Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Encircling a moment in time...
"Contempt"(1963) is directed by Jean-Luc Godard. The film is interesting in that it encircles a given second in time when Camille Javal (Brigette Bardot) looses her love for Paul Javal (Michel Piccoli), unlike most films that would follow a linear progression from love to contempt. When Paul realizes his error it is too late and from then on he is constantly seen out of...
Published on Sept. 24 2010 by Edmonson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Definition? Not 100%
Approximately 80% of this movie looks glorious. Very vivid. The other 20% is sub par in my opinion. If you already own the Criterion version, you might want to think twice before "upgrading" to the Studio Canal blu-ray edition.

As far as the content goes, Contempt is one of my all time favorites (5 stars all the way). If I ever grow tired of seeing this movie,...
Published on March 19 2010 by Jason Armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars High Definition? Not 100%, March 19 2010
By 
Jason Armstrong (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Approximately 80% of this movie looks glorious. Very vivid. The other 20% is sub par in my opinion. If you already own the Criterion version, you might want to think twice before "upgrading" to the Studio Canal blu-ray edition.

As far as the content goes, Contempt is one of my all time favorites (5 stars all the way). If I ever grow tired of seeing this movie, I'll know it's time to die.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray with a few flaws, July 30 2011
By 
mickey_one - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A few shots don't seem to fit picture quality of a Blu-ray disc:
TC 00:27:22-40;
00:29:38-43;
00:33:01-34:32;
00:36:29-37:05;
01:25:47-30:08
- total = 5'21"

Runtime: 1:42'56"; 24 fps
Aspect ratio: 2.35:1, (orig.)
Audio: GB, F, D, E
ST: GB, F, D, E, NL, DK, N, SU, S, JPN
Region Code: A, B
Chpt.: 12
Dual Layer, 47 GB (Film: 29 GB)
Bonus:
- Introduction by Colin MacCabe [author of
"J.-L. Godard - Portrait of the Artist at Seventy"; faber&faber] 5'31"
- "Contempt"; 52'28"
- "Le Mepris... tenderly"; 31'31"
- J.-L. Godard talks to Fritz Lang, 1:00'57"
- Encounter with Fritz Lang" by P. Fleischmann, 14'27"
- Trailer
- BD Live
- 20-pages colour booklet
- Digipak
Studio: Canal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Encircling a moment in time..., Sept. 24 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"Contempt"(1963) is directed by Jean-Luc Godard. The film is interesting in that it encircles a given second in time when Camille Javal (Brigette Bardot) looses her love for Paul Javal (Michel Piccoli), unlike most films that would follow a linear progression from love to contempt. When Paul realizes his error it is too late and from then on he is constantly seen out of sync with Camille.

As with many of Godard's films this one is also about a film within a film, or a film about film. Fritz Lang (Metropolis, M) acts as an director late in his life who is forced to compromise himself to commercial film in order to make a living. Jeremy Prokosch (Jack Palance) is the American producer who is only concerned with making money and showing off his female actors assets just as Godard was asked by his producers with respect to Bardot. The movie Fritz Lang is making is an adaptation of Homer's Odyssey that Paul is hired to rework so as to make it more commercially viable. The classical characters of Penelope, Odysseus and Poseidon parallel Camille, Paul, and Jeremy. Paul seems to understand and relate his predicament with Camille to Penelope interpreting that Camille has lost her love for him because she believes that he has tried to leave her, just as Odysseus left Penelope for many years to journey the world because he was possibly trying to avoid her. Whether this is true or not, Paul only half heartedly tries to regain her love for him which only serves to further widen the rift between them. Camille never really comes out and says why she has lost her love for him and we are left trying to put the pieces together wondering if this is merely a lover's game or not. There is a curious balance between Paul's interest in her, and his indifference to her, that inevitably seems to push her away from him. Maybe she is just too young for him, or he is not stimulated intellectually by her, we don't know, but she is instinctively repelled by this indifference which crystalized at that moment, that second, when Paul seemed to push Camille to ride alone with Jeremy on the short drive to his house.

This is the French release of the film which is multilingual with English subtitles, as opposed to the American or Italian releases which were dubbed. This is also the full 103 minute version, whereas the Italian version was cut down to 82 minutes. The restored print looks great overall with only a few blemishes, and the blu-ray disc is in 1080p with CinemaScope 2.35:1. There are many special features, such as an introduction by Colin MacCabe, and a couple of documentaries about the film: "Once Upon a Time There Was...Contempt", and "Contempt...Tenderly". There is also a conversation with Fritz Lang, and in "The Dinosaur and the Baby" a discussion between Fritz Lang, and Jean-Luc Godard, as well as a booklet with an essay by Ginette Vincendeau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godard and Lang, Bardot and Capri, Dec 14 2003
By 
Doug Anderson (Miami Beach, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Bardot is actually an excellent actress in this film. Her body gets a lot of attention and there are plenty of shots of her lying in the sun naked but she gives her character depth. Strangley enough when she walks around wearing a black wig she looks very plain, not at all like a movie star. Perhaps the most striking thing about this film is that though it was Godards first color film he manages to use color brilliantly. The film was shot in Italy and reminds me of a Michelangelo Antonioni film as it is a story of two lovers who fail to communicate and thus let their love slip away.
Jack Palance is perfect as the headstrong producer who manipulates his director Fritz Lang (who plays himself), as well as his writer (Michel Piccoli). Palance is the ultimate megalomaniacal producer who enjoys dominating others and manipulating them into doing whatever he wants. The confident and poised Lang acts like the master that he is, he never loses his cool and he copes with Palance's outrageous tantrums as if they were nothing at all, and we can see that despite Palance's constant intereference Lang will make the film that he wants. But the young, sensitive writer is made to feel like a whore. And this explains why he begins to treat his wife like a whore. Piccoli does not seem to want to admit what he is doing but he seems to push his wife into the arms of Palance intentionally so she too will feel the way he does. The script is based on an Alberto Moravia novel and this is a classic Moravia scenario. Moravia was fascinated with prostitutes and so was Godard -- ie My Life to Live.
The husband and wife both feel like whores and so they feel contempt for themselves as well as each other. The husband wonders aloud why commerce must invade every aspect of our lives and by that he means both art and love but he seems powerless to win his wife back. Though the film began with the loving couple laying in bed and whispering to each other, it ends on quite a different note. Palance, Lang, and Piccoli all interpret Homers Odyssey in their own way. Each views the relationship between Odysseus and Penelope according to their own life situation. Palance and Piccoli cease to find the film all that interesting, they are only interested in the battle for Bardot. Lang alone remains focused on the actual film. For Lang the world of the Greeks is too far removed from our own experince of the world and so he reinvents the story so it will resonate with modern audiences and he does so by brilliantly quoting from select texts (Dante, Holderlein)and thus he tells the tale as if it were taking place in the world we know today--as Lang reimagines the tale each scene takes on new significance. And of course the way Lang thinks and works sounds a lot like the way Godard thinks and works.
An excellent film which can be appreciated by Godard fans and a good place to start for those not familiar with Godard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply fantastic !, Oct. 22 2003
By 
L. Burel (LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
What a great movie that is and i saw it 20 times. This is a great transfer with the original movie opening (credits) for me this is the perfect movie ever made, Brigitte Bardot is rather gorgeous and plays Camille in a very passive way, the movie is full of rich colourRed Blue and White, a very intelligent movie and i like the movie inside the movie, A great Cast too Michel Piccoli playing Brigitte husband, Fritz lanf playing himself as the great Film director and Jack Palance playing the american producer . The movie was shot in Capri and the music is simply
haunting. For me this is the perfect movie, and it feeds all my senses, great photography by Raoul Coutard, stunning Location and a very stunning Brigitte Bardot who can prove that she was rather a good actress.THE EXTRAS ARE AMAZING TOO, A VERY RARE DOCUMENTARY MADE ABOUT BB "PAPARAZZI" SHOWING A PURSUED Brigitte. and a couple of interesting interviews of Fritz Lang and Jean Luc Goddard. IF YOU MUST BUY A GODDARD MOVIE THIS IS THE ONE TO ADD TO YOUR COLLECTION. SIMPLY INTELLIGENT AND THE OPENING SCENE Of BB AND Piccoli (when she asked him if she likes her body and ...) is a very arty nude scene added by goddard to please the american producer.One of BB BEST MOVIE ALONG WITH THE TRUTH (Made by Clouzot).I LOVE IT !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lavish presentation of a classic., Aug. 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
This CRITERION edition of "Contempt" gives the cinema buff plenty of causes of rejoicing. Not only does it offer a terrific cinemascope version of the film, but also a lot of valuable bonus material.
Now, into the film itself. One can suspect that European filmmaking is and has been boring and pedantic. Particularly, as regards the Nouvelle Vague, and its author-directors, it seems to be so, on the face of it. But if you make the allowances that should be made and take that for granted, you'll be able to enjoy a kind of art that has enomous values.
Watching "Contempt" one is never sure what its director's intentions are. Apparently, to mock much of the tradicional way the films were made was one ot its aims. Both technically and thematically, the desire to transgress and parody is evident. It is good, nevertheless, to open new avenues to creativity in any field.
This is probably one of the best films ever made on cinema making and couple splitting. Forget our fast-paced and overwhelmingly charged (with special effects) contemporary movies. This is the opposite pole. Something of a play, very well written, and very well acted by most of the cast. We see how a married couple breaks off, because of the "contempt" the wife has been developing towards the man. Many quotations, references to other films and directors (Rossellini, Hawks, Ray, Hitchcock, etc.), an erudite script and creative directorial style are the attractions of this film. Also, Brigitte Bardot, nude at the peak of her splendor, and the opportunity to see the great Fritz Lang playing himself.
"The dinosaur and the baby" is an interview to Lang by Godard. With me, it has been a little disappointing. On the one hand, Godard looks (or looked) like an introvert, a not very nice person. And Lang was at the time an old man, very happy of course of the admiration the rampant youths from the Nouvelle Vague professed for him. Neither of them communicates very well -the interview was made in 1967- and what they have to say is relatively interesting. We'd better watch their achievements as directors. At one point, Lang says, very sensibly, that a director speaks with his films. If he has to explain them away, he is not as valuable as that.
At any rate, this film is a masterpiece, and up to now, the best work for the screen that I've seen relating to the crisis in a couple -forget "Eyes withe shut", for example-. It is enjoyable, too, and you get the desire to watch it many times and know more about it and its makers. So, it is money well spent to purchase this faboulous Criterion edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Godard's Attempt at Big Budget, June 30 2003
By 
E. Dolnack (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
This was a good film. It's slow-moving by today's standards and I doubt many younger filmgoers would have the patience to sit through many of its lengthy sequences, where admittedly, little "happens" on screen. That's Godard's style and what gives his movies their unique approach. That's the charm and this film's full of it. The conversations and communications between the characters in this film seem so believable and "genuine" that it's hard to immagine this is performance by actors reading a script. It seems too improvised and natural and "documentary" in style, that you could almost accuse Jean Luc Godard of making "fake" reality TV years before its time. (It's much better than reality TV however in that Godard's characters are far more exotic and interesting).
This DVD is presented in a tight 2.85:1 widescreen ratio from Cinemascope film in full color. The colors are vibrant and Godard makes excellent use of the panoramic widecsreen composition in all his shots. It's a visual treat throughout. The audio commentary is insightful and will enrich your appreciation of the film. Bardot's performance is stunning. My favorite aspect was in seeing Fritz Lang play himself. He must've been a very fascinating and brilliant man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars did you know.., June 24 2003
By 
takezo (los angeles, california USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
did you know that the opening of this film by goddard was not in his original script? yes, the opening segment with the nude bardot and piccoli was added on after post-production because the studio threatened to shelve the entire film. the studio was outraged that goddard had 'misused' bardot by not showing any nude scenes. goddard compromised by having bardot shot nude in the opening segment, with piccoli reciting a farcical monologue focusing on the studio's obssession with bardot's naked features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My second Godard film- more like a 4.5, June 22 2003
By 
J. Christal (Teaneck, New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
Jean-Luc Godard's Contempt is abstract at times, analystic at most, and full of the contemptuous vibes that deliver the film its title, and, indeed, consistently interesting entry in the Godard catalog of work. It examines a lead character in a bit of a sense like how Fellini examined a lead in 8 1/2, except that while in that he toyed and illuminated his fantasies about his struggles in filmmaking process, Godard slums in it, though with a carefully tuned attitude and style. He knows he's making an "art" film as much as he's making a "commercial" film, and that adds to its appeal. Like a good number of his films it's off putting at times, but the way the characters look into the film within the film, in this case the Odyssey, as well as they essentially do for this one, Goddard has made a fascinating hybrid on the workings of Hollywood.
His lead is played by Michael Piccoli, who like Fellini's Mastorianni is the torn screenwriter, torn in this case in three directions- one by a commercial producer (Jack Palance) who wants the production to be epic but has many reservations about the craft; another by a legendary director (all the more so since Lang is playing himself) who is only interested in the art of it, like when he views slides and shots of old Greek statues and such, and Palance chucks the film around the room; the last by his wife, played by the beautiful (if slightly depressing) Bridget Bardot who has as many or more inner demons as her husband. Their conversation, which lasts a longish if hypnotic half an hour, gives Bardot her spotlight in the picture.
Like an Odyssey of sorts the film becomes, lending itself to Godard's focus on the aspect of the idea of characters breaking down, and how the atmosphere he creates is one that can understandably make anyone crack. Contempt isn't a milestone for the filmmaker, but it's watchable as a second or third film to introduce the common viewer to Godard, and for film buffs it provides a wide, captivating glimpse of the film world for film buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply beautiful...., June 20 2003
By 
This review is from: Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection) (DVD)
even though i like the entire godard's filmography i probably think this is my favorite movie made by the french director.starting by the music(in the italian version i ve heard the producer changed the arcs with a jazz soundtrack...i do love jazz,but i think arcs are so powerfull,i can't personally imagine this movie with something different...) and goin on.all the movies based on cinema are usually terrific(actually i can think just of 8 and a half(fellini),but i know there are many movies based on the same subject) and i think this parallelism with the ancient greece is simply intelligent,fascinating.the director,his girlfriend and the producer are at the same time ulysses,penelope and the "proci"....the producer and all what is involved with him.his relationship with the directors(lang and piccoli)and his will of being god."i know how they feel.."he sayd.and we do know godard and all the critics who used to work for th cahiers du cinema and later in life made up the "nouvelle vague" wished the director to be god in that moment,while workin....godard then deals with the landscape and the way to see it.the characters looking at the sea,opening up to the world of the possibility.and so on...
i usually don't write reviews i think this movie really deserves it though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e93888)

This product

Contempt (Widescreen) [2 Discs] (The Criterion Collection)
CDN$ 89.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews