Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!
I was so impressed with the price and the time of delivery with this product! I received it in literally 3 days. The product is exactly as described in the ad. Thank you so much, very happy with this!
Published 9 months ago by Maya

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars better over time
at first I thought this movie was just alright but after seeing it again on tv there was a lot about this movie I liked. The plot is kind of "bin-there-done-that" but the 80s-90s feel is what gives it its charm. Good actors/characters aswell.
Published 10 months ago by Sorpse


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars No Point, May 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
There's actually no point to this movie ... its a bit weird ... I wouldn't watch it again ... .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you!, Oct. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I was so impressed with the price and the time of delivery with this product! I received it in literally 3 days. The product is exactly as described in the ad. Thank you so much, very happy with this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars better over time, Sept. 23 2013
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
at first I thought this movie was just alright but after seeing it again on tv there was a lot about this movie I liked. The plot is kind of "bin-there-done-that" but the 80s-90s feel is what gives it its charm. Good actors/characters aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Above the rim, Feb. 10 2011
By 
Lavergne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Above the Rim (Bilingual) (DVD)
C'est un film que j avais vu en VHS en 1996 et en plus le film est inexistant! En Europe donc j'etait heureux de revoir ce film en DVD l'image est de qualité et la bande son du film est explosif! Avec le regrette 2 pac et de plus ne parlant pas la langue anglais il y a une piste francaise incluse incroyable! Amazon est trop fort
il y a que amazon qui vend ce film avec vf ce n'est pas figure mais sur la jaquette le titre du film est écrit en français ! Merci encore a amazon et a Warner de penser a inclure des versions francaise sur les DVD ! Malheureusement ca devrait être obligatoire mais bon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tupac: The Greatest Hood Villain, June 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
"Above The Rim" is about a young high school basketball player(Martin) who is drawn into friendship with Birdie(Shakur) in order to play in a streetball tournament on his team. Then he meets Shep(Leon) who works at the high school and is secretly Birdie's brother. Shep starts dating the basketball player's mom and that's when everything goes down. People are killed, beat up, and humiliated.
This movie is really good but the main reason for that is Tupac Shakur. He's one of the best actors to ever play a gangster. Bernie Mac also has a small role as a homeless guy who thinks he can beat anyone in basketball. Marlon Wayans also co-stars as one of Bernie's cronies who is always humiliated.
Anyways the story is amazing and so is the movie. There's cool basketball stunts and a sudden and dramatic movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars highly enjoyable and reasonably realistic, Dec 28 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
any film maker thinking of doing a hood movie should watch this first,as this is really the way it should be done.im my opinion this is better than boyz in the hood,but then again what do i know eh.it centres around a young man who is good at the game where you throw a ball through a hoop loads of times.so anyway,cue lots of dilemas about which team do i play for,masquerading as thinly vieled mataphors for paths in life.oh yeah,bernie mac plays a tramp....talk about typecasting!!! unbelievably enough, 2pacs in this and its still good!!!! cos 2pacs rubbish,isnt he??or more to the point he was WASNT he...DONT SPEAK ILL OF THE DEAD,you grumble.well if you're a 2pac fan you'd think he wasnt dead,wouldnt you?? and that the reason all the rubbish albums with his name on them keep getting released ARENT because....................... anyway im side tracking,this film is well enough written,has a nice enough ending and manages a few twists and turns along the way.i wouldve given it 3 stars,but since the directors etc made something with 2pac in it that was ok it gets and extra star.so 4 outta 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2pac and basketball's best movie, Nov. 24 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This is a great movie. It stars 2pac, Leon, Duane Martin, Marlon Wayans. 2pac has the best appearance in this movie doing great as the ganster basketball team owner, Birdie. This movie also has appearances from today's top actors such as; Bernie Mac. it starts out as a teenager; Marlon Wayans, wants to play basketball. Then it gets on to have a story when a retired basketball player; Leon, wants to play basketball again as well. This is movie is definatley one of my favorites and I suggest it to everyone who likes basketball, Duane Martin, Leon, Marlon Wayans, and (the late rapper) 2pac Shakur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Above the Rim (1994), Oct. 22 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Above the Rim is probably the best basketball movie there is. This movie aint like Hoosiers. It has tons of street ball and action. My man 2pac stars in this movie as Birdie, a drug dealer who tries to get a talented high school player named Kyle(Duane Martin) involved in his business and play for their team in a tournament. Kyle has to decide what is best for his future but Birdie and his gang pressure him to join. The basketball scenes are crazy and the music is one the parts that stands out. The theme song played throughout the movie ("Pain" by 2pac) is still one of my favorite songs even though it is almost ten years old. This movie on DVD has the trailer and you can watch it in widescreen. Overall, its better than the VHS. If you havent seen this movie yet then buy it QUICK. R.I.P. 2pac
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars u think 2pac is just a good rapper think again, Sept. 12 2003
By 
JOE FELL (hopkington,ri,usa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I WAS FIRST JUST A FAN OF 2PACS MUSIC. I STARTED WATCHING SOME OF HIS MOVIES AND FOUND QUICKLY HE WAS A GOOD ACTOR TO . IF YOU LIKE HIS MUSIC I WOULD SUGGEST U SEE HIS MOVIES TWO ESECIALLY THIS ONE IT WAS SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie!!!, June 9 2003
This review is from: Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Above The Rim is a very good movie. It is about a high school basketball standout and a security guard. It also stars Tupac Shakur as the security guard's gangster brother named Birdie. Shakur puts out a great acting performance and the movie is very good overall. I highly reccomend this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import]
Above the Rim (Widescreen) [Import] by Jeff Pollack (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 6.50
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews