Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the brains back into politics. Bravo!
I absolutely love this show, from cast to writers. The pace and occurance of one-liners is fast and fabulous. The dialogue assumes the audience actually have brains, and it goes a long way in explaining what is right & what's wrong with the political machine. You can really learn alot from this show. Its been awhile since this show ended and I wore out my vcr tapes of...
Published 3 months ago by Tigger22

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for content, 1 star for construction
I do not think it is necessary to describe how awesome the first season of this show was, but it is necessary to say how crappy the DVD's are constructed. They are double sided (old style) which can lead to a lot of scratches if you aren't very careful with them.
Published on Jan. 10 2004 by John Porter


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for content, 1 star for construction, Jan. 10 2004
By 
John Porter (Mobile, Alabama) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I do not think it is necessary to describe how awesome the first season of this show was, but it is necessary to say how crappy the DVD's are constructed. They are double sided (old style) which can lead to a lot of scratches if you aren't very careful with them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Putting the brains back into politics. Bravo!, Dec 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I absolutely love this show, from cast to writers. The pace and occurance of one-liners is fast and fabulous. The dialogue assumes the audience actually have brains, and it goes a long way in explaining what is right & what's wrong with the political machine. You can really learn alot from this show. Its been awhile since this show ended and I wore out my vcr tapes of it but now I plan on replacing all the tapes with dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Complaints, May 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
West Wing is an excellent series with superb acting.

I have nothing more to say but this stupid review thing wants more words so here they are. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great show, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I wasn't sure but I really enjoyed the series and am looking forward to season 2. Great acting and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, Jan. 6 2013
By 
janccd - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I enjoyed watching this show when it was on television and now my husband can enjoy it too! I'll be watching it with him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid Presidential Drama, Sept. 29 2003
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
This was the show that began the 'Government Craze' in television. The West Wing was truly original: a compelling drama, a trendsetting program, and a look into the inner workings of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue through the lives of the administration's most powerful people. That a show like this, without explosions and seldom a gunfight to be seen, could become so wildly popular is a testament to the ability of the American People to spot quality artistry. It certainly has renewed my hope in this country.
The premise of the show is that the viewers would see the inner workings of the executive branch through the most powerful people working there. Martin Sheen plays the President, Jed Bartlett, a highly principled and highly educated man who is nevertheless idealistic about America. John Spencer plays his Chief of Staff, Leo McGarry, Bartlett's closest adviser and confidante. Bradley Whitford plays Josh Lyman, McGarry's deputy and occasional loose cannon. Richard Schiff plays Director of Communications Toby Ziegler, a humorless, no-nonsense administrator. In the first few seasons, his deputy was played by Rob Lowe as Sam Seaborn, who often brought humor and warmth to the show. There are countless other guest stars who would contribute to this show and deeply enrich it, making a show about politics both incredibly informative and deeply character-driven.
Some first season highlights include the Pilot, which introduces the characters in their element rather than just settling for lengthy exposition and has a few of the characters in trouble immediately with various groups. One need only watch the famed episode "In Excelsis Deo" to realize what a special show this would become. Other good shows include "A Proportional Response", in which the president learns the virtue of, well, proportion in foreign policy. "Mr. Willis of Ohio" is the story about a politician who actually makes decisions according to facts and conscience instead of polling and party lines. "The Crackpots..." features the first "Big Block of Cheese Day", which would become a kind of tradition in the show and afforded some humor as well as an examination of the fringe groups.
In short, The West Wing combines entertainment with education and, for what will perhaps be the only time, doesn't compromise either ideal. No wonder it's the most respected show on television. This belongs in everyone's DVD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the BEST, June 24 2004
By 
N. K. DeBoer "Road Warrior 8411" (Lacey, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I missed WW on TV. When I heard about it I rented the first season DVDs. What a show! It is just great. It will make you laugh and make you cry. This has got to be one of the best shows out there.
And, I have seen a lot of movies. One of the few movies that I agree with the critics on.
Warning: Be carefull, if you buy it or rent it you will be hooked. Very difficult not to start watching the next episode when the previous one ends.
The series deals with many current issues and shows us how the people behind the politics really try to do their best (in most cases). Not that this is real life, mind you. But could sure serve as an inspiration to those that serve as our elected officials and those that aspire to serve in that capacity in the future.
What else can I say. Buy a copy, rent a copy but you just have to see this series. Then let us all know what you think.
I was blown away. I think you will be too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will have you hooked on the first episode, April 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Love love love this show. I didn't watch it when it was on the air... but now I'm watching it OVER and OVER again and again... This show never goes out of style. The things that the staff and the president has to deal with one the show are the same as today as when the show first aired. It's a drama and comedy at the same time.... can't say enough good things about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted compelling story-telling, Feb. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
With fictional characters so adeptly drawn, the complexities of leadership are explored within the walls of one of history's greatest super-powers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aaron Sorkin turns the Presidency into a weekly TV series, Dec 4 2003
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The West Wing: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Watching the first season of "The West Wing" again from the perspective of fifth it is interesting to reconsider how the show began, especially now that creator Aaron Sorkin is gone. When watching the pilot episode you have to remember that originally that President Jed Bartlett (Martin Sheen) was going to be a minor, recurring character, and that the series was really going to be about the staff in the West Wing: the authoritative Chief of Staff, Leo McGarry (John Spenser), the wunderkind Deputy Chief of Staff Josh Lyman (Bradley Whitford), the cranky Communications Director Toby Ziegler (Richard Schiff), debonair Deupty Communications Director Sam Seaborn (Rob Lowe), and Press Secretary C.J. Cregg (Allison Janney). However, getting Martin Sheen to play the President was just too good of an actor in too good of a role to ignore, and "The West Wing" became something else.
One of the best ways of noting how the series took off in a direction that was not originally anticipated would be to note how Public Relations Consultant Mandy Hampton (Moira Kelly) never became part of the family, while the role Donna Moss (Janel Moloney) became increasingly more significance, and she was added to the main cast for Season 2. That was mainly because of her comic relationship with Josh Lyman, although I have to add that Marlee Matlin as Joey Lucas was a much better fit for the group as well. Ironically, the Josh and Donna tag-team combined with the additon of Charlie Young (Dulé Hill) as the personal aide to the President, derailed the idea that Josh was the son that Jed Barlette never had (the idea was to bring a person of color into the mix of the main cast). The President refers to Josh as his son in the second season in his rant to God at the National Cathedral after the death of Mrs. Landingham (Kathryn Joosten), but clearly Charlie assumes that role, even without taking into account his dating Zoey Barlett (Elizabeth Moss).
All of this underscores the fact that the supporting cast is as good as the main roles. Not only Donna and Mrs. Landingham that first season, but John Amos as Admiral Fitzwallace, Timothy Busfield as Danny Concannon, Roger Rees as Lord John Marbury, Tim Matheson as Vice President John Hoynes, and, of course, Stockard Channing as as First Lady Abbey Bartlet M.D. That is without starting to check off the impressive list of guest stars like Karl Malden, Ken Howard, Edward James Olmos, and CHH Pounder.
The biggest flaw in the first season is the idea that the Vice President would be so out of the loop. Even with the history lesson of the animosity that existed between JFK and LBJ, no New England intellectual elected to the White House is going to waste having a powerful former Senator from Texas in his administration. Every since Jimmy Carter thoroughly vetted the cream of the Democratic party for his Vice President it has been an imperative that the spot be picked by somebody qualified to be president from day one, and other that Dan Quayle that has certainly been the case. Gary Cole is a nice addition to the supporting cast, but Bartlett being 0 for 2 on Veeps is not a good thing.
That is why the idea this season that the Republicans would force some junior Congressman into the position is so offensive. The key historical precedent would be the selection of Nelson Rockerfeller: qualified to be President and approved with the caveat this would be his final government job (i.e., he would not be on the ticket when Ford ran in 1976). But if the show was intended to not be about the President but his staff, then the Vice President is a minor concern. So it is interesting to be revisiting that idea this fifth season, just as it is watching Josh get into and out of the doghouse the same way C.J. does in a minor story arc in the first season.
Best Moments from Season One: the first appearance of the President, quoting the First Commandment in the "Pilot," Danny bringing C.J. a goldfish on the advice of Josh, Charlie coming to Zoey's defense in "Mr. Willis of Ohio," the President getting a gift from the one Cabinet Secretary who will not be attending the State of the Union address in "He Shall, From Time to Time...", and the prophetic father's worst nightmare that Bartlett lays out for Zoey in "Six Meetings Before Lunch" (which also has the classic fight between Sam and Mallory on school vouchers).
Final Thought: It would be interesting if when Barlett's second is up if the show continued with a Republican Administration. It will not happen, but it would certainly be interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaad60a50)

This product

The West Wing: The Complete First Season
The West Wing: The Complete First Season by Don Scardino (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 33.74 CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews