Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A really funny and suprisingly great movie!
I for one wasn't necessarily turned away at all by the trailers nor the odd title of this movie so I had almost no chance of seeing it on the big screen due to financial problems and also other movies of that time drew my attention elsewhere. When a friend rented this to watch one night, I decided to watch this movie with them expecting a snoozer of a dud because I had...
Published on March 31 2004 by Distant Voyageur

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Super spiders running amok
Tons of fun, this tongue in cheek flick has enough laughs, cartoonish death and all around feel good heroics to make it a worthy collectible for those that want a modern twist on the 1950's pulp monsters.
Arquette is funny and seems to be having a good time.
Published on Dec 24 2003


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A really funny and suprisingly great movie!, March 31 2004
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I for one wasn't necessarily turned away at all by the trailers nor the odd title of this movie so I had almost no chance of seeing it on the big screen due to financial problems and also other movies of that time drew my attention elsewhere. When a friend rented this to watch one night, I decided to watch this movie with them expecting a snoozer of a dud because I had only modest expectations for this movie. What I have to say is that I was DEAD WRONG! This movie is absolutely a fun riot of a movie.
In just about every way, "Eight Legged Freaks" is a homage tribute to the numerous monster alien movies of the 1950s and 1960s. It has all of the odd eccentric styles of the 50s and has a bizarre sense of humor as well. If you miss the witty fun of movies of that classic era, then "Eight Legged Freaks" is the movie for you as it takes the classic monster movie style and gives it a modern update.
The tagline is just funny. It goes like this: You hate spiders? You really hate spiders? Well they don't like you either! In a lot of ways, I can agree on this eighty percent of the time.
In this case, a sleepy town in the desert Southwest goes about it's dull life of existence. The town's Prodigal son is fighting against greedy developers from building a vast shopping center in the town. However, over time, a major toxic chemical spill releases radioactive toxins into the local town river and the little domestic house spiders that came in contact with the contaminated water mutate from small black widow spiders into horrendous giant poisonous spiders over ten feet tall and the giant spiders wreak havoc all over the the town's population, preying on human after human to get revenge on all of the spiders that the humans killed over the years.
With the help of a local town Sheriff and the whole town's population, Liberty, Arizona must band together in order to wage war against the gargantuan spiders before they decimate the town's people and spread from there to the rest of the United States and possibly the world and terrorizing people over there as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A monster movie that is flat out fun from start to finish, March 7 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
"Eight Legged Freaks" is a four-star movie but five-star fun, especially for those with fond memories of 1950s Sci Fi B-Movies at the drive-in. "Eight Legged Freaks" is everything "Mars Attacks" was not, namely, funny and scary. This is a film that knows its cinematic roots and embraces them whole-heartedly. Take all those spiders in "Arachnophobia," with as many different types as there were monsters bugs in "Starship Troopers," give them some toxic waste in the great tradition of "The Toxic Avenger" so they grow as big as the ants in "Them!" rather than the tarantula in "Tarantula," put it in a southwestern town like in "Tremors," have a paranoid guy warning about alien invasions like "Invasion of the Body Snatchers," have humanity make a last ditched stand in a mall similar to "Dawn of the Dead" before they end up cocooned like in "Alien," and make David Arquette the hero like in "Scream."
Arquette is the big name in the film but he really does seem a bit out of his element (i.e., playing it for laughs when everybody else is doing it straight). He plays Chris McCormack, who returns home to the town of Prosperity, Arizona, just as the town is going down for the last time. The mayor (Leon Rippy) is a schmuck who has failed with a mall and an ostrich farm and now wants to sell the town to a company that will use the abandoned mines as a toxic waste cite. But Chris still believes his father's claim there was a vein of gold in that thar mine. However, this all becomes moot outside of town there is a crazy old coot (Tom Noonan) who studies spiders. Through a nice series of events a drum of toxic waste is spilled and eaten by grasshoppers, which are then eaten by spiders with predictable results in terms of 1950s Science Fiction films and 1960s Marvel comics. Fortunately young Mike Parker (Scott Terra), the son of the world's most beautiful sheriff, Sam Parker (Kari Wuhrer), knows everything there is to know about all the different types of spiders that are starting to make their presence known as they work there way up the food chain from grasshoppers to cats, ostriches, and dirt bikers. The question is whether anybody will listen to the kid in time...
Director Ellory Elkayem parlayed his 1997 short subject "Larger Than Life" into this gig, showing an ability to put in the comic touches (e.g., the music for "Ittsy Bitsy Spider" sounds ominously as a giant tarantula makes its way along the street) along with the special effects creepiness in equal measure (e.g., the hopping spiders). There are so many scenes where you will have to choose between laughing and screaming but will probably end up doing both almost at the same time. Obviously this film is grounded in the Fifties in terms of the monsters and their origins, but it has modern sensibilities. This is not only in terms of the computer effects that generate the many varieties of spiders, but also the characters, as when both the beautiful sheriff and her sharp daughter, Ashley (Scarlett Johansson), have more brains and nerve than all the guys in town. The middle part of the film, where the spiders pretty much have their own way until the humans get up to speak, is the best part. You come out of "Eight Legged Freaks" arguing about which was your favorite bit involving a spider claiming a victim. This is such a fun monster movie that people who do not like monster movies might find themselves liking this one simply because there is a joy behind all the death and destruction that catches you up early on in the film and takes you along for the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let the Squishing Begin!, Feb. 4 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
EIGHT LEGGED FREAKS was not well received by the critics and it did poorly at the box office--and frankly I'm surprised. Obviously we're not talking about "deep meanings" in reference to this film, but what it does, it does extremely well: part hommage, part spoof, part horror, part comedy, and all of it a tremendous amount of fun! The film is essentially the classic 1950s "big bug" movie brought up to date and given a comic spin. A truck driver skids on the road and accidentally releases toxic chemicals into a pond; unfortunately, an "exotic spider farm" happens to be nearby, and when the spiders are contaminated by the chemicals they explode into creatures of monstrous proportions, nasty dispositions, and insatiable appetites. Cats, dogs, and even the occasional ostrich goes missing--can human victims be far behind?
The cast plays expertly, and two deserve special mention: Doug E. Doug, who is hilarious as the independent radio station broadcaster obsessed with UFOs, aliens, and government cover-ups, and Eileen Ryan as the chain-smoking, drop-dead-talking Aunt Gladys. But although every one does well with their often-comic characters, the emphasis isn't on the cast: it's on special effects, sight-gags, and a traditional "big bug" plot played at a breakneck speed. It's all smoothly, slickly done, and the special effects are terrific without going into overkill.
Now, the film is rather icky: after all, the spiders jump and bite and slurp, and when the townfolk go after them with everything from guns to pitchforks to chainsaws they also splatter in an appropriately disgusting way. Some viewers will be turned off by the black humor of the piece--particularly as it references the pets that go missing early on in the film. (I admit I winced a bit myself there!) Some viewers may be turned off by the "ick" factor and the violence, of which there is aplenty; others may take issue with the plot itself, which as noted is pretty traditional. But this isn't an Ingmar Bergman or Fellini film we're talking about here, and if you want a modern twist on a classic sci-fi theme, EIGHT LEGGED FREAKS is sure to please. The DVD has several extras, some of which are fun as well. On the whole, I give it four big squishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure fun !, Jan. 28 2003
By 
Vlad (russianwriter.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
First time I watched it on the Christmas Eve - my girlfriend ordered it on Pay-Per-View as apology for making me watch Ya-Ya Sisterhood . Next day I run to the store and HAD to buy it on DVD ! Why ?
1. Even more fun than " Gremlins ".
2. Better affects than" Army of Darkness ".
3. Almost as funny as " Army of Darkness " but more hilarious than " From Dusk Till Dawn ".
4. Way better than " Mars Attacks ! ".
5. David Arquette at his best !
6. Best replacement on a rainy day ( when you need to laugh at something to feel better ) and looking at the mirror is sounds like an old idea .
Just pure fun ! If you want to se an excellent comedy with " anatomically correct " giant spiders ( grown on the toxic waist )
attacking a small town...Run Forest ! Ruuuun ! And get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure FUN !, Jan. 28 2003
By 
Vlad (russianwriter.net) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
First time I watched it on the Christmas Eve - my girlfriend ordered it on Pay-Per-View as apology for making me watch Ya-Ya Sisterhood . Next day I run to the store and HAD to buy it on DVD ! Why ?
1. Even more fun than " Gremlins ".
2. Better affects than" Army of Darkness ".
3. Almost as funny as " Army of Darkness " but more hilarious than " From Dusk Till Dawn ".
4. Way better than " Mars Attacks ! ".
5. David Arquette at his best !
6. Best replacement on a rainy day ( when you need to laugh at something to feel better ) and looking at the mirror is sounds like an old idea .
Just pure fun ! If you want to se an excellent comedy with " anatomically correct " giant spiders ( grown on the toxic waist )
attacking a small town...Run Forest ! Ruuuun ! And get it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 8 Legged Freaks: Superb Updating of Big Bug Movie, Jan. 3 2003
By 
Martin Asiner (jersey city, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (VHS Tape)
Hollywood has had a long fascination with BBM (Big Bug Movies). Usually, such monstrosities were the result of man's fooling around with forbidden experiments. The tone that the director usually took was in grimmest earnest. In films like THEM and THE THING, the local population had to band together in mutual self-defense while suffering heavy casualties before the Bright Eyed Handsome Scientist figured out how to whack the creature. In EIGHT LEGGED FREAKS, director Ellory Elkayem continues the time-honored tradition of presenting a host of mutant bugs--this time spiders--but infusing the film with a much needed breath of humor. Only one human really gets killed, thereby allowing the audience to focus on the odd melding of horror with humor. David Arquette plays a returning prodigal son who left town years ago, pining in unrequited love for Samantha (Kari Wuhrer--of SLIDERS fame), the tough talking but fiercely built sherrif who, of course, refuses to believe in the existence of oversized spiders until one literally jumps on her. The real stars are the leaping arachnids themselves, with each one the size of a VW Beetle, capable of leaping incredibly long distances. In matters of pure science, the Inverse Square Law forbids any such bugs from expanding in size while retaining their proportional mobility, yet, I was fascinated with the computer-enhanced special effects (at least I hope it was special effects) that permitted a horde of them from descending on a sleepy town. Whenever a BBM has a pint-sized geeky teen backing up the hero, then you know that the entire production is one continuous inside joke. There is a succession of allusions to other BBM. Director Elkayem even shows a few scenes of attacking ants from THEM. Later he gives the arachnids the ability to squeal in the manner of the furballs of GHOULIES. The thrill of this movie is not diluted by a predictable plot. Paradoxically, since the focus is more on humor than horror, then it can allow itself to be a self-conscious parody of many prior BBMs. By the time you get to the closing credits, you don't care that what you saw was as far removed from arachnid anatomy as Spiderman was from a real spider. All you know is that you found out that only the very best of BBMs allow you to laugh and cry at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining spoof of 50's sc/fi, horror, Oct. 20 2007
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
eight legged freaks is the tale of radiated spiders who become massive
and really,really mean.they take over the town,killing anyone in their
path.the townspeople must find a way to stop them.this movie is
hysterical.it references other movies of the past,especially 50's
sc/fi horror.the whole thing is played for camp.which is why it
works.the acting is way over the top,again intentional.the spiders
themselves are even funny in their actions and their
vocalizations.David Arquette,Kari Wuhrer and Scarlet Johansson star.if
you go into this movie expecting to see a serious piece of work,you
will be disappointed.(hopefully the title will be a hint).anyway,this
is an entertaining film with a lot of deliberate laughs. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You've Got To Be Kidding Me, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Don't get me wrong! I love horror movies, science fiction movies and movies with big creatures in it. I'll even go as far as "just" buying a movie rather than rent it - BUT - This has to be possibly the WORST MOVIE I ever bought.
I gave this movie only 2 stars. 1 for the realistic look of the spiders as they reaked havic on the citizens towards the end of the movie and 1 for my main man on the radio. He was the only actor in the movie that delivered any comedy to his lines.
The rest of the acting was totally stupid and my recommendation to anyone is: If you BUY them instead of RENT... Then, don't rent it at all. Even on a Rainy Day!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spider-rific, June 7 2004
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Eight Legged Freaks was a great movie! It is the best monster spider movie I've ever seen. The digital spiders weren't cheap looking at all. They looked very realistic especially the Jumping spiders and the Orb Weavers. It is good for people who are interested in giant spiders (like me who has eight normal size Tarantulas) The plot is good with the idea of normal size spiders digesting toxic waste and growing huge and trying to survive by eating the citizens of Arizona. A good frightening movie for some and fun scientific ride for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best bug movie since Mothra, April 22 2004
By 
J. P. Suhr "Slagar" (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I own this movie. Made the same people that made Independence day an The Ameican godzilla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc2808294)

This product

Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition)
Eight Legged Freaks (Widescreen Edition) by Ellory Elkayem (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 4.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews