Customer Reviews


529 Reviews
5 star:
 (420)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie for all ages!
I don't quite understand or agree a few user's reviews of this movie. I saw it with my 6 year old daughter, who I never take to anything rated stronger than PG. I think this movie teaches kids such wonderful lessons in humanity, and you need to understand the meaning behind the movie yourself before you can judge it. It might be a little confusing to the lesser educated...
Published on April 7 2003 by Christian Mom

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad disc.
Daughter very excited to receive this Christmas morning. By afternoon, cursing a disc that skips, stalls and plays without sound. Second half of movie unwatchable.
Published 3 months ago by heather donnelly


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Movie for all ages!, April 7 2003
By 
Christian Mom (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't quite understand or agree a few user's reviews of this movie. I saw it with my 6 year old daughter, who I never take to anything rated stronger than PG. I think this movie teaches kids such wonderful lessons in humanity, and you need to understand the meaning behind the movie yourself before you can judge it. It might be a little confusing to the lesser educated? My daughter loved it, and we used it as an important lesson about morals. You will never see her eat food left sitting on a counter!! My husband and I also loved the movie. Don't be afraid to let your kids see this movie, it's certainly better than the .... afternoon cartoons they watch on t.v. Although I don't care for anime, this was a REALLY good movie, we have already pre-ordered it for dvd. Put the popcorn in the microwave sit down with the family and enjoy! If they have any nightmares you can blame me, but frankly my daughter has more nightmares after watching teletubbies! So do I!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miyazaki's Waking Dream, April 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
After grossing more than $250 million in its native Japan and enthralling the anime fan community in the United States, "Spirited Away" has been released both theatrically and in a well-assembled English/Japanese hybrid DVD to great critical and popular acclaim. Winning the 2002 Academy Award for Best Animated Feature didn't hurt, either, and now people are finally beginning to discover what makes Hayao Miyazaki one of the most widely-celebrated directors in the world. Even if he's never made a film with a single living actor on screen.
What makes the movie so special is not just the beauty and gidy strangeness of the images, but because it is at core a grand and well-told story. People who hate animation find themselves captivated after only a few minutes, probably because the story starts on such specific, realistic terms and only gradually branches into fantasy. By the time we're neck-deep in it, so to speak, there's no turning back.
"Spirited Away" gives us Chihiro (Rumi Hiiragi in Japanese, and an excellent Daveigh Chase in English), a sullen and dispirited ten-year-old traveling with her parents to their new home in the suburbs. Chihiro has not wanted to move, and resents her mother and father for being forced to leave her old life behind -- much as any ten-year-old would -- and her parents are blithely indifferent to her annoyance. She'll get over it, they seem to be thinking.
Their car takes a wrong turn and winds up being stopped near what looks like a theme park. "They built a lot of these in the Nineties, before the economy went bad," her father says, "so you tend to find them just sort of standing around, falling apart." That doesn't make the place any less creepy, and Chihiro's preternatural unease only increases when her parents find a buffet table heaped with fresh food and begin digging in, despite no one else being in sight. Before she realizes what's going on, her parents have changed into pigs (Miyazaki's earlier Porco Rosso was also about a man changed into a pig), and she's running through the park scared out of her mind.
Somehow Chihiro has crossed over into a parallel world of sorts, one where the park is very much alive, and catering vigorously as a kind of vacation resort to the "Eight Million Gods." In a scene worthy of Kurosawa, Chihiro watches open-mouthed as a giant paddle-wheel steamboat docks and disgorges an apparently endless procession of spirits, all lining up for a fancy meal and soak in the hot springs. She also befriends (somewhat by accident) a young boy, Haku, who works in the resort and gives Chihiro tips on how to be employed there by the owners. There is also something strangely familiar about him, which becomes of paramount importance in the movie's closing scenes, but the less said about that the better.
The movie has the feel of a dream, and that is, I suspect, something that threw people off -- they were expecting something more conventionally Disneyfied, and not something that had strong roots in surreal / fantastic art. That to me makes it all the more valuable: this isn't something that was thrown together to sell some action figures, but is a communication from one soul to many. And at the end, when the dream is over, we realize what we've seen has been in its own way as adventurous and thought-provoking as anything by David Lynch.
PIXAR CEO John Lasseter personally took the reins to bring this film to American audiences, and did it with love and care. The English dub is never distracting, although if you like the movie it's worth watching again in Japanese to see how little (or how much) was actually changed. Very little has been arbitrarily rewritten, and the voice actors all give a great deal of gusto with their performances.
Disney's presentation has been lavish -- two discs, with the movie isolated on one disc and sporting both English and Japanese audio. Some seamless-branching work has been done to the titles, which may glitch on some players (it was OK on my PC, but twitched slightly on my standalone Sony DVD player), but the whole package is quite effective. The 2nd disc also features a storyboard-to-film comparison that students of the production will find endlessly enthralling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie, June 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
I bought this movie because I saw it in social class in high school. Its a very enchanting movie and I defiantly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio Ghibli movies, there are nothing like them., Sept. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
An unusual story line and unique characters that create a wonderful story that will capture it's audience from the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really worth watching, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Heard about this movie almost everywhere, so I gave it a shot. After watching it I now understand why it's so popular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
the transition between the two worlds is such a wonderful idea to contemplate. there's a dreamlike quality to the way the creatures are sometimes visible, sometimes oddly transparent. our 4 year old loves this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hayao Miyazaki's best, Oct. 17 2012
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
The entertaining plots, compelling characters, and breathtaking animation make it a great film to watch in family. I purchased it for my niece, who loves it, and so does my nephew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
Beautiful and surprising. I like the fact that the protagonist is a girl who relies on her wits and courage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad disc., Dec 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
Daughter very excited to receive this Christmas morning. By afternoon, cursing a disc that skips, stalls and plays without sound. Second half of movie unwatchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Travels In One Spirit Land, July 21 2013
By 
marriedutopianstriver "Seeker Of Heaven On Earth" (blogspot and tumblr) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spirited Away (Bilingual) (DVD)
“Spirited Away” involves the journey that a young girl named Chihiro embarks on after finding her parents transformed into pigs. She also travels through an even more unusual spirit world and dealing with the witch who was responsible for what happened to her parents. “Spirited Away” reminds me of “Howl’s Moving Castle” (which is also a good film).“Spirited Away” is a great anime movie with supernatural/spiritual themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xfa760cc)

This product

Spirited Away (Bilingual)
Spirited Away (Bilingual) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 29.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews