Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Planet: 10th Anniversary Edition (blu ray)...good audio/video transfer...a great addition to my blu ray library!
VIDEO:

Treasure Planet arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.68:1 encode. Even lesser Disney animated feature films earn A-class treatments. This video transfer is almost perfect, with slight banding (the Etherium clouds in the opening shot). Colours are rich and radiant. Primaries are subdued but potent. Black levels are as dark and deep as a black hole...
Published 23 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not dreadful, but not underrated
Certainly a much better film than I had anticipated, I thought it was gonna be awful from the look of the trailer. But I was very surprised. I actually didn't mind it in the end, but unlike the previous release, Lilo and Stitch, Treasure Planet lacked the urge to make me want to buy it or watch it again. I love to watch any Disney film that's designed to make people...
Published on Jan. 18 2004 by Eeyorefan


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Planet: 10th Anniversary Edition (blu ray)...good audio/video transfer...a great addition to my blu ray library!, Aug. 8 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

Treasure Planet arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.68:1 encode. Even lesser Disney animated feature films earn A-class treatments. This video transfer is almost perfect, with slight banding (the Etherium clouds in the opening shot). Colours are rich and radiant. Primaries are subdued but potent. Black levels are as dark and deep as a black hole (quite literally at the 42-minute mark). Contrast is consistent, with great detail. The animators' hand-drawn line art is crisp and refined. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Treasure Planet sails the deadly Etherium seas with a brisk, spirited DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track. Fiery supernova debris hurtles past the bow of the RLS Legacy. A black hole roars and hisses as a helpless crew is dragging into its maw. Space whales glide alongside an astonished young man. A giant energy beam slices through the center of a planet and sends a sea of treasure hurtling into an opening abyss. And those are just some of Planet's more notable sonic showcases. Dialogue is clean, clear and perfectly prioritized throughout. (4.5/5)

STORYLINE:

A futuristic twist on Robert Louis Stevenson's Treasure Island, Treasure Planet follows restless teen Jim Hawkins on a fantastic journey across the universe as cabin boy aboard a majestic space galleon. Befriended by the ship's charismatic cyborg cook, John Silver, Jim blossoms under his guidance and shows the makings of a fine shipmate as he and the alien crew battle a supernova, a black hole, and a ferocious space storm. But even greater dangers lie ahead when Jim discovers that his trusted friend Silver is actually a scheming pirate with mutiny on his mind.

TRIVIA:

Treasure Planet was nominated for Best Animated Feature Oscar in 2002, but lost to Spirited Away from Japan.

It has an estimated budget of $140 million and $40 million for advertisement, but only grossed $101 million worldwide.

The name of the ship, "R.L.S. Legacy" is a reference to the book's ("Treasure Island") author, Robert Louis Stevenson.

Did you notice a Mickey Mouse figurine on one of young Jim's bedroom shelves as Sarah talks to him while he reads?

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I bought Treasure Planet as part of the purchase, including The Lorax 3D blu ray which has dropped to a ridiculously low $24.97, in order to qualify for free shipping. I did not regret. It was an enjoyable 95 minutes. With a great audio/video transfer and plenty of actions, this 10th Anniversary Edition is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New to me, loved it!, Dec 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie falls into a group that includes; Iron Giant, Atlantis, Road to El Dorado, and Titan A.E. I loved each of these movies for being different in animation for a time when you didn't much expect these. It was an amazing movie with beautiful worlds and landscapes and the animation was great! A treasure hunting tale with a touch of paternal feeling added throughout! Highly suggest this movie, especially if you liked any of the movies previously mentioned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie ...would loved to see in 3D, July 7 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved seeing this movie again on blu-ray ...but wondered how much more fun it would be if Disney converted to 3D. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great shipping speed. Great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super fast shipping, June 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ordered in the morning and I got it the following day. Incredible!!! The movie is great and should be one of the top Disney film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnifique, March 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un grand classique Disney méconnu et sous-estimé!
Graphisme, histoire, humour, tout y est dans une superbe édition DVD+Bluray non zoné, donc lisible en Europe et avec piste française! Que du bonheur!! Petit plus, le fourreau est juste magnifique!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Planet: 10th Anniversary Edition, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved it! The animation was fantastic. I enjoyed how they interpreted the book. The show was futuristic that kept me gravitated to my seat. I would recommend this for teenagers and up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All My Childhood Feels in one spot, Jan. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got this on sale for 10 bucks, fantastic deal as far as I'm concerned.

Picture Quality is surprisingly good, Actually looks like a Blu Ray 5/5

Sound Quality is Very Good on the surround sound 5/5

It isn't LOADED with features, but it had more then enough 5/5

Worth it? on sale 5/5, Regular 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A rollicking Disney Tale that nobody knows exists!, Jan. 3 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Treasure Planet is a big budget impressive looking Disney movie that bombed at the box office. And that's a pity as there's a great little animated movie in there. A swashbuckling tale of pirates and sailing ships and daring deeds set in space. It's the ultimate sci-fi fantasy tale!

Now it's not the best movie that Disney has ever made. It won't compete with the Lion King or Beauty and the Beast; but it's a heck of a lot better than what they were producing twenty years ago during their dark period. It's simply a high quality tale based on Treasure Island transposed to the future. In style and substance I'd call it similar to Titan A.E. (another vastly underated and forgotten movie) or Disney's own Atlantis, just not quite as good.

The Bluray is in a 1.66:1 widescreen format with an English 5.1 DTS-HD soundtrack. There are Dolby Digital 5.1 tracks in French, Spanish and Portuguese as well. The dvd is similar with an English Dolby Digital 5.1 track.

Overall, I'd rate it between 3-1/2 to 4. Perfect for family viewing.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk for Kids, June 19 2012
By 
M. Flebotte (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Treasure Planet (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie is almost too alternative to be Disney. This is a total steampunk offering, which is true to the spirit of RL Stevenson, if not the literal details of the original book. I also think that attempting to turn the novel now into a children's movie would be a failure - in a culture now immersed in the Pirate's franchise, the classic tale would come off as a poor cousin, with no ghosts or magic to its name.

This is one of the few Disney movies with strong males, in various moral shades from the youthful, rebellious hero to the very grey almost-villain. My kids love this movie - all four of them, two girls and two boys. The adventure is far more exciting than most North American animation, and unlike the truly atrocious Atlantis movie, the plot and dialogue are clearly comprehensible, and the characters are engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Treasure Planet (Bilingual)
Treasure Planet (Bilingual) by Ron Clement (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.97
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews