Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best western movie ever made? Maybe...
Great movie, video quality was excellent, a great job on the restoration of the film and the film to DVD transfer. Scenic shots of the desert are spectacular. Fonda was great, as was Walter Brennan, in this film.
Published on Aug. 29 2011 by jdw

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Misstep from a Master
John Ford is one of the finest and most influential directors in Hollywood history. Films such as 'The Searchers', 'Grapes of Wrath', and 'The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance' are just some of his enduring classics. Directors as diverse as Kurosawa, Scorsese, and Bertolucci (to name a few) have cited him as a major influence on their own work.
That being said, 'My...
Published on Feb. 17 2004 by coolhandluke1967


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best western movie ever made? Maybe..., Aug. 29 2011
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
Great movie, video quality was excellent, a great job on the restoration of the film and the film to DVD transfer. Scenic shots of the desert are spectacular. Fonda was great, as was Walter Brennan, in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY Darling Clementine, Jan. 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
This film is excellent!! Considering that it was restored and half of the footage had to be restored and scenes had to be re edited because footage of the film was either lost or damaged. This is indeed a rare classic. Also the light in this picture is very unique. Any one that loves wester's movies should watch this one. It is action from start to end!!!

Michelina Iuliano

Edmonton, Alberta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars darling clementine, Sept. 1 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
very good dvd, picture was very good. bought for a gift and the person who received the gift was quite happy. he was looking for this movie for a long time, he just loved it. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A first rate movie!, Jan. 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
Historical only in that the Earps and Clantons indeed had a gunfight at the OK Corral in Tombstone. Everything else is pure fantasy... fantastic fantasy. Henry Fonda plays a laid-back Wyatt Earp who doesn't mind allowing others their space, but stands firm when they cross the line.
Well scripted, well acted, a western that should appeal even to those who normally wouldn't watch a western. The good guys are well developed, multi-dimensional and likable.
The bad guys, especially usually lovable Walter Brennan, are obviously evil. Enough action, enough intrigue, enough romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT FILM, AS CLOSE TO PERFECT LOOKING ON DVD, Jan. 6 2004
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
"My Darling Clementine" is the tragic western/melodrama that pits the likes of Wyatt Earp (Henry Fonda)and Doc Halladay (Victor Mature)against the vicious Clanton (Walter Brennan) for a showdown at the O.K. Corral. Linda Darnell cuts a handsome/tragic figure as the saloon hall girl with a heart of gold. On par with "High Noon", "My Darling Clementine" is a western that, once seen, is never to be forgotten.
TRANSFER: KUDOS to Fox. Their DVD is head and shoulders above previously issued VHS and laserdisc versions of this eternal classic. The black and white picture is very well balanced, with solid blacks and an exceptional spectrum of tonal grays. Film grain is evident throughout - as it should be. There are no digital anomalies for a picture that is smooth, solid and wholly enjoyable. Occasionally there is a slight jump in the image, during certain splices or cuts from one scene to the next, but these are vintage imperfections which do not detract from your visual enjoyment. The audio has been remixed to stereo and is nicely balanced.
EXTRAS: We get the original theatrical cut and the preview cut of the film. Apparantly, Darryl F. Zanuck was none too impressed with John Ford's original version - cutting it down by a half hour and altering several key scenes. These are painstakingly re-created by film archivist, Robert Gitt, in a mini-documentary on the making of the film. Very nicely done.
BOTTOM LINE: An absolute must for film lovers and DVD collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars classic, April 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
The love interest was pretty mild compared to what we know as a love story these days, so interesting to see how times have changed. The movie doesn't compare well to today's high drama and special effects, but if you watch it in context to when it was filmed, its a great flick. The quality was good tho I'm no expert on remastering. Arrived in good time and great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Darling Clementine, Dec 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Any affecianado of old Western classics should have this movie !
Thorough enjoyment from start to finish.I'd rank this is in the top 5 of all time western classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A darling of a movie . . . . Clementine will like it too . ., April 14 2005
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
My Darling Clemintine
"My Darling Clementine" is one of those films about which so much has been written(including a good Rutgers "Films In Print" entry),that it seems pointless to belabour it's greatness.I award it five stars only because there are no more available."Clementine" is less a story than a series of incidents,and since the purchase of a video implies repeat viewings,this one is a natural for everyone's permanent collection.I'm all for lean,tightly constructed westerns(of which the James Stewart/Anthony Manns are excellent examples),but the leisurely "Clementine"---austere,relaxed,filled with moments that seem utterly spontaneous---has a roughhewn,unrehearsed quality that's all the more surprising in a major studio "A" western.Since we're dealing with Wyatt Earp and the gunfight at the O.K.Corall,the narrative does eventually assert itself,if only to steer us toward the final confrontation---but the device involving the stolen "Chingadera" and it's reappearance around Linda Darnell's neck,seems almost an intrusion,taking us away from the simpler moments we've enjoyed(for nearly two-thirds of the running time!),and reminding us that there is a story which must be told and now let's get down to the business of telling it.More telling,however,are the many and marvelous details Ford reveals throughout---check out Doc Holliday's room in the hotel---not only do we see his diplomas,but there are photos of a college rowing team on the water---a wonderfully vivid and underplayed glimpse of Doc's past life.There's delightful scenes of people eating meals---big meals---alone and in groups---whereas in so many lesser westerns,all they do is drink whiskey.I love Ward Bond's frequent recitals of what he's just had,or is going to have,for breakfast.The Clantons may be outlaws,but they have framed pictures in their house and potted plants out front---even in town,they move about with familiar ease(check out the way Brennan walks behind the hotel counter to get his own room key).When the Earps are overlooking Tombstone(a stunning shot)just before their initial ride in,Wyatt regards it all quietly for a moment,follows with a resigned "Let's go..",as if knowing something disagreeable lies ahead.The business with the barber and his "sweet smellin' stuff" has been celebrated elsewhere,so I'll only add that the gag works beautifully for me because it's so underplayed---notice how both Tim Holt and Cathy Downs react to Fonda's explanation of the "honeysuckle"---both could have gone for an unsubtle laugh,and in a lesser director's hands,they might have.Several previous films had dealt with the Wyatt Earp legend---two are outstanding---"Law and Order",directed by Edward L.Cahn,and "Frontier Marshall",directed by Alan Dwan.The fact that neither are available on video points up the sorry state of affairs in home collecting these days---such a tiny portion of our great movie past is out there,and with each new technology being so ruthlessy swept away by the next,it seems unlikely that we'll be seeing many new releases of vintage titles in the near future(if at all).Still,there is "Clementine",and if you haven't already keyed it in for purchase,do yourself(and your viewing friends)a favor and buy it now.This is truly a picture you'll want to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Movie, July 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
MY DARLING CLEMENTINE
There has been a number of movies made about the gunfight at OK Corral, however this one happens to be my favorite.
I personally enjoy classic black and white movies and I am an avid fan of Victor Mature, who plays Doc Holliday in this movie.
One thing that makes this movie especially interesting is the development of the characters, for example, Wyatt Earp's misgivings about the town, the apparent conflict between Chihuahua (Doc Hollidays's girlfriend, played by Linda Darnell) and Wyatt Earp (played by Henry Fonda) and the conflict between Doc Holliday and Clementine (played by Cathy Downs), all of which add a human element to this film.
I highly recommend adding this film to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare in Tombstone, June 7 2004
This review is from: My Darling Clementine (DVD)
Of the many movies that I love and own, this is one of the DVDs I would grab if the house was on fire.
My Darling Clementine is fundamentally about the shootout at the OK Corral, arguably the most famous 30 seconds in American history. But in John Ford's loving hands, the story takes its time getting there and, in the process, becomes as graceful and easily beautiful a piece of film-making as you will ever see.
In this age when movie goers prize realism, sheer violence, and de-mythology, Ford has become something of a whipping boy for those who point out the glaring historical inaccuracies present in Hollywood's traditional portrayal of the American West. These folks miss the larger picture and are the poorer for their narrow, fashionable view. In this archetypal story of Wyatt Earp, Doc Holiday, and the Clanton family, Ford was not interested in historical detail. He was creating legends, not historical accounts for the archives.
Ford was a film maker. When a movie lover approaches a Ford film, it becomes necessary to give oneself over to the power of film. Once one does that, tremendous pleasures await. Such as: the townspeople of Tombstone having a dance around the skeletal frame of a half-built church while the huge, flat buttes of Monument Valley tower in the background; or Henry Fonda as Earp watching with great sympathy as Victor Mature (Doc Holiday) recites Hamlet's suicide soliloquy in a barroom (as hokey as this sounds, it is Fonda's expression that will move you, I guarantee).

Other images worth mentioning: Fonda/Earp walking alone through the rain of Tombstone at night; or the final shot of Clementine (meaningless in the film other than as a perfect symbol of all the things men love but can never have) standing framed against the Arizona sky and a picket fence - or the way Walter Brennan as Old Man Clanton, flashes through his scenes like a rattler's hiss.

Loving a John Ford Western is a bit like believing in a religion: it requires a leap of faith - a belief in something that might not be tangible reality, but is instead an ideal no less worthy of love.

This DVD is an absolute must for Ford fans, Western fans, or movie lovers. As an extra bonus, the special feature commentary by Ford biographer, Scott Eyman, is absolutely superb. Mr. Eyman's concise and rich commentary is nearly as enjoyable as the film itself. All in all, a real treasure for John Ford fans. -Mykal Banta
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Darling Clementine
My Darling Clementine by John Ford (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 14.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews