Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Castle in the Sky....
Is it just me, or do those very words, without even knowing what they refer to, contain a whimsical, imagination-inspiring power to them?
"Castle in the Sky" is by Japanese filmmaker Hayao Miyazaki, who I've come to believe is one of the most masterful storytellers alive today, and maybe of all time. It begins with a young girl, Sheeta, drifting down from...
Published on July 12 2004 by GB Banks (publisher, author)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Genuine Anime Fans BEWARE
First, I must say that I consider Tenkuu no Shiro Laupta one of the greatest anime features of all time and a long-time personal favorite of mine. However, Walt Disney has done an absolutely miserable job releasing it domestically, not that I expected much better from them. The timing for the subtitles was consistently off by a few seconds and entire portions of dialogue...
Published on May 8 2003 by Jamie Behar


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Feel-Good Movie of Great Humor, Wit and Adventure, Nov. 9 2003
By 
Duane Thomas (Tacoma, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (VHS Tape)
Castle in the Sky was conceived, written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki, the Japanese anime genius responsible for Princess Mononoke, Spirited Away, and NausicaÀ of the Valley of the Wind, among others. It tells the story of Sheeta, an orphan whose grandmother has gifted her with a pendant that is a relic of the legendary floating city of Laputa (the Castle in the Sky of the title). Sheeta is kidnapped by evil government agents who want to use her and the pendant to find Laputa and loot its technological secrets.
When the Dora Pirate Gang, consisting of the matriarchal Dora and her band of daring but not terribly bright sons, raid the military transport carrying Sheeta and her captors because they want the pendant for themselves, Sheeta falls off the transport, from immense height....and right into the arms of Pazu, a resourceful boy of her own age. Pazu lives in a mining town, as assistant to an engineer. He spends his days working to keep the machinery of the mine running. After many adventures and near escapes, from both the government/military and the pirates, Sheeta and Pazu decide to join the Dora Pirate Gang (who are really not such bad folks after all).
There are so many things to like about this movie. Sheeta and Pazu are both plucky and determined, a true young heroine and hero. They're living examples of the old saying, "If you're handed lemons, make lemonade." They take turns of fate that would have most people fuming and whining in stride and, through their innate decency, somehow magically turn them around into positive experiences. As just one example, when they join the pirates, Pazu is put to work maintaining their flying ship's engine room; Sheeta is shown a filthy, degenerate kitchen and told this is now her domain, it's up to her to produce five meals a day for the pirates. These both hardly sound like appealing fates. But Pazu thinks the engine room is really cool, he loves machinery, and immediately pitches in with such real enthusiasm and skill he soon earns the respect and liking of the ship's irascible chief engineer. Sheeta so charms the male pirates with her beauty, grace and sweet personality that these rough hewn, dangerous men fall all over themselves to help her, and soon her kitchen is full of pirates peeling potatos, cleaning pots, etc. Not only does this make her job much easier, but everyone's having a great time.
The artwork and animation throughout this movie are both uniformly excellent. The best of many thrilling scenes, in my opinion, occurs when Pazu, who makes Young Indiana Jones look like a wimp, along with Sheeta as passenger, pilots a kite through an electrically charged hurricane. The sight of Pazu's face, wearing flying goggles almost bigger than he is, features illuminated by lightning bolts, his expression of mingled determination and wonder, is one of the most arresting images I've even seen in any medium.
I would describe this movie as "a great viewing experience for the entire family" were it not for the fact there's stuff in here that might be a bit rough for some younger children. There are several scenes of Sheeta and Pazu being hit by much larger adults, so hard it results in unconsciousness at times. And although we never see anyone die on-screen, there are many instances of people caught in explosions, or falling from such a height it's obvious, whether we actually see it or not, people really are dying here, violently.
For all that, Castle in the Sky is a great viewing experience, not just one of the best pieces of animation you could ever see, but one of the best movies, period. I give this film my highest recommendation. If you watch it, you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early masterpiece from Miyazaki, Oct. 23 2003
By 
Itamar Katz (Ramat-Gan, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
Hayao Miyazaki's second feature film, and his first one to be widely acclaimed both commercially and critically (though his debut - Nausicaa AKA Warriors of the Wind is considered by many fans his best), 'Tenku no Shiro Rapyuta' AKA 'Castle in the Sky' may seem childish and simplistic when compared to his more recent masterpieces like 'Kiki's Delivery Service', 'Mononoke-hime' and 'Spirited Away', but in 1986 it was years ahead of its time and it was one of the milestones of modern anime. It's important to remember that 'Castle in the Sky' was made two years before the revolutionary 'Akira', and while it's not provocative and controversial like the aforementioned masterpiece, the lead characters are all mainly basic manga hero / heroine / villain type characters, and the story is quite predictable and obvious (at least in today's standards), Miyazaki's designs and animation work are of standards never seen before. While the story and humor are a bit silly and outdated at times, the movie is still very entertaining and very enjoyable - if not as breathtaking as 'Spirited Away'. And if you'll allow yourself to see the beauty of the frames themselves and ignore the low-budget coloring and animation and the identical twin faces - at this point Miyazaki is still faithful to his roots and to the agreed standards of Japanese cartooning - you'll see Miyazaki's genius shine through as well as it does on 'Spirited Away' and Mononoke. While 'Castle in the Sky', being a sci-fi adventure and very suitable for children, fits in more neatly with classic anime than anything else he had done since, his motifs and principles still show and play an important part. To say much more would be to ruin the movie, so I'll kindly shut up. Suffice to say that I'm giving it only four stars because if I gave it five I couldn't go any higher for 'Spirited Away' and 'Princess Mononoke'. And that would be a crime.
As in most anime movies, I recommend watching the Japanese version with the English subtitles, even if you don't speak a word of Japanese - the English overdubs just don't tend to be very good, and in this case it's just horrendous. You might want to watch it in the English version once, though, just for the laughs, and for the star-filled cast (the English dub was only recorded following the success of 'Spirited Away', as it was for 'Kiki's Delivery Service') - Anna Paquin and James Van Der Beek (Yeah, the Dawson guy!) fill the lead roles, Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker from 'Star Wars', in case you don't know!) plays the villain, and other roles are filled by Andy Dick, Tres MacNeille (The Simpsons, Rugrats, Animaniacs...), Michael McShane (Friar Tuck from Kevin Costner's Robin Hood travesty) and Mandy Patinkin (Hello, my name is Inigo Montoya...) Good for a laugh, or a few laughs really. But watch the Japanese one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful to see again, Oct. 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
CitS was the first Miyazaki movie I ever saw in the late 80's when I was a kid. It had such an effect on me at the time (those robots scared me half to death) that when I saw this remastered edition sitting next to Kiki and Spirited Away I had to have it (i snapped up SA as well ;p).
There are A LOT of opinions i've read about this release on Amazon, and would like to put forward my own summary of the good/bad points:
1. First and formost, the original track (both language and soundtrack) is available on the disc, with subtitles. Thus you can watch it over again as the artist originally intended, or as the updated, redubbed version.
2. James Van Der Beek is annoying, yes, but only if you let it get to you. Personally, I found his voice a little softer than the screechy Japanese guy on the original and thus at times (Note: AT TIMES) was preferable. Anna Paquin, Cloris Leachman, Mandy Patinkin and (especially) Mark Hamill are all good, solid dubs.
3. The decision about rescoring the music was a good one, (excellent track) though the American Suits clearly pressured Hisaishi into writing new stuff for virtually every part of the film. Some places which were perhaps a bit quiet before benefit (e.g. at the start with the solitary pirate ship), and others (such as the train chase) really sound exciting with the meatier score, but there are scenes (such as the Dragons Nest run) which should have been left alone. There were good reasons to keep the silence there.
4. The issue of the extra/changed wording: Some of it plain does not work, such as Sheetas new pirate impression, which just sounds like a Suit walked in mid-dub and said 'hey! I know what you could put in that 3 second non-speaking section..!'. Some of it however is great and adds humour/information where previously it was missing. Pazu talks more about his fathers death, the pirate gang bickers more with the locals in the fight scene, and Dolas talk with Pazu in his house to name but a few. However, 'All good pirates listen to their moms' sounds too self-help for my taste..
To sum up, everyone who appreciates a good movie without having hangups about it being 'a cartoon' should get this. Its one of those family movies with the full range of emotion, written by good, talented people who dont pander to the kids or alienate the grown-ups. Theyre trying to entertain you with a story, and they manage that with style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney dub NOT inferior, Aug. 15 2003
By 
Jonathon Turner "Jon Turner" (Highland Park, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
Since CASTLE IN THE SKY hit DVD retailers for the first time on April 15th, 2003, a lot of purists have written extremely negative, hostile reaction to the English dub. Even more infuriating, they seem to have posted their comments everywhere on the net in an attempt to discourage people from watching the dub, and instead adopt the "pure, Japanese bliss" of the original.
BUT... these two facts remain regarding all four of the dubs Disney made for Miyazaki's films. 1) NOTHING THEY DID TO THE FILMS WERE DONE WITHOUT MIYAZAKI'S PERMISSION, and 2) NOT EVEN ONE SECOND FROM THESE MOVIES ARE CUT. Yet it seems as though CASTLE has taken the most hits from naysayers... probably because it's a much loved film in its original language and/or the older dub released by Streamline in the early 1980's. But whether you love it or hate it, this new Disney dub has already won over a lot of new fans.
I am one such fan, as well as someone who HAS seen this movie one time in its initial language. I almost find it almost sad that purists will NOT give this dub a chance because of voice actor choices, the rescoring of the movie, adding in and/or altering lines, etc., etc., when in fact Miyazaki enthusiastically approved them. (Don't believe me? A lot of trustworthy sites say that his company has complete control over how far Disney can overstep their boundaries.)
Yes, the CASTLE IN THE SKY dub is chattier than the initial language track and has a new music score). Does this make it inferior to the Japanese? Not at all. However, it probably isn't superior to it either. But guess what folks? It's still an excellent dub in its own right.
I think a lot of the hatred for this dub stems from Disney bashing, purist views, and unfavorable comparisons to the other dubs Disney did. Yet I find that the best way to evaluate this dub is to judge it on ots own merits.
First off, the new score. Granted, Disney DID request Studio Ghibli to update and expand the music (in other words, bring it up to about two hours long and have a full symphony orchestra play but it was done by the same guy who wrote it, Joe Hisaishi, and the man is a genius when it comes to writing music. Yes, it's longer and some critically quiet scenes (passing through the storm cloud) have more music, but it's powerful enough to hold its own ground. (The original score IS on the Japanese language track, purists.)
Secondly, the voice acting. I don't see why a lot of purists have qualms with the actors chosen to play the characters; I think they gave lively performances (Sheeta is the only character whose performance -- by Anna Paquin -- could be considered "dull", but that's in line with her personality) and fit the characters well. Paquin and James Van Der Beek may have been questionable choices on Disney's part to play the protagonists, Sheeta and Pazu, but while they DO sound somewhat teenagish (unlike the Japanese originals), I did not find their performances lacking in any way. Beek does a good job displaying boyish enthusiasm and determination, while adding an occasional comic riff to his character. Paquin's accent wavers, yes, but whether you find this a distraction totally depends whether it gets to you. Personally, I think it adds to her character. She IS, after all, from far, far away, and one can assume she didn't have time to adopt to a custom. However, most would agree that Cloris Leachman is impeccably cast as Dola and Mark Hamill's deliciously sly, demonic performance as the evil Muska is a treat.
Thirdly, the script. "Inferior to the original"? Ha. What a laugh. The subtitle script on the DVD is sparsely translated and lacking. I don't know how accurate it is to the original, but what's more important--an accurate, clunky translation, or an excellent translation? Personally, the latter is my choice. True, the dub does throw in a few more lines and alter a couple, but I found that them to be faithful in spirit to Miyazaki's original screenplay and only extra icing on the cake. Probably the most glaring criticism is that the Dola Boys (played by the likes of Mandy Patinkin, Michael McShane, and Andy Dick) have one too many extraneous lines, but the same could be said about Phil Hartman as Jiji, too. If Hartman added to Jiji, then why can't these three comedians do the same to the pirate brothers? It's perfectly in nature with their personalities, and most non-complainers would find these lines to be some of the best the dub has to offer. I also like the way the script expands the characters' interactions. The chemistry between Pazu and Sheeta is mostly pure love (mushy to you gripers), but some occasionally funny added-in lines make them slightly more interesting. And I just LOVE the pirates begging Sheeta for food, offering to help, and even Sheeta acting like a pirate. OK, so they may have been throwaway lines, but when one is so involved, it's difficult to complain.
Fortunately, I have found a lot of folks elsewhere from the Anime community who love every minute of this dub and consider it yet another high-quality, top-notch English track from the Mouse House. True, Disney has made a lot of mistakes lately, but one can suspend issues with the executives and instead find much to appreciate in SOME of their products.
But seriously, to bash English dubs before you even see them is just sad. Sometimes it's just as pointless to compare them to the Japanese as well. After all, English and Japanese are different languages and shouldn't be held up to the same expectations. Fortunately, you don't have to pay attention to these naysayers. You're entitled to your tastes just as much as they're entitled to theirs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terrible job of dubbing and translation, Aug. 10 2003
By 
Eri Hashimoto (North Canton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
I saw this movie in Japanese when it first came out, and have absolutely loved it ever since. So I was overjoyed when I found out that it was to be released in the U.S. in DVD. Also, you can just imagine how utterly disappointed I was in viewing the dubbed version.
For some unknown reason, they decided to use completely new musical scores, which does not go quite right with the movie. They have also decided to completely ruin a very dramatic scene in the movie by adding voice and music where there were none originally(in the original Japanese version, the scene was completely silent. You just "see" Pazu utter a word.) If this weren't enough, they added tons of unneeded and redundant dialogues where there weren't any. One such example is when Pazu and Sheeta are walking through the garden in Laputa. In the origianl version, the two characters are walking through the stunningly beautiful, lush garden in silent awe, backed up by a quiet, serene music. But in this Disney version, Pazu says in a surprised voice, "Look, Sheeta, the trees grow bigger and bigger as we go deeper into the garden!" (Any viewer could get that information, thank you very much, Pazu, by simply looking.) Thus, by that added redundant and explanatory garble (which, sadly enough, occurs frequently throughout the Disney version,) the perfect scene with all its magnitude and mystical awe is destroyed. Of course, I need not mention the horrible translation. All the dialogues are so overly explanatory--to such an extent that I could only take them as insults to the intellectual levels of the viewers. Not only that, but they even change Sheeta's personality from the original film--to go with all that "girl power" thing, I guess. On top of that, the voice actors (except for a very select few, such as the dazzling Louie [at least I think that's how you spell his name]) are just plain horrible, especially Pazu, who sound goofy all throughout the film. But on other hand, while it seems like they like all the redundant sounds, they actually take away some vital sound effects, which is very uncomfortable.
But the DVD still features the original track (hurrah!) and a very interesting feature which allows you to view the film in Miyazaki's original storyboard, which I just loved. If it weren't for the terrible dubbed version, I would have given this DVD five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A well written story about peace and violence, July 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is one among many of Miyazaki's motion picture masterpieces. The storyline follows a young girl named Sheeta who is the descendant of an old royal family that once ruled an empire of flying palaces. Among the flying palaces, legends say that the largest and most technologically advanced one, called Laputa, still exists within the eye of an impenetrable storm. She is befriended by many people, including a young boy named Pazu that joins her in her adventure. However, air pirates that seek Laputa's legendary treasures and government officials that seek Laputa's advanced military technology pursue Sheeta throughout the movie. The story's characters are complex and well-developed, and the dark themes about war and peace are presented in ways that both children and adults can appreciate. The artwork is among Miyazaki's best, as the movie features many of the creative flying machines that Miyazaki's movies are famous for. The only problem I have is that the English translation (or at least the subtitling) obvoiusly changes some minor portions of the dialogue. This is most apparent when subtitles are displayed during brief junctures where no dialogue is heard from the Japanese soundtrack. However, the plot remains unaltered. This should definitely be watched by both children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good film!, June 20 2003
By 
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
Although I had no major problems with Disney's music treatment and dubbing job (Cloris Leachman as Dola is fine), I do prefer the Japanese language track (even without the Dolby 5.1 surround sound). The film itself lacks the power of Hayao Miyazaki's Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke, but it is plenty good--good enough for Disney to seemingly "borrow" lots of ideas from it for its Atlantis!
Miyazaki's 1986 film has gorgeous artwork, an adventurous plot, dramatic action sequences, comedic relief, and touching scenes of devotion and friendship. The floating castle of Laputa (the "castle in the sky") is magnificently depicted by the animators, with incredible gardens, buildings, and twisting roots overgrowing ruins. The story of how Pazu and Sheeta work together, with some humorous pirates, to combat the "Colonel" is a good one. The film is a bit long, but my interest was maintained by the characters' desire to figure out how to get to Laputa and by my fascination with the various imaginative flying contraptions that Miyazaki has drawn.
The DVD "extras" are nothing special: John Lasseter's Introduction says little; Behind the Microphone is the usual Disney "behind the scenes" glimpse that doesn't add much to our knowledge; the storyboards (which take up an entire disc!) get boring fast.
One word of caution: younger viewers and their parents might be horrified by the death and destruction shown in this film. While not gory, a lot of people meet their demise!
 
 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging, May 25 2003
By 
Greg Goebel (Loveland, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
Hayao Miyazaki's CASTLE IN THE SKY was apparently his third
full-length feature and the item that put him on the map, and
it's easy to see why.
The story takes place in what appears to be the early 20th
century in an alternate universe, where the skies are full of
giant airships, ranging from luxury liners to flying
battleships. In the beginning of the film, a mysterious girl,
whose name is later revealed as "Sheeta", falls from the
sky from an airship, only to be rescued by the strange jewel
she wears around her neck. She floats down, unconscious, into
the arms of a lad named Pazu who works at a mine.
From this start the two end up in a search for the long-lost
flying city of Laputa, pursued by an evil government agent
but aided by a gang of sky pirates who aren't as unpleasant
as they first seem, leading up to an apocalytic finale.
Along the way the Sheeta and Pazu have many adventures and
encounter many marvelous machines and places.
While I have little familiarity with the Belgian cartoonist
Herve and his famous TINTIN series, from what little I saw
of it when I was a youngster it seems that Miyazaki took
Herve as a strong influence. In any case, CASTLE IN THE
SKY shows a strong European flavor in its design, and also
has a certain old-fashioned storyline for kids, with Sheeta
and Pazu jumping from one peril to the next.
The story line, if not generally all that plausible, lends a
great deal of charm to this story, and Miyazaki's emphasis
on clever machines and inventions makes the whole mix very
engaging. (The opening credits are a particular exercise in
invention.) The artwork is very good and impressive, though
it might be argued that by modern standards it fails to
quite reach consistent perfection -- then again, it is
probably not fair to compare it in this regard to later works
like Miyazaki's SPIRITED AWAY.
In any case, the end result is a fine work of craftsmanship,
though it is relatively lacking in the gentle parables that
characterize Miyazaki's more modern works.
The only warning I can give, at the risk of sounding politically
correct, is that the end is violent by modern standards, with
the bad guys biting the dust in big numbers. This sort of
thing was admittedly more common in the past, but I have to
agree that it was good for it to go out of style -- this is
a gentle movie targeted for kids (that can be thoroughly
enjoyed by adults) where the violence is jarring. As the
story is a charming fantasy, there is no particular use or
purpose for brutal realism.
That being said, I have to go back to the bottom line: this
is an excellent movie and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney spiraling out of the sky in a flaming airship, May 17 2003
By 
"bluejay253" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) (DVD)
I got the priviledge of viewing this Anime several years ago through a poor quality fansub that I received from a friend. I must say that this particular movie was the one that left the most indelible impression on my mind as to how Japanese animation is a completely different world than American. The story, visuals and music were all absolutely stunning when I saw this the first and subsequent times. My CD-R containing the fansub is quite beat up due to the repeated viewings, since this is my all time favorite animated movie) It was no surprise that browsing through the DVDs at a chain wholesaler, my eyes grew as big as saucers, my jaw dropped and drool began to appear at the corners of my mouth as this title caught my eye and BOOM, I instantly had to snap this one up above all the others (even Miyazaki's Spirited Away or Kiki's Delivery Service).
As a huge fan of Miyazaki I was tempted to speed on the way home since I was as eager as a little child to pop this baby in the XBOX. I was absolutely in love with the remastered digital picture. The experience of hearing it in 5.1 surround promised to awe and inspire in a whole new way. Yet something was different about the English track. I couldn't quite pin it down.
Then Pazu opened his mouth....OUCH! I couldn't believe the assault on my ears! Disney, couldn't you have picked a younger and better voice actor? Then I realized what was bugging me about the movie...THE MUSIC! They changed it! I flipped forward a few chapters to the part of the movie right where Pazu and Sheeta have crash landed on Laputa which IMHO has the best theme of the movie, and discovered that it was much slower and way too orchestrated for that entire sequence.
Joe Hisaishi is one of the premiere and most respected and recognizable composers (along with Yoko Kanno in my book) in Japan, yet what on Earth happened with the English track? I read in an earlier review that Disney had ordered the entire English track rescored. WHY!?!? I can only imagine in my mind the debate by Eisner and ilk before releasing on us poor Americans: "What is with all this silence and blank space in the soundtrack? Music, we must saturate it with MUSIC! MORE MUSIC! <sound of Eisner cracking the whip on Hisaishi> I said MORE!! MORE MUSIC!!!!!" (this would earn the DVD only 3 stars) Disney, when will you ever learn not to tamper with a non-Disney work in an attempt to make it inferior to your own (inferior) movies?
After about 10 minutes of frantically scanning the different chapters, I was disgusted enough to turn it off and go cry. It was then I found the most redeeming quality of this DVD. They included the ORIGINAL Japanese track with Hisaishi's ORIGINAL score. HOORAY! Who cares if it is not in the full 5.1 splendor, the movie would just not be the same without the original music atmosphere. As long as Disney continues to have the guts to swallow their pride and release the rest of Miyazaki's works with the ORIGINAL Japanese soundtrack, I will purchase every single one of them.
5 stars go to this movie, in spite of the English track's flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, May 14 2003
By 
P. Rudnicki "cynderela23" (Norfolk Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Castle in the Sky (VHS Tape)
About 13 years ago I was amazed by my first Miyazaki film, which was Warriors of the Wind. A very edited version of one of his films. None the less, the movie stuck with me. So as soon as I saw that Disney was releasing more of his works, I had to see them. I started out with Spirited Away and I was amazed! So I went out and bought Castles in the Sky, which is one of Miyazaki's earlier films. I was happy with the movie but it didn't hold a candle to the other two I've seen. Castle in the Sky started off really slowly, it tells the story of Sheeta a long forgotten princess, and Pazu her hero. Sheeta has a strange necklace that the army and a band of pirates wants. Yet she has no idea as to why. Pazu helps Sheeta to escape the army and convinces her to join forces with the suprizingly kind pirates to look for her long lost homeland of Laputa a floating castle. I heard that this story was supposedly similar to Gulliver's Travel's, but I really could not see any resemblance between the two. But overall the story and animation made the movie worth watching. Just do not watch it thinking it is going to be on the same level as Miyazaki's other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Castle in the Sky (Bilingual)
Castle in the Sky (Bilingual) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 32.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews