Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD package worthy of TV's most beloved sit-com
Not only is The Mary Tyler Moore Show one of the very best - and probably the most beloved - situation comedy of all-time, this Season One collection is one of the best television DVD box sets on the market. The fact that Fox really did Season One right made it all the more unfortunate that plans for Season Two were shelved for so long - now, though, I can write this...
Published on July 9 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I think the picture is too grainey...
I think this show was rushed to DVD too quickly. The picture is grainey and the sound is faded. Try again Fox.
Published on Nov. 11 2003 by D.W. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD package worthy of TV's most beloved sit-com, July 9 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Not only is The Mary Tyler Moore Show one of the very best - and probably the most beloved - situation comedy of all-time, this Season One collection is one of the best television DVD box sets on the market. The fact that Fox really did Season One right made it all the more unfortunate that plans for Season Two were shelved for so long - now, though, I can write this review with all the delight I can muster, knowing that the long-awaited Season Two set is finally set for release. It will have a hard time topping this one, but the important thing is that it and the remaining five seasons of the show are released because, as an online petition made clear, we want our Mary.

I really don't know how anybody cannot love this show. Mary, Lou, Murray, Ted, Rhoda, Phyllis - these are characters we all know and love (OK - I'll admit Phyllis is hard to love). This show was just one classic moment after another, right from the start of the very first episode. Each half hour was a guaranteed good time with good friends. I was late for the premiere, not coming into the world until the night of the third episode, so I can't really speak from experience about how different and ground-breaking a show this was back in 1970; as a matter of fact, I didn't really like the show when I was very young - proving just how dumb little kids can be. Looking back now, though, it's impossible not to view this show as a real product of the 1970s. Here, in Mary Richards, was a new kind of female character - a single, independent thirty-year-old woman making it on her own in what had traditionally been a man's world. At its heart, the show was all about the life of a young professional, single woman in a new, feminist era - yet the show was not overtly feminist. Heck, Mary Richards was exactly the kind of woman any man in his right mind would want to marry. I also have to note the fact that Mary was the only woman I know of who always looked good in the fashion debacle that was the 1970s. Then there was Rhoda, an altogether different kind of new woman. Lou Grant, of course, is a product of traditional thinking, but even he proves flexible - in his own grouchy way - of adjusting to change. I could go on and on about these characters: good old Murray, Ted Baxter, even Gordy the weatherman. Ted Knight was nothing short of brilliant in his portrayal of the one-and-only Ted Baxter.

In many ways, the show's first season was my favorite. The original cast gelled instantly, Mary was at her perkiest, and the opening montage and music were perfect - the show's opening changed a little bit from one season to the next. Sonny Curtis' Love Is All Around was the perfect theme song, and the hat toss at the end became an instant cultural icon. Not only do you get all 24 shows from that magical first season in this DVD box set, you get all kinds of great extras: commentary on select episodes, an MTM trivia challenge (a piece of cake for us true fans), a still gallery of images related to the show's first season, clips from the Emmy Awards of 1971 (where Ed Asner and Valerie Harper took home awards for best supporting actor and actress in a comedy series, James L. Brooks and Allan Burns won for outstanding writing achievement in a comedy - for an episode CBS adamantly opposed making, and Jay Sandrich won for outstanding directorial achievement in a comedy) - not bad for a show that the clueless suits at CBS absolutely hated in the beginning. That leads me to the spectacular 90-minute documentary from 2002 that is included in this collection. It is an incredibly informative, entertaining look back at the show by almost everyone involved in its creation (only one of the writers, Lorenzo Music, and of course the great Ted Knight were no longer with us at that time). It's really a remarkable story, one that really reinforces the wonderful affinity everyone on this series enjoyed with one another. It's almost impossible to believe some of the problems the show faced in pre-production, especially the disastrous first live run on what became known as Black Tuesday - and who could have guessed that Gavin MacLeod initially read for the part of Lou Grant, or that CBS did all it could to get Ed Asner replaced?

Basically, what I am trying to say is that this Season One set was and is a dream come true for all of us MTM fans. If you care anything at all about quality television at its best, you will add The Mary Tyler Moore Show Season One to your personal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars C'mon Fox, Please Release These MTM Seasons, July 11 2004
By 
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
All I can do is echo what so many others have already said: The Mary Tyler Moore show is perhaps the highest quality show in the history of television. It deserves to be released on DVD. This outstanding first season set just serves to remind us of the tremendous talent -- both in front of and behind the camera -- that entertained the world for six additional seasons. So where are they?
Now I certainly don't want to dismiss anyone's opinion of what constitutes quality entertainment or what should or shouldn't be released on DVD. But c'mon, there's an awful lot of crap that's been put out (the complete first season of Baretta, anyone?), so why won't Fox put priority into releasing the remaining seasons of this milestone in entertainment history? Please Fox (and any others who may have a say), release the remaining seasons of The Mary Tyler Moore Show. Certainly the 150-plus reviews that dedicated fans have taken the time to write on this site alone should indicate how financially viable a decision it would be.
And for anyone else reading this who has not yet purchased the first season, I highly recommend doing so now. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Chuckles Bites the Dust", June 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
I have heard a rumor that a Canadian based outfit may be bootlegging dvd copies of the Mary Tyler Moore Show. They may go on sale on Ebay in August. I forwarded this information to Fox by way of email and just received the same reply. I told them how they may want to beat whoever this is to the punch by releasing future episodes on dvd soon. All the seasons will be available from what I have been able to find out. Does anybody know if it is legal for them to do this? I sure would like to have more Mary!! Could Ebay sue whoever it is that is doing this? I know there have been bootlegged copies of cds sold on Ebay. By the way, the first year was just the beginning of this wonderful show, it only got better every year!! Well, for those of us who truly love the show, I couldn't be sadder that Fox chooses to play politics and those who don't believe there is something political behind the decision not to release Mary on dvd are only fooling themselves. I mean, come on--the second season is just sitting on the shelf. What is wrong with these people? I can't believe they would risk losing their integrity for cheap, instant gains. Somebody needs to be fired instantly for this decision. Mary is the greatest and always will be!!! Long live the 70's and Mary Tyler Moore!!!!!! And the heck with Fox-they stink(like rotten cheese)!!! If any Fox executive has anything to say regarding this-please feel free.
It would be nice to hear something from a Fox executive on the real reason behind the decision to let all the Mary Fans out there down!!! And why didn't they pick the hat toss in the air scene for the dvd cover? Duh!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Episode list for my favorite TV show--MTM, May 19 2004
By 
L.M.W. (Alabama, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
I have included a complete episode list for season one of "The Mary Tyler Moore Show." This DVD also includes some great bonus features, most notably the 88-minute feature on the making of season one. Very good. The quality of the DVDs is great as well. We can only hope and pray for seasons 2-7 to be released on DVD. With all of these other shows being released (even "Green Acres" and "Dukes of Hazzard," which aren't even good shows-they can't compare with MTM!), I hope that Fox will soon produce more seasons of "The Mary Tyler Moore Show."
1. Love is All Around-After breaking up with her boyfriend, Mary moves to Minneapolis and gets a job as associate producer at WJM.
2. Today I am a Ma'am-When a mailboy at WJM calls Mary "ma'am," she realizes she's not so young anymore. Rhoda decides to take action on the situation, resulting in a hilariously awkward evening of "dinner" guests.
3. Bess, You is My Daughter Now-Phyllis asks Mary to watch her bratty daughter Bess for a few days. Bess undergoes a transformation under Mary's care...then she doesn't want to go home.
4. Divorce Isn't Everything-Mary and Rhoda join the Better Luck Next Time Club, a group for divorced people, so that they can get discounted charter flights to Europe. Of course, they're not divorced, so they constantly try to cover up the fact, and Mary feels guilty.
5. Keep Your Guard Up-An ex-quarterback friend of Lou's comes to WJM and wants a job as a sportscaster. Mary volunteers to coach him.
6. Support Your Local Mother-Rhoda's mother, Ida Morgenstern, comes to visit her, but Rhoda refuses to see her. Ida winds up staying with Mary instead.
7. Toulouse Lautrec is One of My Favorite Artists-Mary interviews a renowned author, and he subsequently asks her for a date. She accepts...but when he stands up, she discovers that he is six inches shorter than she is.
8. The Snow Must Go On-During a blizzard, WJM has a partial power loss and is unable to broadcast election results.
9. Bob and Rhoda and Teddy and Mary-Rhoda's new boyfriend is actually more interested in Mary, causing tension in their friendship.
10. Assistant Wanted, Female-Mary hires Phyllis to be her assistant in the newsroom, but Phyllis refuses to do any tasks that Mary gives her. Instead, Phyllis devotes herself to Ted.
11. 1040 or Fight-Mary is audited by a shy, stuttering accountant who develops a crush on her.
12. Anchorman Overboard-Ted agrees to speak at Phyllis' women's club, but he gets stage fright.
13. He's All Yours-Lou's college-age nephew, a cameraman at WJM, develops a crush on Mary.
14. Christmas and the Hard Luck Kid-Mary has to work on Christmas all alone.
15. Howard's Girl-Mary dates Howard Arnell's twin brother, Paul, who is much more suave and sophisticated. When Paul takes Mary home to meet his parents, the parents only talk about Howard, obviously the family favorite.
16. Party is Such Sweet Sorrow-Mary accepts an offer at another TV station for a higher salary. WJM throws her a going-away party, and Mary gets tipsy.
17. Just a Lunch-Mary has lunch with John Corcoran, a charming news correspondent, who is "separated" from his wife.
18. Second Story Story-Mary's apartment is burglarized three times in rapid succession.
19. We Closed in Minneapolis-Murray writes a play that is finally accepted for production with only one condition: Ted must be the star.
20. Hi!-Mary has a tonsillectomy, but she has a grouchy roommate who thinks Mary is a go-go dancer.
21. The Boss Isn't Coming to Dinner-Lou keeps dodging Mary's invitations to dinner. Mary finally finds out that Lou and Edie are separated.
22. A Friend in Deed-Mary's old friend from summer camp, Twinks, gets a job as a receptionist at WJM. High-spirited Twinks forces her way back into Mary's life, much to Rhoda's dismay.
23. Smokey the Bear Wants You-Rhoda begins dating an attractive, wealthy man, but she and Mary can't figure out what he does for a living.
24. The 45-Year-Old Man-When Lou gets fired, Mary visits the owner of WJM, Wild Jack Monroe, asking him to give Lou his job back.
Note: I couldn't figure out the cover of this boxed set. That photo of Mary has absolutely nothing to do with the show. It's not even an attractive photo. I don't know what the marketing folks were thinking when they did that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A Show!, May 15 2004
By 
Nathan Laney (Northern Cambria, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
I bought the first season of MTM the same week it was released. Far and away one of the greatest television shows of all time! I really don't think that even needs to be said, that's something we all know, and I think that's why we will probably see Fox change their decision on releasing the remaining seasons, if it is, in fact, in Fox's hands. It's hard to tell what could delay the release of a show of this stature and quality. Certainly they would have to know that there is a demand for it. I think if we're patient, eventually we will get the remaining episodes from this series.
This sort of makes me think of the Badfinger skirmish back in the 70's and 80's. Their music was suddenly pulled from release for legal reasons while the demand was still high. The price for a Badfinger album went through the roof because there was no new product available. After probably close to 20 years everything was settled and their material was released on CD. I'm not implying that this might be the case here, but the demand was eventually satisfied. I think we'll eventually see that in this instance too, but it may be a while. Let's hope it's soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FOX, Read This! Please try it!!!!, Feb. 2 2004
By 
Robert Wesley Sager "Student" (South Charleston, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Ok FOX, you actually have the season 2 set completed but because season 1 didn't sell well you can't justify releasing it? Here's an idea--release season 2 as you have released all of the MASH DVDs for the same price range. What about those season 2 special features you ask? Simply put in an ad (like those ones for comics, cards, etc in the Buffy sets) in the set and offer to sell them on a separate DVD for around the price of a movie. You know what is likely to happen? For every 2 or 3 season 2 sets you sell you will probably get 1 order for the bonus features dvd. You could also offer season 2 in two separate formats-one like the MASH sets (without any special features) and the other just like season 1 (with special features). I find it hard to believe that a company as BIG and POWERFUL as FOX cannot afford to try and release another season of this show. PLEASE FOX! I think that you will see that if you release season 2 you will be surprised by how well it will sell. Many Mary fans I and I are VERY likely to go and pick it up the day it's released! So FOX just give it a try, TV Land has stopped airing this show and many fans of it are becoming Mary deprived! We really love and appreciate the season 1 set but would be even more appreciative for a season 2 set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is Fox paying ANY attention at all?, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
I remember sitting and watching the great Saturday night shows as a kid... Bob Newhart, Mary Tyler Moore, and Carol Burnett. Years ago, I bought all the MTM videos that I could find... only two episodes per tape in most cases and far from a complete collection but still, being able to watch Mary again was well worth it.
Then the DVD finally came out. YAY!!! Mary in DVD quality at last! I could hardly wait until Christmas to watch. (I *knew* I was getting it for Christmas.) And even better... a promise inside the box that Season 2 was coming in only four more months!
Well... it's been an incredibly long four months. Fox is up to season what... 5? 6? of M*A*S*H and STILL no season 2 (or beyond) of Mary? What gives? I see all kinds of pleas for Fox to release more of Mary and we get NOTHING except some lame excuse that season one "didn't sell well enough" or some such nonsense. What do they expect? Season one was just the beginning... great episodes (Chuckles) and characters (SueAnn Nivens) were yet to come.
Come on, Fox... pay some attention here! Start releasing the rest of Mary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The EPISODES are what sell the set - Not the extras, Nov. 30 2003
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
This is an open letter to Fox Home Entertainment:
It's not surprising that the cost of producing the first season set was high. As nice as the "Making of Season One" documentary was to see, it had to come with a hefty price tag. I, for one, only viewed that documentary once. Others I know who've also added this set to their collection have done the same.
Most fans of the show don't care nearly as much about the extras as we do about the episodes themselves. So perhaps instead of scrapping all plans for future releases of this series, you might want to pay attention to the example set by other TV show releases:
M*A*S*H ...Each season comes in a simple, 3-disc set. The plastic "clam-shell casing is sturdy and perfect for easy storage. Extras are kept to such a bare minimum that the buying public doesn't have to wait very long in between each season's release.
The Dick Van Dyke Show ...Inside each season cardboard package, which is smartly designed to look like an old fashioned television set, are 5 thin plastic cases for each disc. Double the sturdiness, with a design that fits the show's time period perfectly. Extras are not contained on a separate disc, but rather are spread throughout each regular disc. Instead of a full documentary, interview clips from a previously produced documentary have been included.
Friends ...Packaging is very similar to the MTM set, however the extras are arranged in between the episodes, rather than on a separate disc. The price is also lower than the MTM set, making it more accessible to the show's fans.
One last point that needs to be addressed is package design. The 1971 glamour pose of Mary on the front cover has nothing to do with the series, nor does it capture the spirit of the show. What about the classic shot of Mary tossing her hat into the air?
Please don't give up on your plans to release the rest of this series onto DVD. I am certain that all is needed is just a revised approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for season 2?...sign the petition!, Nov. 7 2003
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Having just turned 30, I was a little young to remember The Mary Tyler Moore Show on TV in it's original broadcast, but thankfully due to reruns, it has been etched into my memory. As a young boy I can vividly recall the show being a fixture in our home, and we still recollect our favorite episodes. What a fabulous show...and what a wonderful piece of Americana. The purchase of this Twentieth Century Fox DVD was a no-brainer for me. Any one reading this review, doesn't need me to sell them on the show, so I'll comment on other things. First of all, the quality of the transfer is exceptional. I've never seen or heard the show better. The Box set is also packed with extras as well such as documentaries, interviews, commentary, etc. All said and done, it's a marvelous effort from Fox. And that, my friends, is where the praise ends. Although I am technically a member of Generation X, I am not so quick to cheer the culture of my generation. One only has to turn on the television on any given night to witness how far we've sunk in terms of what we consider entertainment. On most sitcoms today, in place of well timed humor, witty dialogue, and intelligent storylines, you will find mostly low brow potty humor...with punchlines consistantly being derived from either the scatological or the sexual. The only thing more shocking than the production of this sort of material on TV, is our general acceptance of it into our homes. It's nice to see, as with Season One of MTM, that this wasn't always the case. For all of those who care to know, Fox is NOT planning on releasing any more of MTM on DVD. From what I can gather, this brilliant decision was made after season one sold poorly...supposedly. So I guess that the current slew of trash TV that you see boxed up and ready for sale, is selling better than this classic, historic show. I refuse to believe that. And Fox, if MTM is selling poorly, then the problem lies somewhere with your company, not with the show. As all fans of this show realize, Season One, although great, is only an introduction. The real genious occurs as each actor grows into their character, and as the characters grow with one another. Maybe Fox could be convinced of their stupidity. There has been a petition started to change their decision. Go to mtmshow.com and look for the petition link. It's quick and easy to fill out, and who know's...maybe it will work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for MTM, zero for FOX., Oct. 25 2003
By 
John Corbett (Summerland, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Okay, time to vent...
I waited for nearly a year in anticipation after it was first announced that MTM would be coming to DVD in 2002. Finally, the DVD format had matured, I thought. The very first day it came out, I bought it, and my wife and I were dazzled by the quality of the box set (my original review can also be found on Amazon). It was everything we could have hoped for and more. We were tantalized by the insert card that noted that Season Two would be following in March of 2003. We eagerly marked our calendars. And then... nothing.
While obscure (and questionable titles) continued to pour out on the DVD format, from the disastrous Pink Lady variety show to every last episode of the Avengers, the much-anticipated MTM Season Two continued to be postponed, until we found out that Fox considered the Season One DVD a failure and canceled the remaining season releases altogether. In an age where television is increasingly dominated by an endless parade of sex and disposable, low-brow humor, is there no longer any room for or interest in a Mary Richards, a Lou Grant or a Rhoda Morgenstern?
We can only assume that by pulling the plug on MTM, Fox has prematurely given up on its large library of other television classics (with the notable exception of M*A*S*H) -- an extremely unfortunate development for the TV-on-DVD movement and a shocking betrayal of trust that may cause some to think twice before investing in other half-hearted DVD releases. Perhaps Fox will kindly allow other studios to release these shows instead, but don't hold your breath.
Years from now, MTM will still be considered one of the greatest and most significant shows ever to grace the small screen, and the buffoons who botched this DVD will be long forgotten. In the meantime, unfortunately, we will have to suffice ourselves with DVD releases of such forgettable filler as Dark Angel and Son Of The Beach.
I couldn't even bear to look at my MTM DVD box set on the shelf any longer. I sold it on Half.com.
NOTE: By the way, Fox is trying to salvage the Season One release by repackaging it as the "Mary Tyler Moore Collection" on its website. A truly wasted opportunity.
SECOND NOTE: I find it interesting that while MTM is considered an expensive flop, all the remaining seasons of the Dick Van Dyke Show have been announced for release in 2004. Even the infamous "Mary and Rhoda" TV movie flop is making it to DVD in short order. Why are other studios able to have problem-free Classic TV releases while Fox can't seem to get its act together for such an essential show as MTM? It seems unfair to blame a lack of interest in MTM for the "failure" of the box set -- but it is doubtful Fox will realize where the true problem rests anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import]
CDN$ 45.98 CDN$ 16.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews