Customer Reviews


710 Reviews
5 star:
 (306)
4 star:
 (158)
3 star:
 (98)
2 star:
 (61)
1 star:
 (87)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the 1 star reviewers have are not credible
Dont believe the one star reviews. I love horror, good horror. This is a better adaptation of an ok japanese film.
Its not a classic, but has enought twists, interest and scarey bits in it to keep interest. Like, say, 28 Days Later.
I have to laugh at the 1 star reviewers. One said that we should watch classics like Friday the 13th etc. These films are rubbish,...
Published on Nov. 12 2003 by glynenergy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Viscerally creepy, but not a whole lot more than that
Gore Verbinski's THE RING is the classic example of a film that is all style and very little, if any, substance. Verbinski certainly knows how to make a creepy horror film: this film is laced with atmosphere and dread and gray skies. Technically, it is quite impressive. It's too bad that all the skillful visuals are put in the service of a really dumb plot---or, at least,...
Published on July 17 2004 by Kenji Fujishima


‹ Previous | 170 71 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars The Sh*tiest horror film ever, Dec 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
the only thing i can say about this movie is that its a piece of SH*T!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scare -the -pants-off-you-movie, April 10 2004
By 
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
The Ring was creepy I saw it at the movies 20 times .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars WHOA, Oct. 30 2003
By A Customer
This movie is really really really f*****g scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i get scared just thinking about it...., March 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
by far the most horrifying movie i've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONe of the best movies i have seen, March 6 2003
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Worth watching and the best movie of 2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good and quite original horror movie, April 26 2003
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
A good and quite original horror movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
brand new as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... then you die, June 4 2008
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Every horror buff knows -- the horror that creeps up on you gradually is much, much scarier the one who bounces out and yells "boo" as it decapitates somebody with a machete.

And sadly, most current "horror" movies lack horror, because it's easier to substitute it with screaming blondes, blood, guts and sharp objects. But "The Ring" is soaked in foreboding, creepiness and horrific imagery. Director Gore Verbinski relies heavily on the original Japanese movie for a lot of his remake's flavor, and the result is a slow-building terror that keeps twisting right up to the end.

Single mum Rachel (Naomi Watts) is attending her niece's funeral, after she died under bizarre circumstances. Several of her friends died on the exact same day, at the same time, which (surprise surprise) makes Rachel think this isn't a coincidence. So she investigates the mountain cabin all the kids stayed at a week ago, and finds an unlabeled videotape with a series of bizarre images -- and a curse that will kill you one week afterwards.

She enlists the help of her ex-boyfriend Noah (Martin Henderson) to help her unravel and break the curse. The secret of the tape is wrapped up in a young girl, Samara, who vanished from her adoptive parents' horse farm years ago. Somehow Samara's evil rage has lived in on her curse, and it will destroy Rachel, Noah and their son unless Rachel can find a way to escape it.

Remaking Asian horror movies is one of those movie trends that is hanging on in Hollywood, with everything from "The Grudge" to "The Eye" to "Bangkok Dangerous" getting the A-list Hollywood treatment. Some are good, some are mediocre, most are wretched. But "The Ring" was the first of these, adapted from Hideo Nakata's adaptation of Koji Suzuki's novel (cue cries of "but the original was better). And it achieves the distinction of being almost as atmospheric and haunting as the original.

Most of its brilliance comes from director Gore Verbinski, who thankfully did not simply use the name and concept, and invent a teenybopper plot around that. This is actually rather similar to Nakata's adaptation -- Verbinski alters some few things from the original film, but keeps the same dark, murky atmosphere and many of the same scenes. Even the cinematography has a dark, overcast look, filled with forbidding symbolism -- lots of grey skies and overflowing water. It's as if Samara's influence is permeating everything.

And what about the horror? It comes from the building tension as Rachel's deadline creeps toward us, and brief flashes of Samara's influence -- for example, that poor horse going berserk on a ferry, or the blurred-out faces of the doomed. The entire movie is infused with the feeling that something invisible and ghastly is just waiting to attack you, and it's just waiting for the right moment.

The keystone of this movie is Naomi Watts. This talented actress is virtually perfect as the perpetually worried, perplexed Rachel; as the deadline approaches, her fear and grief are almost palpably overwhelming. Henderson is also good, whether as a flip carefree artist or as a caring ex-boyfriend. Dorfman is the one disappointment -- he seems less like a little boy than a pompous oracle, and he's almost creepier than Samara.

Which is saying something, because Daveigh Chase is utterly chilling as Samara Morgan, a creepy little devil-child with black weedy hair over her face, a white nightgown and "Omen" eyes. In keeping with the watery theme of the movie, she always seems vaguely damp.

"The Ring" is one of those rarest kinds of movies -- a remake with its own flavour, even as it sticks to the original story. Excellent direction, great acting, and the haunting determination to never, ever watch an unlabeled movie again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars underwhelming, Aug. 13 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
i may be in the minority here,but i just didn't find the Ring to be a good movie.for me,it's not much different than the the Grudge.i will say,i liked it a bit more than The Grudge,only because it isn't so annoying.there are a few differences between the two movies,but in my mind,it's almost the same movie.i do remember being bored and struggling to not nod off.i just didn't see any excitement anywhere in the movie,but that's just me.Naomi Watts is in it,and she's not bad,considering what she has to work with.but once again,the ghost is not scary,although it does look a bit creepy,i guess,vaguely.i didn't feel any suspense either.but if you liked The Grudge,then you might like The Ring.or you might want to check out The Messengers(which i liked) and Pulse,(2006)(which i liked)which are sort of similar but better in my opinion.my vote for the ring:2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING, July 3 2004
By 
Jacob (The Black Mage Village of FFIX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
alright folks, forget the hype. not only is The Ring just NOT scary at the slightest, but it's exessively boring. i had a difficult time just staying awake during this. the entire film is so gloomy and depressing. although, i do have to admit that the acting was better than most horror movies, it just didn't do anything for me. i would only recommend this if you are a horror flick veteran, but if you're like me, and you think 95% of all horror movies end up sucking major @$$ than stay AWAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 170 71 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import]
The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 10.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews