Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the 1 star reviewers have are not credible
Dont believe the one star reviews. I love horror, good horror. This is a better adaptation of an ok japanese film.
Its not a classic, but has enought twists, interest and scarey bits in it to keep interest. Like, say, 28 Days Later.
I have to laugh at the 1 star reviewers. One said that we should watch classics like Friday the 13th etc. These films are rubbish,...
Published on Nov. 12 2003 by glynenergy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Viscerally creepy, but not a whole lot more than that
Gore Verbinski's THE RING is the classic example of a film that is all style and very little, if any, substance. Verbinski certainly knows how to make a creepy horror film: this film is laced with atmosphere and dread and gray skies. Technically, it is quite impressive. It's too bad that all the skillful visuals are put in the service of a really dumb plot---or, at least,...
Published on July 17 2004 by Kenji Fujishima


‹ Previous | 170 71 72 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars WHOA, Oct. 30 2003
By A Customer
This movie is really really really f*****g scary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i get scared just thinking about it...., March 4 2003
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
by far the most horrifying movie i've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONe of the best movies i have seen, March 6 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Worth watching and the best movie of 2002
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good and quite original horror movie, April 26 2003
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
A good and quite original horror movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frightening? I think NOT, May 30 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Whenever this movie first came out, all of my friends were telling me how it was one of the scariest movies ever. I thought I needed to see it, also. However, when I watched it, I kept on waiting for a scary part. That scary part never came. This movie sucked. The only thing remotely scary about it was the videotape that the people watched.
Not only was this movie not scary, but it was a complete waste of my time. The plot was not one that held my interest at all. And the parts where the girl would call them up on the phone? Give me a break.
Another thing that bothered me was how the victims died. They looked at the little girl through the T.V. and died. That's right, all they had to do was look at her, and they died. If you ask me, that's a pretty nice and peaceful way to die. I would keep the videotape untill I was old. Then I'd pop it in and seven days later, I die a good death. The movie would be a lot better if the girl would have came out of the T.V. and mutilated the people instead but no, that's too much voilence for the pussy society of today.
You should skip this movie if your wanting to get scared and actually watch a real disturbing movie, like the Exorcist. Or perhaps read some Stephen King novels. Just don't expect too much from The Ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overrated, Plotless Mess, April 20 2004
By 
Jack-O-Lantern (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Where shall we begin? As a lifelong and avid fan of genre films, this has to be one of the most overrated and disappointing movies I have ever seen. I'm not a horror film elitist, all I ask for is a decent story and at least a few scares or squirms. To summarize:
1. Naomi Watts-superb actor, she can do (and has done) so much better than this (Mulholland Dr., anyone?).

2. Plot & story-where are they? So full of holes you could drain pasta with it (do any screenwriters actually work in Hollywood any longer? or have they all given up and left the writing duties to the mailroom staff?). This is VERY puerile stuff here, adults beware.
3. Scare factor: on a scale of 1-10, ZERO. 0 suspense, 0 surprises, 0 credibility, and especially, 0 horror. This film simply is not scary, not at all, never for a moment.
4. Mama always told me: never put anything down unless you can come up with a better solution. SO--here are some recommendations for smart, interesting, intelligent, well-written and especially FRIGHTENING genre/horror films:
*The Devil's Backbone (Guillermo Del Toro): now THIS is scary!
*Don't Look Now (Nicolas Roeg): the most haunting, beautifully-shot (in Venice) and erotic horror film ever made. Just try to forget this one.
*The Hills Have Eyes (Wes Craven): visionary and still shocking.
*The Haunting (Robert Wise--the original, not the ridiculous modern remake): the best and most frightening ghost story EVER, period.
*The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (Tobe Hooper): unrelenting, claustrophobic, sweat-inducing and repulsive. This is an iconic and endlessly-imitated masterpiece, right up there with George Romero's "Night of the Living Dead." The recent remake (if not compared directly to the original) is NOT BAD, actually....

*The Mothman Prophecies (Mark Pellington): YUP, believe it or not, this is a tight, though confusing (you absolutely must read the book by John Keel prior to seeing this film) and above all VERY frightening and unsettling bit of business. Highly recommended for those looking for something different and a bit.....off.
*Repulsion (Roman Polanski): The granddaddy....if this one doesn't disturb you on a very deep and lasting level, I would worry. "Rosemary's Baby," also Polanski, is another winner and timeless classic. Actually, ANYTHING Polanski is better than most of what's out there.
My humble opinion: check out the movies listed above and avoid "The Ring"--annoying, unnecessarily oblique, and just plain dumb-dumb. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not scary at all!!!, Feb. 16 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I actually liked this movie when I first saw it in theatres, and was considering buying it when it came out on DVD. Good thing I haven't, because I hate this movie now. I notice that alot of people say this is scary, but it's not. I found it pretty boring and pointless. The story is that if you watch a certain video tape, you will die in seven days. What a dumb idea. How was the tape made? Why was it made? Why would a ghost be using a tape to kill people for no apparent reason? Suddenly, the ghost becomes evil at the end and kills the main character's boyfriend. Then the main character decides to make more copies of the tape! Why? The acting wasn't bad, but that doesn't help really. I recommmend these movies: John Carpentar's The Thing, They Live, The Fog, In The Mouth of Madness, Nightmare on Elm Street, Hellraiser. Those are really great horror/science fiction movies. People have forgotten what a great horror movie is because they're too used to those stupid teenybopper comedies and now they're coming out with these teenybopper horror movies that will probably only scare little 12 year old middle school punks and people who are shocked really easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Two-Hour Lobby Against the VHS Format, Oct. 24 2003
By 
drew m (maryland United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Eddie Murphy used to make fun of idiot movie characters like the one Naomi Watts plays in The Ring. Not only is she dumb enough to watch a tape she has already been warned will kill her - she then plays it for her ex-boyfriend. That's being a little bit spiteful, isn't it? Then, and this is the kicker, she makes COPIES of the tape, and leaves the copies around for friends and loved ones to stumble upon. Characters like this deserve to advance straight to Death. No passing GO. No collecting $200. They must die, and they must die painfully.
And when people in The Ring watch the deadly videotape, they watch it with their noses four inches away from the TV monitor. Have you ever tried this? Your head explodes after about five minutes. Who watches TV like this? Suffice to say that if the videotape doesn't kill all the characters, radiation poisoning surely will. Consider it a mercy killing.
More cliches abound. The Ring also features not, on, not two, but THREE Scary Kids. The Scary Kid cliche has dominated horror movies for the past five years, and director Gore Verbinski thinks that having multiple Scary Kids adds up to a masterpiece of terror. The end result ends up being quite the opposite. There are some mild scares in The Ring, but it's essentially a scary movie for people who are scared by everything. And if you can figure out why the film's "twist" ending is actually a twist, please let me know. Not that I'm dying to figure it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood ruins another foreign cult classic!, Aug. 21 2003
By 
sandwich (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Typical of Hollywood to remake an original foreign cult movie to appeal to the ignorant narrow-minded masses. Sure, they can spruce it up with updated special effects, more shock tactics and disturbing visuals, young attractive actors and new creepy dialogue - but you're watching an entirely different film altogether. You're watching the Americans greedily try to claim something their own and make it look better. The Hollywood plastic factory ruins yet another unique concept and form of cinematography.
The best thing about 'Ringu' the original was that they didn't rely on updated special effects or creating an overlly modern look. It was realistic and gripping because it was so raw and simplistic. They focused moreso on the element of drama and realism. The narrative and visual sequences were full of symbolism and artistic integrity.
Another thing that made this movie (Ringu, the original) so appealing was the fact it was Japanese and not sensationalised consumerist American slop. It delivered the message that not all good horror films are American, they don't all need to be traditional and excessively gory and it emphasized the fact that fear is universal by showing how it is depicted in a different culture. I think a lot of Westerners detach themselves from the rest of the world and it seems unimportant and irrelevant that people in other cultures experience the same horrors. Perhaps they thought that the only way Westerners could relate to the horror in the film is if they brought it closer to home and portrayed it in the typcial American style.
If you're not that easily influenced, show patronage and see the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Dec 9 2013
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
brand new as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 170 71 72 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
The Ring (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Gore Verbinski (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 13.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews