Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the brains back into politics. Bravo!
I absolutely love this show, from cast to writers. The pace and occurance of one-liners is fast and fabulous. The dialogue assumes the audience actually have brains, and it goes a long way in explaining what is right & what's wrong with the political machine. You can really learn alot from this show. Its been awhile since this show ended and I wore out my vcr tapes of...
Published 6 months ago by Tigger22

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for content, 1 star for construction
I do not think it is necessary to describe how awesome the first season of this show was, but it is necessary to say how crappy the DVD's are constructed. They are double sided (old style) which can lead to a lot of scratches if you aren't very careful with them.
Published on Jan. 10 2004 by John Porter


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for content, 1 star for construction, Jan. 10 2004
By 
John Porter (Mobile, Alabama) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I do not think it is necessary to describe how awesome the first season of this show was, but it is necessary to say how crappy the DVD's are constructed. They are double sided (old style) which can lead to a lot of scratches if you aren't very careful with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the brains back into politics. Bravo!, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I absolutely love this show, from cast to writers. The pace and occurance of one-liners is fast and fabulous. The dialogue assumes the audience actually have brains, and it goes a long way in explaining what is right & what's wrong with the political machine. You can really learn alot from this show. Its been awhile since this show ended and I wore out my vcr tapes of it but now I plan on replacing all the tapes with dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Complaints, May 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
West Wing is an excellent series with superb acting.

I have nothing more to say but this stupid review thing wants more words so here they are. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great show, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I wasn't sure but I really enjoyed the series and am looking forward to season 2. Great acting and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, Jan. 6 2013
By 
janccd - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this show when it was on television and now my husband can enjoy it too! I'll be watching it with him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Presidential Drama, Sept. 29 2003
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This was the show that began the 'Government Craze' in television. The West Wing was truly original: a compelling drama, a trendsetting program, and a look into the inner workings of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue through the lives of the administration's most powerful people. That a show like this, without explosions and seldom a gunfight to be seen, could become so wildly popular is a testament to the ability of the American People to spot quality artistry. It certainly has renewed my hope in this country.
The premise of the show is that the viewers would see the inner workings of the executive branch through the most powerful people working there. Martin Sheen plays the President, Jed Bartlett, a highly principled and highly educated man who is nevertheless idealistic about America. John Spencer plays his Chief of Staff, Leo McGarry, Bartlett's closest adviser and confidante. Bradley Whitford plays Josh Lyman, McGarry's deputy and occasional loose cannon. Richard Schiff plays Director of Communications Toby Ziegler, a humorless, no-nonsense administrator. In the first few seasons, his deputy was played by Rob Lowe as Sam Seaborn, who often brought humor and warmth to the show. There are countless other guest stars who would contribute to this show and deeply enrich it, making a show about politics both incredibly informative and deeply character-driven.
Some first season highlights include the Pilot, which introduces the characters in their element rather than just settling for lengthy exposition and has a few of the characters in trouble immediately with various groups. One need only watch the famed episode "In Excelsis Deo" to realize what a special show this would become. Other good shows include "A Proportional Response", in which the president learns the virtue of, well, proportion in foreign policy. "Mr. Willis of Ohio" is the story about a politician who actually makes decisions according to facts and conscience instead of polling and party lines. "The Crackpots..." features the first "Big Block of Cheese Day", which would become a kind of tradition in the show and afforded some humor as well as an examination of the fringe groups.
In short, The West Wing combines entertainment with education and, for what will perhaps be the only time, doesn't compromise either ideal. No wonder it's the most respected show on television. This belongs in everyone's DVD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the BEST, June 24 2004
By 
N. K. DeBoer "Road Warrior 8411" (Lacey, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I missed WW on TV. When I heard about it I rented the first season DVDs. What a show! It is just great. It will make you laugh and make you cry. This has got to be one of the best shows out there.
And, I have seen a lot of movies. One of the few movies that I agree with the critics on.
Warning: Be carefull, if you buy it or rent it you will be hooked. Very difficult not to start watching the next episode when the previous one ends.
The series deals with many current issues and shows us how the people behind the politics really try to do their best (in most cases). Not that this is real life, mind you. But could sure serve as an inspiration to those that serve as our elected officials and those that aspire to serve in that capacity in the future.
What else can I say. Buy a copy, rent a copy but you just have to see this series. Then let us all know what you think.
I was blown away. I think you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the BEST television series EVER, July 7 2014
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Possibly the BEST television series EVER! The writing is brilliant and the acting is transcendent. This was a gift to us all when it was first televised and it is still relevant today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will have you hooked on the first episode, April 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Love love love this show. I didn't watch it when it was on the air... but now I'm watching it OVER and OVER again and again... This show never goes out of style. The things that the staff and the president has to deal with one the show are the same as today as when the show first aired. It's a drama and comedy at the same time.... can't say enough good things about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The West Wing: The Complete First Season
The West Wing: The Complete First Season by Don Scardino (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 33.74 CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews