Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Hal Had a Gal
This has to be one of the funniest movies of all time. It is definately in my top ten. Jack Black really comes into his own in this sarcastic film about a man who just can't seem to find a someone, he is always is looking on the outward appearance and he thinks he is the 'cat's meow.'
There are so many funny scenes, Hal and his friend, played by Jason Alexander,...
Published on March 10 2004 by Joseph J. Slevin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars AMUSING, BUT AN INSULT TO BEAUTIFUL WOMEN
When this movie was first released there was some hype about how offensive it supposedly was to unattractive and/or overweight women. I'm not a plain-looking or heavy-set gal (or a woman, period, for that matter) so I can't say for sure if it is, and I won't dispute their word about it either, but having seen it a number of times it seems odd that the ones who should be...
Published on April 25 2004 by Joseph Murillo


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars The real moral here, July 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shallow Hal (VHS Tape)
What I learned after watching this movie is that if someone who is extremely shallow and only pursues hotties suddenly becomes successful with hotties, he/she will one day instantly lose his/her shallowness. Why did I learn this instead of what the Farrley brothers set out to teach us? Simple: the stupid spell that Hal (Jack Black) was put under was garbage! In the beginning, he pursues hotties who reject him (who are hotties in reality, at least according to standards of society). After the spell, guess what? Surprise surprise.......he still pursues hotties (only this time, he's the only one who sees knock-outs; everyone else sees....well....what society has deemed less than knock-outs). He is still only interested in scoring with supermodels, and what really bothered me was the conversation Hal had with Mauricio (Jason Alexander) after he removed Hal's spell, and Hal could no longer locate the hottie he once saw sitting at the restaurant, known as Rosemary (Gwyneth Paltrow). Hal goes balistic on Mauricio, because "I had a beautiful, intelligent, funny, (blah blah blah) woman, and YOU MADE HER DISAPEAR," proving without a doubt that he still is shallow after the spell! All of her good qualities dissapear, only because her looks aren't a 10, and we are supposed to believe that Hal is turning over a new leaf? What sucks more is that, for no logical reason, the first time Hal looks at Rosemary (for real as an obese woman, and knows that it is her), he can instantly not only accept her, but want her. THIS ISN'T REALISTIC, PEOPLE!!! People who are shallow their whole life and don't look past the surface of people can't, in the blink of an eye, desire someone who physically, most people would consider a reject (wouldn't that be nice!). Basically, this movie wants us to believe that there's an on/off switch in our brain that can be flipped at-will to make us attracted to people we've never been attracted to before, which is completely untrue. This is why the transformation this movie tries to show us via Hal lacks logical soundness, and why this movie fails to teach us anything. While I did not find this movie offensive (it was actually quite funny at times, thanks to our three leads), I did finish the movie questioning how deep shallow Hal had managed to become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars AMUSING, BUT AN INSULT TO BEAUTIFUL WOMEN, April 25 2004
By 
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
When this movie was first released there was some hype about how offensive it supposedly was to unattractive and/or overweight women. I'm not a plain-looking or heavy-set gal (or a woman, period, for that matter) so I can't say for sure if it is, and I won't dispute their word about it either, but having seen it a number of times it seems odd that the ones who should be insulted by this movie aren't really saying what they should about it. (Hmmm, makes me wonder if maybe some of the stuff that's said about pretty ladies here ARE true. Kidding.) Anyways, I just really wanna set the record straight here for anyone who thinks that the hogwash that's spewed in this movie about pretty women is true. Here it goes: my bro is a professional photographer, and a very damn good one, too. He's worked with Playboy Playmates, fashion models, actresses and dancers. In all the 12 years in his illustrious job he has NEVER had any problems or conflicts with any of them because of their personalities. There's never been any reason for that happening, either. They've all been some of the nicest and funniest people we've ever met. Yes, I know, I'm his assistant.
I'm not gonna be hypocritical, though. I did like this movie and I did laugh a lot, but all the characterizations are completely inaccurate. Who says that all unattractive women are particularly nice??? And as for Hal's pretty but shallow neighbor, do you really think she'd be chasing him after watching him dance with "a pack of stampeding buffalos"? Being equally superficial as Hal was I would think she'd be curious to know him if the ladies at the night club really did look as good as Hal imagined them to be in his mind. Oh, well. Perhaps the makers of this movie should get out more. Nevertheless, a pretty funny movie. Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good!!!, April 24 2004
By 
adriana "alisa" (Los Angeles,CA,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
I did not expect much from Shallow Hal.I just expected your typical dumb comedy with the accompanying toilet humor and gag jokes.And it's not like Shallow Hal is an intelligent film or anything, and it does offer it's fair share of laughs.But it's not too over the top, and plus, the movie is a lot sweeter, and a lt more tasteful than one would expect.It's also surprisingly touching, and I actually cried during one part at the end.
I won't go into the plot, because I think that aspect is clear to practically everyone on the planet.I was even more surprised by how much I enjoyed Gwyneth Paltrow's performance.I'm not a big fan, but she was just completely luminous and charming and, needless to say, I was swept off my feet by her completely.Jack Black is, pretty much Jack Black, but his performance was enjoyable as were all the small supporting roles.
If you don't go in expecting Ghandi, there's a fat chance you'll be dissapointed.This is a film which is genuinely laugh out loud funny in a typical Farrely Brothers way, but it's also quite touching and sweet, and it totally won me over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Correctly Named, March 20 2004
By 
"clarence_cat_2000" (Vienna, WV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie most certainly lives up to the name "Shallow", as I could not find any humor in it what so ever. Let me see if I have story correct. This jerk Hal, who only wants to be seen with "sexy, attractive, skinny" women, gets hypnotized and now sees only the "inner beauty". Meaning any woman other than a perfect 10 looks like a perfect 10 because inside they are a perfect 10. And beautiful women look ugly because inside they are ugly, with the notable exception of the neighbor. So he falls in love with the bosses daughter, Rose Mary, Gwyneth Paltrow. However, when his well meaning friend says the magic words and removes the hypnotic spell, Hal no longer see the inner beauty. In spite of falling in love with Rose Mary he fails to recognize her real self when he walks right past her in the hallway. Then after some soul searching Hal realizes that he really loves Rose Mary for her extra large self. What a load of crap. This movie is insulting and degrading. Do not waste your time watching it. I only wish I could have given this movie a -5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shallow Hal Had a Gal, March 10 2004
By 
Joseph J. Slevin (Carlsbad, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
This has to be one of the funniest movies of all time. It is definately in my top ten. Jack Black really comes into his own in this sarcastic film about a man who just can't seem to find a someone, he is always is looking on the outward appearance and he thinks he is the 'cat's meow.'
There are so many funny scenes, Hal and his friend, played by Jason Alexander, are just two losers who are constantly rating the girls they talk with thinking they have something going on themselves.
Alexander does a great job as Hal's friend, Mauricio, who supports Hal throughout his escapades, then when Hal has been changed and is dating women that look good only to him, he, well, really comes to life. Alexander's one liners are really only things people think........'the giraffe or the rhino???'
Jack Black is very funny when he looks at Alexander strangely as Mauricio rejects his own very attractive girlfriend who has only a small defect.
There are so many great ironies and look at the trailers and added features.
This movie is really of a coming of age of someone with a twisted world view. If only all of us could be so changed.
You will definately have a good laugh and be touched with some of the situations that Hal comes into contact with.
This is one fun time of a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well, it Works, Feb. 11 2004
By 
This review is from: Shallow Hal (VHS Tape)
The Farrely Bros ("There`s Something About Mary", "Dumb and Dumber") bring another amusing comedy that it`s a notch above most of the others out there. Why? Hard to tell...
The plot isn`t deep, just about a shallow guy, Hal (wisely played by Jack Black) who, due to a little confusion, develops an ability to see women`s inner beauty. He comes across Rosemary (Gwyneth Paltrow), and suddently starts caring for her, even if he doesn`t acknowledge that she is, in fact, fat (because, well, he only sees her inner beauty). From this point on, we follow Jack`s discoveries and the choices he will have to deal with.
True, this plot isn`t really earth-shattering, but for the most part it works and its both funny and compelling (the directors and actors actually make us care for the characters), delivering an enjoyable comedy, even if a bit predictable at parts. It also helps that it avoids the stupid gross-out humour that is so used nowadays, generating some genuine laughs.
Yes, "Shallow Hal" is a feel-good movie, even a bit preachy, but it somehow suceeds very well. It seems that the Farrelys know how to make simple movies with heart, so it`s better to leave the cynism away for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Biggest Love Story Ever Told., Feb. 9 2004
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Farrelly Brothers' Shallow Hal gives Jack Black his first starring role in a major Hollywood motion picture. The movie also stars Gwyneth Paltrow and Jason Alexander.
Jack Black plays Hal Larson, a completely shallow individual who judges women solely on their appearances, even though Hal isn't what most would consider an attractive man. This precludes him from developing any meaningful relationships in his life, but given him and his friend's Mauricio (Jason Alexander) views towards women in general, they garner little sympathy from the viewer.
A chance meeting with television self help guru Tony Robbins changes this for Hal. After a lengthy discussion in a stalled elevator, Tony Robbins decides to give Hal a gift, allowing Hal to only see the inner beauty of not only women, but people in general. This causes Hal to see women who may not be considered physically attractive to most appear to be the most beautiful women in the world, given that they have inner beauty.
This new view on women, or beer goggle laser surgery, as Mauricio puts it, allows Hal to meet Rosemary (Gwyneth Paltrow), the most beautiful woman he has ever seen, and who also happens to be the daughter of his boss. Hal is instantly smitten with Rosemary, even though in reality, she is profoundly obese.
Eventually Mauricio discovers what happened to his friend, and convinces Tony Robbins to tell him how to bring back the 'old' Hal. Does Hal, who now can see Rosemary as she really is, revert back to his old ways or accept that beauty is in the eye of the beholder?
Jack Black is truly funny in this movie, but I think Jason Alexander almost outdoes him in basically bring the role of George from the television show Senfield to the film, tweaking it a little bit to make him so completely hollow in character. Paltrow also performs very well, despite her having to wear a suit that makes her appear a couple of hundred pounds heavier than in reality. The Farrelly Brother succeed again in bringing humor to subject matter most probably wouldn't touch, and allowing us not an opportunity to laugh at obesity, but to laugh at the superficialities many of us have, conditioned into us through the various forms of media we ingest on a daily basis. This movie, while maybe not as funny as There's Something About Mary (1998) or Dumb and Dumber (1994), is a bit more touching and that served to balance the story out nicely.
Presented here is a wide screen anamorphic print, with quite a bit of extra features like deleted scenes, featurettes, a music video by Shelby Lyne, and commentary by the Farrelly Brothers. I'll leave you with a couple of my favorite lines from the movie involving Mauricio (Jason Alexander) and Tony Robbins debating Hal's new perspective...
Mauricio: The thing is all the women he's been seeing are ugly.
Tony Robbins: Who says they're ugly?
Mauricio: Bausch & Lomb.
Tony Robbins: Haven't you ever heard that beauty is in the eye of the beholder?
Mauricio: Have you heard the song "Who Let The Dogs Out"?
Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual comedy promise., Jan. 7 2004
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
When a young boy (Sasha Neulinger) sees his father (Bruce McGill) dies on his death bed in the hospital & the boy promises to his father that he will do better for himself to find the most attractive woman. When he becomes a man (Jack Black), he becomes Shallow and too picky to find himself a relationship. When he gets Hypnotizes by a T.V. Guru (Tony Roberts) to see a Woman better at the Heart. Then later, He falls for an attractive lady (Oscar-Winner:Gwyneth Paltrow) to his mind, who has a soft heart but he doesn't really how she really looks like outside, beside his Cruel Best Friend (Jason Alexander).
Directed by Bobby & Peter Farrelly (Stuck on You, Dumb & Dumber, Kingpin) made an unusual likeable fantasy romantic comedy. Paltrow & Black are amusing in this film, which the film silly plot make almost no sense what so ever but it's genuine touching at times. DVD's has an sharp anamorphic Widescreen (1.85:1) transfer & an fine-Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD has an commentary track by the Farrelly's Brothers, Deleted/Extended Scenes, Outtakes & more. It's a strange comedy but in one way, the film works pretty well. Written by Sean Mognihan, Peter & Bobby Farrelly. Molly Shannon appears Unbilled. Grade:A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "You gotta wonder, where does she put it all?", Nov. 22 2003
This review is from: Shallow Hal (VHS Tape)
Jack Black makes this film a success. A short, pudgy, Pillsbury doughboy with an arsenal of maniacal facial expressions, Black is absolutely perfect as "Shallow Hal" Larson, an average guy looking for love in all the wrong places (namely, gorgeous women out of his league). And when Hal is "tricked" by motivational icon Tony Robbins to only see the "inner beauty" of people, the stage is set for a hilarious romp, courtesy of the Farrelly brothers.
And indeed, Hal's new perspective does bring romance, a heart-pounding love with blonde knockout Rosemary Shanahan (a stunning Gwyneth Paltrow). Problem is, Hal sees a supermodel--everyone else sees the "real" Rosemary, a profoundly obese woman. Oblivious to the incredulity of those around him--including Rosemary--Hal falls even more in love, treating his lady like a goddess. Only when the "spell" is broken does Hal realize it's time to do some soul searching, to challenge his built-in bias for physical beauty. His subsequent epiphany is funny; it's also quite poignant.
Jason Alexander as Hal's equally shallow best friend Mauricio is hysterical; and be sure to keep watching through the closing credits for an extra treat from Rene Kirby, a physically disabled actor who puts a whole new dimension into snow skiing. No, SHALLOW HAL will not be revered as a cinematic masterpiece generations from now. . .or will it? You never know: the "Jack Black" look may come in vogue.
--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of a kind., Nov. 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Shallow Hal (Widescreen) (DVD)
When "Dumb and Dumber" got so much publicity I, foolishly, decided to watch it. I never knew going to the movies could be so anguishingly boring and embarrassing at the same time. I actually walked out.
After that I naturally despised those directors. But something about the trailer of this film made me go see it.
And it really touched my heart. It's a good movie about good people, but at the same time the most opposite thing to "The Sound of Music" imaginable. It's a movie that makes you feel good about rooting for the actual good guys of real life - not super-heroes or Mad-Max kind of cops, but those who volunteer to go to hospitals and visit children who have sustained severe burns, people who don't care how much money you have, people who need to see your inner beauty to fall in love with you, etc.
Gwyneth Paltrow and Black are just perfect. They really moved me.
The scene where the gold digger explains Paltrow how she "fell in love" with a guy she had known for years once he came by a lot of money, might be forgotten as one of those beautiful movie moments that will forever go unsung because the directors ruined their shot at being considered "serious" artists.
I actually love this movie. The gross-our humor is still there, but it's most likely what's keeping such a dignifying, all around good people movie from falling into saccharine land.
I think it's quite unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shallow Hal (Widescreen)
Shallow Hal (Widescreen) by Peter Farrelly (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 8.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews