Customer Reviews


751 Reviews
5 star:
 (269)
4 star:
 (152)
3 star:
 (109)
2 star:
 (79)
1 star:
 (142)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story About Faith
I loved this movie, unlike my husband who thought it was a complete rip-off and waste of money. He is a sci-fi fan and wanted answers on where the alien invaders came from, what was their objective, how their technology worked, why the crop circles, etc. All very valid points, but I am still in love with this movie because I love character pieces. To me, this was an...
Published on July 16 2004 by Melissa McCauley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A small step forward for M.Night
Actually i enjoyed this movie a little more than the other two. As his previous creations, he takes a very interesting topic (that can attract people at the movies) and builts ontop of it. He tries to pass the audience some interesting messages about family bonds and valious together with some religious point of view. Thats ok with me but i have a whole lot of things to...
Published on June 28 2004 by ANA G NTILIA


‹ Previous | 174 75 76 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Been there, done that., Jan. 24 2003
By 
Luigi (NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Signs (VHS Tape)
This movie is slow, static and shallow. Overall: MEDIOCRE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, a classic, June 30 2003
By 
Vera H. Reed "callmev" (Windsor, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Signs (VHS Tape)
Never get tired of this flick. Movie in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A routine suspenser, Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
Good for one viewing; glad I rented it rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best movie ever, Jan. 22 2003
By 
LEE WINDHAM (potts camp, us) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
this movie is the best movie of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth a dime, July 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of the worst movies I have ever seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the scariest movies I have ever seen!!, Jan. 7 2003
By 
Duncan Mcginnis "Duncan" (Willis, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars what if?, April 18 2011
Signs is a thoroughly engaging,thought provoking film.it makes for very
compelling viewing.i won't get into the plot here,as i'm sure many
people have already done that.suffice to say it involves aliens.the
film is not only directed by M. Night Shyamalan,but he also wrote and
produced it.there's loads of suspense and vibe of creepiness and
tension throughout the film.the the characters are well developed,and
the story is good.i'd rate it a bit higher than the rating of 6.9 it
currently has here on this site.i think it's a clever film.it's
inevitable it would be compared to The Sixth Sense,his breakout
film.though i feel this film should be judged on its own merit.for
me,Signs is an 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction takes a back seat to character development, Nov. 16 2008
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
There is a spoiler in this review, so please don't read on if you think it may spoil the enjoyment of the film.

Signs presents itself as a science fiction film with horror and suspense along with a dabble of personal struggles with faith. The film is quite good at developing the characters in the film, particularly that of Mel Gibson ( who gives another fine performance)and the small boy played by Rory Culkin , and sets about an effective mood of foreboding and dread.

The problem I have with this film is that the Aliens are complete idiots. They behave like the barbarians at the gate during Roman or medieval times, yet with less intelligence or common sense. They are supposed to be Aliens who have mastered star travel, building starships and such, yet were inspired to invade a blue planet even though water is poison to them and actually acts like an acid when in contact with them. Duh? Need to make crop circles in order to navigate around the planet!! They seem to not know how to use weapons, preferring hand to "hand combat" like wild animals!! They invade a planet, yet do not take out infrastructure sites such as power plants, yet they manage to take out the TV stations and radio!! They like to hang out in kitchens and houses it seems like bear cubs, making a mess of things, and even allow themselves to get locked up in a pantry? These are just some examples of how idiotic and incompetent these Aliens are. Even the one example in which we see a so called "face to fac battle", the Alien just stands there and gets battered with a swinging bat. How could such Aliens get to another solar system, when it is unlikely they could figure out how to get to the next village.

As usual, if you put your brain away, this film can be enjoyed for the characters and suspense of the film, since it is a well done film in this respect. But for me personally, I expect a little more substance to a science fiction themed film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scariest so far!!!, Dec 20 2002
By 
Barry A. Rohder (Lake Orion, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
AWESOME MOVIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Signs (Bilingual) (DVD)
parfait
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 174 75 76 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Signs (Bilingual)
Signs (Bilingual) by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 6.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews