Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better than this
Walter Matthau and Glenda Jackson in a 'get even with my boss' movie. Walter certainly has a bag full of tricks to do the job. There's excitement and laughs all the way through, and Glenda is the perfect accomplice. Highly recommended.
Published 3 months ago by Praxis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hopscotch
This dvd would not run in this area - North America. I tried to reorder this but they ended up sending me House Calls instead.
Published 12 months ago by Hugh Sutherland


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hopscotch, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
This dvd would not run in this area - North America. I tried to reorder this but they ended up sending me House Calls instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't play on North American machines, Feb. 10 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
This DVD doesn't play on North American machines. Really. So why on earth is this being sold on Amazon.CA? Makes no sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get better than this, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hopscotch (Widescreen) (DVD)
Walter Matthau and Glenda Jackson in a 'get even with my boss' movie. Walter certainly has a bag full of tricks to do the job. There's excitement and laughs all the way through, and Glenda is the perfect accomplice. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
Classic and funny. I could watch this movie again and again. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone, and especially to Matthau fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy, Jan. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
I knew I liked it before I bought it. It was a gift for my parents, who are convalescing right now. Came in earlier than expected in perfect condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hopscotch holds up after all these years, Nov. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Hopscotch (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a lovely movie, full of humour, great acting, and lovely scenery. I'd remembered it as a lovely engaging movie, and I was delighted when I saw it again that it holds up. No exploding aliens, no CGI, just some lovely character development and performances. Glenda Jackson simmers, Ned Beatty does the best slow burns, and Walter Matthieu is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If you like James, Oct. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
Good movie. Lots of unique twists and turns in this one . Movie to old to play in new Blu-ray players . Really great acting worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE-WASTE OF MONEY !!!, Oct. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
BEWARE. DO NOT BUY. This was bought as a gift for a senior. We ordered in advance to save for 8oth party. We gave as a gift and it did not work in any DVD player. Penalized for being organized and ordering early. It is now past return date, DVD is defective and I am out the money. It is also impossible to return because it is open. We would not know it was defective if we hadn't opened it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars been wanting to see the whole film for a while, Sept. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Hopscotch (DVD) (DVD)
I think it's Mathau at his best - I like an action and spy movie with no deads and no injuries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's about to expose the CIA, the FBI, the KGB...and himself, July 14 2004
This review is from: Hopscotch (Widescreen) (DVD)
Off the top of your head, how many funny spy films can you think of? The James Colburn 'Flint' films of the 60's? The Austin Powers movies perhaps? Or that incredibly lame Leslie Nielsen film...Spy Hard (1996)? Over-the-top silliness seems to be a common theme in these films, but Hopscotch (1980), based on a book written by Brian Garfield, also a comedy involving spies, manages to rise above, avoiding the slapsticky and crude humor, rather providing a charming and intelligent story that entertains throughout. Directed by Ronald Neame (Prudence and the Pill, The Poseidon Adventure, The Odessa File), the film stars a wonderful and accomplished cast of actors including Walter Matthau, Glenda Jackson, Sam Waterston, Herbert Lom, and Ned Beatty.
Matthau plays Miles Kendig, one of the CIA's top field agents who suddenly finds himself relegated to a desk job after control of the department he works for is taken over by a petty, vindictive, and less than capable man named Myerson (Beatty) who seems to harbor a personal grudge against Kendig. Unable to deal with riding his career out behind a desk, Kendig leaves the agency, and, after much thought, decides to write his memoirs, detailing all kinds of juicy, sensitive stuff about not only his own agency, but also intelligence agencies throughout the world. After being in the biz for thirty years, he certainly has the inside scoop on all kinds of things, causing his former boss to put out the order for his termination, elimination, liquidation, extermination, what have you...with the aid of a wealthy widow and love interest named Isobel who was also once in the game, played by Jackson, Kendig begins leading his former colleagues on a chase that spans halfway around the globe, always managing to stay one or two steps ahead. Will he be able to finish his book before his old agency or that of a foreign power catches up to him? Even if he does, will he live to see his work published?
Hopscotch is a wonderfully witty, light comedy with a dash of sophistication that nearly everyone can enjoy. Matthau plays his role so perfectly that after seeing the film, you could imagine no one else in the part. He's certainly got that whole irascible charm thing down, and it fits with the character very well here. I loved how his character never seemed to lose his calm composure, constantly outwitting and outsmarting his former co-workers in leisure like fashion, given that he probably wrote the book and trained half the men now chasing him. The element of Kendig using the notion of a book for revenge at first, but then once removed from the work he participated in for so long and seeing just how nasty it is from an outside perspective decides to follow through with his initial threat of finishing the book and getting it published. Jackson plays so very well off Matthau, and they create a level of chemistry that's pretty rare, in my opinion, between on screen couples. They just seem to fit so naturally together, creating a level of believability to counteract the somewhat unrealistic element that the CIA are a mostly a bunch of bumbling buffoons. Did anyone else think her hair was a bit too short, giving her the appearance of a young boy? Maybe it was just me... I really enjoyed a young looking Waterston (Law and Order) as Cutter, Kendig's competent and intelligent protégé now responsible for finding and eliminating his former mentor. I read that he'd actually come into shooting late due to the film he was working on prior, Heaven's Gate (1980) ran past its' shooting schedule, and is the reason why Waterston looks so very tired in some of the scenes in Hopscotch. Herbert Lom is also very good as a Soviet agent named Yaskov, one "who's seen Casablanca one too many times", although I felt he deserved a bit more screen time. Ned (Squeal like a pig for me, boy) Beatty is a riot as Myerson, constantly exasperated by his group's futile attempts to put a lid on the loose cannon he himself let loose due to his own petty dislikes for Kendig. Imagine someone you work with that no one likes, and then that person finally getting a little bit of power, lording over certain individuals, power tripping here and there, but mostly tripping over his own feet, and you basically have Myerson. The direction by Neame was most excellent, keeping the viewer (me) engaged throughout, with a smooth, steady pace as the story unfolded, which is a bit light in some parts, but did nothing to reduce my enjoyment of this charming, funny film.
Criterion provides a superior high-definition digital transfer here in wide screen format and a cleaned up soundtrack. The quality of the picture is really fabulous, especially when compared to my old VHS copy. As far as special features are concerned, there's not as much as I would have thought from a Criterion release, but what's here is very worthy. There's liner notes on the insert inside the DVD case by Bruce Eder, a video introduction by writer Brian Garfield and director Roland Neame along with interviews, a separate audio track, a clean version created for television broadcast along with the original version (there's very little profanity in the film, but what this is comes from Ned Beatty's character Myerson) and an original theatrical trailer along with a teaser trailer for the film. If you're looking for a smartly funny engaging comedy that only gets better after repeated viewings, then Hopscotch is for you.
Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3bb912c)

This product

Hopscotch (Widescreen)
Hopscotch (Widescreen) by Ronald Neame (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 32.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews