Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Planet: 10th Anniversary Edition (blu ray)...good audio/video transfer...a great addition to my blu ray library!
VIDEO:

Treasure Planet arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.68:1 encode. Even lesser Disney animated feature films earn A-class treatments. This video transfer is almost perfect, with slight banding (the Etherium clouds in the opening shot). Colours are rich and radiant. Primaries are subdued but potent. Black levels are as dark and deep as a black hole...
Published on Aug. 8 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ITS AWFULLY DARK & GLOOMY UP THERE!
In Brief
The legendary loot of a thousand worlds inspires an intergalactic treasure hunt when fifteen year old Jim Hawkins (Joseph Gorden-Levitt) stumbles upon a map to the greatest pirate trove in the universe. Based on Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island Classic novel, the film follows Jim's fantastic journey across a parallel universe as a cabin boy aboard a...
Published on Jan. 7 2004 by T. J. Bacon


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Planet: 10th Anniversary Edition (blu ray)...good audio/video transfer...a great addition to my blu ray library!, Aug. 8 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

Treasure Planet arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.68:1 encode. Even lesser Disney animated feature films earn A-class treatments. This video transfer is almost perfect, with slight banding (the Etherium clouds in the opening shot). Colours are rich and radiant. Primaries are subdued but potent. Black levels are as dark and deep as a black hole (quite literally at the 42-minute mark). Contrast is consistent, with great detail. The animators' hand-drawn line art is crisp and refined. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Treasure Planet sails the deadly Etherium seas with a brisk, spirited DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track. Fiery supernova debris hurtles past the bow of the RLS Legacy. A black hole roars and hisses as a helpless crew is dragging into its maw. Space whales glide alongside an astonished young man. A giant energy beam slices through the center of a planet and sends a sea of treasure hurtling into an opening abyss. And those are just some of Planet's more notable sonic showcases. Dialogue is clean, clear and perfectly prioritized throughout. (4.5/5)

STORYLINE:

A futuristic twist on Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island, Treasure Planet follows restless teen Jim Hawkins on a fantastic journey across the universe as cabin boy aboard a majestic space galleon. Befriended by the ship's charismatic cyborg cook, John Silver, Jim blossoms under his guidance and shows the makings of a fine shipmate as he and the alien crew battle a supernova, a black hole, and a ferocious space storm. But even greater dangers lie ahead when Jim discovers that his trusted friend Silver is actually a scheming pirate with mutiny on his mind.

TRIVIA:

Treasure Planet was nominated for Best Animated Feature Oscar in 2002, but lost to Spirited Away from Japan.

It has an estimated budget of $140 million and $40 million for advertisement, but only grossed $101 million worldwide.

The name of the ship, "R.L.S. Legacy" is a reference to the book's ("Treasure Island") author, Robert Louis Stevenson.

Did you notice a Mickey Mouse figurine on one of young Jim's bedroom shelves as Sarah talks to him while he reads?

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I bought Treasure Planet as part of the purchase, including The Lorax 3D blu ray which has dropped to a ridiculously low $24.97, in order to qualify for free shipping. I did not regret. It was an enjoyable 95 minutes. With a great audio/video transfer and plenty of actions, this 10th Anniversary Edition is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful failure from Disney: dull and poorly-conceived, Feb. 2 2004
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
Within the first few minutes of this science-fiction adaptation of Stevenson's TREASURE ISLAND, you'll be amazed with the vibrant blend of hand-animation and CGI movement.
Within the next few minutes, you'll be bored with the flat charactetizations, forced unfunny humor, and lazy by-the-numbers transcription of the novel's plot into a poorly thought-out science-fiction universe.
This is Disney at its most superficial and cold. Science-fiction fans will be frustrated with the shallow and dismissive explanations for the background (why, given all this technology, do people wield swords and use ropes to tie themselves to decks -- and what are they breathing, anyway?), most adults will tire of the bland dramatics, and only the youngest kids will stay awake for most of it. Martin Short's malfunctioning robot must be one of the least funny of Dinsey's comic-relief characters. Rent LILO & STITCH instead if you have kids (or just rent it again). If you want more intelligent adult science-fiction animation, check out the similarly titled but completely different FANTASTIC PLANET. The little seen TITAN A.E. also explores the space opera animation setting in a much more satisfactory way. Even DreamWorks SINBAD: LEGEND OF THE SEVEN SEAS is more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ITS AWFULLY DARK & GLOOMY UP THERE!, Jan. 7 2004
By 
T. J. Bacon "TJB" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
In Brief
The legendary loot of a thousand worlds inspires an intergalactic treasure hunt when fifteen year old Jim Hawkins (Joseph Gorden-Levitt) stumbles upon a map to the greatest pirate trove in the universe. Based on Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island Classic novel, the film follows Jim's fantastic journey across a parallel universe as a cabin boy aboard a space-galleon. Blossoming under the guidance of the cyborg cook John Silver (Brian Murray), Jim and the alien crew battle supernovas, black holes and ferocious space storms on their quest for the gold, but none of this can compare to deadly dangers that lay ahead.
Review
One can't help but recall the surrealism of Yellow Submarine when watching this film, as the characters and even the concept of wooden Galleons with engines large enough to put the Millennium Falcon to shame fill a universe of oddly proportioned aliens and robots. Indeed, ignoring the insanity of an open decked ship in the vacuum of space, one can't help but think the romance of a feline captain and a scientist with canine origins is a little more than disturbing. Yet this is Disney, and all is pure and good when it comes to cross breeding of two species.
Seriously, Treasure Planet is an enjoyable romp through Stevenson's original classic, and while purists may have palpitations at the liberties that have been taken with the source material, the bottom line is that it is a thoroughly enjoyable family film. Martin Short's portrayal of B.E.N., a robot with a short circuit, is hilarious and recalls memories of Robin Williams turn as the Genie in Aladdin. David Hyde Pierce, making his second outing as a vocal talent in a Disney Film following A Bugs Life, is perfectly sardonic and draws knowingly from his successful performance as Niles in the TV sitcom Fraser. While Levitt, who made himself famous through his portrayal of Tommy in Third Rock from the Sun, is refreshingly straight as the teenage hero Jim.
Its the roughness of the animation that in my opinion really lets this film down. While it isn't bad by any standard, it doesn't have the flair of a Disney film, and near the introduction of Thompson's feline captain there are some glaringly obvious vocal-sync problems in matching the voice to the characters mouth. Indeed, this just doesn't have the magic of a Disney theatrical release and will more likely become a popular home video classic, as it lacks the grandeur and set pieces of some of their better know products.
The Verdict
Treasure Planet is a good film that lacks something at its core. It will make a great half term treat and adults will enjoy it as much as their children, but Disney needs to refill their salt shaker of Magic if this is all that they can muster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What the hell were they smoking?, Dec 31 2003
By 
Gregory Bartz "Gregorius" (San Jose, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
Somebody over at Disney needs to put down the crack pipe - you can't stick model rocket engines on a 16th-century spanish galleon and expect it to travel across the galaxy in 20 seconds. This movie's whole production design was so incredibly ass-backwards, it made my head spin. It's sad really, because the story is a damn good one, and this movie had a lot of potential. If those stoners at Disney had been spending less time taking acid trips to outer space, they would have done the reasonable thing: make realistic-looking spaceships and settings like in Titan A.E., and at least pay attention to whatever laws of physics you know about when you're sober. Instead, we get the most warped unreality ever seen on the big screen: There's breathable air in space, and the ship is rocket-powered, meaning that traditional sails would slow the ship down - so, of course, this ship keeps its sails unfurled at all times. Excuse me, but what team of clown-college flunkies decided that this would be a cool idea?
My advice? Either read Treasure Island, or watch a movie that doesn't insult your intelligence. This one makes Jimmy Neutron look like Shakespear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good flick for kids, Nov. 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't usually submit reviews, but after reading a lot of the ones here I couldn't help myself. Treasure Planet is a great little movie for kids. As with most Disney movies of late, it is not aimed at a preschooler crowd -- some younger kids may be o.k. with it, but parents should be prepared to watch it with them (some scary characters, lots of shot-'em-up action and swashbuckling, etc.). Bottom line -- my kids liked it, and so did I. It deals with a title character who has some problems; his dad abandoned the family, and he's trying to deal with his anger and prove himself. It also deals with friendship, good vs. evil, and all the usual "Disney formula for an animated film" stuff.
It drives me crazy when so many reviews talk about the lack of plot line and character development...Hello!!! This is a KIDS movie! Kids like simple plot lines, characters that are clearly good or evil, and lots of repetition! If you're looking for depth, an animated film made for kids may not be your best bet. :o) True, some parts of the movie are annoying beyond belief (one word -- Morph), but reading three Dr. Suess books in a row drives me bonkers, and those are considered children's classics.
Bottom line, this movie is not a life changing experience, and not in the same category as the Pixar films like "Finding Nemo" and "Toy Story." There are better disney films out there. BUT, it's still a good way to pass a rainy afternoon with the kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watch it with the sound off, Sept. 25 2003
By 
Caraculiambro (La Mancha and environs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
For a host of reasons, "Treasure Planet" is sure to please the moppet audience for which it was intended. The art and animation is nothing short of sublime: the acme of the animator's art. The coloring is dazzling yet subtle. The conception of the ships is bold and original. The design of the characters - particularly Long John Silver, B.E.N., and Mr. Scroop - does not disappoint. The script (for the most part) is deft; the pace, brisk; and the voices of the characters matchlessly brought off.
So what's the problem with this movie?
Well, for the ADULT audience, at which many aspects of this movie are aimed, several hurdles come a-knockin', particularly when it comes to the way the plot stumbles storywise.
Lemme see if I understand: Dr. Dilbert Doppler is financing - exclusively commissioning - the entire ship with his "savings" (this is made clear). So how is it that his homeboy Jim gets stuck having to swab the decks and peel potatoes? The script tried to play this off as a whim on the part of our Protestant work-ethic captain, but for all that, it doesn't make a lick of sense and those upstairs knew it. I suppose Disney figured that, as I suggested, the kids in the audience wouldn't storm out of the movie-houses protesting the gross illogicality of this situation, since no sooner are we presented with it than we are introduced to the Cyborg's mesmerizing appendage. Just one of many irritating examples of how the barrel of their exposition could have used a cork or two. I had no problem believing that there were three-masted ships sailing through the ether and a dozen other ludicrous premises, but Jim's cabin-boy status posed a believability problem that nagged at me through a big chunk of the film.
And what's with Jim's pathetically trendy space-board? Is our age really so cynical that we can't simply make a movie that doesn't have a "cool and rebellious" hero at its center? Christ. Voltaire was "cool and rebellious." Jim ("prepubescent twit") Hawkins isn't. In years to come this transparent attempt to connect with today's "extreme generation" is definitely going to date the movie in an embarrassing way. God forbid Disney remake Snow White! All the dwarves would probably be into body-piercing and bungee-jumping! Definitely one thing that's great about movies like Pinocchio and The Little Mermaid compared to this kind of film: in those older films there was never any attempt to cast the events and characters onscreen in the light of recent fads, hair-dos, etc. It was possible delightfully to lose oneself in the imaginative worlds presented without being rudely summoned back to the grimy modern world we all inhabit. Even so, I had nearly forgot about that idiotic board until the end of the movie, when it returns with a vengeance. Save your popcorn bag: you'll need it for the vomit.
And what's with Morph, the ubiquitously ingratiating sidekick? Sheesh. I mean, does Disney have such a low opinion of children today that it invariably assumes none of them will want to see a movie unless there's some impossibly adorable (and scrofulous, if you watch carefully) creature thrown in there? Am I asking too much?
(Well, at least the principals didn't break into a maudlin chorus every 5 minutes; this is something of an improvement over the traditional Disney fare. Although there are a couple of sappy songs - such as shortly after Jim meets Silver - mercifully, though, they aren't sung by the characters.)
A final thing that I found annoying with this movie (am I alone?) was that, in the end, NOBODY gets the treasure. I mean, I know the treasure's just series of nicely-drawn pictures, but at the end of the movie this gigantic mountain of gold and jewels is utterly destroyed and NOBODY gets it, not even the villain! I found this immensely irritating; the audience had definitely made an emotional investment in this treasure. Finding it was the whole point of everything, and when things simply don't pan out, we are left feeling cheated and unsatisfied. Couldn't the loot at least have gone to an orphanage or something? True, Jim was tossed a few coins, but then, in the idiotic finale, we see his mother has inexplicably used them to rebuild her inn (which, we are led to understand, had been on the point of giving her a coronary), rather than using them to go to graduate school, or build a better life for herself somehow. This, also, rubbed me the wrong way.
Yes, "Treasure Planet" is an irritating letdown in every way except visually. What is clear from the film's coloring, detail, and computer-aided graphics is that animated movies are right on the cusp of really growing up, really becoming serious vehicles for art and storytelling - at least potentially. But for some reason the studios that have the power to create meaningful animated films insist instead on infantilizing the media, wasting millions of dollars cranking out dreck so laughable that even the kids it's intended for see right through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Effort 4 1/2 stars, Sept. 18 2003
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
O.k so people your right this one doesn't measure up to other Disney animated classics like "Beauty and the Beast" or "The Little Mermaid", but then again maybe that is not such a bad thing. Anyone remember the little disaster in-a-box from 1996 "Humpback?" No well then count yourself blessed and spared by the divine hand of God It was bad.
This movie was not bad, not at all in fact I rather enjoyed it. The storyline was solid if not wholly original and the graphics were great, sorta reminded me of Titan A.E only this movie got me to laugh once in a while whereas Titan A.E didn't. The voice actors also seemed to have a fun time with what they were doing.
The thing that killed this movie and why it so poorly at the box office was just the shear number of Treasure Island movies out there. I'm sure that if this move had been a wholly orginal idea it would have been a box office smash, but unfortunately it was not.
If you have the opportunity to but this one go ahead and do it. This movie will surly keep both you and the kids interested. On the plus side for adults the annoying singing is kept to a minimum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, good DVD extras, Sept. 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
As you know, the premise of "Treasure Planet" is a revamping of the old Robert Louis Stevenson tale "Treasure Island". Jim Hawkings (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has aspirations bigger than the modest inn his mother (played by Laurie Metcalf) owns and operates. His dreams come true when a dying pirate lands drops in front of him and asks him to keep his golden orb safe from a cyborg who's coming after him. With the aid of his mother's friend Dr. Doppler (David Hyde Pierce), Jim discovers the orb is actually a treasure map. He enlists the help of Captain Amelia (Emma Thompson) and her crew to track down this treasure. But the ships cook John Silver (Brian Murray), a cyborg, has other plans for their adventures...
This futuristic telling of a timeless tale is fun, and the animation is cool. I'll be honest- this film is best seen on the big screen (especially IMAX theater version), but the DVD is still pretty impressive. Extras feature alternate endings, deleted scenes, and a treasure hunt game that rewards you with a deleted scene that was cute, but in my opinion not worth the effort to see. Still, this DVD is worth the money and should be a Disney staple in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I've seen it 13 times!!!, Aug. 27 2003
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
Action, adveture, the perfect movie. Disney's Treasure Planet is a Wonderful film, one of my top ten, but maybe I'll tell you about that when I review Snow White, if at all. The movie is based on Robert Louis Stevenston's classic novel, I'm sure we've all read it, I have. Jim Hawkins live with his mother while running the Admiral Benbow Inn. Although his sort-of aligned on the wrong tracks, he know how to handle a solar-surfer. One day while coming back from surfing, a ship crash-lands on the dock near the Inn. An ugly turtle-like alien steps out, along with a chest. Being a kind hearted soul, Jim helps him into the Inn. They find out thai his name is Billy Bones, and is trying to hide from pirates. Knowing that he was dying, he gave Jim two things. A treasure map, and a warning to "beware the cyborg". Grabbing the map and his mother, they ran to the back door to escape, not a second too soon, because pirates then raided the Inn, looking for Bones' map. Jim and his mother escaped to they're good friend's house, named Dr. Doppler. (The friend, not the house). After Jim opened the map, they discovered that it led to treasure, the loot of 1,000 Worlds. Eager to see find it, Dr. Doppler & Jim hire a crew, and they set sail. Jim was to give the captain, Captain Amelia, the map for safe keeping. After that, Jim was named Cabin Boy, and was assigned to work with the ship's cook, John Silver. But Jim was terrified to see that he was a cyborg!! But after getting to know him, Jim decided that this couldn't possibly be the one he was told to look out for. They became fast friends, and became very attached to one another. But after accedentally stumbling onto his plot, Jim runs to the captain to warn her. But it was too late. The mutiny had begun. Trying desperately to get to a life boat, Jim loses the map, only to find that Morph, Silver's pet, had changed it's shape to look like it. But fortunately, none of the pirates knew. Knowing that that disaster had taken place, they were now on Treasure Planet, and Jim was to go and find shelter. On the way, they meet up with B.E.N. (Bio-Electronic Navigator) and he offers them his home. He was marooned by the same pirates, with the most famous, Captain Nathaniel Flint. In the middle of the night, Jim, B.E.N., & Morph set out to go back to the ship, dis-arm the laser-cannons, and get the map. Since all but one sly pirate, Scroop, had been left on the ship, they climbed the anchor's chain up to the top. B.E.N. was given the job of dis-connecting the laser-cannons, Morph to distract Scroop, & Jim would go and get the map. But eventually, Morph and Jim ran into each other, so now that Jim has the map, now he has to get rid of Scroop. Fortunately, B.E.N. while trying to find the right plug to puul, pulled the plug on the artificial gravity, so as jim just bearly grabbed the ship's flag as he was floating upward, Scroop passed him, flinging him into space forever. After B.E.N. finally put the gravity plug in, and the laser-cannon plug out, tthey headed back to camp, only to find that Silver had taken Dr. Doppler & Captain Amelia hostage. Forcing Jim to lead them to the treasure, they set off. They finally found it though, and Silver was filling a life boat of treasure. B.E.N. and Jim found something quite interesting, too. Jim found Captain Flint's skelliton, and B.E.N. found his missing memory chip, which Captain Flint had taken away from him, so long ago.When Jim inserted it, B.E.N. remembered about the booby trap, and the whole planet was going to blow!! ... But Jim will always remember his wonderful adventure on Treasure Planet. Well, that's it. I hope this review has helped you and encourages you to get this DVD. P.S. If you like the movie, buy the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Disney movie that is not approitate for young, Aug. 9 2003
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
Does Disney ever get tired of making animated movies that will scare kids, and animatyed movies that are not good for young kids? I do not know. The only real Disney movie that is good for kids that are very young is Piglet's Big Movie. But please don't let kids watch Disney animated movies until they are older, maybe like 10 years old, where they can watch them and not be scared by the stuff on the screen. As the movie opens, young Jim Hawkins (Austin Majors) is caught by his mom (Laurie Metcalf) up late reading a book while the narrator (Tony Jay) is reading the story. She joins him in bed. 12 years later, Jim Hawkins (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is caught in a restricted area riding a bike. He is brought home by police robots, where he is warned that if he is caught again, he will be thrown in jail. He meets a dying man (Patrick McGoohan), and is given a map to treasure planet to hide from pirates who is looking for it. He decides to make the journey to Treasure Planet, his mom is against it, and a family freind (David Hyde Pierce) decides to make the journey with Jim Hawkins. If you have kids, that want to watch this movie, please view it ahead of time, and decide whether or not to let them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treasure Planet (Bilingual)
Treasure Planet (Bilingual) by Ron Clement (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.97
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews