Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I grew up with this show and it has ALWAYS stuck with me...
Just like hose_8111, I grew up watching this series. When I was in my 5th year of gradeschool the series finale aired. Ever since, I have been using every chance I get to catch an episode on some friends' cable (as I sadly don't have my own). This DVD is a godsend! Along with The Wonder Years, MacGyver and Star Trek: The Next Generation, Quantum Leap is one of those shows...
Published on July 11 2004 by Trekkintheplains

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but Short First Season --- at a Full Price
One of the most innovative series finally comes to DVD! The first season, though short (only nine episodes, since it was a mid-season replacement), introduced us quite eloquently to a wonderful, but too short-lived series (it should have gone on for a few more seasons).
The quality with DVD's is unquestioned. The only problem with this one is pricing. You're paying...
Published on March 21 2004 by Mr. Dana


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but Short First Season --- at a Full Price, March 21 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
One of the most innovative series finally comes to DVD! The first season, though short (only nine episodes, since it was a mid-season replacement), introduced us quite eloquently to a wonderful, but too short-lived series (it should have gone on for a few more seasons).
The quality with DVD's is unquestioned. The only problem with this one is pricing. You're paying the same price you would for a full 22/24 episode season. The three star rating has nothing to do with the series itself. It's just the valve of episodes -to-pricing that brought it down in my estimation. For the series itself, it's easily a five star show. My recommendation would be to wait before buying this. The price is bound to come down before too long. The first season does have some of the most outstanding episode, and after just the first episode, the viewer fully understands what the series is all about.
Quantum Leap itself was one of the most innovative and outstanding series of all time the quality of the acting, and especially the writing, was top notch from the get-go. This series will not disappoint, and you don't have to be a sci-fi fan to appreciate it.
This series should have been released on DVD a long time ago. Let's hope the whole series is out within the next year or so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ABSURD PRICE----not Amazon's fault, June 7 2004
By 
Nihilistine (South Carolina) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Amazon is about as cheap a price as I have seen this so it isn't their fault. This is a very good show but there are LESS THAN 9 hours of actual show on this. About 7 1/2 at 50 minutes an episode. 8 episodes including the 2 hour pilot. Reminds me of the very overpriced FARSCAPE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I grew up with this show and it has ALWAYS stuck with me..., July 11 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Just like hose_8111, I grew up watching this series. When I was in my 5th year of gradeschool the series finale aired. Ever since, I have been using every chance I get to catch an episode on some friends' cable (as I sadly don't have my own). This DVD is a godsend! Along with The Wonder Years, MacGyver and Star Trek: The Next Generation, Quantum Leap is one of those shows I grew up with and will always remember with fondness. And ever since I discovered the music and story of The Beatles, The Wonder Years and Quantum Leap have given me an even greater nostalgia.
Years after I had seen it, when I discovered The Beatles, I remembered this particular episode: Sam had traveled back in time to the late 1960's, Vietnam hotpot, he was himself at a younger age! In the show, his sister was a Beatles fan and he told her that The Beatles would break up in 1970 but that John Lennon would go on to have a great solo career. Then, he took out a guitar and proceeded to play and sing "Imagine". I was a very young child when I saw this, with no real idea of who The Beatles or John Lennon were, and still I remember this episode!
Quantum Leap was a fantastic and progressive show, everything looked so real and the stories were very compelling! Sam traveled through many segments of time, became involved in famous or simple situations, had run-ins with some life-changing legends of the time and always helped to change many peoples' life for the best! It was a great show and probably expressed a dream many of us have had: taking a trip through history and possibly changing the outcome of certain situations! Plus, the history information here is like watching the best documentary you'll ever see!
I can't wait for more seasons to come out on DVD, I want to re-relive history all over again! (Kind of like deja vu all over again, huh? Ha ha!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!!!!, July 9 2004
By 
Harvey Ramos "Geek" (Springfield, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I almost flipped when i saw that this great show was FINALLY coming to DVD. I am always astonished at these current cheesy shows that haven't even finished with a season and they already have DVDs coming out. The great character of this show was that no two shows are the same. Each episode brought a new story, new faces even tho the constants of Scott Bakula and Dean Stockwell remained. I wish more of these older shows would be put onto DVD. I can't wait until the other seasons are published as well.
Well, basically this is a 3-DVD set containing the entire first season including the pilot espisode. It really is great to watch as the show progresses, and see episodes that i remember, as well as those i haven't seen. It was interesting to note that Scott Bakula's famous "Oh, boy" when he leaped wasn't in the first few episodes. And you get to watch the progression of the show intro incorporating new scenes as more and more highlights become available. The onscreen chemistry between Dean Stockwell and Scott Bakula is truly amazing, they really make you believe that they are friends trying to work together towards a common goal.
The extra features aren't many, but include Scott Bakula giving a brief intro to each episode, sometimes commenting on a funny or interesting event that happened during filming. There are also comments by Dean Stockwell (Al) and Bellasario the creator of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ziggy predicts there will be a second set..and a third..., July 6 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Named one of the most popular "cult" series on television, "Quantum Leap" took it's time getting to television. I'm not sure if the series was detoured by rights issues or not but I'm happy something other than the pilot (which was released on DVD 5 years ago) is finally available. "Quantum Leap" chronicles the adventures of scientist Sam Beckett. Sam discovers a unique loophole in the laws of physics that lets him travel back in time but only within his life time. The device he uses with the input of Ziggy his intelligent computer allows him to assume the shape and look of individuals from the time he's in. They're transported back to a waiting room where they evidently will have no memory of being replaced.
Trouble occurs on Sam's first attempt. He becomes stranded in the past appearing as a test pilot. Al a friend of Sam's who is also working on the project appears to help him through his predicament as a hologram visible only to Sam. The other problem is that Sam's memory gets turned into a maze of Swiss cheese by the transport. He can't recall who he is or how he got there. Al has to coach Sam and help him through the charade of being someone else until they can get him back. Unfortunately, Ziggy isn't able to get him back although Ziggy does figure out that Sam continues to hop through the time line to set things right that have gone wrong and that, ultimately, one of them will lead him home.
An imaginative, well written show "Quantum Leap" managed to stay alive for 5 years. Bellisaro's imaginative concept, like that of Roddenberry's "Star Trek" allowed him to focus on the characters of the show. The format also allowed Bellisaro to tackle a number of difficult themes on television without seeming to be preachy. The top flight direction and acting makes the show believable. Bakula's stage training made him a natural to play Sam who has to "inhabit" all these different characters while, essentially, remaining the same one. While the optical effects haven't always aged the best, the show was really about the dramatic conflict at the core of each episode and what Sam has to accomplish.
"Quantum Leap" receives a very nice transfer courtesy of Universal's in house company. The images are sharp, crisp and the colors alive. The series was originally mastered in 2.0 stereo sound when it was originally aired and the sound here is true to the original specs of the series. There's an occasion where you might see dirt, hair or scratches but usually that's in situations where the film uses stock footage.
Few extras but they are noteworthy. We get a short featurette featuring star Bakula and the gifted Dean Stockwell as well as creator/writer/producer Bellisario. Their insights into what made the series connect with their core audience are interesting and getting the background on the series from Bellisario provides insight into the creative process that helped this series make it to the air. We also get brief introductions to the 8 episodes included here. The series was originally a mid-season replacement and, as such, there wasn't a full slate of episodes produced during the first season. We also get a trivia game that isn't bad particularly for hardcore fans of the series.
No commentary on any of the episodes but that might have been useful for the pilot. I'd love to hear what Bellisario, Bakula and Stockwell think 15 years later.
A great series receives so-so treatment on DVD. Lord knows what Universal was thinking when they priced this three disc set. Considering the few extras, there's no justifying the expense of this on DVD. On the other hand, fans will be happy to finally have this on DVD after having to endure reruns that were frequently edited to include more commercials. Hopefully Universal will price the next set (which consists of a full season of episodes) at a comparable price but I doubt it. Still, the series looks and sounds great and it's nice to finally be able to have it on the shelf at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been better for the wait that we had to indure, June 24 2004
By 
"mis_led" (Petoskey, Michigan) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
Much can be said about this Tv Show. It was arguably the best show ever on television. With it's great writing, awesome acting, and for it's time, good visual effects; It is easy to see why this show became a classic.
Now onto what you came for the actual DVD Review
The DVD contain 8 Episodes (including the 2 hour Pilot)
Let's face it folks for having to wait so long for this series to come out on DVD it was very disappointing from a DVD extra standpoint. All it has really is a small clip(bout 20 mins long) of the actor reminisincg about the show.
The other things it promises such as Quantim Trivia and hidden messages are either not existent or i can not find them because they are not on the main menus anywhere on the 3 disc set.
The Video quality is ok but not great at times u can see the dust and marks on the film while watching the show since t is an older show. But it actually unintentionally looks great in the final minutes of the episode "Play it again Seymour", Watch it you'll see what i mean.
So overall if you are a fan of the show like i am, you should go out and buy it. But i would wait for it to come down in price for a DVD with non-existent Extra's and only 8 epsiodes(Mid-season REplacement)it isn't worth the $45+ that most places are charging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Boy!!!!, June 19 2004
By 
Mr. JKW "jkw" (Honolulu, Hawai'i) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
One of the most critically-acclaimed and beloved sci-fi dramas of all-time, Quantum Leap (which aired on NBC for 5 seasons from 1989 - 1993) launches anew with the DVD release of its 9 episode first season.
THE STORY
Quantum Physicist, super genius and all-around good old boy, Sam Beckett (Scott Bakula, lately of Star Trek: Enterprise) spear heads a time travel project and "leaps back" in time helping put right small events in people's past that went wrong. Helping out Sam on his leaps is his friend and observer Al (Dean Stockwell) and the projects Super Computer Ziggy. In the meantime Sam continues to leap throughout time helping others always hoping that his next leap will be the leap home.
ABOUT SEASON ONE:
Season One, as is expected, introduces us to the basic premise of the show and all the characters. We meet Sam and experience along with him all the little intricacies and problems time travel and leaping into other people's lives brings (not knowing people's names or where to go or what to do). We also learn a great deal about the characters of Sam Beckett and Al Calavicci.
THE EPISODES AND DISCS
Here are the 9 episodes of Season One.
Disc 1
Episode 1: "Genesis" - Jump starting the project without approval, Sam leaps into the Quantum Accelerator and wakes up as someone else, not remembering who or what he is and finds out that he's an Air Force test pilot trying to break Mach 3 - and he doesn't know how to fly!!!
Episode 2: "Star-Crossed" - Sam leaps into a literature professor and has to juggle an affair the Prof is having with an obsessed student, her jealous wrestler boyfriend AND an opportunity to have an influence on the brilliant young physics major who would one day leave Sam waiting at the altar.
Disc 2
Episode 3: "The Right Hand of God" - Sam leaps into a young boxer who's scheduled to fight for the State Heavyweight championship and an opportunity to win prize money to help a group of nuns build a church as well as start up a donut shop for the boxer and his girlfriend.
Episode 4: "How The Tess Was Won" - Sam leaps into a Texas veterinarian and must "out cowboy" a strong-headed woman who will only marry a man who can best her.
Episode 5: "Double Identity" - Sam leaps into a Mafia hit-man who's having an affair with the Don's girlfriend. Oh boy...
Disc 3
Episode 6: "The Color of Truth" - Sam leaps into a Black chauffeur in the Deep South BEFORE the Civil Rights movement starts and must deal with the prejudice of the townsfolk as Sam does some "illegal" activities only meant for White people.
Episode 7: "Camikazi Kid" - Sam leaps into a teenage hot rod racer in the 50's who must convince his sister to NOT marry her boyfriend who's destined to grow up into an abusive alcoholic.
Episode 8: "Play It Again Seymour" - Sam leaps into a gumshoe detective (who looks an awful lot like Humphrey Bogart) and must solve a murder mystery before times up especially since in the original history HIS character winds up as a victim. Tons of Casablanca and gumshoe jokes abound.
THE EXTRAS
1. Each Episode contains a brief introduction by series star Scott Bakula detailing some unique fact about the episode. You can choose to turn intros "on" or "off."
2. "A Kiss With History: Remembering Quantum Leap" - located on Disc 1 is a 20-minute featurette featuring commentary by series' leads Scott Bakula, Dean Stockwell and producer Donald Bellisario discussing how the show came about and going over some of the events of Season One.
THE VERDICT
For 5 seasons fans everywhere thrilled week in and week out as Sam leaped through time helping people put events in there lives that went wrong right. With a thrilling combination of action, suspense, adventure, a little romance and a TON of moral self-checks (and tackling some sticky issues) "Quantum Leap" grew into a favorite with a strong fan-base of Loyal Leapers. Take a Leap into the Quantum Accelerator and go along with Sam for a ride through time and reminisce (or find out for the first time) what all the excitements about.
Highest Recommendation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV worth revisiting, June 17 2004
By 
David Girod (Westminster, Maryland) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I remembered this show very fondly. Back in the days before networks based all of their programming around people eating cow rectum for money, or choosing a spouse over a million bucks, we had some great TV shows. Thankfully, with DVD, we can now own some of these shows. Quantum Leap, especially the early seasons, is just a well written show. Scott Bakula is a really fine actor and you begin to truly care for Sam as he leaps through history, correcting time's mistakes. This set is worth owning if only for the 2 hour pilot "Genesis". Sure Quantum Leap might be a little heavy handed in melodrama, but that is part of it's charm. This show is at once, funny, suspenseful, dramatic and very often touching, as when Sam is able to speak once more to his father who had died in Sam's "present". The early shows let you enjoy Sam's confusion about the whole leaping process, and present some really great stories without getting on a soapbox, or being preachy. Sure this show may have "Jumped the Shark" with the evil leaper that appeared in later seasons, and, eventually Quantum Leap did begin to get a little preachy, but what is presented in this box set is the beginning of a great and often overlooked TV gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Leap me Anywhere, June 15 2004
By 
Teresa R. Patri "TRAP" (Brooklyn, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
I have been a fan of Scott Bakula and Quantum Leap and I was quite pleased with the DVD First Season. I had forgotten how talented Bakula and Stockwell were in the show. Their friendship was real. This is what is missed in today's television. Scott Bakula's character made have leaped, but his charm is always there, that you forget he is acting and his hardwork could be taken for granted. Sam has very sweet, choir-boy ways (as Al usually puts it), sexy, funny, so expressive and the stories are just as revelant today as back then. And Al, and his hysterical, woman chasing ways- this is a fabo DVD selection. After looking at the first season, I must have the second season now. Scott and Dean give us some hidden easter eggs, there are personable introductions from Scott. The love these two guys have for their fans is evident, and I appreciated more Quantum Leap after listening to the 20 minutes conversation between Scott, Dean and Don Bellisario talk about there memories of the show. If you are a fan of Quantum Leap this 3 set DVD is for you. It will taken you back to quality television and the wonderful friendship that Scott and Dean have for each other which overflowed into the show's characters.
Bravo Bakula and Stockwell!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time...., June 13 2004
By 
H. Kaplan "hjkapl" (East Coast, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season (DVD)
It's about time that this show about time was released on DVD! It was critically acclaimed during its run and it quickly became a fan favorite. It had everything, including a fascinating premise, wonderful writing, great scores, terrific performances by its 'regular' cast (Scott Bakula and Dean Stockwell) as well as by the weekly guests. In fact, some early performances by some who became 'names' can be found in various episodes (Teri Hatcher guests in 'Star Crossed' and Jason Priestley in 'Camikazi Kid', just two of the episodes in this set). Performances by folks like Jennifer Aniston and a host of others can be viewed in future sets (which hopefully will be available sooner rather than later!).
Fortunately, the set allows everyone to once again view the episodes, not only in their entirety (unlike the syndicut versions that have been shown on various cable stations over the years), but with the original opening narrations and graphics. Boy, do they deliver!
The 20 minute 'Kiss with History' interview with Scott Bakula, Dean Stockwell and Don Bellisario is both amusing and informative and a definite 'don't miss'. Of course, more behind the scenes extras such as bloopers, full episode commentary or more interviews (Deborah Pratt would probably be a wonderful source for great stories!) would have fit the bill but one can only hope that we'll get to see more in future sets.
Be advised, that although the box claims that the sound is monoaural, it most definitely is stereo.
While some may balk at the pricing, when you consider the cost per episode, it's more than worth it. Besides, who doesn't purchase from a store with the sale circular from another store in hand not only to get the better price, but a refund on the difference as well!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season
Quantum Leap: The Complete First Season by Michael Vejar (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 24.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews