Customer Reviews


718 Reviews
5 star:
 (500)
4 star:
 (119)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie so totally rocks!
From the very begining, as every Disney Pixar movie does, Finding Nemo touches your heart. This is a very heart warming wonderful tale of a clown fish boy and his father, who go through two quite magnificent journeys. Along the way they run into some wonderful fun loving characters, who you can really relate to in your own life. This movie is great for the whole family...
Published on July 17 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, but hideously overrated
I'm never too old for movies that appeal to the young. Though I'm not a huge fan of Pixar, I thought "Toy Story 2" was amazing in every way. I saw the preview of "Finding Nemo" in the theater. I was amazed, and was anticipating what seemed like was going to be a very good film, the best Disney/Pixar movie to be released. It seemed like it was going to...
Published on July 2 2004 by jmpg


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie so totally rocks!, July 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
From the very begining, as every Disney Pixar movie does, Finding Nemo touches your heart. This is a very heart warming wonderful tale of a clown fish boy and his father, who go through two quite magnificent journeys. Along the way they run into some wonderful fun loving characters, who you can really relate to in your own life. This movie is great for the whole family and has something for everyone adventure, action, and plenty of comedy. It has a great all star cast. Finding Nemo will keep you glued to the screen unto the very end. Thank you to Disney and Pixar for another well put together masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Nemo (blu ray): Finding Nemo (especially 3D) is like Finding Perfection!, Dec 5 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO (2D):

Finding Nemo arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. This was Pixar’s fifth film. The transfer is simply perfect, and is utterly jaw-dropping. Pastel tropical colours highlight the exotic, and incredibly detailed, locations that seem to go on forever, until the ocean's depth and darkness swallows all visible light. Certain textures, particularly the rusty red metal buoy and the metal pulley on the fishing boat, appear as photo realistic. While Finding Nemo may not have the textural complexities of Pixar's newer work, the look of the underwater world is oh so realistic. The vibrant colours of different corals, sea anemones and fish simply pop off the screen. Blacks are deep and inky. The part from the beginning of the film, seeing about realistic underwater looks like to Nemo going to school showing off various colourful plants and creatures is a first-class demo material. The whole transfer is simply amazing and magnificent. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Finding Nemo - 3D premieres on blu ray with a stunning MVC MPEG-4 encode framed in a 1.78:1 aspect ratio. In addition to a perfect transfer and conversion, this 3D version gives us a totally immersive, first-class experience. While some of the film's water textures show their technological age when compared to their newer films, overall Finding Nemo remains a boldly realized, intricate, and simply stunning universe. There is so much detail, exotic locations, and tropical colours that make CGI animated films perfect HD showcases. Another thing I love about Pixar films is how certain textures, particularly the rusty red metal buoy and the metal pulley on the fishing boat, appear as photo realistic. If you have a 3D TV, I would strongly recommend that you skip the 2D version and jump right into this immersive 3D experience. Perfect! (5/5)

AUDIO:

Both the 2D and 3D versions have the same superb Dolby TrueHD 7.1 track. This soundtrack is so good that you actually stop thinking about what's happening around and simply fall into the Nemo world. Dialog is not only perfect, but the soundstage is so lifelike and wide. The choice of Albert Brooks, Ellen DeGeneres and Alexander Gould as voices for Marlin, Dory and Nemo respectively is spot-on! The various environments are sophisticated and subtle: like you are really underwater. Thomas Newman's emotional score soars from every channel, sucking you into story and character. Finding Nemo features a delicate, discrete, reference quality surround sound mix that beautifully compliments everything on screen and never steps on the action. This spectacular audio complements the outstanding video to bring us a totally immersive experience. (5/5)

MOVIE:

Finding Nemo builds its dramatic spine from a parent's greatest fear: losing a child. Marlin (Albert Brooks) is a clown fish who, after losing his wife and all but one single egg, is trying to be a good father to his young son, Nemo. Scarred by his traumatic experiences, Marlin becomes so over-protective that, in a moment of rebellion, Nemo wanders too far away from the coral reef where a human diver captures him. Unable to stop the fish-napping, Marlin embarks on a quest to rescue his son, evading sharks and exploding WWII mines and jellyfish and whales and hungry birds. Along the way, he befriends Dory (Ellen DeGeneres), a loyal blue tang fish with hysterical short-term memory problems. Through this journey, Marlin must not only face impossible odds and show more courage than he ever has, but he must grow and change as a father. The only way for him to be a great father is to trust that Nemo must do some things -- even really hard things -- on his own. The Pixar universe is special because of the way they marry the essential visual qualities of fish (or toys or bugs or cars) with universal human emotions. Speaking of toys, I still have the two toy clown fish (from last DVD purchase) snugly seated underneath the computer monitor, starring at me. (movie: 5/5)

TRIVIA:

Finding Nemo has an estimated budget of $94 million, but its worldwide gross is a staggering $865 million!

It won an Oscar for Best Animated Feature for Andrew Stanton in 2004. It was also nominated for Best Original Score (Thomas Newman), Best Sound Editing (Gary Rydstrom, Michael Silvers) and Best Writing, Original Screenplay. Not bad for an animated feature!

PACKAGING:

This Ultimate Collector’s Edition truly deserves the title Ultimate, because it features 5 discs: 1 3D blu ray disc, one 2D blu ray disc, one blu ray disc for legacy Special Features, one DVD and one Digital Copy disc. The film's packaging includes a stylish slipcover with a chrome border and lenticular cover art. On the Blu-ray 3D, 3D trailers include 'Monsters, Inc. - 3D', 'Monsters University', and 'Planes'. On the Blu-ray, trailers include a 'Monsters, Inc. - 3D' (not in 3D) and 'Peter Pan' (coming in Spring 2013).

Other editions include the 3-Disc Collector's Edition (2 Blu-rays + DVD), 3D Digital Download, and HD Digital Download.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Finding Nemo is a classic adventure tale about an overbearing clown fish father who travels an entire ocean to rescue his son. Along the way, he meets new friends, survives impossible odds, and learns what it will take to become a better father. Both the video and audio are top-notch. If you have a 3D display, I would strongly recommend that you watch the 3D version: a totally immersive experience. Naturally, this set is very highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, Nov. 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I do believe that "Finding Nemo" is by far my new favorite Disney DVD. The film is great, but the extras go above and beyond. Marlin (Albert Brooks) has lost his son Nemo to a diver who lives in Sydney, Australia. Marlin braves jellyfish, sharks, and whales to get his boy back. Along the way he meets Dory (Ellen DeGeneres), a sweet hearted blue fish that suffers from short term memory loss. Still, she can read and knows the address that is in the mask the diver left behind. Each character in this movie is wonderful, and there are plenty of laughs throughout. Be aware, though, that there are some emotionally difficult scenes that may be slightly disturbing for younger viewers. The extras included on this DVD are great:
CHOICE OF WIDESCREEN OR STANDARD PICTURE
TURN YOUR T.V. INTO A VIRTUAL AQUARIUM: love fish tanks but hate the work? Pop you FN DVD in and have your own virtual aquarium playing in the background!
STORYTIME FUN FOR THE YOUNG: Children can read themselves, or have a narrator read to them the story "Nemo Goes to School"
MR. RAY'S ENCYCLOPEDIA: Learn about every sea creature featured in the movie.
PLAY "FISHARADES": The school of fish form pictures bit by bit, and you have to guess what it is before they're done.
PIXAR ANIMATION CLASSIC SHORT "KNICK KNACK": The animation short shown in theaters before FN, this 3:50 minute short tells the tale of a snowman in a snowglobe that wants to get out. My son remembered it and asked to watch that first before I'd even popped the DVD in.
EXTRAS FOR ADULTS: Usually, kids aren't interested in the "making of" extras, or "filmaker's visual commentary", so these are pretty much here for grown ups. Oh yeah- there's,also deleted scenes.
EXPLORING THE REEF WITH JEAN-MICHEL COUSTEAU (son of Jacques Cousteau, in case you were wondering): By far the best feature is this tour of the coral reef. As Cousteau narrates, Dory, Marlin and Nemo interrupt him, frustrate him, and upstage him. I laughed all the way through.
Above and beyond that, you get a fabulous movie with amazing animation. Be prepared, though, for a more PG theme than i advertised. The peril these fish go through, along with the "death" of Marlin's wife can be very traumatic for a child who's not expecting it. Be ready to reassure them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Nemo!, Sept. 7 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
To celebrate Easter this weekend with family and friends, we humbly suggest a Pixar movie that makes my wife laugh hysterically every time. If you love fishes, turtles, seagulls, whales, or hearing the awesome Ellen, then Finding Nemo is one for you to find. Ouch!!

What's It About?
Nemo is a little fish with a very overly protective dad. Nemo is fishnapped by some humans, which causes his dad to swim off in hot pursuit. Along the way he befreinds a forgetful fish named Dory who attempts to help him on his quest. Much craziness ensues, while as Nemo is plotting his own escape. What will happen? Will a happy ending be in the offing?

Is Ellen The Greatest?
Why, yes she is. Ellen DeGeneres is one of the most amazing voice talents to ever grace the Pixar soundbooth. Every line she utters, every emotions she transmits, brings the laughs and the love right to your heart. How much is scripted and how much she is riffing on, we might never know, but it all is gold.

Can You Speak Whale?
When Dory/Ellen decides to communicate with a Whale in order to secure help for their cause, you will literally convulse with laughter. In fact, let me try to emulate that scene here. "Heeeelllllo!!! Hhhooooowww aaarrrreeee yyyyyouu, haaavvvvvvvviiiiinnggg aaa nnniiiiccceee daaaaayyyy???????" Okay, that sucked big time. Just watch that part of Finding Nemo and ignore my horrid interpretation. Please.

So, this Easter, sometime between all those tasty meals and gobbling down whack-loads of chocolate the Bunny leaves for you, pop Finding Nemo in to your dvd player. And remember to shout "MINE!" a lot.

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devon loves it! Pixar does it again!, Sept. 18 2010
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
My great-grandson Devon is at the age where he's entranced by cartoons, so I bought a used version of this movie in order to be able to buy him more.

He lives in another city, but his mother told me he loves it so-ooo much. She said his eyes grew round as beach balls as the breathtaking underwater world of Australia's Great Barrier Reef unfolded before his eyes. His mouth flew open when Nemo was captured by a scuba-diver and got separated from his father, a nervous clownfish named Marlin. Then as the adventure progressed with Nemo meeting a scatter-brained blue fish named Dory and on through all kinds of wondrous, colorful critters--including sharks, jellyfish, sea turtles, pelicans and more--Devon fidgeted with pleasure...and anticipation...

I saw this movie years ago and loved it. Since Devon and I are kindred spirits (I'm a big kid at heart), I thought he would enjoy it and am delighted that he does.

Since 1,049 other people reviewed this movie before me, there's not much left to say, but it made Devon happy and kept him entertained (a big help to his mother, I'm sure)...and that's good enough for me!

I'm very impressed with the awesome job Pixar does with all its movies; from animation to voice-overs to graphics, these filmmakers can't be beat! Pixar, as you might know, is the Academy Award-winning creator of "Toy Story 1, 2 and 3," "Monsters, Inc.," "It's a Bug's Life," and more.

Devon and I both recommend this movie to kids of all ages!

Reviewed by Betty Dravis, September 18, 2010
Author of "Dream Reachers" (with Chase Von) and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, July 16 2007
By 
C, K & A (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
My daughter and I enjoy watching this movie over and over. Everytime we see it I find something new, that I didn't notice before. The oceanography and marine biology are wonderfully accurate to real life. The movie has inspired us to visit the aquarium and research interesting sea life (like the flapjack octopus and clownfish). The story is funny, sweet, engaging and enjoyable for the whole family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait, Feb. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'ai reçu le film dans son emballage d'origine et il est arrivé plus rapidement que prévu.
Tout est en bon état!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Nemo [2013] [Limited Steelbook Edition] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [French Import], April 21 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Finding Nemo [2013] [Limited Steelbook Edition] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [French Import] Sea it like never before! For the first time ever, through the magic of Blu-ray, fully immerse yourself in the stunning underwater world of PIXAR’s / Disney's ‘Finding Nemo.’ From the creators of Toy Story and Monsters, Inc., this critically acclaimed and heart-warming tale splashes off the screen with brilliant digital picture, high definition sound and breath-taking bonus features that transport you beyond your imagination. In the depths of the Great Barrier Reef, Marlin [Albert Brooks], an overly protective clownfish, embarks on a daring rescue mission when his beloved son, Nemo, get scooped up by a diver. With his unforgettable friend Dory [Ellen DeGeneres] by his side, Marlin encounters an ocean full of memorable comedic character on his momentous journey - to find Nemo. Bring home the humour and heartfelt emotion of the epic adventure that captured the Academy Award for Best Animated Film [2003] now even more with this awesome Disney's Pixar's Finding Nemo Limited Steelbook Edition Blu-ray 3D! Special Features • Aquariums • Reinventing The Submarine Voyage • Deleted Scene: Alternate Opening • A Lesson in Flashbacks • Finding Nemo: A Filmmakers' Roundtable • Knick Knack Pixar Animation Theatrical Short.

Voice Cast: Albert Brooks, Ellen DeGeneres, Alexander Gould, Willem Dafoe, Brad Garrett, Allison Janney, Austin Pendleton, John Ratzenberger, Eric Bana, Elizabeth Perkins, Geoffrey Rush, Stephen Root, Barry Humphries, Bob Peterson, Joe Ranft, Vicki Lewis, Andrew Stanton, Bruce Spence, Bill Hunter and Erik Per Sullivan

Directors: Andrew Stanton and Lee Unkrich

Producers: Graham Walters and John Lasseter

Writers: Andrew Stanton, Bob Peterson and David Reynolds

Composer: Thomas Newman

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 7.1 Dolby TruHD, English 7.1, English: Dolby Digital 2.0, French: Dolby Digital 5.1 EX and Spanish: Dolby Digital 5.1 EX

Subtitles: English SDH, English, German and Turkish

Running Time: 100 Minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 2

Studio: PIXAR / Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew’s 3D Blu-ray Review – The Limited Edition SteelBook French Import is absolutely fantastic, especially feels good held in the hand and it is a beautiful Embossed front with the wording ‘FINDET NEMO’ and would have been much nicer to have it titled ‘Finding Nemo’ instead on the cover and not the German Title) still has Bruce as the main picture, that is still a stunning beautiful design. The inside artwork is actually a scene from the movie and the rear is of the mentioned Clown fish swimming away in the distance. Very nice indeed!

'Finding Nemo' is PIXARS's fifth film, builds its dramatic spine from a parent's greatest fear. We've all been children faced with an overbearing parent who spoils the fun out of unnecessary paranoia; and many of us have been, or will be, the parent who would do anything to protect our children, like say spoil some fun. Marlin [Albert Brooks] is a clown fish who, after losing his wife and all but one single egg, is trying to be a good father to his young son, Nemo. Scarred by his traumatic experiences, Marlin becomes so over-protective that, in a moment of rebellion, Nemo wanders too far away from the coral reef where a human diver captures him.

Unable to stop the fish-napping, Marlin embarks on a quest to rescue his son, evading sharks and exploding WWII mines and jellyfish and whales and hungry birds. Along the way, he befriends Dory [Ellen Degeneres], a loyal blue tang fish with hysterical short-term memory problems. Through this journey, Marlin must not only face impossible odds and show more courage than he ever has, but he must grow and change as a father. The only way for him to be a great father is to trust that Nemo must do some things - even really hard things on his own.

I love the way PIXAR makes movies about personal passions. Toys and insects, cars, super heroes, monsters, and fairy tales and of course fish. You can tell the 'Nemo' filmmakers love the ocean and all the miracles hiding within. When films are made like this, that passion is completely contagious. Or to put it another way, the passion put into PIXAR animation transforms into inspiration for all children and adults in the real world to learn and care about real things.

3D Blu-ray Video Quality - The 1080p encoded 3D experience is just totally awesome, and the film's vast ocean wonderland is a playground of convincing depth and dimensionality. Fish slowly swim right out of the screen, reefs stretch far into the watery distance, aquarium rocks and decorations provide a sense of boxed-in space and suitably cramped scope, sharks and sea turtles float in and out of the foreground, jellyfish clump believably to form a net of deadly obstacles, and the movie looks as if it were designed from the ground-up with a 3D presentation in mind. There also isn't any further aliasing or 3D related anomalies to report, there aren't very many on-screen visuals or elements that fall victim to crosstalk (and those that do will only do so on 3D displays that are already prone to ghosting), and I didn't encounter much of anything that will give anyone pause. Ultimately, the ‘Finding Nemo' 3D presentation is as spectacular as its 2D counterpart and will surely delight long-time fans and newcomers of all ages. My scores for both Blu-ray discs rounds up to a nice, well deserved 10 out of 10.

3D Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 7.1 Dolby TrueHD surrounded track is again totally awesome. Dialogue is crystal clear and perfectly prioritized, without a single muffled line, drowned cry for help or waterlogged whisper. No small feat considering just the exceedingly enveloping and engaging nature of Nemo's meticulously mixed undersea sound field. The rear speakers never rest and never relent. Schools of fish dart by, sharks circle, predators give chase, jellyfish press in, bubbles scurry toward the surface, fins flap, tails flick, sand swishes, anemone rustle, plankton flee a pursuing whale, seagulls mount a hungry assault and distant sounds echo through the ocean. Moreover, water flows, currents surge and waves lap throughout the proceedings, and there isn't a moment underwater when the sea isn't incorporated or represented to unmistakably immersive ends. Output is terrific too, with powerful low-end pulses, truly intense chase sequences and deep, resonant booms. And if a shark or whale is about to take the soundstage, prepares you for a thrilling, all-encompassing surround experience. Simply put, everything from the faintest blub blub blub to the most harrowing scene to the ebb and flow of Thomas Newman's pitch-perfect music sounds utterly fantastic.

Blu-ray 3D and 2D Special Features and Extras:

Aquariums: A collection of short-loop ocean floor screensavers. Discs 1 and 2 features a selection of six: "Anemone," "Jellyfish," "Plate Coral," "Reef," "Sandy Reef" and "School of Fish."

Sneak Peaks: 3D Film Trailers for ‘Monster University’ and ‘Planes’

Knick Knack Animation Theatrical Short: Six years before ‘Toy Story,’ this short hinted at what was to come.

Finding Nemo: A Filmmakers’ Roundtable [18 minutes] This newly produced exclusive roundtable reunites Stanton, Unkrich, Peterson, producer Graham Walters, production designer Ralph Eggleston and technical lead Oren Jacob for an engaging 10th anniversary retrospective.

Reinventing the Submarine Opening [15 minutes] Step aboard the Submarine Voyage, both old and new, one of the most beloved attractions in Disneyland's ever-evolving Tomorrowland.

A Lesson in Flashbacks [8 minutes] Andrew Stanton discusses one of the biggest and hardest lessons he learned while developing and refining Nemo's story and flow.

Blu-ray Sneak Peaks: ‘Monsters University;’ ‘Planes;’ Disney Movie Rewards; Disneyland Paris Promotion and ‘TinkerBell’ Movie.

Finally, ‘Finding Nemo’ is many a PIXAR fan's favourite studio animation, and rightfully so. I certainly can see what draws so many people, young and old, deeper and deeper into its underwater adventure. Thankfully, Disney's / PIXAR Blu-ray release is a lot tougher to criticise thanks to a stunning video presentation, an excellent 3D experience, a top-tier 7.1 Dolby TrueHD surround track, and a treasure trove of special features, many of which are new to this release. So all in all this is a totally awesome Limited SteelBook Edition Blu-ray 3D, which is now in pride of place with my other fantastic brilliant extensive PIXAR Blu-ray Collection. But I suspect you are wondering why I purchased this particular Limited SteelBook Edition Blu-ray 3D from France, especially for the beautiful embossed SteelBook Cover and now gone pride of place in my ever increasing PIXR Blu-ray Collections, especially the 3D versions. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For a Clownfish, he really IS that funny!, July 5 2004
By 
Neil Leslie (Charlotte, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Astonishing animation, standout performances, and a story with plenty of heart make this movie a winner in the best Disney tradition.
Traumatized by the loss of his wife and all but one of his children, an overanxious clownfish named Marlin (voiced by Albert Brooks) hovers obsessively over his son Nemo, stifling the boy's natural sense of adventure and curiosity and making his son miserable in the name of keeping him safe. When Nemo defies Marlin's wishes and is snatched by divers from before Marlin's eyes, the father sets out on an epic quest to find his son. Along the way, Marlin learns that sometimes the most loving thing a father can do is let go and let children take risks and have the adventures they long for. Nemo, for his part, learns that whatever his father's personal shortcomings, almost everything Marlin does is motivated by a fierce, devoted love for his son. This is the kind of movie that helps parents understand their kids and kids understand their parents--a family movie in the truest and best sense of the word.
Ellen DeGenneres is absolutely hilarious and winning as Dory, the ditzy but loveable blue tang fish ("Yes, I'm a natural blue") who aids Marlin in his search despite being addled by short-term memory problems ("It runs in my family . . . Where are they?"). Brad Garrett ("Everybody Loves Raymond") and Willem Dafoe ("Last Temptation of Christ" and "Mississippi Burning") turn in nice supporting performances as two members of a tankful of fish in which Nemo finds himself.
The computer-generated animation in this film is mesmerizing, but thankfully, unlike so many other movies these days, the visual effects never overwhelm the story or the characters. Instead, the animation supports the story, making Nemo and his friends more real and drawing us deeper into this incredible underwater world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, but hideously overrated, July 2 2004
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm never too old for movies that appeal to the young. Though I'm not a huge fan of Pixar, I thought "Toy Story 2" was amazing in every way. I saw the preview of "Finding Nemo" in the theater. I was amazed, and was anticipating what seemed like was going to be a very good film, the best Disney/Pixar movie to be released. It seemed like it was going to be a huge contribution to the world of animation. To my dismay, it was very disappointing when I watched it. Pixar has the ability to achieve the best visuals in the movie industry. The technical achievements put into "Finding Nemo" surpass anything they've done previously. However, the visuals cannot hide the same old Disney aftertaste that's provided in the movie's material.
I'm tired of people calling "Finding Nemo" a great movie, because it is not. It gets way more hype and rave than it really deserves. I found it very predictable and overly reliable on cutesiness and stereotypes, and it was yet another Disney/Pixar movie whose plotline was a rescue mission wrapped in sentimentality. It's a sad thing when technology has reached its apex, but overdone formulas remain. Disney has been churning out tedious, pedestrian, pixie-stick drab for a while now. Their movies tend to always play it safe and comfortable; they never seem to reach out for something different. "Finding Nemo" continues that tradition. Why can't Disney, a world-known cultural icon, push their own boundaries further?
A big aspect for creating movies for children is humor. Unfortunately, the humor in "Finding Nemo" felt contrived and slapstick. Compared to Pixar's previous works, this one was disappointingly flat. Can Pixar do better than have a side companion plagued with memory loss? Can Pixar do better than to give characters social stereotypes? (ie: the surf turtles, scary girl with braces) "Finding Nemo" lacks the situational humor, the smart cultural references, and the smart quirky antics that other animated films have, even some older Disney movies such as "The Emperor's New Groove". Some people have graduated from the cutesy humor approach long ago. Remember: there is a big difference in bringing out the child in someone as opposed to just presenting someone childish stuff.
It's depressing to see a mundane film like "Finding Nemo" receive all the rave and attention while other amazing animated movies, such as Hayao Miyazaki's masterpiece "Sen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi" aka "Spirited Away", are left to be overshadowed by the public. Now that's an example of how a children's movie should be. A great children's movie should be able to trigger a child's senses, emotions, and imagination. It should not just be cute and visually enticing so it could sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 272 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 24.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews