, gazing dewy-eyed at the ship or the V'ger structure for mind-numbing minutes on end seems to replace plot, dialog and action. That's awful. Still, the model work is exceptionally good, and the music and sound effects are stunningly modern. Well, except for the costuming and hair. Hair is either lacquered to extinction (see the navigator) or it has a life of its own (Kirk's toupee and Uhuhu's afro, which grows by inches in a single scene.) Kirk's shirt looks like what my dentist wears--white nylon raglan, or the full uniform with the white panel down the front and the weird belt buckle slapped on (I'm thinking fast-food worker here. Just awful.) Though, these skin-tight jumpsuits do let you laugh at the corsets strapping in the middle-age spread on the crew members not lucky enough to stay as slim as Nimoy or Kelley.
I also noticed a few changes from the original projected film and the cut on this DVD--the scene where Ilia emerges as a replicated probe from her shower is changed in a number of ways. The continuity here suffers.
The good thing about DVD's is you can fast-forward past all the jaw-dropping, drooling on the ship as it moves all-too-slowly out of the dock scenes and get to the action (in essence, your own Director's Cut!) For sci-fi and a Star Trek film, this is pretty good, in fact, holds up well over time. Fun for a rainy Saturday night, with plenty of popcorn and fresh batteries in the remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Edition!!!, Jan. 2 2012
This review is from: Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition) (DVD)
By far this is the best edition of TMP I have ever seen!!! The clarity, definition and the visual effects set it so far apart from the other versions!!! I highly recommend this to any Star Trek fan!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Motion Picture (Director's Edition)
CDN$ 49.85
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews