Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: one dose of "Alias" will addict you
I had heard that this show was good, and received this boxed set as a holiday gift. It took me a couple of months to get around to spinning it up on the DVD player, but once I did ... *WOW*, what a show!! Jennifer Garner as agent Sydney Bristow (who becomes DOUBLE-agent Sydney Bristow in the premiere episode) and Victor Garger as her father (and also agent) Jack Bristow...
Published on June 9 2004 by D. Weaver

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brain Candy - Pleasant in Small Doses
Take the look/sound/tempo of "Run, Lola, Run" and apply it liberally to a James Bond -esque story. Add lots of eye candy. Add a bazillion plot twists that, after a while, don't make any sense at all and which exist only to give the sense of plot progression. Viola! You've got Alias!!!
Jennifer Garner dresses up in outrageous costumes and does a lot of...
Published on Jan. 5 2004 by GLBT


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: one dose of "Alias" will addict you, June 9 2004
By 
D. Weaver "av-tools" (Silicon Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I had heard that this show was good, and received this boxed set as a holiday gift. It took me a couple of months to get around to spinning it up on the DVD player, but once I did ... *WOW*, what a show!! Jennifer Garner as agent Sydney Bristow (who becomes DOUBLE-agent Sydney Bristow in the premiere episode) and Victor Garger as her father (and also agent) Jack Bristow both provide stellar performances.
Jennifer Garner (Sydney) must show a huge emotional range -- from very reserved as an on-mission CIA agent to distraught due to personal tragedies. Victor Garber (Jack) gets to play a much more subtle range ... initially as cold, hard, and calculating, but very gradually showing greater emotional range as the series progresses. Each time he shows slightly more emotion, you notice because it's surprising.
The show is visually stunning ... the sets are elaborate, the special effects are extremely well done. You know that effects MUST be in use at times, but they're subtle enough that you can't tell where the "live" shots end and the effects begin.
The Rimbaldi puzzle weaves another fascinating mystery throughout the series.
This show was not just thrown together -- the story through the whole first season (and into the second season) was VERY carefully woven, to maintain several story-line threads throughout.
This is pure "TV heroin" -- one dose and you will be completely hooked. I planned to watch one episode per night, and usually watched two (sometimes three), then had to go in to work bleary-eyed the next morning.
The good news is, watching it on DVD is the way to go -- no commercials and you don't have to wait a week for the next episode (which would be pure torture). We've bought the Second Season and "have to" pre-order the Third Season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best tv shows ever, June 4 2004
By 
Sebina C "ClassicMaiden" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This is a must buy...
Best Tv show on at the moment.
People often mention Buffy the Vampire slayer and Angel as not being as good as shows as alias and X-files, people often forget that Buffy and Angel are for all people, young and all. Alias is not. Buffy is a very daring show. That's why a lot of people don't think it's in the same highed as shows like Alias.
Buffy was in the shadow, because if it's stupid name.
Alias is a top show and have the best actress ever on it, Jennifer garner.
It's a must have show and If you loved BTVS/angel and the X-files. Then this is a must buy.
If it wasn't for BTVS, alias would never have been. We have everything to thank, buffy for. Course now we have strong female roles, finally on TV, That's because of Buffy.
Alias is simply amazing and is a top notch. And is a very realistic show as well.
BUY it NOOOOOOOOOOW!!! That's how good it is.
I was just so blown away by this genius and brilliant show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, great DVD, June 10 2004
By 
DRB999 (Culver City, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I had never watched Alias before due to it being on against other shows I liked and watched every week. I had heard good things about it on the internet and was curious about the show. I wasn't sure if I'd buy the DVDs since I had never seen it before but I do like espionage and spy stories so I was inclined to try it out. I also became a fan of Alias star Jennifer Garner due to her role in the movie Daredevil so that factored in. I went ahead and bought it after a few weeks of deliberation. I'm glad I did! I became hooked on the show after watching the first couple of episodes. I watched the entire set in a few days. I then went ahead and bought season 2 before I even finished season one. The stories are interesting and the cliffhangers are well executed and leave you wanting more and more and more.
The picture and sound quality are excellent and the extras as interesting. All in all it is a total quality package. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sydney Bristow becomes a double agent in a dangerous game, Dec 6 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Winston Churchill once said the Soviet Union was "a mystery wrapped in an enigma," which is a good description of "Alias: The Complete First Season." The initial premise is that Agent Sydney Bristow (Jennifer Garner) is working for SD-6 (Section Disparue 6, as in the one that disappeared), which she believes to be part of the CIA. Instead it turns out that she is working for the very people she thinks she has been fighting against. After you get past the point in the first season when Sydney understands what is going on, the opening narration each week explains the situation and the cast of characters. That is necessary because anyone who skipped an episode in the first season was going to be missing one or more pieces of the puzzle and be even more in the dark than they would otherwise. Fortunately, when you have the entire first season on DVD that is not a problem. You can even go back and try to piece together what is happening and try to connect the dots.
For those television viewers who have been looking for something more challenging that regular dramatic fare, "Alias" could well constitute an overdose. The only thing really comparable on television is "24," but "Alias" has more gadgets, better action sequences, and a whole lot better costumes (both quantitatively and qualitatively). Beyond Churchill the other relevant quote would be with regards to tangled webs of deception, because this show gets really complicated. Did Jack Bristow (Victor Garber) work for the KGB as an assassin? Is Arvin Sloane (Ron Rifkin) Sydney's real father? Is jouaanlist Will Tippin (Bradley Cooper) going to discover the truth about Syndey's "real" job? Is Sydney going to tell Marcus Dixon (Carl Lumbly) that they are not working for CIA before he figures out that she is a double-agent? When is Sydney's handler CIA Agent Michael C. Vaughn (Michael Vartan) finally going to make a move on her? Will Sydney ever finish her degree? And what is up with Sydney's mom? Yes, things get a bit over the top with the whole Rambaldi bit and who knows if we will ever figure out the significant of the number 47 for the Pope's architect, but just hang on and enjoy the ride.
Not being able to follow all the action is not a problem because it becomes clear early on that we are not supposed to be able to do so, and after a while you become satisifed with being only a half-step behind Sydney. I have only touched upon a few of the plotlines running rampant during season one, and that is without taking into account all the missions to exotic places around the world as Sydney gets in deeper and deeper. My only really criticism is that Jennifer Garner cries a lot for a super spy, which seems especially strange since Daddy Dearest is wound so tight and mom has been out of the picture, so to speak, for a long time. However, Garber's minimalist style (Look! His right nostril flared! Jack is really ticked off now!) is one of the true joys of the show which has an impressive cast where the likes of Amy Irving and Patricia Wettig have small but pivotal roles.
These six DVDs contain all 22 episodes from the first season, with all of the episodes being letterboxed and the transfers enhanced for 16 x 9 television sets. Audio commentary is provided for four episodes: "Truth be Told" (The Pilot) by J.J. Abrams & Jennifer Garner, "So It Begins" by Michael Bonvillain, Sarah Caplan & Ken Olin, "Q&A" by John Eisendrath, Alex Kurtzman-Counter & Roberto Orci, and "Almost Thirty Years" by Jennifer Garner, Michael Vartan, Victor Garber, Bradley Cooper, Carl Lumbly, Ron Rifkin, Merrin Dungey, & Kevin Weisman. All four commentary tracks are above average, but the pilot track is the most informative in terms of providing insight into the show's origins and the way the visual style evolved. All the other bonus material appears on the last disc, where there is a featurette narrated by series creator J.J. Abrams, one on stunts, six deleted scenes, television spots, and a gag reel. Season Two has just become available on DVD as well, so those who want to catch up to what is happening can now be more than half way there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't write this one off!, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Michael A. Brown "maniacmedia" (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I've heard many criticisms of "Alias." Most of them from people who never watched the show.
"It's a chick show."
"The same guy did 'Felicity' right?"
"Hey, she's hot!"
This is definitely NOT a chick show. While Jennifer Garner is certainly the heart and soul of the show, the supporting cast deserves their bows as well. Plus, creator J.J. Abrams has made the show fun for all. It's a roller coaster ride which switches from Sydney (Garner) chatting with friends (and lying about her profession), to Bond-like stunts.
Victor Garber as Sydney's double agent father gives a stunning performance every time he hits the screen. He's given significantly more airtime as the season progresses. And justifiably so.
The groundwork here makes the concept shattering changes of the second season all the more meaningful.
Do yourself a major favor, if you've not seen this show from the beginning. Start all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please release ALIAS on DVD!, June 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I feel that I too must include my plea for an "Alias" Series DVD. It is my favorite show on television and I'm sure that all fans would purchase the DVD/video. The strange thing is that I saw the first episode and didn't really enjoy it. Throughout the year though, I got sucked in and couldn't stop! Really, once you start watching the show, you get addicted rather quickly. In case you don't already watch the show, it's about a character named Sydney Bristow (Jennifer Garner), who is recruited to work for a covert branch of the CIA--SD6. She comes to learn that it is, in fact, not part of the CIA, but is actually the very enemy she though she had been fighting against (took that right from the show's intro). She turns to the actual CIA and becomes a double agent, in the process learning that her father is also a double agent. All of this takes place in the first episode, so that is basically just the premise. This first season is really exciting, with great storylines, and ended on a real cliffhanger. I would recommend that everyone watch the show and purchase this DVD when it is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alias Season 1 DVD, Aug. 27 2011
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Great to buy from. The order came even quicker than I expected and was in great condition. Will buy from again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything that entertains, July 12 2004
By 
Marcus Simmons (Peoria, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
The first season of Alias was the best season of any drama in television history. Packed with adventure and plot twists it has enough action to keep you on your seat. But what really makes it great is the integrating of Sydney's personal life with her secret double life. Each episode is filled with enough entertainment value and suspense to have you look forward to the next, and with 22 episodes they earn the value of your dollar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'M A NEW FAN!, June 23 2004
By 
"zavalajaime" (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Just got this DVD set. I had never watched the show on TV, but it always looked good. I watched the first 2 episodes, and now I can't stop watching the rest of the season! I have seen 8 episodes already in 2 days. I cant wait to finish this season and get Season 2 and 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, June 7 2004
By 
Melissa McCauley (North Little Rock, AR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Alias could be classified as a controlled substance. It is a spy drama, with soap opera and sci-fi-ish elements. The main character is Sydney Bristow, super hot spy chick for the SD-6 organization. Her fiancée is killed in the first episode, and she finds out SD-6 is not really part of the CIA as she was led to believe. Vowing to take the organization down, Sydney goes to the real CIA and is put with handler Michael Vaughn as a double agent. Vaughn, with his cute, hangdog puppy eyes is obviously Sydney's next romantic attachment. Sydney soon finds that her father and her mother were both spies, as well, and everyone is trailing after artifacts from Milo Rambaldi, a 15th century cross between DaVinci and Nostradamus. Confusing? Yes, but a lot of fun to watch a really hot chick kick bad guys butts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alias: The Complete First Season
Alias: The Complete First Season by Ken Olin (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 25.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews