Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Parody
I happen to be a humongous fan of parodies, and when I saw this I almost died laughing. If you didn't like this you're either A. Way too uptight and cannot take a joke about your favorite movies or B. you don't like jokes about sex, diarrhea, vibrators, or parted subtitles. If you did like this I highly recommend Scary Movie and MAD magazine. I'm outtie!
Published on July 12 2004 by screamfan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant start but loses its edge further on
The beginning of this movie shines as a most daring over-the-top send-up of the high school flick genre. The daring reaches its zany peak with the collapsing potty parody. Then it's rather downhill from there. Perhaps that's in part because what's being spoofed is already so preposterous that the spoof can't melodramatize it much farther. Still, I believe it could have...
Published on Sept. 5 2002 by Tiffany Swanson


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant start but loses its edge further on, Sept. 5 2002
By 
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
The beginning of this movie shines as a most daring over-the-top send-up of the high school flick genre. The daring reaches its zany peak with the collapsing potty parody. Then it's rather downhill from there. Perhaps that's in part because what's being spoofed is already so preposterous that the spoof can't melodramatize it much farther. Still, I believe it could have done better. The ending was lame and uninspired. If one wanted to make a case that Molly Ringwald is washed up as an actress, one could find lots of support for that in her cliched ranting in her cameo toward the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Parody, July 12 2004
By 
screamfan (Parodyville, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
I happen to be a humongous fan of parodies, and when I saw this I almost died laughing. If you didn't like this you're either A. Way too uptight and cannot take a joke about your favorite movies or B. you don't like jokes about sex, diarrhea, vibrators, or parted subtitles. If you did like this I highly recommend Scary Movie and MAD magazine. I'm outtie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scizoid humor film, Feb. 25 2003
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
"No, not Janey Briggs! She's got glasses! And a ponytail! And she's wearing paint-covered overalls! Ugh! "
- jock Jake, on the "ugly pretty girl".
"Not Another Teen Movie " is a deeply split film. And that is reflected by the reviews. Some hate it, some love it. Me, I quite like it, oddly.
I actually found it interesting enough to listen to both of two commentary tracks, one from producer/director, and one from the cast. And this revealed what causes the twin personality of the film. Apparently when the director got offered the original script, he did not like it at all, because it was all one big gross-out joke with no story. So he turned it down. But they really wanted him, and so he asked them that a writer he knows could work over the script.
And it got worked over so thoroughly that the finished film apparently basically only has one scene that was in the original script. And it happens that this scene is also the one that clearly is the big gratuitous gross-out scene in the film. It is doubtlessly a scene that many modern teens will find hilarious. And very tellingly, it is also a scene that neither director/producor or the cast like at all! They would clearly rather have been without it at all, but kept it for box-office reasons. (What scene it is? Let us just say that it involves a toilet and hundreds of liters of chocolate sirup!)
Also interestingly, the original script only had parody of films from the nineties. But the producers wanted to give it more breadth and more heart, and to include lots of story from famous eighties teen movies, like Sixteen Candles, The Breakfast Club, etc. (They even have Molly Ringwald appear in the end.)
One of the best things it has is female lead Chyler Leigh. Here is a prediction: she is going to be big, you read it here first. Chyler is very pretty indeed, and she is an excellent actor, and even an excellent dancer, as can be seen on the DVD extras. She has a gorgeous smile, and she can also be very funny, as is seen for instance in the opening scene where she is caught by her family with a vibrator in her bed. The faces she pull trying to tone down her ecstasy are priceless.
Another good thing is of course the "object of lust" as she herself puts it, the "generic foreign exchange student", Areola, who is never dressed. She is unfortunately only in the film a couple of times, and briefly. I guess because the nudity is "gratuitous". Can somebody tell me why, when you put nice landscapes in a film (example: the beautiful Straight Story by David Lynch) it is not gratuitous, but if you put a beautiful nude person in, it is?
They all clearly worked very hard on this film, and I think it does show. It is often crude, but it is also sometimes very funny indeed. And it has some very nice girls. I would quite like to have seen the film as it would have been if they had not needed the contemporary teen audience for box office. But even so, if you are not adverse to a teen comedy, I recommend it.
Favorite quote:
"Do you think I sleep with every guy who writes me a letter? No! I give them hand jobs." - Amanda Becker, the Unattainable Dream Girl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Parody, May 5 2002
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
Not Another Teen Movie is, of course, a parody of many teen movies. The actors and actresses are :
Chyler Leigh as Janey Briggs (the pretty ugly girl)
Chris Evans as Jake Wyler (the popular jock)
Jaime Pressly as Priscilla (the nasty cheerleader)
Eric Christian Olsen as Austin (the cocky blonde guy
Mia Kirshner as Catherine (the cruelest girl)
Deon Richmond as Malik (the token black guy)
Eric Jungmann as Ricky (the obsessed best friend)
Ron Lester as Reggie Ray (the stupid fat guy)
Cody McMains as Mitch Briggs (the desperate virgin)
Sam Huntington as Ox (the sensitive guy)
Lacey Chabert as Amanda Becker (the perfect girl)
Cerina Vincent as Areola (the foreign exchange student)
Samm Levine as Bruce (the wannabe)
Beverly Polcyn as Sadie (the undercover reporter)
Riley Smith as Les (the beatiful weirdo)
The storyline (similar to She's All That) is about a girl Janey, who becomes the object of a bet. Jake thinks he can turn her into prom queen while his friends don't. This movie is wickedly hilarious. The jokes will only make sense if you have seen Bring It On, She's All That, American Pie, Cruel Intenions, American Beauty, Can't Hardly Wait, The Breakfast Club, and countless others. It is easily as good as scary movie, if not better. The dvd has a lot of extras and is a special edition. If you like scary movie one or two, teen comedies, or just parodies in general, then you'll love Not Another Teen Movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as funny as Scary Movie or Austin Powers' trilogies, Feb. 21 2005
By 
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
all of the nasty jokes reminded me when i was in high school ('90s) because we used to do jokes as nasty and as gross, even the teachers were into it. now i'm in university and this is a good movie that will remind you of the good ol' high school time.
if you find nasty gross jokes offensive, then your a freakin "Ned Flanders".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it's not funny, it's not even bearable..., July 18 2004
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
A girl crapping? Some hillbilly freak masturbating? That stupid little guy being beheaded on a football feild?
Is this supposed to amuse me?
Why? Is this what we have become?
I could feel my I.Q dropping rapidly as I watched. Get out while you still can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, June 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
Regardless how harsh some people judged this movie, I bought it and yeah this movie ROCKS! It is so funny and it makes my day everytime I watch it.
A must see comedy! Similar or even better then Scary Movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not another movie to take seriously, June 14 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
Anyone going into this movie to get a good laugh AND a good plot, please. This movie is for the kids that laugh at funny ACE stuff. I mean come on, the excrement thing was great, people don't laugh at that in public... but sit on your couch and when she wants the dump on her chest you'll be rolling on the floor laughing, not throwing up or anything like that. This movie is a great poke of fun into the mainstream cliche movies of multiple decades that were aimed towards teenagers. Since our culture is in love with movies like American pie, roadtrip, and Old school, this NOT ANOTHER TEEN MOVIE seems just like another teen movie because we love disgusting stuff!!!ROCK ON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not another Sorry Movie!, May 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
Pointless.
Pointless.
And really pointless.
Do people just go through the motions when they write these scripts and direct these movies?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars More like zero stars, May 15 2004
By 
G. Jennings "G. J." (Outside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie was complete rubbish. A parody of a parody is like making a copy from a copy...cheap effort.
So over the top it was like they threw up over the jokes they were trying to tell.
Forget this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual)
Not Another Teen Movie (Bilingual) by Joel Gallen (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 7.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews