Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars THA BEST MOVIE EVA!!
YO DIS IS MY FAVOURITE MOVIE & NE1 SHOULD B ABLE 2 C WHY. ITS GOT FANTASTIC ACTORS, DUANE MARTIN'S REALLY SWEET, THE GUY WHO PLAYS BUGALOO'S DED FUNI & 2PAC IS MY FAVOURITE ACTOR NEWAY. IT HAS A GREAT STORY LINE. IT'S SIMPLE BUT IT WORKS LIKE ... ITS BASICALLY A MORAL STORY, A CASE OF DOIN WHAT'S RIGHT, DOIN THINGS 4URSELF. I PERSONALLY DON'T THINK LEON HELPED KYLE LIKE...
Published on March 2 2002 by denaun

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Tupac's tha man
well,I expected mutch from this one.I tought it was something like boys 'n the hood,New Jack City and don't be a menace.But no,it was just a boring basketball movie.About a teenager who grows up in a bad hood.The only thing I liked in this movie was Tupac.With out him the movie would have been really stupid.
Published on Aug. 29 1999


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars highly enjoyable and reasonably realistic, Dec 28 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
any film maker thinking of doing a hood movie should watch this first,as this is really the way it should be done.im my opinion this is better than boyz in the hood,but then again what do i know eh.it centres around a young man who is good at the game where you throw a ball through a hoop loads of times.so anyway,cue lots of dilemas about which team do i play for,masquerading as thinly vieled mataphors for paths in life.oh yeah,bernie mac plays a tramp....talk about typecasting!!! unbelievably enough, 2pacs in this and its still good!!!! cos 2pacs rubbish,isnt he??or more to the point he was WASNT he...DONT SPEAK ILL OF THE DEAD,you grumble.well if you're a 2pac fan you'd think he wasnt dead,wouldnt you?? and that the reason all the rubbish albums with his name on them keep getting released ARENT because....................... anyway im side tracking,this film is well enough written,has a nice enough ending and manages a few twists and turns along the way.i wouldve given it 3 stars,but since the directors etc made something with 2pac in it that was ok it gets and extra star.so 4 outta 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THA BEST MOVIE EVA!!, March 2 2002
YO DIS IS MY FAVOURITE MOVIE & NE1 SHOULD B ABLE 2 C WHY. ITS GOT FANTASTIC ACTORS, DUANE MARTIN'S REALLY SWEET, THE GUY WHO PLAYS BUGALOO'S DED FUNI & 2PAC IS MY FAVOURITE ACTOR NEWAY. IT HAS A GREAT STORY LINE. IT'S SIMPLE BUT IT WORKS LIKE ... ITS BASICALLY A MORAL STORY, A CASE OF DOIN WHAT'S RIGHT, DOIN THINGS 4URSELF. I PERSONALLY DON'T THINK LEON HELPED KYLE LIKE AT ALL. HE DECIDED HIMSELF NOT 2 RUN WITH BIRDIE AFTA BUGALOO TOLD HIM HE'D CUT UP FLIP. THERE WAS LOADZA FUNI BITS IN DIS FILM. THE FUNIEST WAS LEON. DOES NE1 ELSE THINK HE LOOKS REALLY EVIL&SINISTER? ... ME & MY BEST FRIEND LAUGHED SO HARD WATCHIN THAT GUY.
THIS REALLY IS THA BEST FILM EVA!! THE COACH IS REALLY FUNI. C THA BIT WHEN LEON WANTS 2 PLAY &PAC PICKS UP SUM PAPER & IT HITS THE COACH IN THE FACE!! KYLE'S FRIEND BOBBY HAS AN ANT HEAD!!BIRDIE'S RIGHT-HAND MAN HAS A GIRL'S LAUGH.
I HOPE THIS SLIGHTLY DIFFERENT VIEW A DA FILM HELPS U. I LUV IT IN A SERIOUS WAY BUT ALSO COS IT ALWAYS MAKES ME LAUGH. I CAN WATCH THIS AGAIN& AGAIN & NEVA GET BORED. EVRY TIME I SEE SUMTHIN NEW. ITS IS THE PERFECT FILM & HAS EVRYTHIN I LUV IN IT INCLUDIN THA BEST IN MUSIC. 2PAC -'PAIN' & WARREN G&NATE DOGG -'REGULATE' R 2 OF MY FAVOURITE SONGS A ALL TIME & DAY BOTH IN IT. ...
U REALLY HAVE GOTA C THIS FILM AT LEAST ONCE IN UR LIFE BUT I CAN GUARENTEE U DAT WON'T B ENOUGH!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Above the rim is above the rest, April 15 2000
By 
YOSUNNYJOE (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
With the Passing of Actor, Rapper, Tu Pac Shakur we may never know how great his acting could have gotten. In this 1994 memorable performance he puts in a chemistry that connects well to his story.This movie may have one of the simplest storylines about basketball honor but it is really a metaphor for deeper issues. Kyle played well by Duayne Martin is a high school basketball great who needs more coaching than his coach can handle because most of his needs are off the court. Shep (Leon) is a former high school great who never made the big leagues beacause he was accused of killing his brother during a one on one game on a roof. Shep taunted his brother for not being near the player he was but obviously never intended manslaughter. The interesting piece is that Shep has a mental block and cannot move past this incident. He even seems to be in severe depression. Kyle needs coaching and Shep needs to be needed. Seems simple. Not so fast! In comes Birdie played by Tu Pac who is livid when his living big brother Shep returns to bury their dead mother and wants no part of his underworld ways. Birdies influence is more effective on Kyle than Shep, But that's about to change! Good perfomances by Marlon Waynans, Kyles friend Bugaloo and Bernie Mac the bumb in the park, Flip. Good Soundtrack. The movie moves fast but keys in on more than just jumpers and foul shots. This is not a movie about basketball rather a basketball movie about people with zeal, integrity, emptiness and anti social behavior. Some characters have more than one trait. Some have more than one flaw. While watching this one you'll want to see where everyone ends up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tupac: The Greatest Hood Villain, June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
"Above The Rim" is about a young high school basketball player(Martin) who is drawn into friendship with Birdie(Shakur) in order to play in a streetball tournament on his team. Then he meets Shep(Leon) who works at the high school and is secretly Birdie's brother. Shep starts dating the basketball player's mom and that's when everything goes down. People are killed, beat up, and humiliated.
This movie is really good but the main reason for that is Tupac Shakur. He's one of the best actors to ever play a gangster. Bernie Mac also has a small role as a homeless guy who thinks he can beat anyone in basketball. Marlon Wayans also co-stars as one of Bernie's cronies who is always humiliated.
Anyways the story is amazing and so is the movie. There's cool basketball stunts and a sudden and dramatic movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Baller Joint, March 31 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Above the Rim is probably the best basketball movie there is. This movie aint like Hoosiers. It has tons of street ball and action. My man 2pac stars in this movie as Birdie, a drug dealer who tries to get a talented high school player named Kyle(Duane Martin) involved in his business and play for their team in a tournament. Kyle has to decide what is best for his future but Birdie and his gang pressure him to join. The basketball scenes are crazy and the music is one the parts that stands out. The theme song played throughout the movie ("Pain" by 2pac) is still one of my favorite songs even though it is almost ten years old. This movie on DVD has the trailer and you can watch it in widescreen. Overall, its better than the VHS. If you havent seen this movie yet then buy it QUICK. R.I.P. 2pac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Above the Rim (1994), Oct. 22 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Above the Rim is probably the best basketball movie there is. This movie aint like Hoosiers. It has tons of street ball and action. My man 2pac stars in this movie as Birdie, a drug dealer who tries to get a talented high school player named Kyle(Duane Martin) involved in his business and play for their team in a tournament. Kyle has to decide what is best for his future but Birdie and his gang pressure him to join. The basketball scenes are crazy and the music is one the parts that stands out. The theme song played throughout the movie ("Pain" by 2pac) is still one of my favorite songs even though it is almost ten years old. This movie on DVD has the trailer and you can watch it in widescreen. Overall, its better than the VHS. If you havent seen this movie yet then buy it QUICK. R.I.P. 2pac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good movie!, April 11 2002
By 
"scott717257" (Glen Burnie, Maryland United States) - See all my reviews
I really enjoyed this movie, a top urban film no doubt however it wont make it to the top of that list because of some slow parts. Even the slow parts however couldn't stop me from rating this a 5 out of 5. If you enjoyed this movie I suggest buying the movie "Fresh" from Amazon.com and check it out. Fresh is alot better and probably the greatest movie I have ever seen. But Above the Rim is very good too, what lacked in Above the Rim was the Rawness. It was a studio type movie, if they used some different angles or Spike Lee type directing this movie could have been up there with the great movies of all time. It had the plot, the actors where great..if only the direction was better. But even with all that, it is still a very good movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Above the rim, Feb. 10 2011
By 
Lavergne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above the Rim (Bilingual) (DVD)
C'est un film que j avais vu en VHS en 1996 et en plus le film est inexistant! En Europe donc j'etait heureux de revoir ce film en DVD l'image est de qualité et la bande son du film est explosif! Avec le regrette 2 pac et de plus ne parlant pas la langue anglais il y a une piste francaise incluse incroyable! Amazon est trop fort
il y a que amazon qui vend ce film avec vf ce n'est pas figure mais sur la jaquette le titre du film est écrit en français ! Merci encore a amazon et a Warner de penser a inclure des versions francaise sur les DVD ! Malheureusement ca devrait être obligatoire mais bon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2pac and basketball's best movie, Nov. 23 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This is a great movie. It stars 2pac, Leon, Duane Martin, Marlon Wayans. 2pac has the best appearance in this movie doing great as the ganster basketball team owner, Birdie. This movie also has appearances from today's top actors such as; Bernie Mac. it starts out as a teenager; Marlon Wayans, wants to play basketball. Then it gets on to have a story when a retired basketball player; Leon, wants to play basketball again as well. This is movie is definatley one of my favorites and I suggest it to everyone who likes basketball, Duane Martin, Leon, Marlon Wayans, and (the late rapper) 2pac Shakur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Above the Rim, Aug. 22 2002
By 
Dwight Dennis Ruffin Jr. (Clovis, New Mexico (originally from D.C)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Above the Rim is a tight movie and the soundtrack is tight as heck! I have the soundtrack on tape and they include the 3 bonus tracks: Pain, Loyal to the Game, and the other song by Lord G. I want to buy it on CD, but the CD doesn't even have the bonus tracks, which is very odd. My tape got messed up and I want to purchase it again, but I can't find it anywhere that includes the bonus tracks! This is the best soundtrack I heard and if anyone knows a sight where to go to buy it with the bonus tracks please let me know. But overall, the movie and the soundtrack gets all 5s from me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import]
Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] by Jeff Pollack (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 6.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews