Customer Reviews


708 Reviews
5 star:
 (491)
4 star:
 (118)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Nemo (blu ray): Finding Nemo (especially 3D) is like Finding Perfection!
VIDEO (2D):

Finding Nemo arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. This was Pixar’s fifth film. The transfer is simply perfect, and is utterly jaw-dropping. Pastel tropical colours highlight the exotic, and incredibly detailed, locations that seem to go on forever, until the ocean's depth and darkness swallows all visible light. Certain...
Published 19 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, but hideously overrated
I'm never too old for movies that appeal to the young. Though I'm not a huge fan of Pixar, I thought "Toy Story 2" was amazing in every way. I saw the preview of "Finding Nemo" in the theater. I was amazed, and was anticipating what seemed like was going to be a very good film, the best Disney/Pixar movie to be released. It seemed like it was going to...
Published on July 2 2004 by jmpg


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Nemo (blu ray): Finding Nemo (especially 3D) is like Finding Perfection!, Dec 5 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO (2D):

Finding Nemo arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. This was Pixar’s fifth film. The transfer is simply perfect, and is utterly jaw-dropping. Pastel tropical colours highlight the exotic, and incredibly detailed, locations that seem to go on forever, until the ocean's depth and darkness swallows all visible light. Certain textures, particularly the rusty red metal buoy and the metal pulley on the fishing boat, appear as photo realistic. While Finding Nemo may not have the textural complexities of Pixar's newer work, the look of the underwater world is oh so realistic. The vibrant colours of different corals, sea anemones and fish simply pop off the screen. Blacks are deep and inky. The part from the beginning of the film, seeing about realistic underwater looks like to Nemo going to school showing off various colourful plants and creatures is a first-class demo material. The whole transfer is simply amazing and magnificent. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Finding Nemo - 3D premieres on blu ray with a stunning MVC MPEG-4 encode framed in a 1.78:1 aspect ratio. In addition to a perfect transfer and conversion, this 3D version gives us a totally immersive, first-class experience. While some of the film's water textures show their technological age when compared to their newer films, overall Finding Nemo remains a boldly realized, intricate, and simply stunning universe. There is so much detail, exotic locations, and tropical colours that make CGI animated films perfect HD showcases. Another thing I love about Pixar films is how certain textures, particularly the rusty red metal buoy and the metal pulley on the fishing boat, appear as photo realistic. If you have a 3D TV, I would strongly recommend that you skip the 2D version and jump right into this immersive 3D experience. Perfect! (5/5)

AUDIO:

Both the 2D and 3D versions have the same superb Dolby TrueHD 7.1 track. This soundtrack is so good that you actually stop thinking about what's happening around and simply fall into the Nemo world. Dialog is not only perfect, but the soundstage is so lifelike and wide. The choice of Albert Brooks, Ellen DeGeneres and Alexander Gould as voices for Marlin, Dory and Nemo respectively is spot-on! The various environments are sophisticated and subtle: like you are really underwater. Thomas Newman's emotional score soars from every channel, sucking you into story and character. Finding Nemo features a delicate, discrete, reference quality surround sound mix that beautifully compliments everything on screen and never steps on the action. This spectacular audio complements the outstanding video to bring us a totally immersive experience. (5/5)

MOVIE:

Finding Nemo builds its dramatic spine from a parent's greatest fear: losing a child. Marlin (Albert Brooks) is a clown fish who, after losing his wife and all but one single egg, is trying to be a good father to his young son, Nemo. Scarred by his traumatic experiences, Marlin becomes so over-protective that, in a moment of rebellion, Nemo wanders too far away from the coral reef where a human diver captures him. Unable to stop the fish-napping, Marlin embarks on a quest to rescue his son, evading sharks and exploding WWII mines and jellyfish and whales and hungry birds. Along the way, he befriends Dory (Ellen DeGeneres), a loyal blue tang fish with hysterical short-term memory problems. Through this journey, Marlin must not only face impossible odds and show more courage than he ever has, but he must grow and change as a father. The only way for him to be a great father is to trust that Nemo must do some things -- even really hard things -- on his own. The Pixar universe is special because of the way they marry the essential visual qualities of fish (or toys or bugs or cars) with universal human emotions. Speaking of toys, I still have the two toy clown fish (from last DVD purchase) snugly seated underneath the computer monitor, starring at me. (movie: 5/5)

TRIVIA:

Finding Nemo has an estimated budget of $94 million, but its worldwide gross is a staggering $865 million!

It won an Oscar for Best Animated Feature for Andrew Stanton in 2004. It was also nominated for Best Original Score (Thomas Newman), Best Sound Editing (Gary Rydstrom, Michael Silvers) and Best Writing, Original Screenplay. Not bad for an animated feature!

PACKAGING:

This Ultimate Collector’s Edition truly deserves the title Ultimate, because it features 5 discs: 1 3D blu ray disc, one 2D blu ray disc, one blu ray disc for legacy Special Features, one DVD and one Digital Copy disc. The film's packaging includes a stylish slipcover with a chrome border and lenticular cover art. On the Blu-ray 3D, 3D trailers include 'Monsters, Inc. - 3D', 'Monsters University', and 'Planes'. On the Blu-ray, trailers include a 'Monsters, Inc. - 3D' (not in 3D) and 'Peter Pan' (coming in Spring 2013).

Other editions include the 3-Disc Collector's Edition (2 Blu-rays + DVD), 3D Digital Download, and HD Digital Download.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Finding Nemo is a classic adventure tale about an overbearing clown fish father who travels an entire ocean to rescue his son. Along the way, he meets new friends, survives impossible odds, and learns what it will take to become a better father. Both the video and audio are top-notch. If you have a 3D display, I would strongly recommend that you watch the 3D version: a totally immersive experience. Naturally, this set is very highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finding Nemo!, Sept. 7 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
To celebrate Easter this weekend with family and friends, we humbly suggest a Pixar movie that makes my wife laugh hysterically every time. If you love fishes, turtles, seagulls, whales, or hearing the awesome Ellen, then Finding Nemo is one for you to find. Ouch!!

What's It About?
Nemo is a little fish with a very overly protective dad. Nemo is fishnapped by some humans, which causes his dad to swim off in hot pursuit. Along the way he befreinds a forgetful fish named Dory who attempts to help him on his quest. Much craziness ensues, while as Nemo is plotting his own escape. What will happen? Will a happy ending be in the offing?

Is Ellen The Greatest?
Why, yes she is. Ellen DeGeneres is one of the most amazing voice talents to ever grace the Pixar soundbooth. Every line she utters, every emotions she transmits, brings the laughs and the love right to your heart. How much is scripted and how much she is riffing on, we might never know, but it all is gold.

Can You Speak Whale?
When Dory/Ellen decides to communicate with a Whale in order to secure help for their cause, you will literally convulse with laughter. In fact, let me try to emulate that scene here. "Heeeelllllo!!! Hhhooooowww aaarrrreeee yyyyyouu, haaavvvvvvvviiiiinnggg aaa nnniiiiccceee daaaaayyyy???????" Okay, that sucked big time. Just watch that part of Finding Nemo and ignore my horrid interpretation. Please.

So, this Easter, sometime between all those tasty meals and gobbling down whack-loads of chocolate the Bunny leaves for you, pop Finding Nemo in to your dvd player. And remember to shout "MINE!" a lot.

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait, Feb. 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'ai reçu le film dans son emballage d'origine et il est arrivé plus rapidement que prévu.
Tout est en bon état!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devon loves it! Pixar does it again!, Sept. 18 2010
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
My great-grandson Devon is at the age where he's entranced by cartoons, so I bought a used version of this movie in order to be able to buy him more.

He lives in another city, but his mother told me he loves it so-ooo much. She said his eyes grew round as beach balls as the breathtaking underwater world of Australia's Great Barrier Reef unfolded before his eyes. His mouth flew open when Nemo was captured by a scuba-diver and got separated from his father, a nervous clownfish named Marlin. Then as the adventure progressed with Nemo meeting a scatter-brained blue fish named Dory and on through all kinds of wondrous, colorful critters--including sharks, jellyfish, sea turtles, pelicans and more--Devon fidgeted with pleasure...and anticipation...

I saw this movie years ago and loved it. Since Devon and I are kindred spirits (I'm a big kid at heart), I thought he would enjoy it and am delighted that he does.

Since 1,049 other people reviewed this movie before me, there's not much left to say, but it made Devon happy and kept him entertained (a big help to his mother, I'm sure)...and that's good enough for me!

I'm very impressed with the awesome job Pixar does with all its movies; from animation to voice-overs to graphics, these filmmakers can't be beat! Pixar, as you might know, is the Academy Award-winning creator of "Toy Story 1, 2 and 3," "Monsters, Inc.," "It's a Bug's Life," and more.

Devon and I both recommend this movie to kids of all ages!

Reviewed by Betty Dravis, September 18, 2010
Author of "Dream Reachers" (with Chase Von) and other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
Fantastic movie. Fosters great values. I may have enjoyed it more than my grandson <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Un super film, July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Un classique pour les petits comme pour les grands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wonderful movie! Marilyn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Movie was in great shaper and took no time at all to get to us. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fast shipping:) daughter loves it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 271 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Nemo (2-disc Collector's Edition, Widescreen & Fullscreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews