Customer Reviews


163 Reviews
5 star:
 (150)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD package worthy of TV's most beloved sit-com
Not only is The Mary Tyler Moore Show one of the very best - and probably the most beloved - situation comedy of all-time, this Season One collection is one of the best television DVD box sets on the market. The fact that Fox really did Season One right made it all the more unfortunate that plans for Season Two were shelved for so long - now, though, I can write this...
Published on July 9 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I think the picture is too grainey...
I think this show was rushed to DVD too quickly. The picture is grainey and the sound is faded. Try again Fox.
Published on Nov. 11 2003 by D.W. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD package worthy of TV's most beloved sit-com, July 9 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Not only is The Mary Tyler Moore Show one of the very best - and probably the most beloved - situation comedy of all-time, this Season One collection is one of the best television DVD box sets on the market. The fact that Fox really did Season One right made it all the more unfortunate that plans for Season Two were shelved for so long - now, though, I can write this review with all the delight I can muster, knowing that the long-awaited Season Two set is finally set for release. It will have a hard time topping this one, but the important thing is that it and the remaining five seasons of the show are released because, as an online petition made clear, we want our Mary.

I really don't know how anybody cannot love this show. Mary, Lou, Murray, Ted, Rhoda, Phyllis - these are characters we all know and love (OK - I'll admit Phyllis is hard to love). This show was just one classic moment after another, right from the start of the very first episode. Each half hour was a guaranteed good time with good friends. I was late for the premiere, not coming into the world until the night of the third episode, so I can't really speak from experience about how different and ground-breaking a show this was back in 1970; as a matter of fact, I didn't really like the show when I was very young - proving just how dumb little kids can be. Looking back now, though, it's impossible not to view this show as a real product of the 1970s. Here, in Mary Richards, was a new kind of female character - a single, independent thirty-year-old woman making it on her own in what had traditionally been a man's world. At its heart, the show was all about the life of a young professional, single woman in a new, feminist era - yet the show was not overtly feminist. Heck, Mary Richards was exactly the kind of woman any man in his right mind would want to marry. I also have to note the fact that Mary was the only woman I know of who always looked good in the fashion debacle that was the 1970s. Then there was Rhoda, an altogether different kind of new woman. Lou Grant, of course, is a product of traditional thinking, but even he proves flexible - in his own grouchy way - of adjusting to change. I could go on and on about these characters: good old Murray, Ted Baxter, even Gordy the weatherman. Ted Knight was nothing short of brilliant in his portrayal of the one-and-only Ted Baxter.

In many ways, the show's first season was my favorite. The original cast gelled instantly, Mary was at her perkiest, and the opening montage and music were perfect - the show's opening changed a little bit from one season to the next. Sonny Curtis' Love Is All Around was the perfect theme song, and the hat toss at the end became an instant cultural icon. Not only do you get all 24 shows from that magical first season in this DVD box set, you get all kinds of great extras: commentary on select episodes, an MTM trivia challenge (a piece of cake for us true fans), a still gallery of images related to the show's first season, clips from the Emmy Awards of 1971 (where Ed Asner and Valerie Harper took home awards for best supporting actor and actress in a comedy series, James L. Brooks and Allan Burns won for outstanding writing achievement in a comedy - for an episode CBS adamantly opposed making, and Jay Sandrich won for outstanding directorial achievement in a comedy) - not bad for a show that the clueless suits at CBS absolutely hated in the beginning. That leads me to the spectacular 90-minute documentary from 2002 that is included in this collection. It is an incredibly informative, entertaining look back at the show by almost everyone involved in its creation (only one of the writers, Lorenzo Music, and of course the great Ted Knight were no longer with us at that time). It's really a remarkable story, one that really reinforces the wonderful affinity everyone on this series enjoyed with one another. It's almost impossible to believe some of the problems the show faced in pre-production, especially the disastrous first live run on what became known as Black Tuesday - and who could have guessed that Gavin MacLeod initially read for the part of Lou Grant, or that CBS did all it could to get Ed Asner replaced?

Basically, what I am trying to say is that this Season One set was and is a dream come true for all of us MTM fans. If you care anything at all about quality television at its best, you will add The Mary Tyler Moore Show Season One to your personal collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I think the picture is too grainey..., Nov. 11 2003
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
I think this show was rushed to DVD too quickly. The picture is grainey and the sound is faded. Try again Fox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Who can turn the world on with a smile?, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
That's right, Mary can! Bought this for me Ma for Xmas as she was always a major fan of the MTMS - I so remember so much of this as a kid in the 70s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Mary Tyler Moore show: season 1, April 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The series was a good one especially for us. My husband was ill and the lightness and humour were just the right balance for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, Feb. 14 2013
By 
VALERIE A MICHETTI (Cleveland, Ohio, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I adore this show - so wonderful to have the entire box set. The discs have funny or interesting commentary and extra info in each season's disc. The show is hilarious and characters so likeable. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, March 30 2006
By 
Scott Bolger "Scott" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Another great classic TV show finally brought to a DVD collection. And what a collection it is! With a very nice fold out package, that contains three discs of episodes, and one disc of bonus material, wonderfully resotred picture and sound all make this a wonderfuly done release!
The DVD menus here are easy to navigate and well organized, and there is no skimping on bonus material here: one seperat disc chock full of extras is a perfect way to end off the season one collection!
Also inclueds a small booklet with information on each episode and a full chapter menu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars yeah, season two is one the way!, April 14 2005
By 
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Does mine eyes deceive me? Is season two really on the way? This is great news for the MTM fan like me. Season One is remarkable. We watch little Mary strike it out on her own and gain a family along the way. What promises do Season Two bring? The growth of Mary, and the growth of some amazing relationships.
For all you who haven't seen Mary, this is the greatest show ever to be made. It is beautiful, sophisticated, and it will always leave you with a smile. Mary always seems to be there when you need her. The show is comforting in a way. It is also very funny. A good watch. And watch for season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great news! 2nd season of Mary Tyler Moore this summer!, Feb. 24 2005
By 
Fred A Thomson (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
According to tvshowsondvd.com the second season of the Mary Moore Show
will be released this summer in a single box set! Either fox has finally
listened or it has been a clever marketing ploy all along. Either way will take
the bait and buy MTM 2 ASAP and send a message with our money that
we want all seasons released as quickly as they can. Right everybody! Our
hopes have been resurected. Lets keep them alive by
putting our money where our mouth is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We want more, Jan. 24 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
A series that seems to remain as funny today as it was thirty years ago. The time has long past for the rest of this first rate series to be released. The episodes are fresh, original and actually funny unlike many of the so called sitcoms of today. Definately one of the best american comedies of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See the "original" anchorman!!!, Jan. 4 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
The best sitcom to date -- the one that all other "ensemble" sitcoms look to as inspiration. Wonderful, well-rounded characters and so much chemistry! I couldn't help but notice the parallels in the recent movie "Anchorman" -- Farrel's character reading everything on the teleprompter, his dog named "Baxter", another anchorman from another network calls himself "Ted Knightly" (or Knightingly). Coincidence? I think not.
Where is Season 2 that was "promised" for March 2003. I want so very much to see subsequent seasons with the death of Chuckles the clown, and the all-nighter with Mary and Rhoda re-writing obituaries. I still laugh just thinking about some of my favourite episodes.
Boycott Fox anyone???? Don't buy any more from Fox until they do the honorable thing and release the next seasons of the best sitcom ever!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mary Tyler Moore Show: The Complete First Season [Import]
CDN$ 45.98 CDN$ 15.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews