summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools Music Deals Store

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars155
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$22.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 5, 2007
once again death stalks a group of people.if you've seen the first
movie,you know how outlandish the premise is.you know,death stalking
people according to some grand scheme.well,this movie is more
preposterous as they add a few things in order to further the story.the
deaths are much more inventive and in some cases much more graphic.the
movie is better paced,much more intense and suspenseful than the first
one.again,if you can get around the general premise,you'll probably
like this movie.and if you've seen the first one,and liked it,the
premise isn't something that will bother you.i'm not sure this
installment is better than the first.after all, the novelty of the
unique and(as far as i know)original premise only works with the first
one.but,with a few different elements,i.e,more gruesome deaths,more
intensity and suspense,and better pacing,it's at least as good as the
original.so,sit back,relax and enjoy.and,once again,just remember to
throw reality out the window. 4.7/5
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2004
This was an absolutley original and breathtaking horror/sci-fi film to watch. It featured some of the best visual and special effects as well as some amazing choreographed stunts. In my view this was a great movie due to its overwhelming originally and script. The horrific opening pileup sequence is so well shot and will leave you with your pulse racing and your mouth on the floor, literally. The movie, although not nearly as dark and sinister as the first film goes much more deeper and more detailed on all of its elaborate death scenes. The originally factor is shown by three different elements. First and foremost, the fact that the entire movie was filmed w/ out the use of night. It goes to show that you do not need darkness to set the eerie tone of a horror movie. Second, this is the fist teen horror film that doesn't resort to using just teens. In the beginning of the film when we were introduced to the four teens going on a road trip, I was reluctant to want to sit through a complete re-run of the first film. It was nice to have a little mix of the age groups in this film. Thirdly, the movie featured some never before heard of actors, which in this case the script, and horrific death sequences were the real stars. All and all, this was a very unpredicatable and fun film to watch. The DVD features the infinifilm featurette , which contains the making of, and some more interactive menu options, My recomendation, GET IT AS FAST AS YOU CAN BEFORE YOUR TIME RUNS OUT!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2004
I hadnt even heard of FD when i saw the trailer for Final Destination 2. And when it finally came out, it instantly became one of my favorite horror/suspance flicks of all time!!!!!
The best thing about this movie is the deaths. Instead of one of those cheesy slasher films were they cut away and show a shadow and the blood splatter on the wall... this movie shows you the killing 100%!!!!!! and its absolutly the coolest in that feild so far!!!! completly amazing some of the things! Instead of waiting to see WHO dies next, your waiting to see HOW they die which is a great refreshing thing to do and to finally show some great death scenes!
I saw part 2 before i had seen part 1, and i know alot recomend part 1 more then 2, but even after watching part 1 later, all i got out of that was a few tiny little plot details, i didnt think part 1 was as good as this great seaqull!!!! which is VERY rare for any seaqull to be better then the original!!!!
And with lots of twists and turns its quite good how just when you think you know exactly whats about to happen, it does... but little things unexpectingly pop in in between that completly caught you off gaurd and is really great!
Seeing the way some of these people die is amazing what they have done with dummys and computer effects. I own the "Ultimate Final Destination" DVD which comes with part 1 & 2. but I dont see it here on Amazon.com? It might only be a regoin 4 DVD. But take my word for it, there both worth owning IMO!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2004
From an orchestrated car pile-up that puts just about any action movies of the last 4 years to shame to an increasingly creative and surprising casualty list, Final Destination 2 just plain outdistances the genre's competiton.
FD2 is not blessed with a decent plot that does not see our clavacade of victims simply run upstairs to be slaughtered by axe or chainsaw. Instead, viewers will find themselves gasping at the different, and in some cases, highly unorthodox manner death is visited upon the characters.
Although it's never going to be a film classic, FD2 has carved out a niche as a very creative, well above-par horror/suspense movie that plays by no rules but it's own. 5 stars for being just what it is--a scary movie.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2004
In terms of gore Final Destination 2 has plenty that will make even the strongest person twitch. First seeing it in theaters with surround sound and great picture, this was one bloody movie and it's not for everyone. Unlike movies that run to the next clip when someone is ready to be killed, Final Destination 2 shows absolutely everything and leaves nothing to the imagination. You don't know graphic until you have seen this film.
Unfortunately, the bad acting is almost as extreme as the gore. When it comes to bad acting Final Destination 2 has a lot. When someone gets killed the actors and actresses have very little emotion on their faces, they don't act like someone who has seen a person die tragically in front of their eyes and that made me mad. A.J Cook was probably the worst of the bunch. Her acting was in many ways awful and it didn't seem like she was too into the movie. For example, when someone got killed gruesomely in front of her she would turn her head back or cover her eyes and the movie would go to the next scene. She was barely believable as a woman who has experienced horrible things.
As for Ali Larter who plays Clear Rivers out to help, she seems even more disinterested in making this film. It seems like she's thinking to herself "What am I doing here again?" The fact that she was included in Final Destination 2 was ridiculous and overall pointless.
The other members of the cast didn't do such a good job at acting either.
The storyline was dreadful. The writers tried too hard to connect both parts together and failed miserably. It seemed like they just threw anything in the plot like a messy stew. The only thing this sequel had going for it was the extreme amount of gore and suspense. Those were the two things keeping everything together but that's not quite strong enough.
When I saw it in theaters it seemed amazing because of all the visual effects but when I bought the DVD I saw how moronic it really was. I don't know why but for some reason when you're with a whole large group of people in a theater movies seems better than they really are. That was definitely the case for Final Destination 2. The DVD features were pretty good and enjoyable and as far as the DVD features go I have very limited complaints.
My advice would be to watch Final Destination instead of its mediocre sequel. The first not only had more suspense and better acting, but a more interesting and surprising storyline that I knew couldn't be topped by the second. If you're looking for a movie with cheap acting and lots of blood than Final Destination 2 is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2003
I loved the first Final Destination. I got the sequel for Christmas, and watched it almost straight away; eager to find out whether it was better or worse than the first one. (I know someone who HATED the first one, but liked the second, so I wasn't expecting to like it.) I've watched the first one quite a few times, so I practically know it off by heart, and sometimes even get sick of watching it.
But the sequel - the deaths are gorier, bloodier, and every last possible death you can think of has been used. And talk about weird and unusual deaths. Forget being run over by a bus; forget being strangled in a bath. Those are old news. There's a lot more blood; the camera is focused more on the deaths, so you see what you least expect to see. I got the feeling that someone had been looking at those health & safety pictures, where you have to guess what the danger is in the picture, and then a light bulb went off above their heads. And boom, you have a film.
The first Final Destination threw you right into the action, and you didn't know what was happening. With a sequel, you know what's going to happen, so you sit back and say, "bring it on". It took a few minutes for the film to get started, recapping the events of the first film, and then you sit up, jaw dropping. With the deaths being more imaginative and very, very, very graphic, you didn't know what was going to happen. You just knew a lot of the cast wouldn't be appearing in the next sequel.
We find out in this film that Alex Browning (Devon Sawa - there's actually a very good lookalike in this!) has since died (a very mundane death) and left Clear (the brilliant Ali Larter) locked up voluntarily in a mental institution. Ali Larter is the only cast member left from the original and is up against a whole lot of unknowns, which most of the original cast were - and still are. It was great to see at least one original cast member back for more, rather than just start with a fresh new cast with no links to the previous film - but you'll have to watch the film for yourself to find out whether that's true or not.
The premonitions are more realistic this time, and not a brief glimpse in a window, which none of the audience watching catches. This time, you have longer dream sequences (think the plane crash dream at the beginning of the previous film), and more drawn out premonitions, where you feel like you're in the premonition. This time round, you're trying to work out exactly what's going to happen before it happens on screen.
This is your typical slasher movie, with a twist, and you'll find out how if you watch it - I thought this "twist" was great, and it made it all the more better. Ali Larter is a great actress, although . . . Nah, we won't go into that!
There are two things I'm worried about - that the directors might decide to make a trilogy, which might not be a good thing, although they could go all out and bring back Devon Sawa. And the fact that the production designer is Michael Bolton . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ok, so i rented this thinking it would be scary, but then I talked to my friend and he said you have to see one to get two. Not really true, but if your like me, and it'll just mess with your head to see two without seeing one, go ahead, get grossed out, watch one. Read my review for one, first. So it starts of with the dream, vision, what ever you wanna call it. Nothing extreme about the car crash. If the car crash scene scares you...TURN OFF THE MOVIE, if you can't stand the sight of watching a man burn and a guy being crushed by his motercycle, then your not gonna be able to stomach the rest of the movie. Back to real life, her friends are killed in the car crash, nothing really gorey about that. Then the guy thats next on the list, sticks his hand down the sink which has a garbage disposal and theres electrical problems, so your trying to prepair yourself for seeing his hand cut off, but thats just the sicko directors trying to scare you. So his apartment is burning, Blah blah blah. He esacpes, but long story short he ends up having the bottom of a fire escape go through his eye/head. You also get to see his body later, once the lader is taking out. This dude has nipple rings and in one of the deleted scenes, this one guy, pulls the ring out of his dead body, and the whole nipple comes with it. Charming. The next on the list is this son and his mother. Really gross. The son gets crushed/liquified by a pane of glass that falls on him. And the mother...I don't even want to remember this one. Her hair gets caught and long story short, her head gets stuck in an elevator while the rest of her is outside. She gets beheaded and her blood is all over these other two chicks. Then you have two back to back gross deaths, that happen suddenly, no time to even prepair yourself. A lady gets this huge pole through her head and a guy gets chopped not in half, but in thirds. Two people get burned alive, sizzling flesh again. And just when you think its all over, that there can be no more gross deaths, this poor kid, whos a little slow, gets blown up as he is cooking on the bbq. His burnt arm falls on his mothers plate. THE END. That's how they end the movie. I do have to admit, my dad and I were laughing at that point. They took it to extremes. The guy that got cut up, they showed his organs shooting out. Once again, something that my undigonsed, mentaly ill, fellow high school students could have come up with. Not a scary movie, Just extremely gorey. If you were looking for a scary movie without a ton of gore...this is SO NOT THE MOVIE FOR YOU.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2003
The original Final Destination was an interesting twist on the teen slasher flick: instead of some standard masked killer picking off people one by one, it was Death itself doing the job, an invisible but definitely intelligent presence who is unbeatable because it cannot be directly battled.
As in the original movie, the sequel begins with a character having a premonition of a disaster and then avoiding it, saving her life and those of a few other people. Death, however, will not be cheated, and starts picking off the reprieved. Apparently, cause of death is important: if you were meant to die in an accident, you will not die of natural causes. Most of the movie is a series of killings and near-misses, with the cleverness coming in the way Death sets up the kills. If Rube Goldberg had been a serial killer, the contraptions he developed would have fit right into this film.
Unlike the first movie, the characters are aware as to what is going on, having heard of the earlier story. It doesn't really help; the only vague help they get points to cheating Death by having a new life that was unplanned for come into the world. To me, the solution would be to have the male and female leads have a kid, but the film goes off in another direction.
For what is basically a slasher flick, the violence itself is rather tame. The director seems to shy away from the gore, with the worst of the scenes almost flashing by. Instead, the focus is on suspense...we know these people are going to die (except maybe the main characters), we just don't know how or when. For fans of the first movie (which is the obvious audience of this film), this sequel should be an equally pleasing experience, and even if you have not seen the original, this one can be fun. While not a classic, Final Destination 2 is clever and entertaining enough to rate four stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2003
Final Destination 2 is about how you think you have cheated death but you cant cheat death twice!
Its the same day as Flight 180 blew up like a fireball in the night sky and Kimberley is going on a road trip with her friends and they start to travel but while on the road Kim has a deadly premonition of a terrible car crash-involved with falling logs-
and a drunk driver-and no one survives the horrifing crash!
But Kims friends think she is losing it-and even a cop comes to the car to see what is going on-Kim is trying to convince everyone that there is gonna be a accident-but the cop doesnt believe her-until the truck with the logs drives by and Kim says thats the truck thats gonna kill everyone!
And right after she says this-the accident happens-with cars piling up-fireballs are everywhere-and no one survived it!
So then death stalks the lucky ones who survived the accident-taking a lottery winner out by a fire escape ladder that goes through his eyeball-a young kid dies from a falling sheet of glass-a mother death by elevator that takes out her head-a young woman death by metal pipe through the head-a stoner death by flying fence-a black guy and Clear Rivers death by explosion in the hospital!
And one young kid-death by explosion from barbauce!
Final Destination 2 comes with great extras-including a card game where you can pick your fate-bringing death to life-bits and pieces of gore-and alot of other good stuff!
And it also comes with a feature of true stories of people who have died and come back to life again!
All in all-Final Destiation 2 is as exciting and chilling as the first one!
My favorite in the first movie is Billy Hitchcock-too bad he died from that piece of metal!
This section of this review is dedicated to Billy Hitchcock!
CAUSE IN THE END-NO ONE CAN ESCAPE DEATH-WHO KNOWS-TODAY MIGHT BE YOUR DAY OR NIGHT TO DIE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2003
The surprising success of Final Destination, ensured that it was only a matter of time before a sequel hit the screens, and surely not to disappoint, there it is.
This success was interesting, because the film mixes your average blend of gore and thrills with the universal question of mortality: Can Death be inevitable? When the time comes, does it really mean just that and you can not escape it? (assuming the grumpy grim reaper has made too long a journey to go back empty handed!)
Well,I seem to be in a minorty here, but I really did not like this sequel much. Not because it is a bad movie, it surely has its moments, but because I found it very similar to the first! Final Destination 2 is a bland, bland movie. I believe the filmmakers concentrated more on how to make the next death scene more gruesome and gory than the previous one, in a style that will make Dario Argento proud, instead of working on developing and expanding the story more. Surely they might have thought if the formula of the first film brought in the dollars, why not use the same one for the sequel, but somehow I found the two films identical as a result.
Final Destination 2 is heavy without being intellectually challenging, and gruesome without being scary.
The acting is pretty average as well,the best performance given by Final Destination veteran Ali Larter.
On the other hand the Extras on the DVD are very good, exepct for the fact that there are '?' everywhere in the menu, which was very annoying! I mean did the studio assume that the viewer need all the help he/she can get in figuring out how to select the widescreen option??
So at the end..(I am afraid I can not avoid this 'end', no matter how I try to escape it)..Final Destination 2 is Final Destination with new faces and new deaths.Nothing less, nothing more..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse